Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas present wish list

sandraba wrote: »
    Looking for some inspiration here so fire away :)

This caught my eye last week during the Amazon sales but doubt I'll be getting it!

Very pretty!

I'd sell an organ for this -

And I'd probably have to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Getting my bike fixed up (it had an unfortunate incident during a house move) and new pedals and cycling shoes - that would make me a ridiculously happy kirby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I want a new musical instrument to play with! I'm unbelievably tempted by this soprano trombone, in fact I may just have to order it...

309456.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I've a couple of books on mine that I will probably end up buying for myself once the finances recover from Christmas:

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (with THE most amazing cover...)

And for some reason, I've been coveting A Portrait of Dublin in Maps. It's an atlas of various maps of Dublin - water supply, drainage, electricity, etc - sounds bizarre, but for some reason, every time I see it, I want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Candie, any chance of you selling 2 organs and getting me a super duper chair too please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

vitani wrote: »

And for some reason, I've been coveting A Portrait of Dublin in Maps. It's an atlas of various maps of Dublin - water supply, drainage, electricity, etc - sounds bizarre, but for some reason, every time I see it, I want it.

Have heard great things about this book!

I'd love a decent camera, all I have is a pretty old digital compact, and at this stage my phone has a better camera than my camera has!
    Probably wishful thinking though!

Alternatively, and more realistically, id love a toddler seat for my bike, and a replenished-of-the-basics make up bag :)

Lucyfur wrote: »
    Candie, any chance of you selling 2 organs and getting me a super duper chair too please?

No problem!

Which two of your organs would you like me to sell for you? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I'm hoping for this

nexusdsc05220-1340897858.jpg

And this

babyliss-big-hair2.jpg

And I'll be happy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I have no idea what I want for Christmas. Have nearly everyone else sorted so have not had time to think for myself. But there's nothing really that I need or want. Have phone, laptop, have enough jewellery and perfume. Have a ton of books to get through. Have plenty of clothes (but never enough!). Part of me would like a tablet, but I don't need one and our son would end up mainly using it. We just bought a house a few months ago so all that's on my mind is what do we need for that.

It's driving him mad, he asks every day what do you want for christmas to which I reply: I don't know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

Laptop definitely. Could do with a new Phone too. Nice clothes that magically just suit me well and fit me perfectly would be good too. :) I could go on but I won't.....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Would love a new phone. That might have to be a present from me to me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

Never have a clue what I want for Christmas. I love surprises!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

A Philips wake up alarm light. Finding it very difficult to rise these mornings as sun rises at around nine

Wireless dongle to connect my speakers to laptop

A house plant

Art.

Merino base layers

Panniers for my bike

I can think of lots of things!!

fits wrote: »
    A Philips wake up alarm light. Finding it very difficult to rise these mornings as sun rises at around nine

I have one of these.

You won't believe the difference it makes. It's expensive but totally worth it.

Feck waiting til Christmas then.. Might get one today! I'm in Finland and the short days are killing me right now. And im allergic to alarm clocks.

Go for it, it makes a world of difference to getting up. I have the one with the birdsong and nature sounds as well as the beep, so even if the light doesn't wake you outright beforehand, you're never jolted awake when the sound comes on. It genuinely makes a difference to how I feel all day and I wouldn't be without it. The only issue with the Philips is the bulb isn't replaceable. There's one called Lumie that has a replaceable bulb, which a friend of mine has and swears by, but I can't compare the two personally.

I don't know how you cope with only the few hours of half-light in Finland this time of year!

The snow is here now so its a lot brighter but November was hell.

Today sunrise 9.08 sunset 14.34 and three weeks til we're over the hump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

The snow is here now so its a lot brighter but November was hell.

Today sunrise 9.08 sunset 14.34 and three weeks til we're over the hump.

Do you find it difficult to sleep in summer then, with it being so bright?

I love the long days but I guess it can be difficult to get to sleep. Blackout curtains help. When I was a kid I used to leave the curtains open as I loved the early sunrise ( in Ireland)

I do that too, well in summer when it's warm enough to leave them open!

I like that babyliss big hair thingamajig. Anyone know if it's good? I Could possibly need that before party season :D

It got a ton of good reviews on f/a last year I think, I was considering it myself

Hmmmm.

Hmmmmmmm.

Hmmmm.

Hmmmmmmm.

You need it.
    It fits you!

Sauve wrote: »
    You need it.
    It fits you!

Then you need to give me a go of it so I can see if it fits me :D

Hmmmmmmmmmm.

We order you to get it.

IT FITS ME!!!!!!!

I have one! Ye can see if it fits :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

It fits everyone \o/

There are tonnes of blogger reviews and youtube tutorials for it. I cannot wait to start using mine! :D

Oh no no no no. See, if it fits me, I get to keep it. Whoopsa's dress fits me. A picture in Sauve's house fits me. Another boardsies hat fits me.

:D:D

It looks fabulous on EVERYONE from here! :)

Do you use it Lucy? Cos if it fits me we could do a picture and hair swap?! :D

Sauve wrote: »
    Do you use it Lucy? Cos if it fits me we could do a picture and hair swap?! :D

I do! I love it, gives my hair a bit of body. I reckon you'd love it so I think it should fit you for a while anyway :D

Lucyfur wrote: »
    I do! I love it, gives my hair a bit of body. I reckon you'd love it so I think it should fit you for a while anyway :D

Might just have a go of it and see if it works before I buy something. My hair doesnt want curls in it, but I do, so I need super duper hair machines :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

That Big Hair yoke is really good. Particularly if you're like me and have really fine straight hair. It's good for giving volume but it's not going to do curls if we're talking about the same gizmo.

They also do a Little Big Hair (which is what I have) if your hair is not very long (not quite shoulder length).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I dunno really. Nothing I *need*. Maybe a good hairdryer? How boring!

Actually I'd like one of those I think too. Anyone have one? Are they any good?

Whoops! Never saw everyones comments on the light things! They sound great. Although I wake up easily enough. Still at 7am though and it's pitch dark..

Love mine! Loads of people I know swear by them. They make your hair look professionally blow-dried!

I'm taking a trip to Argos :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

I love my big hair brush. It's the greatest thing ever for drying a fringe in a proper shape.

I want kitchen things this year. A food processor and decent cake tins. And magic ingredients so I can bake and bake and not get fat :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

Oooh get it whoops. It has amazing results from what I've heard. A bit too hard to use on my hair cos it's so unruly but it'd be fab on yours.

Make sure to check out an auld YouTube vid about it, it's a fiddley yoke but worth getting.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I have the Big Hair too, it's deadly! Takes a bit of time and practice, but it gets results!

My brothers have asked what I want, so I told them if they can't surprise me to just get a voucher for http://www.cloud10beauty.com/ and I'll pick up some nice skincare bits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

MOD EDIT

Please use adverts.ie for selling things, thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

I'm getting this from himself this year. can't wait to get started using it. ive joined a few photography meet up groups so will get a good idea how to use it.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Canon-Digital-Camera-18-55-3-5-5-6/dp/B004MPQXZ0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1386442091&sr=8-1&keywords=canon+600d

really want this also. hoping someone will get it for me. if not guess i'll have to treat myself in the new year.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Simply-Italian-Cooking-Chiappa-Sisters/dp/0718177053/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1386442182&sr=1-1&keywords=chiappa+sisters

Yay decided today I want a Parlux hairdryer. My €20 BaByliss yolk is starting to fade after like, a year. So might as well get a good one that will hopefully last a while!

Been hint hint nudge nudging my boyfriend for the last few days...thinks he gets the message!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I want to get home for Christmas. Having just moved to London and started freelancing for one of my dream companies, it's likely I'll be asked to work through the holidays and saying no will be hard, and probably a bad idea in terms of establishing my career over here.

So top of the list, I'd like to go to midnight mass with my folks and see people I grew up with way back when, go for a family walk on the prom Christmas morning, stuff myself stupid with Roses and mince pies, help my Dad out with Christmas dinner and field the ten million calls from relatives catching up on all the Christmas gossip all evening. And fall into a deep food coma while watching the Corrie Christmas special or whatever absolute cack RTE are showing. Would be nice not to miss it this year.

Oh, and I'd like some makeup please Santa. Specifically, Armani silk foundation, Shiseido lipstick Perfect Rouge, a bunch of Mac brushes, some BeneFit goodies, some of those yummy Sara Happ Lip Scrubs and if you're feeling generous, a big bottle of Chanel Coco Mademoiselle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

I'd like Creme de la Mer moisturiser, and for the fecking builders to finish and get out of my house!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

For a few years now we weren't doing presents at home. Which seems fine with me cause for years that I was getting presents, my brothers werent getting anything for me. Its too much hassle and so much dissappointment in return on Christmas.

But I use it as an excuse to treat myself and get whatever I want.

Anyway this year im getting a cd boxset and a jigsaw. I lead a simple life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

I can dream!

kenwood-kmx84-fire-cracker-mixer-[2]-366-p.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    I can dream!

kenwood-kmx84-fire-cracker-mixer-[2]-366-p.jpg

want!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭javagal

OMG, I want the big hair now!