Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Online dating sites...

• 30-12-2013 11:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭

Hi guys,

Ok so I'm just wondering if there is any point in joining up to one of these?

My story:

Long time single girl in my twenties, very independent, outgoing, attractive (apparently), intelligent, wide range of interests and a good circle of friends.

As a new year approaches I am looking at making some resolutions that I can keep!
    I'm getting alittle tired and bored of the same auld ding dong of going out Fri/Sat night's and getting chatting to guys that are half wasted and not being able to hold a conversation together but insists on getting your number!! Im not looking at finding a boyfriend/soulmate as such as I am definitely very content with my life at present. But I wouldn't mind going on a few dates just to appear somewhat normal....I suppose there isn't anything wrong with putting yourself out there...and i really need to get out of my comfort zone!

I've heard mixed reviews on cyber dating....and I am really sceptical about it all.....
    What do ye guys think? Would I be better off just avoiding such sites?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

You are on one!

This place rocks for getting yer hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You had me at female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Just pm the last 10 visitors of your boards profile. Problem solved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Bob has got in there 1st lads. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

I've given up on online dating, I'm an average looking guy, have had girlfriends before but online dating has left me somewhat demoralised, sent out many a friendly hello messages with a paragraph or 2, but I was rarely if ever replied to, but for women who knows it might be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Send me a picture, Im the head of a top matchmaking agency, Ill sort out you with a fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Who do you want to appear normal too?

Don't sound content, if you were you wouldn't give a flying fluck and just let it happen if meant to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

It's up to you.

If you're dating to "appear normal", I wouldn't bother, as you're not really doing it for yourself then.

People get out of it what they put in. As in any relationship/meeting people of similar interests, don't lie. The "personalty" dating profiles seem to 'work' best.

I myself prefer meeting people on forum meets, like boards beers or munches, depending on your interests.
    This way you're not going just to meet someone, but for fun, with the potential of meeting someone.
    Could also join clubs you're interested in.

Oh, you might have better luck in personal issues or something than After hours for answers.

I met my partner online and my best friends, but then I'm not a fan of going out, so it's my main way of socialising :/.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Prepare for yore box to be full soon OP.

Oh and pics or GTFO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Prepare for yore box to be full soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

OP there is an on-line dating forum. It's a private forum. I can't link to it on my phone, maybe one of the AH mods can.

There's an "online dating section" here? :O

Why is it private?

:eek: There is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

ElecKtrA wrote: »
    Hi guys,

My story:

Long time single girl in my twenties, very independent, outgoing, attractive (apparently), intelligent, wide range of interests and a good circle of friends.

As a new year approaches I am looking at making some resolutions that I can keep!
    I'm getting alittle tired and bored of the same auld ding dong of going out Fri/Sat night's and getting chatting to guys that are half wasted and not being able to hold a conversation together but insists on getting your number!! Im not looking at finding a boyfriend/soulmate as such as I am definitely very content with my life at present. But I wouldn't mind going on a few dates just to appear somewhat normal....I suppose there isn't anything wrong with putting yourself out there...and i really need to get out of my comfort zone!

I've heard mixed reviews on cyber dating....and I am really sceptical about it all.....
    What do ye guys think? Would I be better off just avoiding such sites?

To quote the spice girls, tell me what you want, what you really really want. Going on dates to appear normal? Thats not normal. You go on dates with people you fancy or want to spend time with. Don't date people you have no interest in, for the sake of other people.

If people are asking you have you "dated" anyone nice recently, tell them you have one that very night. That you like them and want to spend time with them. And then go home with a box of chocolates or your favourite comfort food and enjoy your own company. When asked, say you had a good time, and who knows?

In the meantime, decide what you want and approach that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

With which of us would you like to mate with first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Why is it private?

It's a forum to discuss online dating experiences, it's not a match making service or pick up joint!

Ahhhhhh splains it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

It's all about finding the right site. I'd avoid free ones. My dad is a great man, but extremely shy. My mam was the only woman he'd been with (25 years) and they split up 4 years ago, he started getting really lonely and was depressed that he'd never have the confidence to meet anyone. I suggested online dating, even just to chat to people and build up confidence before chatting up a woman in the pub or whatever. Anyways, it worked wonders and he actually did meet a lovely woman online and they're together nearly a year now. He met a few lovely women before her too, no horror stories or crazy people! But some of the sites he was on he could tell he wasn't gonna meet anyone on it that were looking for something solid. It took a few sites (and subscription fees) before he found the right site for him. I'd recommend giving it a try anyways, just be careful! Best of luck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Why is it private?

It's not a place to pick up dates. It's for people to discuss their experience of on-line dating. It's strictly moderated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,487 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

my first new years eve single in 2 years wish i wasnt single but sure drink will be my other half tomorrow. What are the best online sites i plan on using these next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

PTH2009 wrote: »
    my first new years eve single in 2 years wish i wasnt single but sure drink will be my other half tomorrow. What are the best online sites i plan on using these next year

I don't think there are 'best' sites as there are numerous factors to consider, like demographics, location, and of course the preferred outcome from the whole experience.

The most popular are OK Cupid and Plenty of Fish, younger people seem to head to Tinder, you have connecting singles, another friend, eharmony and match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I have frontage if that's any benefit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Plazaman wrote: »

D cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Plazaman wrote: »

Road frontage always impresses women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Might give this a try myself, not sure my profile would attract many women but then again I could strike gold.

Long time single in my thirties, very dependent, not very outgoing, dont drive, not entirely unattractive, moderately intelligent, very few interests and no friends. Looking for attractive but desperate and financially secure mother figure to hold my hand through life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭ElecKtrA

wazky wrote: »
    Send me a picture, Im the head of a top matchmaking agency, Ill sort out you u a fella.

No.......perhaps a spark in personality between two people should override physical appearance! it used to be the case with me that I would only be interested in very attractive guys but I'm not that shallow anymore....nobodys perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

No.......perhaps a spark in personality between two people should override physical appearance! it used to be the case with me that I would only be interested in very attractive guys but I'm not that shallow anymore....nobodys perfect!
    Been forced to lower your standards, eh? Well, I'm single... I suppose the question is - how low can you go?

syklops wrote: »
    To quote the spice girls, tell me what you want, what you really really want. Going on dates to appear normal? Thats not normal. You go on dates with people you fancy or want to spend time with. Don't date people you have no interest in, for the sake of other people.

If people are I asking you have you "dated" anyone nice recently, tell them you have one that very night. That you like them and want to spend time with them. And then go home with a box of chocolates or your favourite comfort food and enjoy your own company. When asked, say you had a good time, and who knows?

In the meantime, decide what you want and approach that.

Perhaps I should elaborate .... I didnt mean that I had to go on dates to appear normal....I meant that I should be dating as I am a genuinely nice girl and always up for a laugh and I'm young...so it's kind of abnormal in a sense that I am not entirely putting myself out there in the dating world...how do i know if I fancy someone if I dont date them?!

Been forced to lower your standards, eh? Well, I'm single... I suppose the question is - how low can you go?

Nope....not lowering my standards at all!!! Just being realistic!
    I think when we were all younger we wanted only to go out with hot looking people...but screw that now!!! It's our flaws that make us individual and perhaps attractive to others!

It's a forum to discuss online dating experiences, it's not a match making service or pick up joint!

eeesh

I never thought it was a "match-making" service!! I met my current partner online. I'm not looking for another :rolleyes:
    It's not a place to pick up dates. It's for people to discuss their experience of on-line dating. It's strictly moderated.

Gosh, sorry, didn't realise my post could be taken this way.
    I'm not looking to pick up dates at all.

Surprised such a forum existed, I think it's great to discuss experiences, the pro's and cons of it.

eeesh

I never thought it was a "match-making" service!! I met my current partner online. I'm not looking for another :rolleyes:

Never again eh ? I hear ya, sometimes you end up worse off than when ya started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I think when we were all younger we wanted only to go out with hot looking people...but screw that now!!! It's our flaws that make us individual and perhaps attractive to others!

That is such a beautiful sentiment! I am deeply moved (as I am on occasion because I am capable of being a Sensitive Man (TM)). <--- nested brackets :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

You sound like a lovely girl OP, sure give it a bash, you'll probably clean up :)

Personally physical attraction isn't something that can be gauged in an online sense, I'll know within ten seconds whether or not I'm attracted to someone when I meet them in the flesh....not so easy when you're chatting online and only have a few one-dimensional photos to work off.

So I'd say don't spend all night and all day chatting to anyone, organize a date asap. And if you're looking for something a bit more substantial than sexy times, don't jump into bed with anyone right away.

Good luck, have fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I've given up on online dating, I'm an average looking guy, have had girlfriends before but online dating has left me somewhat demoralised, sent out many a friendly hello messages with a paragraph or 2, but I was rarely if ever replied to, but for women who knows it might be better.
    Yeah, I've found online dating incredibly shallow and meaningless in a sense. Much more success just going out there into the real world!

That is such a beautiful sentiment! I am deeply moved (as I am on occasion because I am capable of being a Sensitive Man (TM)). <--- nested brackets :cool:

Thank you lol

And fair play to you for expressing your feelings so publicly...that takes extreme courage, I applaud you lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Hi guys,

QUOTE]

You should try it if you are curious but don't expect too much or you might be disappointed. It does work for some people.
    I tried it briefly a couple of years ago after I stopped seeing someone...it was an impulse decision made on the journey back from Cork after finishing with him and I signed up and PAID to the most dismal dating site of them all, parship. Why I picked a site that sounded like a vegetable I don't know but everyone on it pretty much seemed to have given up on life and I don't recommend it. My location wouldn't be great though, you might have better luck if you are near a city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Applause

I think it's a shame that people limit themselves to dating sites, you can find love anywhere online these days. I would advise you to join all of the free dating websites, but don't limit yourself, if you visit other forums, or if you post around here frequently and get talking to someone then go for it.

I met my boyfriend in an online game surprisingly enough, we've been dating for two and a half years now. It makes me believe that there's a chance for everyone in the place that they will least expect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

If your as good looking and sound as you claim you are your not going to need online dating.

beks101 wrote: »
    You sound like a lovely girl OP, sure give it a bash, you'll probably clean up :)

Personally physical attraction isn't something that can be gauged in an online sense, I'll know within ten seconds whether or not I'm attracted to someone when I meet them in the flesh....not so easy when you're chatting online and only have a few one-dimensional photos to work off.

So I'd say don't spend all night and all day chatting to anyone, organize a date asap. And if you're looking for something a bit more substantial than sexy times, don't jump into bed with anyone right away.

Good luck, have fun!

Awe, cheers beks!

I shall take your advice on board..if I dare to venture into the world of cyber dating...but I definitely won't be interested in guys who are looking for ONS's....ugh!!!

Oh. My. God.

I HATE one night stands. this is crazy! wow.

PS: Hows the inbox looking? Name n' shame the rascals!

Never again eh ? I hear ya, sometimes you end up worse off than when ya started.

What :confused:

Mully_2011 wrote: »
    If your as good looking and sound as you claim you are your not going to need online dating.

Ok, well I'm not shallow and beauty is only skin deep...but I've been told I'm attractive (but that term is thrown around so loosely these days!)...to me I just look like a normal gal...I dont believe there is anything special about me!

I'm tired of hearing cheesy one liners and how guys comment on how you look...I'm not interested in compliments of the superficial kind!!! I'm more interested in getting to know someone properly and have a CONNECTION with...it's really that simple!

What :confused:

Le Joke.

Oh. My. God.

I HATE one night stands. this is crazy! wow.

PS: Hows the inbox looking? Name n' shame the rascalBt/QUOTE]

I don't see the point in one nighters...it's not my scene! Everyone has their own standards I guess so I shall not frown upon those that do!

Btw...it would be unfair for me to give any details away on my inbox status :-P

Le Joke.

but it doesn't make sense... :o
    _____________-
    I don't see the point in one nighters...it's not my scene! Everyone has their own standards I guess so I shall not frown upon those that do!

Btw...it would be unfair for me to give any details away on my inbox status :-P

Empty then? :pac:

but it doesn't make sense... :o
    _____________-

Its reads a little bit like you met the old ball and chain online, why on earth would you want more hassle.

Granted it wasnt my finest hour :D

Le Joke.

He's looking_around... he missed it! ARRRGGHHH I think im actually going insane tonight...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 447 ✭✭Pen.Island

I'm a 22 year old fella and I'm on a dating site.

I browse it the same that I would any other site. I have been chatting with some lovely women. Haven't met with any of them yet but I have met people from online in the past and it went very well.

It's a good way of getting to meet new people. Can see their interests and quick enough after messaging you know if you click and like to meet. Not looking for a wife either myself. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

Awe, cheers beks!

I shall take your advice on board..if I dare to venture into the world of cyber dating...but I definitely won't be interested in guys who are looking for ONS's....ugh!!!

I have been on a few of them in my time. If I could recommend one it would be Okcupid. This was the best run and most interesting one. I have heard Tagged and Badoo are all right but are more geared toward quick hook ups rather than dating and relationships especially the latter.

Try Match.com and POF while you are at it. The wider you cast your net the better.

I didnt have much luck with them partly because the women on them want men and I am a mere man child :P