Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Santa flights on Ryanair around Shannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭Fingleberries

sully2010 wrote: »
    Just came across this and thought id share it, please move if in the wrong section.

Ryanair are offering free 40 minute Santa flights around Shannon over the next two weekends.

Make a change from the normal shopping centre Santa visit!

http://www.ryanair.com/ie/news/ryanair-and-shannon-airport-offer-free-santa-flights
    Fair play - that would indeed be something special for the kids.
    And free... From Ryanair?! Truly a Christmas miracle :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Good luck getting tickets.

It was put up online yesterday, theyve already sent out 2000 of the 3000 applications. Im praying for an email at some stage today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

It was in AH yesterday.
    I'd be surprised if there is any availability.
    Well done to Ryanair, just shows that good PR works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭andyournameis

It's amazing what Shannon has achieved since they have broken away from DUBLIN AIRPORT, Well Done to SHANNON AIRPORT, Got my Flight tickets today...Woohoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 carolp

Well done on getting your tickets, thats brill.
    I just applied. I've no valid passports for one child, what else can be used for id. Also when did you apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭jmorrisey

they may even get a surprise trip to guantanamo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭loopymum

I just applied, it would be fantastic if I got it, kids would be thrilled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Free flights with €100 booking fee?

Only kidding. fair play to Mr O'L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭hillbloom

I read the T&C and it never mentioned 100e booking fee or did I miss it!! I understand its all free, 1 adult to 3 children. Correct me if I wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Read the first line of the press release " Ryanair, Europeans favourite low cost airline".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

hfallada wrote: »
    Read the first line of the press release " Ryanair, Europeans favourite low cost airline".
    Why, is it false?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭KCC

It's amazing what Shannon has achieved since they have broken away from DUBLIN AIRPORT, Well Done to SHANNON AIRPORT, Got my Flight tickets today...Woohoo

Congrats - when did you apply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

hillbloom wrote: »
    I read the T&C and it never mentioned 100e booking fee or did I miss it!! I understand its all free, 1 adult to 3 children. Correct me if I wrong.
    Do you need a passport if you are landing back in Shannon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,894 ✭✭✭✭ted1

it was actual the Dublin Airport Authority ;) as oppose to Dublin Airport.

Like Stansted is run by Manchester Airport Group

Good luck getting tickets.

It was put up online yesterday, theyve already sent out 2000 of the 3000 applications. Im praying for an email at some stage today.

My hopes are fading... Just wondering how you know they've sent out 2000 tickets already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭hillbloom

Hi hfallada. Seriously is it free or not free. You seem to say it not free. I re-read the link the posters at the start put & still cant see about a charge.

hillbloom wrote: »
    Hi hfallada. Seriously is it free or not free. You seem to say it not free. I re-read the link the posters at the start put & still cant see about a charge.

It's free

KCC wrote: »
    My hopes are fading... Just wondering how you know they've sent out 2000 tickets already?

The Shannon Airport facebook page

15k applications apparently
    FREE Santa flights oversubscribed within 3 hours

11 December 2013

Still opportunity for tickets to be won through draw to see Santa in the skies!

Wednesday, 11 December 2013:

There is no doubting who the star of the Christmas show still is as Shannon Airport and Ryanair have today confirmed that they were massively oversubscribed within hours of the 4,500 FREE seats being made available yesterday for flights to meet Santa Claus this weekend and next. Email and phone-lines for bookings opened at 3 p.m. yesterday and within just three hours, over 15,000 applications for seats were submitted. However, there is still an opportunity for those who applied and are still applying to be on one of the magical flights, which will see Santa hop on board at 15,000ft to meet the excited children, as a number of seats have been reserved for a draw for those who have been unsuccessful so far.

Shannon Airport CEO Neil Pakey said that while they expected strong interest in the give-away, the number of applications submitted was beyond anything they could have imagined. “We are still counting but we believe we had applications for up to 15,000 seats within three hours of the emails and phone-lines opening. That’s an incredible amount of applications in such a short time frame and it shows the magic of Christmas and, indeed, of flying. This will put a smile on many, many young faces, including special needs children for whom we have a number of seats designated. “We are closing our phone-lines as they were jammed within minutes of the offer going live but we are keeping our email system open, however, for those who still want to be in the hat for our draw.”The initiative is to mark both the recent agreement between Ryanair and the airport for a new deal that will see the airline commence eight new routes –Berlin, Paris, Fuerteventura, Warsaw, Faro, Munich, Nice and Krakow – from the end of next March as well as to celebrate the end of the airport’s first year as an independent entity.

The free flights will operate on Saturdays and Sundays over this and the following weekend from Shannon Airport six times daily for short flights but which will be long enough for Santa to jump on board from his sleigh and spread the festive cheer among the excited young passengers.Anyone still interested submitting names for the draw for the remaining seats can do so by filling out the booking form here website and emailing it to santa@shannonairport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭NobodyImportant

Good way of free publicity bundled together with Pilot training.

.. I assume.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

I don't get it really. Isn't this kind of like getting on the Luas to meet santa, only worse because of all the hassle of getting to the airport and dealing with queues etc?

Maybe I just don't see the attraction because I'm terrified of flying and need to consume loads of alcohol before I'll go near one...bah humbug etc :D

Got my tickets :D
    Check your junk folders folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

They should have charged people 10Euro each and given those that turn up cash back at the gate, would have stopped people grabbing seats just cos it's free

scudzilla wrote: »
    They should have charged people 10Euro each and given those that turn up cash back at the gate, would have stopped people grabbing seats just cos it's free

Great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭ozmo

I don't get it really. Isn't this kind of like getting on the Luas to meet santa, only worse because of all the hassle of getting to the airport and dealing with queues etc?

Maybe I just don't see the attraction because I'm terrified of flying and need to consume loads of alcohol before I'll go near one...bah humbug etc :D

+1 on the bah humbug indeed - think of the environment - 24 planes circling the city going nowhere.
    I'm sure someone can give exact figures - but I read each 737 burns about 1 gallon of fuel a second - (or 18.5 L of fuel per seat per hour)
    Wasteful.

“Roll it back”

I wonder was the airport 6k passengers short of a target ;) 3k arrive + 3k depart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

ozmo wrote: »
    +1 on the bah humbug indeed - think of the environment - 24 planes circling the city going nowhere.
    I'm sure someone can give exact figures - but I read each 737 burns about 1 gallon of fuel a second - (or 18.5 L of fuel per seat per hour)
    Wasteful.
    ted1 wrote: »
    I wonder was the airport 6k passengers short of a target ;) 3k arrive + 3k depart

Ah come on lads. Get in the spirit. My daughter who is 4 would absolutely love to go on one of these flights, i think its a great idea and kudos to Michael O Leary as i assume he's picking up the tab.

Unfortunately I doubt I'll be winning one of the seats. Prob about 20,000 ahead of me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

ozmo wrote: »
    Wasteful.

That's 4.546 litres per second...

Which is 4.546 x 60 = 272.76 litres per minute.

An average european flight 2.5 hrs = 150 minutes

That's 272.76 x 150 = 40,914 litres of fuel.

The normal amount that a 40 foot trailer belonging to maxol/esso would carry here is approx 30,000 litres.

Would a regular plane take that much fuel plus another 30%?

I was always a bah humbug and have a serious interest in aviation so usually I'd say this is nothing but Ryanair trying to get some positive publicity. None of that will matter on Sunday when I bring my 4yr old daughter on her first flight and santa walks out. I cannot wait to see the look on her face.

This is a great publicity stunt

about 10k worth of presents, over 8 million hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

mfceiling wrote: »

The normal amount that a 40 foot trailer belonging to maxol/esso would carry here is approx 30,000 litres.

seems 200,000 ish litres in a 747

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

mfceiling wrote: »
    That's 4.546 litres per second...

Which is 4.546 x 60 = 272.76 litres per minute.

An average european flight 2.5 hrs = 150 minutes

That's 272.76 x 150 = 40,914 litres of fuel.

The normal amount that a 40 foot trailer belonging to mal/esso would carry here is approx 30,000 litres.

Without knowing the exact model 737 their using but typically the fuel capacity of a 737 series is in qround the 30,000 litres but tgey also have a range of approx 5500-9000 kms. Taking all into considerarion id say the consunption figures quoted above are wrong. However im not a pilot or an aviation engineer so I can only go with info from the net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭peppa 1986

I think this is a wonderful initiative funded by Ryanair and Shannon Airport. There are no catches, it is free. My daughter and her two children are going and looking forward to a magical experience. Why do we always have to look for the negatives, it is a wonderful opportunity for children to experience a flight that they might not be able to afford and also to have a great santa experience. Dont knock it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭NATLOR

carolp wrote: »
    Well done on getting your tickets, thats brill.
    I just applied. I've no valid passports for one child, what else can be used for id. Also when did you apply.

A passport is only required for travelling to another country ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭codie

NATLOR wrote: »
    A passport is only required for travelling to another country ;)

No its not .I was once refused on a Ryan air flight from kerry airport to Dublin because my passport was a month out of date.Its Their policy but they don't tell you until after you book.

It says in the t & c that all passangers are required to have a valid id.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭NATLOR

codie wrote: »
    No its not .I was once refused on a Ryan air flight from kerry airport to Dublin because my passport was a month out of date.Its Their policy but they don't tell you until after you book.

Correct me if im wrong but within the 'common travel area' you are only required to have valid photo ID,I have traveled frequently to the UK and drivers licence has sufficed but its always been Aer Lingus

Absolute Rubbish, its available on their website for all to see.
    I really get sick and tired of people moaning about Ryan air and giving out about hitting charges etc.
    Ryanair are the most transparent airline. they have no problem telling you that if you turn up with excess luggage they will charge you, etc

http://www.ryanair.com/en/terms-and-conditions#regulations-traveldocumentation

THE ONLY FORMS OF TRAVEL DOCUMENTS ACCEPTED ON RYANAIR FLIGHTS ARE:

A valid passport

A valid National Identity Card issued by the government of a European Economic Area (EEA) country. (Only the following EEA countries currentlyissue National Identity Cards acceptable for carriage on Ryanair flights: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden (not accepted on non Schengen flights), Switzerland)
    A valid German Government issued ‘Kinderausweis’ travel document
    A valid Greek National Police identity card
    A valid Spanish Family Book (for use by children under 14 years travelling with their parents/legal guardians on Spanish domestic flights only)
    A valid Italian ‘Certificato Di Nascita’ with photo (for use by children under 16 years) which has been endorsed as ‘VALIDO PER L'ESPATRIO’ for travel on international flights, no endorsement is required when travelling on Italian domestic flights.. It is the passenger's personal responsibility to ensure that this document meets the requirements of immigration and other governmental authorities at the destination airport.
    A valid Italian AT/BT card (for Italian domestic flights only).
    A valid UN Refugee Convention Travel Document – (issued in accordance with Article 28(1) of the 1951 UN Convention, by a Government in place of a valid passport.)
    A valid Convention Travel Document – (issued in accordance with Article 27 of the 1954 UN Convention for Stateless Persons, by a contracting state in place of a valid passport)
    A valid Collective Passport issued by an EU/EEA country

what id would a child have though, other than a passport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭sully2010

They refused you because it was out of date, no one accepts out of date passports for anything. I bet you had no other valid ID with you?

Regarding the Santa flights I have no doubt than any form of basic ID just to match the name on the tickets will be fine.

what id would a child have though, other than a passport

They are usually written on a page in the parents passport, this will surely do I would say.

No my daughter had her own passport and wasn't on ours. Its prob not going to be an issue, it's looking like I didn't get the tickets :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

They are usually written on a page in the parents passport, this will surely do I would say.

Not any more. Children must have their own passport now. Either an EU or UN directive...

They refused you because it was out of date, no one accepts out of date passports for anything. I bet you had no other valid ID with you?

Regarding the Santa flights I have no doubt than any form of basic ID just to match the name on the tickets will be fine.

No after I booked the flight I was told in the conditions you needed a valid passport.I couldn't believe it myself.I took the chance of going anyway .There was a queue with
    2 lads at the gate .Everybody had their passport.I had my drivers licence on me and that was no good either.The fellow checking passports on my left was easy going enough but the lad I went to was checking thoroughly.I chanced keeping my thumb over some of the date but he wasn't having any of it.Trust me you need a valid passport for Ryan Air even if its just a national flight.

not for the past few years. My oldest is 4 and got her first passport at 2 days, the same picture lasted here till she turned 4 ;) very odd seen here show the passport at immigration

No my daughter had her own passport and wasn't on ours. Its prob not going to be an issue, it's looking like I didn't get the tickets :(

Sure who knows they might announce the same thing for Dublin Airport soon!

Doubt it though, that's a lot of free fuel O'Leary is burning, whats wrong with the man, the wife must have finally got to him.

ted1 wrote: »
    Absolute Rubbish, its available on their website for all to see.
    I really get sick and tired of people moaning about Ryan air and giving out about hitting charges etc.
    Ryanair are the most transparent airline. they have no problem telling you that if you turn up with excess luggage they will charge you, etc

http://www.ryanair.com/en/terms-and-conditions#regulations-traveldocumentation

THE ONLY FORMS OF TRAVEL DOCUMENTS ACCEPTED ON RYANAIR FLIGHTS ARE:

A valid passport

A valid National Identity Card issued by the government of a European Economic Area (EEA) country. (Only the following EEA countries currentlyissue National Identity Cards acceptable for carriage on Ryanair flights: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden (not accepted on non Schengen flights), Switzerland)
    A valid German Government issued ‘Kinderausweis’ travel document
    A valid Greek National Police identity card
    A valid Spanish Family Book (for use by children under 14 years travelling with their parents/legal guardians on Spanish domestic flights only)
    A valid Italian ‘Certificato Di Nascita’ with photo (for use by children under 16 years) which has been endorsed as ‘VALIDO PER L'ESPATRIO’ for travel on international flights, no endorsement is required when travelling on Italian domestic flights.. It is the passenger's personal responsibility to ensure that this document meets the requirements of immigration and other governmental authorities at the destination airport.
    A valid Italian AT/BT card (for Italian domestic flights only).
    A valid UN Refugee Convention Travel Document – (issued in accordance with Article 28(1) of the 1951 UN Convention, by a Government in place of a valid passport.)
    A valid Convention Travel Document – (issued in accordance with Article 27 of the 1954 UN Convention for Stateless Persons, by a contracting state in place of a valid passport)
    A valid Collective Passport issued by an EU/EEA country

No its not rubbish cause it happened to me .It cost me €130 to get to dublin that day.I didn't make it up it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭peppa 1986

This flight is going out of and back into Shannon Airport with children. Many children will not have passports. As long as valid ID is produced they will be fine. A birth cert for a child and ID for adults to ensure that names match tickets. It is not a flight from one destination to another. It is going to and returning to the same place. Don't complicate this. It is a magical trip for children.

No its not rubbish cause it happened to me .It cost me €130 to get to dublin that day.I didn't make it up it happened.

yes it is rubbish, as you said

and i then showed you their terms and conditions which are available for all to see. as oppose to only being made available after you book which is what you said

peppa 1986 wrote: »
    This flight is going out of and back into Shannon Airport with children. Many children will not have passports. As long as valid ID is produced they will be fine. A birth cert for a child and ID for adults to ensure that names match tickets. It is not a flight from one destination to another. It is going to and returning to the same place. Don't complicate this. It is a magical trip for children.

you say that as if its fact. unless you know it to be fact, then you should edit it, your getting a free flight and free magical trip, the least you could do is play by the rules.

Can you imagine how you will feel when all the kids get refused and blame you.

Here's the site: http://www.shannonairport.ie/gns/about-us/latest-news/SantaFlights.aspx
    under the terms and conditions it says
    10. All passengers must bring photo I.D.
    other than a passport what photo Id does a Kids have?