Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rate your pants

• 13-12-2013 3:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭

After years of indifferent undies, I discovered M&S hipsters. No, not a bunch of fashionistas hanging round marks & sparks but a comfortable, pleasant gluteus maximus hugging pair of pants.

What's your favoured hip wear and why? And no, edible underwear doesn't count.
    Post edited by Sephiroth_dude on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Normally lace hot pants. Or none :o

French knickers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Londsdale boxers from sports direct. Cheap, nice material, snug, flattering, good ball support and all the funky colours :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Londsdale boxers from sports direct. Cheap, nice material, snug, flattering, good ball support and all the funky colours :pac:

I only wear the boxers on cold winter nights in bed. I find they just shift my junk about during the day...

• Administrators Posts: 54,834 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Usually one of Diesel, Original Penguin, All Saints, Calvin Klein - always the tight fit and never, ever cotton. Those cotton, loose fitting boxers are the worst things ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

mauzo! wrote: »
    Normally lace hot pants. Or none :o
    French knickers!

Thats what I meant!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Boxers. Though I fail to see the point of the ones with buttons on the front. Surely if you need to whip it out, it's easier to slip down the waistband than be undoing buttons? And more often than not, the buttons are crap, so they just open and you're left everything hanging out anyway, and hoping that the fly on your pants holds up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

No underwear necessary... 10/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

old hippy wrote: »
    And no, edible underwear doesn't count

Why?

After years of indifferent undies, I discovered M&S hipsters. No, not a bunch of fashionistas hanging round marks & sparks but a comfortable, pleasant gluteus maximus hugging pair of pants.

What's your favoured hip wear and why? And no, edible underwear doesn't count.
    Merkin wrote: »
    Why?

Because it's not sentient.

God I'd feel awful for underwear if it could perceive what was happening to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Mine are like a Dutch cheese the moths have destroyed them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I'm not too fond of my greenish-brown underwear.

I could've sworn they were white when I bought them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

le la rat wrote: »
    Mine are like a Dutch cheese the moths have destroyed them

That's not moths burning holes in them.

God I'd feel awful for underwear if it could perceive what was happening to it.

Not something you have to worry about, shurely? ;)

I could bake a loaf of bread in there at this point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

Chainmail thong.

Last line of defense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HerrScheisse

Penneys three for a fiver. At that price it is cheaper to throw them away than to wash them. Disposable underpants, a brave new world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

CK boxer briefs. Best fit and comfort ever. They look great too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

French knickers!
    Tee hee, reminds me of a woman I saw in a shop once, the elastic in her French knickers snapped and fell down around her ankles. Fair play to her, she casually stepped out of them and walked away, leaving them on the floor as if nothing had happened:D

Walking up the road to work the other day, I saw a pair of chinos (belt and all) on the path. How does that happen, I always wonder. Someone on the lash, comes home and it's "now where did I put my trousers?" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Blue Pants!

Damn! Force Eleven beat me to it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

I've one pair with the elastic gone in the waist. It's like a lucky dip when I'm fishing for a pair of jocks. If i get them, they keep falling down inside my trousers.

I refuse to throw them out. I like to live life on the edge. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Tee hee, reminds me of a woman I saw in a shop once, the elastic in her French knickers snapped and fell down around her ankles. Fair play to her, she casually stepped out of them and walked away, leaving them on the floor as if nothing had happened:D

Do you still have them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

French knickers!

I just spilled mayonaise on my trousers.

On a totally unrelated note, nice one whoops! they're the best! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Thread title is confusing. The OP says "rate your pants"........but then procedes to talk about underpants. They are two different things.

If it's pants, I usually wear chinos or jeans. For underpants, it's always M&S or Next cotton boxers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Jockey Performance.

Not cheap, but they are the most comfortable I've found in 31 years.

junk is never in the wrong spot, jocks never wander north or south, Cool on a hot day, warm on a cold day.

Wonderjocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I'm not too fond of my greenish-brown underwear.

I could've sworn they were white when I bought them.

Vomit.
    I just spilled mayonaise on my trousers.

On a totally unrelated note, nice one whoops! they're the best! :pac:

Say no more, say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Only Ted Baker for me, I find something that's comfy for my junk and looks good, I stick with it... CK aren't very comfortable, they get all misshapen and cause all sorts of distress for the family jewels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Isn't there studies to suggest that tight fitting pants for blokes inhibit sperm production. The balls are designed to hang outside the body as sperm production is better when they're at a cooler temperature - this is clearly a ridiculous design flaw in the male body, but there's not much that can be done about it.
    Therefore, if you're a young man who hopes to procreate one day, the looser boxer shorts may be the way to go. And if you're a young women who hopes to procreate, something flattering and lacy will no doubt help.

And on an unrealted note. If you're a bloke and you buy nice lingerie for your OH. Does it count as a present for her, you or you both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Penny's or Dunnes finest quality for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

+1 on Penneys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Jockey Performance.

Not cheap, but they are the most comfortable I've found in 31 years.

junk is never in the wrong spot, jocks never wander north or south, Cool on a hot day, warm on a cold day.

Wonderjocks.

I thought they were going to be shocking expensive! They're around €20 for a pair -

(Possibly NSFW, it's rather large... picture!)

http://www.amazon.com/Jockey-Microfiber-Performance-Boxer-Brief/dp/B00BP2VOAC

But from Jockeys page -
    Made for the sporting man who means business, Jockey® Performance is designed to give you the freedom to move and the support to perform.

Lightweight and quick drying, you’ll love this range for its:
    • Minimal seaming to reduce irritation
    • Coolmax® to draw sweat away keeping you cool and dry
    • Soft backed waistband
    • Breathable mesh panels (in the Active Cool range)
    • Unique gusset design for extra support and side seam free (in the Active Max) range

Aside from the breathable mesh panels and the Coolmax, I'm wearing Penneys jocks that do the very same job (plus they don't hike the junk up half as high as that pic!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,529 ✭✭✭✭Alun

grenache wrote: »
    Thread title is confusing. The OP says "rate your pants"........but then procedes to talk about underpants. They are two different things.
    When exactly did it start to be normal here to use US terms for these things? In my mind pants and underpants are the same thing. The things you wear over the top of them are called trousers. And don't even get me started with 'slacks' :rolleyes:

Penney's Hispters all the way. Cannot stand loose-fitting jocks - there's nothing worse than a readjustment when things go a little lopsided down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,270 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Picked up some American Eagle sports trunks the last time I was in NY.
    Most comfortable underwear I've had.

Nice soft material, relatively stretchy and keeps everything in place.

Never was a fan of loose jocks, nothing worse than having bruises on your knee after going for a run :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I wear boxers, but they cant be too loose, or too tight of course, my poor junk needs room to breath. Just like with condoms it has taken me a long time to find the right fit

Cause my cock is huge obv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I believe there are fart-absorbing underpants on the market now. You can fire off a "21 gun salute" and nobody would clock it....apparently.

Not sure if they would still work after a strong curry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

a pair of cotton briefs with an elasticated waistband, nice a snug.............cos you need support when lifting heavy objects ;) :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

I've one pair with the elastic gone in the waist. It's like a lucky dip when I'm fishing for a pair of jocks. If i get them, they keep falling down inside my trousers.

I refuse to throw them out. I like to live life on the edge. :cool:

Sometimes you form an emotional attachment to a trusted pair of delicates.

I don't normally wear Y-fronts, but had to purchase a pair in a hurry a few years ago after a rather unfortunate incident involving Asian street food. What was once sparkling white is now a rather sickly yellow shade, and the pouch has become frayed and stained. The gusset zone is a complete disaster altogether.

But, like yourself, I refuse to bin or burn them. They are more than Y-fronts; they are a direct link to memories of a happy time.

Dunnes loose fit boxers, think it's 3 pairs for 12 euro. I always get them about a size too big too so they are extra loose. Can't stand tight boxers don't know how people can tolerate them.

Rabelais wrote: »
    Sometimes you form an emotional attachment to a trusted pair of delicates.

I don't normally wear Y-fronts, but had to purchase a pair in a hurry a few years ago after a rather unfortunate incident involving Asian street food. What was once sparkling white is now a rather sickly yellow shade, and the pouch has become frayed and stained. The gusset zone is a complete disaster altogether.

But, like yourself, I refuse to bin or burn them. They are more than Y-fronts; they are a direct link to memories of a happy time.

Sentimentality toward an honest pair of skiddies is a noble matter. I like to relax on my chez long at home in my Feile '94 t-shirt and aforementioned under pants. Harkening back to my more glorious days.

Underpant nostalgia is good for the soul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Willies.

Willies.

Its more of a practical matter for the discerning gentleman in relation to what he holsters the love pistol in.

Comfort and fashion are not easily combined. :cool:

You really have to take into account wether your choice of boxer/briefs has an easy exit strategy for The Captain.

I prefer an easy open gate, it's much more preferable than having to drag him over the fence.

Really not having much truck with the latest brand of Penny's finest, 3 pack. The gate is obstructed so you've to reach in at a sharp angle and, upon removing himself, it's liable to kink the hose at just the wrong time.

• Administrators Posts: 54,834 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

grenache wrote: »

If it's pants, I usually wear chinos or jeans. For underpants, it's always M&S or Next cotton boxers.

That's because you are completely wrong and are mixing up pants and trousers.

Willies.

heehee.

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

You really have to take into account wether your choice of boxer/briefs has an easy exit strategy for The Captain.

I prefer an easy open gate, it's much more preferable than having to drag him over the fence.

Really not having much truck with the latest brand of Penny's finest, 3 pack. The gate is obstructed so you've to reach in at a sharp angle and, upon removing himself, it's liable to kink the hose at just the wrong time.

Cheap boxers are a complete false economy. Very little thought goes into design or ergonomics. As you say, you have to root around to whip out Herman the one-eyed German. And the material used can really chaff the Bobby's Hat, especially if making regular visits to the lavatorials during a night on the sauce.