Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS4 First Impressions

• 29-11-2013 11:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭

Hey,

Looking to know what you guys think of the PS4 so far? The good and the bad please. Is it everything you thought it would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Picking up mine after work.
    It is all things to all men. The alpha and the omega. The beginning and the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Notorioux

I like that everything is very fast with UI, going in and out of the game etc... What really impressed me the most is the controller, the sticks are very small, but not in a bad way, triggers feels great and the speaker is very clear the controller itself is very surprisingly light as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

it looks good in the box! 2hrs 35 mins to home time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

mines laying on my bed waiting for me to finish work. Iv got her unwrapped as well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Seph503

mines laying on my bed waiting for me to finish work. Iv got her unwrapped as well....

Raunchy :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Loving all this ambient music!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

Stop teasing me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Loving all this ambient music!

You can turn that off, started to annoy me after while.

Something I did notice is that Killzone is cheaper to buy on PSN than any walk in shop in Ireland at €59.99. Fair play to Sony. The game installs very quick and is ready to play in a minute or two. The PS4 Orbis OS uses up a good bit of HDD space, the PS4 has 409Gb free space with the formatting and OS allocation.

Really like this more than the Xbox One interface which to me seems all over the place and some options hidden away that should not be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭mileslow

Can you buy Fifa/NFS on the PSN? If so, how much are they?

mileslow wrote: »

Yep, both €69.99 thanks to EA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ComeraghBlue

i think they are 69.99 on PSN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭mileslow

Bah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I really feel like SOny are missing a serious trick there. If they charged 40 say as atandard for games on PSN I'd never bother buying disks again. Charging 70 quid for something I can get for 45 in an actual shop is a bit stupid. This is on PS3 mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

Loving it so far. Had only seen the console previously in its display case in Argos.
    The controller for me is the best part. Really fits well in the hands.
    Uploaded some screenshots onto Facebook earlier and quality is really good. Looking forward to some Killzone tonight with other Boards members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

I really feel like SOny are missing a serious trick there. If they charged 40 say as atandard for games on PSN I'd never bother buying disks again. Charging 70 quid for something I can get for 45 in an actual shop is a bit stupid. This is on PS3 mind.

Online games have to be cheaper. Hardcopies hold better their value IMO. There are several advantages but the main two will be, resell price (Im not sure if you can resell online games once you have downloaded them) and also that you can play the game in other consoles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭brijay

Make a US account and buy the games on their store? It's like 45 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Dothehustle

Any one else having problems signing in ????
    Keep getting sever error

And as soon as I post this .... I get in

And I am kicked out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Any one else having problems signing in ????
    Keep getting sever error

Ya the network is down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭Branoic

Servers buckling under strain of loads of kids logging in after school? That's not a good sign. Hopefully will be stable when I get off work in an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭jonerkinsella

I collected at 11am this morning. I got the mega bundle with a red and a blue DS4 and BF4 .

After all the updating and PS+ games I'm having a ball. The whole family are loving the camera and its features. Kicking the little bot bastads around the room is great fun . Air hockey is great aswell . Contrast is a bit mehh . BF4 looks great ,Warframe cant be played because the network is down .Resogun is cool looking with great sound . I hav'nt even put KZ into the console yet.

The sound through my Onkyo amp is rocking the gaff ,and the picture is sweet on my Samy plasma.

Its a good day to die ;) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Got mine last night.

Very happy with it.

Few points though...

I was in Smyths before picking up my PS4. I had a go of the Xbox ONE for the first time... The ONE controller is far better than the DS4 imo. Dare I say even the 360 controller is actually better. Still, the DS4 is nice and a huge improvement over the older controllers which were pieces of crap. Just an observation and to bring a bit of balance as everyone seems to be swooning over the DS4 (obviously only people that never had a 360).

Graphics are great from next gen, not as mindblowing though as the transition through previous gen's.

The console is sleek enough (i was actually surprised at how quiet and small ot is) especially for the first "type" or model. Definitely nicer than the ONE, but i think out of all consoles so far the Xbox 360 Elite Slim was the nicest looking.

And a very minor criticism is the consoles light bar. I was expecting it to be Blue when running, it would've looked better and more "Playstation-esque" than White.

Overall though, i'm delighted with my purchase. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 polarax

After using the xbox controller for the past few years, I actually prefer the ds4. It just feels great in the hand, the triggers are excellent, the sticks are so much tighter and more responsive and I love the fact you can stick headphones in it. Loving the console so far, but cannot sign in online!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Lets see;

Console: Looks good, feels well made.

Controller: I love it. It's like it was made especially for my hands. The "Options" button will take getting used to however. It feels good in my hands, the trigger buttons, analog sticks and d-pads are a massive step up.

Interface: Very simple and clean. Just the way an interface should be.

Install times seems good, load times are fine so yeah very satisfied. PSN issues are unfortunate but these things happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

It's definitely a big improvement over the PS3. I'm very happy with it. The DS4 is such an improvement in gameplay - I don't make mistakes in the game anymore.

Ohh...and my console is whisper quite .

ps. I got rid of a 360 to buy the PS3 because I thought the controllers on the 360 where crap and the game selection was far too mature orientated with very little choice for family fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Bohrio

Ohh...and my console is whisper quite .

ps. I got rid of a 360 to buy the PS3 because I thought the controllers on the 360 where crap and the game selection was far too mature orientated with very little choice for family fun.

lol

I was the opposite. The main reason why I play on my xbox 360 and not my PS3 was the controller, too small and flimsy for me. I even bought one of those scuff controllers with some extra buttons and PS3 like thumbsticks.

I can't wait to get my hands on the new one, only then I will be able to give my opinion, the XBOX one controller is fantastic, exactly what I want, I dont miss my scuff at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭jenjenten

i sold my ps3 for the ps4.....what impresses me is the background downloading, the UI is clean and functional....very fast. the double tap to go from game to home screen, or voice command is all fluid.

the UI is a massive improvement....and its very early days, i doubt in 2 years the UI will look anything like what we have now. they have masses of ram and resources to add endless features over time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

The bad, mine is very loud and irritating. Took ages to get it going online but all's great now. Having more problems getting killzone to work.

The good, UI so fast as well as the store. Brilliant. Killzone (the amount I played it at least) was great.

Said I'd keep my PS3 around... after this I just couldn't go back to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Overall I'm very happy with it so far. A few teething problems such as online not working for a while and Battlefield being in Spanish but that was all forgotten about when I won a few games in FIFA, shot a few people dead in bf4, and kicked a few robots around with the camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭SlickTalker

mileslow wrote: »

You can set up an American account, buy the PSN cards off Amazon. Com and you'll get them for 45 euro.. Also nfs and fifa have been my favourite titles so far..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 party12

I got a PS4 at the midnight launch. I was very excited until I turned the console on. If you only want the console for games then its a good investment.

What I dont like about the console is simply the Playstation Network is awful. Its slow and doesnt even have youtube etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

party12 wrote: »
    I got a PS4 at the midnight launch. I was very excited until I turned the console on. If you only want the console for games then its a good investment.

What I dont like about the console is simply the Playstation Network is awful. Its slow and doesnt even have youtube etc etc etc.

Well Sony have clearly positioned the machine as a games console pure and simple. Things like YouTube are far less important but will come in time. Anyway I'm sure nearly everyone has multiple ways of watching YouTube, Netflix etc...

As for PSN being slow, I haven't noticed that myself. Has been faster than ever for me. Although that's not saying much after how slow it was on my PS3. But a few teething problems are to be expected when launching in so many countries simultaneously.

party12 wrote: »

PSN is under a lot of stress at the moment .I've not really had issues (except for yesterday,same for everyone) . The Youtube ,RTE player etc apps will come in the next while with updates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Underwhelmed so far.............putting it down to build up burn out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Happy with my purchase, serious upgrade from PS3 and the best is still yet to come on the PS4. We are only dipping our toes in the water this launch weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Don't know how anyone can say PSN is slow on PS4, I'm guessing it's your connection that's the issue because it's lightening fast for me.

Hoping for some updates for the browser soon. It won't play the video from the sport subscription service that worked so well for me on the PS3.
    Also, if you find any video sites that do happen to play, it won't switch to full screen and you can't zoom in to fit the screen either.
    I'd like to see the YouTube app back too, works better than the one in my TV.

On the gaming side, I couldn't be happier. Everything just looks so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well, my first impressions.

As elitist prick pc master race member I honestly saying - ps4 is freaking amazing. Specially when you count in that this machine costs only 399eu, small and looks more beautiful then got it self.

Machine it self is very beautiful and I don't want to put it somewhere deep to hide it. It is up front so everyone could see it. Very silent 99% of time. Only when you put in brand new game it makes some sounds and dies out as soon as it got its basic installation.
    UI is very good. Very simple and efficient. Everything where it should be. If you have even basic knowledge of ps3 UI - you know ps4 UI.
    Background downloading and installation - God sent. Set to download and play sosomething, then get notification that it is ready and go pew pew pew.
    Games are a lot of fun. I am really shocked how good they run on such spec. On top of that those are launch titles. Who ever says that difference is very small is blind. It's very hard for me to go to ps3 after 1080p and decent settings.
    Controller - I like almost everything about it, though for some reason I noticed some discomfort in my left hand after longer session. It looks like due to me pushing L3 to run all the time. I don't like R3 and L3, they feel a bit too hard to push. It's grand when you don't need to push them much, but in fps you need to use it a lot.

Overall it is a fantastic machine. On top of that you got some fantastic free to play games. If you are a gamer then ps4 is a must have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Impressed with the PS4. I gave the Vita remote play a go, and its works for the most part. I do see some issues on the ground floor, when I am playing via the router. If I am near the PS4 and connecting via the console, it runs great. The rear touch pad is an ok solution for the Vita not having as many buttons as the DS4.

Games installed fast, and I was ready to play very quickly. The whole process seemed to be a lot faster than the Xbox One in that regards.

I have Assassins Creed 4 and Killzone, and they both look and play great.

Overall very happy with the PS4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 rioner

Controller - I like almost everything about it, though for some reason I noticed some discomfort in my left hand after longer session. It looks like due to me pushing L3 to run all the time. I don't like R3 and L3, they feel a bit too hard to push. It's grand when you don't need to push them much, but in fps you need to use it a lot.

Loved the controller at first but after just a few games of Fifa my left thumb is in bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭ussjtrunks

Im very Impressed so far ,the machine is quiet except for when it starts installing but after about 10-30mins it dies down, The background downloading when the machine is off and controller charging when it is off is fantastic

Killzone honestly is probably the best looking game I've ever seen not the best game to play but as a technical showcase its mighty encouraging that this can be pulled off.

Since I have a pc too I can compare like for like on my copy of Assassins Creed 4 The ps4 runs it at 1080p @30fps with no drops in framerate whatsoever and has TXAA applied which is actually fairly taxing and its very impressive that it can run so smoothly with it on

My PC (GTX 660,i7 3.5ghz) Can get an extra 10 fps while playing I get 35-40fps most of the time with the same settings as the ps4 considering the pc cost €1000 the ps4s value cant be understated at all its very impressive

And then theres resogun tbh its fantastic and the fact that its free on plus is even better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

ussjtrunks wrote: »
    Im very Impressed so far ,the machine is quiet except for when it starts installing but after about 10-30mins it dies down, The background downloading when the machine is off and controller charging when it is off is fantastic

Killzone honestly is probably the best looking game I've ever seen not the best game to play but as a technical showcase its mighty encouraging that this can be pulled off.

Since I have a pc too I can compare like for like on my copy of Assassins Creed 4 The ps4 runs it at 1080p @30fps with no drops in framerate whatsoever and has TXAA applied which is actually fairly taxing and its very impressive that it can run so smoothly with it on

My PC (GTX 660,i7 3.5ghz) Can get an extra 10 fps while playing I get 35-40fps most of the time with the same settings as the ps4 considering the pc cost €1000 the ps4s value cant be understated at all its very impressive

And then theres resogun tbh its fantastic and the fact that its free on plus is even better :)

Just to note: AC4 is horribly optimised for pc. Something that Ubisoft had said: no point in optimising games for pc, they cam just go and buy new gpus. I **** you not. A total prick and asshole.

Something llike bf4 would be better comparison m8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭ussjtrunks

I had ACIV on both so I thought Id test it :) The PS4 Version is great really enjoying playing it after playing through the last few on ps3 @20fps with tearing >.< It feels great to be able to play Assassins Creed with a decent framerate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

Slick beyond belief

I love the way I can charge the DS4's with mobile ph chargers.

AWSOME...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

After 3 days now with the PS4 i am loving it :D

Played a few hours of assassin's creed 4 and my god its a playable assassin's creed :O after the shocker that was number 3 on the PS3 witch i gave up on as the fact is the game never worked right and the story was shocking !!!

Need For Speed what a epic racing game just fun to play as like its so simple but yet so much fun to be had in the game. With the great DS 4 my hand does not hurt after playing for a hour

Killzone looks epic, plays great but my good the game is boring as hell have played 6 captors so far and like its so boring.

Resogun something else if you loved super star dust like myself you would love this game fact. Just words cant say how much fun this game is

The new DS 4 is great fells great everything on the screen re acts with in a ms of pressing it on the controller. Buttons are so nice to press.

Use of Twitch TV is great was pissing of my friends on facebook by linking them me playing games LoL

So far after 9 months of waiting for the PS4 i will say i loving every bit of it. Just cant wait to more and more games come out for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭djsim101

lads I picked up the bundle pack but promised the wife I would keep it till Christmas day, as I am a big baby when it comes to Christmas time :D

Kinda regretting it now, the wife says I will never last out till then, but I want to spite her and last, what should one do, rip it open and play it or big the bigger man and keep it till Christmas :D:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

djsim101 wrote: »
    lads I picked up the bundle pack but promised the wife I would keep it till Christmas day, as I am a big baby when it comes to Christmas time :D

Kinda regretting it now, the wife says I will never last out till then, but I want to spite her and last, what should one do, rip it open and play it or big the bigger man and keep it till Christmas :D:D

Life is too short to deny yourself.
    It takes a bigger man to admit that the wife is right.
    Take one #fortheplayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭djsim101

This is taking me all the way back to the parents buying me a C64, I saw the Da putting up in the attic till Christmas and promising the mother I would keep it...parents go out the next day....by god I took it down gave it a try, I nearly got one game loaded before they arrived back as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭Clover

djsim101 wrote: »

You should really set it up and update it , download a few game and test the system just to be sure.