Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top 5 Snorefest concerts

• 06-12-2013 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭

Guaranteed to cure your insomnia within 10 minutes if you attend the following concerts

1)James Taylor
    2) Neil Diamond
    3)Christy Moore
    4)Leonard Cohen
    5)Johnny Logan
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭qwerty93

Hi now, you can leave poor christy out of that!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Guaranteed to cute your insomnia within 10 minutes if you attend the following concerts

1)James Taylor
    2) Neil Diamond
    3)Christy Moore
    4)Leonard Cohen
    5)Johnny Logan

Do you know anything about music? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Well I would quote these 5 as an alternative
    1)Bruce Springsteen
    2)Depeche Mode
    3)Rolling Stones
    4)Hot Chilli Peppers
    5)Rod Stewart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

4. Leonard Cohen

No chance of sleep here OP, your ears and sensibilities will be blasted by drunk middle-aged harpies who think they're at beatnik karaoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

1)Bruce Springsteen
    2)Depeche Mode
    3)Rolling Stones
    4)Hot Chilli Peppers
    5)Rod Stewart

have seen these live twice. Atrocious. And i would love their records.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I saw Sunn O))) once..

and that was enough :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

1)Bruce Springsteen
    2)Depeche Mode
    3)Rolling Stones
    4)Hot Chilli Peppers
    5)Rod Stewart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I've never saw him live, but I think I'd rather cut my knob off than watch a Michael Buble concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,263 ✭✭✭OldRio

I remember a good few years ago the wife persuaded me to buy tickets for a Dire Straits concert.
    2 fecking hours of my life that woman owes me.
    2 FECKING hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Was anyone here at that Cat Stevens concert in the 02 a few years back? You know the one where a heckler made headlines by shouting out "Play Peace Train You Fcuking Bollocks". Apparently he played all obscure and new material and even brought out special guest Ronan Keating at one stage who was met by a chorus of boos from the frustrated audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Mar Mar Marmalade

1)Bruce Springsteen
    2)Depeche Mode
    3)Rolling Stones
    4)Hot Chili Peppers
    5)Rod Stewart

Really?!? Saw them last year. Best concert I've been to. Very energetic.

...And Flea did a handstand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The Three Stages of Elvis performed by the Craggy Island Trio.

With DJ Father Billy 'The Spinmaster' O'Dwyer and Liam "The Dancing Priest" Finnegan as a curtain raiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Guaranteed to cure your insomnia within 10 minutes if you attend the following concerts

1)James Taylor
    2) Neil Diamond
    3)Christy Moore
    4)Leonard Cohen
    5)Johnny Logan
    1)Bruce Springsteen
    2)Depeche Mode
    3)Rolling Stones
    4)Hot Chilli Peppers
    5)Rod Stewart

Obviously not.

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Have to agree with the OP.
    Id rather mash up my genitals with a bowling pin; mash ‘em up real good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

a mate of mine had a spare ticket to go and see The Pixies...........utter shiiiite

but then there are several bands and artists mentioned above that Id love to see live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Two Words,
    Bob Dylan!
    Utter S#/te live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

BBDBB wrote: »
    a mate of mine had a spare ticket to go and see The Pixies...........utter shiiiite

but then there are several bands and artists mentioned above that Id love to see live

WHATS THIS NONESENSE!!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Bellx1 are brutal. Worst iv seen

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Burn the heretic!

WHATS THIS NONESENSE!!! :pac:

Good evening, Ive been expecting you ;)

I assure you, they were absolute rubbish..........for over an hour and a half........it was quite some feat :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Went to see Nico, that used to play with Lou Reed,
    Not a song faster than 5bpm
    #moneybackplease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Two Words,
    Bob Dylan!
    Utter S#/te live.

2nd most awful gig i have had the misfortune to be at was dylan at the point , jedward would have been better than this ****E

but worst live "band" , and i seen them twice , and both were super ****e - chemical brothers - what a load of cock

rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Really?!? Saw them last year. Best concert I've been to. Very energetic.

You need to get out to more concerts! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭DUBLIN_person

1)Bruce Springsteen
    2)Depeche Mode
    3)Rolling Stones
    4)Hot Chilli Peppers
    5)Rod Stewart

I've seen Springsteen twice... Both times over two hours, an amazing show each time.

Zaph wrote: »
    Burn the heretic!

If I weigh more than a duck its a fair cop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I've seen Springsteen twice... Both times over two hours, an amazing show each time.

The only people who like Bruce Springsteen are culchie college students up in the 'big smoke' for a few years doing their degrees.

I can see them all now, jumping around some bar in the city centre at 2am, absolutely mangled drunk, thinking they're 'rocking out' to Bruce. Absolutely tragic stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

o1s1n wrote: »
    The only people who like Bruce Springsteen are culchie college students up in the 'big smoke' for a few years doing their degrees.

I can see them all now, jumping around some bar in the city centre at 2am, absolutely mangled drunk, thinking they're 'rocking out' to Bruce. Absolutely tragic stuff.

Looks a bit like this I imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I was at a Joe Dolan concert a few years back. Jesus H Christ, what fcuking sh1te. I didn't fall asleep, but I did feel like crying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I was at a Joe Dolan concert a few years back. Jesus H Christ, what fcuking sh1te. I didn't fall asleep, but I did feel like crying.
    What did you expect in fairness? My 96-year-old gran is a fan of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

What did you expect in fairness? My 96-year-old gran is a fan of him!

I wasn't expecting much. I didn't think he'd be that bad live. We only went because we were staying in the hotel. The first we knew about it was when every middle aged woman for miles around turned up.

No mentions for Daniel O'Donnell yet? I'd rather stab myself in the ear drums with 6" nails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Muppeh op is muppeh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Poor trolling effort OP.

biko wrote: »
    #moneybackplease

I'm very jealous you got to see Nico. She was a bit before my time (died the year before I was born) but I love her voice. :(

Never really went to a bad gig. Having seen Bruce Springsteen twice, you would have to be a deaf narcoleptic to have even a hope of falling asleep at one of his gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Neil young was the worst i have ever been to half way through the gig everyone was just standing around chatting while he was playin a twenty minute solo
    No talking to the crowd and did an encore of a beatles song
    And no rockin in the free world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

1) The Pastels, Mean Fiddler, 1998
    2) Sigur Ros, Electric Picnic
    3) Cutting Crew, Bridge Hotel, 1988

I reckon Cliff Richard, Daniel O'Donnell and Ronan Keating would be hard to beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Thought Oasis were very poor the first night they played Cork. I imagine they were hungover from the big knebworth concert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Was anyone here at that Cat Stevens concert in the 02 a few years back? You know the one where a heckler made headlines by shouting out "Play Peace Train You Fcuking Bollocks". Apparently he played all obscure and new material and even brought out special guest Ronan Keating at one stage who was met by a chorus of boos from the frustrated audience.

Considering he's now called "Yusuf Islam" I wouldn't expect him to be wrecking the gaff like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Meatloaf.

Listen to him on the wireless, don't waste your dough on a live show.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

o1s1n wrote: »

Utter b*llocks, myself and my buddies are council estate as they come and we went to the Boss in Páirc Uí Caoimh and it was absolutely f*cking mental carry on altogether.

I went to see Rod Stewart in Las Vegas and that was also unbelievable.

The best gig I was ever at was The Sawdoctors in Stamford Bridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Cienciano wrote: »
    I reckon Cliff Richard, Daniel O'Donnell and Ronan Keating would be hard to beat.

Cliff Richard has his moments. Some diamonds among the rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Mar Mar Marmalade

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You need to get out to more concerts! :pac:

It was beautiful I tell ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

What musicianship...

You failed the test.
    biko wrote: »
    #moneybackplease

What the hell were you expecting, what a waste of ticket on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

1)James Taylor
    2) Neil Diamond
    3)Christy Moore
    4)Leonard Cohen
    5)Johnny Logan

The first live concert I ever went to was Neil Diamond in Landsdowne Road a few years back. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It helps when you know all the words. :D

The same for Rod Stewart when he played in Kilkenny.

You either have to be of the age or been inculcated into their music from an early age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Kings of Leon

A bunch of flannel shirted statues going through the motions. Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Birneybau wrote: »
    Obviously not.

Jesus wept.

Post your list

Should be good .

I can't think of many things worse than a mumford and sons concert. I'm still trying to work out if they're some sort of comedy act joke band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭ericsinjun

Eagles, MEN Arena late 90's. Might as well have put on a cd.
    Dylan Pearse Stadium. Disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭lost in cork

Stumbled upon a Katrina and the waves gig at a pub in London about 25 years ago ,shocking ,i still get nightmares about it