Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best golf membership deals 2014 cork and surrounding areas

• 20-12-2013 6:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭

Anyone know where I might get best value and/or deal to get golf membership In and around cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭bailey99

are u a member anywhere presently? Have you found out any prices yourself and we can add to your list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Anyone know where I might get best value and/or deal to get golf membership In and around cork.

What figure do you think is value for membership ?

What facilities would you expect ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Dbu

just saw an add on the freebee paper for Mallow at €695 i think for the year, like this track, good test of golf
    a good few of us are in Kinsale which is €800 for the year for new members (us asked to pay €975) but our main problem is that it will be 10 holes only for almost 4 months, hence we looking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭kerrycork13

Thanks a mill guys. Not sure bout facilities and stuff just wanna get back out there but somewhere that reasonably good and relatively cheap

i rang around most of the courses in cork re prices etc. Nothing much standing out re value (don't know what you consider to be value!)

Mallow if on the right side of the city is 699 which is great for a course of that quality.

Mitchelstown is great course too for 425.

Monkstown, Castlemartyr, Fota, Douglas are the only ones still with entrance money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

you'd get into Macroom as a new member for €450

slingerz wrote: »
    you'd get into Macroom as a new member for €450

The lady in the office I spoke to told me Macroom was 550euro for new members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭millerj

Thanks a mill guys. Not sure bout facilities and stuff just wanna get back out there but somewhere that reasonably good and relatively cheap

Mallow at €699 is a great deal now. Good improvements made to the course over the last few years so playable almost always. Going to join here myself for 2014. that being said I would agree with a previous poster that Mitchelstown also offering a good deal. Probably no friendlier club in Cork than Mitchelstown in my opinion.

millerj wrote: »
    Mallow at €699 is a great deal now. Good improvements made to the course over the last few years so playable almost always. Going to join here myself for 2014. that being said I would agree with a previous poster that Mitchelstown also offering a good deal. Probably no friendlier club in Cork than Mitchelstown in my opinion.

I was a member of Mitchelstown previous a few years ago, great course, really good test of accuracy on the old side of the course and when you cross over the road, the open space are all about length really. Good all round test though. And the friendliness of the clubhouse and the staff in there is second to none.

We're planning on going to West Waterford though as we have a deal there for 4 of us joining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

Cobh at €70 a month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭idle

Apologies kerrycork13 for hijacking the thread but I'm also looking for advice in joining a club. I've been playing golf a few years but have never joined a club and not having a handicap (and the goal of trying to lower it) is annoying me.

Due to work i play nearly all my golf mon-fri. I spend well over €1k annually on green fees

Give or take a few miles I'm equidistant from Killarney, castleisland, charlaville, mallow and macroom (kanturk is the closest but I don't enjoy playing it for some reason). Any advice appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

How much on average do you pay for a green fee?

I play a lot in the golf & fishing club with a member which is E30. I don't like playing the same course over and over though so I like to travel around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

Why don't you just get a distance membership so? You'll get a GUI card and you can play any midweek open you'd like. This is €20 or less usually. I did this for a few years and thought it was great.

idle wrote: »
    Apologies kerrycork13 for hijacking the thread but I'm also looking for advice in joining a club. I've been playing golf a few years but have never joined a club and not having a handicap (and the goal of trying to lower it) is annoying me.

Due to work i play nearly all my golf mon-fri. I spend well over €1k annually on green fees

Give or take a few miles I'm equidistant from Killarney, castleisland, charlaville, mallow and macroom (kanturk is the closest but I don't enjoy playing it for some reason). Any advice appreciated

Five day membership in Mallow for €500, hard to beat if playing mostly weekdays and generally the weekend competitions here run Fri/Sat/Sun so you would be involved in those. Also a very popular Open competition every Wednesday and most importantly these competitions seem to be supported well so you would always get out on either day or both if you wanted. General facilities at the club good also.

I've been thinking about this and it seems to be the way to go. Just about qualify for mitchelstown and from what has been said here, not a bad place to join

idle wrote: »
    I've been thinking about this and it seems to be the way to go. Just about qualify for mitchelstown and from what has been said here, not a bad place to join

Having been a member of both clubs (Mallow and Mitchelstown) you will get a cheaper membership at Mitchelstown along with an extremely friendly club.......BUT, definitely the Mallow course is better maintained and in much better shape generally. Again if you were going to play midweek competitions Mallow would be far superior as Mitchelstown also run a midweek open but there might be five people play in the competition whereas you could have sixty or seventy play in Mallow. Basically if you were looking for a game on your own you would always get out in Mallow whereas you may not in Mitchelstown. bar/Restaurant facilities far superior also.That was my experience anyway. That being said if you are more inclined to play elsewhere in Opens etc then why not go for distance at Raffeen Creek for €135. A nice nine hole...!. Lismore doing distance at €150 or if staying in North Cork what about Doneraile. Still, Mallow every time for me.

Thanks for the reply millerj. I know E500 for a club like Mallow is cheap but it's still a nice wad of cash (even though I'll probably drink that before Xmas!)

E135 for Rafeen Creek looks ideal. Will check it out in the new year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭big_drive

For anyone who is a gym user Blarney at €100 a month is an option as it includes gym & pool. For golf only it may be outside of budgets.

Reganovski wrote: »
    Cobh at €70 a month

In Cobh at the moment and leaving after just one year. Poor course, wide open and no premium on accuracy. Never liked the placed and the crazy scores down there are a bit of a joke.

bailey99 wrote: »
    In Cobh at the moment and leaving after just one year. Poor course, wide open and no premium on accuracy. Never liked the placed and the crazy scores down there are a bit of a joke.

Out of curiosity where are you considering? played Cobh a lot this year and always really enjoyed it albeit a bit hilly. Lots of good deals around now though

If I want on the right side of the tunnel then I'd go to mallow at 699 euros. Cracking course, great test of golf. Mitchelstown is also generating interest at 425 as I was a member there previously.

I'm more than likely to go to one of the three clubs in Dungarvan. I've gotten a great deal from one of them for 250 euro for distance membership.

We plan on playing there every second week or so and then play open competitions and scratch cups etc every other week.

Now many deals to be had in the courses round Cork that I would be interested in. Fota still very expensive, Cork have reduced the entrance money but it's still 10k. Castlemartyr don't negotiate and still have ideas above their station so not interested in there either.

Wouldn't agree that it's a poor course. Yes alot of it is wide open but it's a young course and they've planted alot of trees that will improve the course immensely. And yes it will be along time before they will.
    They're some tough holes like 5, 14, 16 and some great par 3s like 10 and 12.
    The par 5s let it down it bit though.
    The greens can be tricky too.
    Not sure what you mean by crazy scores. The monthly medal is usually won with a 67. It's not like 45 points is winning every week.

I personally think it's the best value around the city at the moment.

I was a member of Mallow for 15 years and €699 it's great value. But doesn't it go to close to a grand in year 2.
    Also do they still play off mats in the winter, used to drive me mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭big_drive

I believe Muskerry are now down to approx €1,200 with no entrance money. Big drop there over a couple years

Anyone know how Lee Valley have done with their membership drive? Have they got many new members?

Wouldn't agree that it's a poor course. Yes alot of it is wide open but it's a young course and they've planted alot of trees that will improve the course immensely. And yes it will be along time before they will.
    They're some tough holes like 5, 14, 16 and some great par 3s like 10 and 12.
    The par 5s let it down it bit though.
    The greens can be tricky too.
    Not sure what you mean by crazy scores. The monthly medal is usually won with a 67. It's not like 45 points is winning every week.

I personally think it's the best value around the city at the moment.

I was a member of Mallow for 15 years and €699 it's great value. But doesn't it go to close to a grand in year 2.
    No. Mallow is €699 per year full stop. This is the fee to everyone unless opting for a five day membership. A lot of re-jigging in the club recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ulysses32

Kinsale are offering a reduced fee for the first year of €800 that rises to the regular fee of €975 thereafter. The course is maturing very well and holds condition through the winter months as well.

14 holes open at the weekend, the competition was a fourball playing off 14/18 handicaps. Myself and my partner had 37pts and didn't even get in the prizes. What won, was it another crazy score Reganovski?????

Was it f**k! 41 pts, ridiculous. As for your comment 45 points not winning every week. Are u for real, during the summer I knew a fella who had 49 pts and didn't even get in the prizes. 51 and 50 pts were the 2 top scores. Joke!

ulysses32 wrote: »
    Kinsale are offering a reduced fee for the first year of €800 that rises to the regular fee of €975 thereafter. The course is maturing very well and holds condition through the winter months as well.

True, but the problem is the place is 10 holes for 4 months of the year and the place is jam packed every weekend cause they gained a lot of new members plus 60 odd members came over in 2013 from Rafeen Creek as well. And they took another 50 members from Ringenane closing down too. Place is jammers!

Agreed, Kinsale is a busy golf course but having said that there isn't a major issue getting on the timesheet, even at premium times. They run two ten holes each day of the weekend and members can play in/ on both if they like so that doesn't arise as an issue.

ulysses32 wrote: »
    Agreed, Kinsale is a busy golf course but having said that there isn't a major issue getting on the timesheet, even at premium times. They run two ten holes each day of the weekend and members can play in/ on both if they like so that doesn't arise as an issue.

I am a memebr of Kinsale, and i do see it as a pain in the a.s.
    Winter League is 10 holes, i personally switch off after the 10 counting holes are completed, so no point in playing more.:D
    Last year the league was 14 holes which was better imo.
    I personally know 9 guys leaving this year and i am undecided myself as to what to do as most are my friends.

Dbu wrote: »
    Winter League is 10 holes, i personally switch off after the 10 counting holes are completed, so no point in playing more.:D
    I personally know 9 guys leaving this year and i am undecided myself as to what to do as most are my friends.

I know a lot of people who joined from Rafeen Creek are leaving as well. Some of the committee down there are something else by all accounts!

14 holes open at the weekend, the competition was a fourball playing off 14/18 handicaps. Myself and my partner had 37pts and didn't even get in the prizes. What won, was it another crazy score Reganovski?????

Was it f**k! 41 pts, ridiculous. As for your comment 45 points not winning every week. Are u for real, during the summer I knew a fella who had 49 pts and didn't even get in the prizes. 51 and 50 pts were the 2 top scores. Joke!

Sorry to hear you didn't win a prize. Yes 41 points is a ridiculous scores for 14 holes but with winter rules you'll always get those.

You'll need to remind me of what competition where 51/50 points were the top 2. I keep a close on eye on competition results and don't remember that happening. But I could be mistaken. I do remember a 51 points winning but that isn't the course to blame but rather the handicap secretary.

I think the monthly medals, captains prize etc weren't too bad. Reasonable scores.
    April 63/67/67
    May 67/67/70
    Jun 65/66/67
    Jul 66/66/67
    Aug 67/68/69
    Sep 67/68/69
    Captains Prize 66/67/68

You always get flash in the pan scores. People used to say the same thing when I was in Mallow. But I think if you're good enough then you'll find your way into the prizes either with 51 points or a 66 in the monthly medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

I'm confused - are you looking for somewhere to play golf or somewhere to win prizes?

Corkblowin wrote: »
    I'm confused - are you looking for somewhere to play golf or somewhere to win prizes?
    51 pts in kinsale?
    Doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

51 pts in kinsale?
    Doubt it

Point I was making is that I wouldn't be using the scores in a club determine if I'd join it or not. It was coming across as sour grapes that he wasn't winning prizes for a good score - & it was - just not good enough on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,828 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I love it when people lose out to a "ridiculous" score by a few points and are up in arms...
    Ridiculous score loses out to Ridiculous score minus 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Dormy

I know a lot of people who joined from Rafeen Creek are leaving as well. Some of the committee down there are something else by all accounts!

Also a member in Kinsale.

I went out recently for winter league (10 holes) and when finished I entered the comp on the other 10 holes. Many more than me did the same.
    I went out the following week with the intention of doing the same but was glad to go home after 10 as the weather had gotten very wet.
    Another time I went down and played 5 holes on one course then entered the 10 hole comp on the other course.
    I think the 2 x 10 hole idea offers excellent choice. I was big time against it when I heard about it originally

I hear a lot of people giving out about the 10 holes but then again people love complaining.

As for the committee.... Is there a popular committee in a golf club anywhere?
    I have absolutely no connection with any committee members BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭whocares86

If anyone is interested i can get you full membership for Ring of kerry for €150

Dormy wrote: »
    Also a member in Kinsale.

I went out recently for winter league (10 holes) and when finished I entered the comp on the other 10 holes. Many more than me did the same.
    I went out the following week with the intention of doing the same but was glad to go home after 10 as the weather had gotten very wet.
    Another time I went down and played 5 holes on one course then entered the 10 hole comp on the other course.
    I think the 2 x 10 hole idea offers excellent choice. I was big time against it when I heard about it originally

I hear a lot of people giving out about the 10 holes but then again people love complaining.

As for the committee.... Is there a popular committee in a golf club anywhere?
    I have absolutely no connection with any committee members BTW

I agree with the above with regard to Kinsale. I haven't experienced any difficulty getting out on the course at any stage during the winter. There are plenty of options there with the two ten hole comps running each week. I haven't much contact with the committee but the place seems to be running well so don't see any difficulties. I know quite a few lads who have joined or are joining for 2014.

Does this include the Kerry card whocares86?

Do you know what kind of discount clubs offer with the card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭whocares86

yes , includes kerry Card, not sure about the discounts on offer with it ,

http://www.ringofkerrygolf.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Content&file=preview&id=2

whocares86 wrote: »
    yes , includes kerry Card, not sure about the discounts on offer with it ,

http://www.ringofkerrygolf.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Content&file=preview&id=2

What sort of condition is the place in these days? Great course but the condition of the place over the lasdt 2-3 years is nothing short of horrendous. Think they had 80-85,000 euros a year in membership subscriptions so the rest of income was green fees, of which I can't imagine there was much green fee income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,411 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

No. Mallow is €699 per year full stop. This is the fee to everyone unless opting for a five day membership. A lot of re-jigging in the club recently.

Its not 699 for existing members ,the 699 is only for new members and it will go up in the second year.
    Its currently 924 euro for existing full members,770 sub ,85 euro land levy,50 bar sub and 19 euro Gui fee.
    The land levy is due to the club paying 1.2m euro for just over an acre of agricultural land at the height of the boom.:(

The general sub is coming down though due to the removal of discounts for young and older members so it will probably be around 820-850 this year .
    Also a very popular Open competition every Wednesday and most importantly these competitions seem to be supported well so you would always get out on either day or both if you wanted.

Too well supported if you ask me ,there is far too much timesheet space allocated to competitions in the club ,its often a struggle to get out for a casual game ,I know a number of members who left the club over this.
    They have introduced members timeslots now but its still not great.

The mats they have now are decent ,much better than the garbage they had a few years ago.
    Still I dont understand why they cant use the grass tee boxes all year round ,as they are large and long tee boxes ,some 40 yards long.
    They trialled playing off grass all year round a few years ago and it was a big success but for some bizarre reason returned to the mats the following year.
    Its a pity as the course is playable all year round now and is well kept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭kerrycork13

Any of these golf courses offer the monthly direct debit option because personally I would nt be able to afford the full yearly subscription in one payment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 padywhack

Its not 699 for existing members ,the 699 is only for new members and it will go up in the second year.
    Its currently 924 euro for existing full members,770 sub ,85 euro land levy,50 bar sub and 19 euro Gui fee.
    The land levy is due to the club paying 1.2m euro for just over an acre of agricultural land at the height of the boom.:(

The general sub is coming down though due to the removal of discounts for young and older members so it will probably be around 820-850 this year .

I was of the impression from a number who attended the SGM recently that the sub was being reduced for existing members to €700 or €770 including levies. Can you elaborate on the €820 to €850 figure?

Thanks.

padywhack wrote: »
    I was of the impression from a number who attended the SGM recently that the sub was being reduced for existing members to €700 or €770 including levies. Can you elaborate on the €820 to €850 figure?

Thanks.

The proposed new sub at the EGM was repeatedly mentioned by the treasurer to be around 750 euro inc land levy,there was no mention of 700 or 770 euro.
    However you have the bar levy and Gui fee on top of that so that brings it up to 819 .

The 750 figure is not confirmed yet and wont be until the AGM in March,it could be higher and in most likelihood will be .

The proposed new sub at the EGM was repeatedly mentioned by the treasurer to be around 750 euro inc land levy,there was no mention of 700 or 770 euro.
    However you have the bar levy and Gui fee on top of that so that brings it up to 819 .

The 750 figure is not confirmed yet and wont be until the AGM in March,it could be higher and in most likelihood will be .

Thanks for that, I was interested in rejoining Mallow at €700 long term, but if it's going to be in the €820-850 bracket per annum I'll probably give it a skip. A number of friends of mine are also now reconsidering with the information you've provided.

Thanks again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭cairny

padywhack wrote: »
    Thanks for that, I was interested in rejoining Mallow at €700 long term, but if it's going to be in the €820-850 bracket per annum I'll probably give it a skip. A number of friends of mine are also now reconsidering with the information you've provided.

Thanks again.

Hi there, I'm a member in Mallow also, I'm not sure how accurate that info is to be honest. As I understand it the aim is to have one fee for all at €699 inclusive of levies, it is true that this can't be officially set until AGM in Feb / March but it's the intended annual sub and not a discounted 1st year fee.

If you ring the club (022) 21145 I'm sure someone can confirm.

I do know that if someone joins now the next fee is not due until March 2014 so its 15 for 12.

There is a pay monthly option as well, somewhere around €60 I think.

cairny wrote: »
    Hi there, I'm a member in Mallow also, I'm not sure how accurate that info is to be honest. As I understand it the aim is to have one fee for all at €699 inclusive of levies, it is true that this can't be officially set until AGM in Feb / March but it's the intended annual sub and not a discounted 1st year fee.

If you ring the club (022) 21145 I'm sure someone can confirm.

I do know that if someone joins now the next fee is not due until March 2014 so its 15 for 12.

There is a pay monthly option as well, somewhere around €60 I think.

Thanks again, more info to digest. I took your advice and rang Mallow and while they cannot give a definite fee until the AGM the suggestion is that it will be in and around the €699 figure.

It's a pity that there's uncertainty surrounding this.

Thanks again for the replies.

cairny wrote: »

How do you propose the club finance this 699 euro fee for all ??

The club removed discounts for older members at the recent EGM as the club couldnt afford the reduced subs.It was supposedly costing the club 100,000 euro per annum .
    This reduced sub was a minimum of 693 euro whilst full members were paying over 920 euro.

So as you understand the club will now charge a one off flat rate of 699 to all .
    If they cant sustain a sub of 693 euro for less than one quarter of the total members then how in Gods name can they sustain a sub of 699 for all ?
    The club would need a net increase of roughly 125 members to maintain its current income with a sub of 699 for all .

I really dont understand the confusion over what was clearly said at the EGM but then again I am not surprised going on the past record of people attending meetings as they seem to hear what they wish to hear and spend time discussing frivolous matters instead of serious debate.

I'll give you good odds the sub will be over 820 euro,its simple maths .