Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deerhunter in Ireland

• 12-12-2013 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭

Well lads. After putting in the order with the wife for a Christmas present. A deerhunter jacket and trousers. Thinking of going for the ram jacket and ram trousers.
    Anyone know where is the best place in ireland to get these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭marcp

just been talking to n11 outdoor store and they have stopped doing deerhunter. Says they are to hard to get from supplier.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Sean Harding in Stakelums does a line of them. I've bought most of mine from him. He also gets in stuff when i ask.

Simon in Sportsden also does them. He is in Navan i think.

Neill in Lakelands in Mullinger also carry some of their line.

Lastly Joe in Connolly's Red Mills in Kilkenny has some. Been a while since i was in with him so not sure of the quantity.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Cass wrote: »
    Sean Harding in Stakelums does a line of them. I've bought most of mine from him. He also gets in stuff when i ask.

Simon in Sportsden also does them. He is in Navan i think.

Neill in Lakelands in Mullinger also carry some of their line.

Lastly Joe in Connolly's Red Mills in Kilkenny has some. Been a while since i was in with him so not sure of the quantity.

Cheers for that cass. What ones have you got yourself.

I've got:
    • Ram Trousers
    • Ram Jacket
    • Realtree Gilet/Sleeveless jacket
    • Sneaky Suit

The trousers and jacket are great. Warm, waterproof, and the trousers have the high back so extra warm/comfy. Multiple pockets, and the Gilet has bullet pouches, and a poachers pocket so good during the summer months.

The Sneaky suit is a great thing. Realtree with artificial leaves. Can go on over most any clothing (summer or winter) and has a built in hood, and peak cap with veil. Was out after deer one morning and had a Cock Pheasant come up to within 10 feet of me as i was lying down with all the gear on. So it works.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

I'm thinking of the ram jacket and trousers. What are they like for the overheating factor on long stalks. Nothing as bad as a jacket that you sweat in and it holds it in.

Both the trousers and jacket are quite warm. If you wear a lot of clothing under them you'll sweat like a pig. However i soon copped on to wear only a light top under the jacket, and nothing (but the kacks) under the trousers.

Most times, as i'm not a huge fan of big jackets ( i find them somewhat cumbersome), i wear the trousers, warm tops, the Gilet, and the sneaky suit top over the tops. This allows me the freedom of movement i like. Having said that in the colder months i'll have a t-shirt, light top (jacksuit or similar) and the Ram jacket on. Very warm, and the material it's made from does not soak you, and more importantly does not "rustle" like some cheaper jackets.

I made the mistake last year to wear a pair of long johns under the trousers. By feck was it warm. I mean i was soaked. So it's just a matter of getting the right combo of clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Message TriggerPL on this. He will put you in touch with a chap in Longford who sells a load of deer hunter clothes at really keen prices. He has a wide selection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Cupid__Stunt

I've been wearing the Almatti trousers lately and find them excellent. Not too warm and not at all sweaty. Nice fit and tough material. Hadn't worn deerhunter for years but they've really improved. Just been sent the jacket to try and first impressions are good too.

Just got a pair of the ram trousers. Wow. Unreal comfortable. I can't get over how nice and snug of a fit they are.

Jacket next. God I love Christmas presents.

I've a deertex waterproof fleece and I love it bit it ripped at stitching putting it on. Maybe my fault but if you buy Rivers West you have the best but you need a big wallet. They wont rip. Barb wire wont rip it even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭shoot to kill

4200fps wrote: »
    I've a deertex waterproof fleece and I love it bit it ripped at stitching putting it on. Maybe my fault but if you buy Rivers West you have the best but you need a big wallet. They wont rip. Barb wire wont rip it even.

Plus one to the above. Have the full kit. Top class. You can sit it a puddle of water with this stuff. Check it out on youtube. money well spent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭DEMOLISHER

I've a deertex waterproof fleece and I love it bit it ripped at stitching putting it on. Maybe my fault

that's wat happens from eating all the deer burgers . you wont fit in door next:D

DEMOLISHER wrote: »
    I've a deertex waterproof fleece and I love it bit it ripped at stitching putting it on. Maybe my fault

that's wat happens from eating all the deer burgers . you wont fit in door next:D
    im 11 stone 5'11 lol so take a few weeks of eating burgers to get the belly out on me lol :pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

DEMOLISHER wrote: »
    im 11 stone 5'11 lol so take a few weeks of eating burgers to get the belly out on me lol :pac::p

Ur to meane to gain weight even

TriggerPL wrote: »

Ur to meane to gain weight even
    I get to see my didgeridoo when ever its not plugged in :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Paying for it does not count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭DEMOLISHER

get to see it a lot so I bet un pluggable yoke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Anyone stocking this stuff down South?

Also, is there anywhere open on Sundays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Cass wrote: »
    Both the trousers and jacket are quite warm. If you wear a lot of clothing under them you'll sweat like a pig. However i soon copped on to wear only a light top under the jacket, and nothing (but the kacks) under the trousers.

Most times, as i'm not a huge fan of big jackets ( i find them somewhat cumbersome), i wear the trousers, warm tops, the Gilet, and the sneaky suit top over the tops. This allows me the freedom of movement i like. Having said that in the colder months i'll have a t-shirt, light top (jacksuit or similar) and the Ram jacket on. Very warm, and the material it's made from does not soak you, and more importantly does not "rustle" like some cheaper jackets.

I made the mistake last year to wear a pair of long johns under the trousers. By feck was it warm. I mean i was soaked. So it's just a matter of getting the right combo of clothing.
    I to have the ram trousers and jacket. I wear the trousers for all kinds of shooting but just wear the jacket for dear stalking and duck' to worm for walking in. But my jacket is a size to big so a bit bulky
    But i will say a great buy.