Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Off Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

When did this PM me shite start? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭DANNY2014

When you asked for nudes!!! Ya get what ya asked for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Yeah it's by no means a cert but I'd imagine you'd get 12s or 14s the night before (too big even before seeing the draw or field). Sports book might even cock up as usual and go bigger. I'll know Sunday anyway and post hopefully will give a good account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Earendil

Bit desperate isn't it. yuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Xyzforsure

Yeah it's by no means a cert but I'd imagine you'd get 12s or 14s the night before (too big even before seeing the draw or field). Sports book might even cock up as usual and go bigger. I'll know Sunday anyway and post hopefully will give a good account

We shall be on standby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Anybody listen to betting episode of the final furlong podcast??

It's a great listen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭uxiant

BumperD wrote: »
    MS – We do not close accounts. We do restrict certain accounts, however, but these are a very small minority and these are almost exclusively because bets are not placed in good faith. For example, for customers abusing promotions.

How do they know what accounts are laying on Betfair? In reality they're just restricting people who beat SP.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Birch's Banker Ulysses 4/5 fav :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

The Mig wrote: »
    Birch's Banker Ulysses 4/5 fav :pac:

Should have laid the bollox out of it. The man is a ****ing joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

jimjamcos wrote:
    Well lads, not sure if many of you follow the GAA championship but I had a good bet on the below yesterday.

jimjamcos wrote:
    Brian Fenton (Dublin) to be named Footballer of the Year @ 33/1 with Paddy Power

jimjamcos wrote:
    Firstly, Dublin will win the All Ireland (Mayo and Tyrone only conceivable challengers) and its 99.9% likely that POTY will come from the winning team.

jimjamcos wrote:
    Dublin players ahead of Fenton in market include Ciaran Kilkenny (9/1 fav), James McCarthy & Diarmuid Connelly (both around 14/1) and Bernard Brogan (20/1).

jimjamcos wrote:
    While Brogan won POTY the first time this team won the All Ireland, a midfielder (MD McCaughley) and half-back (Jack McCaffrey) have won it on the last two successful. The reason why I feel its much more likely for a defender or midfielder to win it for Dublin is the fact that Dublins array of attacking options means they don't overly rely on any particular forward (although Brogan is key) and regularly substitute even their most high profile names. They have developed their game to a high pressing type with runners through the middle their main weapon. This is where I think Fenton will shine.

jimjamcos wrote:
    He won an all-star in his very first year on the team last season, ousting a previously mentioned POTY, he plays almost every minute of every game (unlike most of the forwards) and is only coming into his prime at 23/24. He's sure to get loads of space in a ultra dominant team this summer, and looks very likely to become increasingly dominant in terms of scoring. He also has a good media profile which helps with end of year awards.

jimjamcos wrote:
    I see now he's gone into 22/1 with Paddy Power but given he's 16's with Ladbrokes I think 28/1 with Boyles still looks value in what's likely to be a 5/6 horse race.

10/3 favourite now with only final left. :-D

Hope some of you followed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

jimjamcos wrote: »

But suppose Mayo win on the 18th, and/or you're looking for an insurance bet, C O'Connor at 20/1 mightn't be a bad idea.
    Draws at 10/1 (higher live), are also not wildly uncommon in these penultimate games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Didn't follow but this would match the epic adebeyor shout a few seasons back

Horse wasn't declared tomorrow

But suppose Mayo win on the 18th, and/or you're looking for an insurance bet, C O'Connor at 20/1 mightn't be a bad idea. Draws at 10/1 (higher live), are also not wildly uncommon in these penultimate games.

Nah, can't have Mayo winning whatsoever. Cillian o'Connor has been average at best too bar the Tyrone game so 20/1 is shocking value for him.

If you think Mayo will win then Aidan O Shea at 15/2 is your only bet but Dublin are on a different level imo.

BumperD wrote:
    Didn't follow but this would match the epic adebeyor shout a few seasons back

It would way out-do it in terms of winnings so here's hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

Nah, can't have Mayo winning whatsoever. Cillian o'Connor has been average at best too bar the Tyrone game so 20/1 is shocking value for him.

If you think Mayo will win then Aidan O Shea at 15/2 is your only bet but Dublin are on a different level imo.
    Not at all him Jim this is or yr

Mayo are bottlers but Dublin won't give them a chance to bottle it. Dublin and Kerry are the two best teams in the country by far, Mayo are in for a hiding. Galway gave them a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

Ya didn't see the Tyrone game at all I take it then

I thought Tyrone would beat them alright but Dublin are a different animal. I hope Mayo will give them a good game but I can see a 6 point or more victory for Dublin.

naughto wrote:
    Ya didn't see the Tyrone game at all I take it then

Tyrone hadn't one single scoring forward (33yo old Sean Cavanagh being sent off) and still nearly beat Mayo.

Dublin -3 @ evens is one of the best bets you'll see this year.

TMYPOTMYGB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭razorhead

Jim, I got €95 on @ 22/1 after you highlighted this in May, 3's now with PP, fingers crossed, thanks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

razorhead wrote:
    Jim, I got €95 on @ 22/1 after you highlighted this in May, 3's now with PP, fingers crossed, thanks....

Mon the after timing

BET RECEIPT NUMBER : O/20139125/0002713
    Selection Selection Details Result
    GAA Football Outrights
    All Ireland SFC
    Footballer of the year 2016
    18th of Sept 2016 3:30 pm
    Footballer of the Year
    Brian Fenton @ 22/1
    Pending

Stake and Return Details
    Bet placed at 24th of May 2016 10:39 am Total Stake €95.00
    Bet type Single (To Win) Tax@Tax free 0
    Number of lines 1 Total stake due €95.00
    Stake per line €95.00 Freebets Redeemed €0.00
    Channel Internet Total amount paid €95.00
    Number of win lines -
    Potential Returns €2,185.00
    Total Returns

Sorry if you doubted me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

razorhead wrote: »
    BET RECEIPT NUMBER : O/20139125/0002713
    Selection Selection Details Result
    GAA Football Outrights
    All Ireland SFC
    Footballer of the year 2016
    18th of Sept 2016 3:30 pm
    Footballer of the Year
    Brian Fenton @ 22/1
    Pending

Stake and Return Details
    Bet placed at 24th of May 2016 10:39 am Total Stake €95.00
    Bet type Single (To Win) Tax@Tax free 0
    Number of lines 1 Total stake due €95.00
    Stake per line €95.00 Freebets Redeemed €0.00
    Channel Internet Total amount paid €95.00
    Number of win lines -
    Potential Returns €2,185.00
    Total Returns

Sorry if you doubted me!!!

What bit of 'aftertiming' don't you understand?

It's still after timing if you're on the good side of a bet well after

No harm or anything but it still is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Tyrone hadn't one single scoring forward (33yo old Sean Cavanagh being sent off) and still nearly beat Mayo.

Dublin -3 @ evens is one of the best bets you'll see this year.

TMYPOTMYGB

Cant agree really. I certainly think they'll win and Mayo aren't great. However the Dubs havent beaten a handicap all year I dont think. Theyve never hammered a real top team in championship (the 7 pts vs Kerry in 13 prob closest, but that was a real close one til 70 mins). They tend to consolidate leads in real important games these days and I think if theyre 3 ahead with 10 mins left they'll just close the game out rather than going for more. I dont like Mayo but would take them if I got +4. Hope the Dubs wipe them betting aside though. Nice bet on Fenton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Anyone see that Powers are giving away free tickets to Irish Champions Weekend...

Just text Saturday or Sunday to 50100 and your sorted... 2 free tickets are then yours

Sorry folks mea culpa.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,340 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Ahh , to be fair Bet has not landed , he called out the support of a great tip and shown the bet was placed on the back of it , that is more chat and acknowledgment of a great tip than after timing in my book.

It certainly does not look likely to wind anybody up