Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Neady83 wrote: »
    Ha ha dang it, I only saw the back of you as you whizzed by me.

I'd black shorts and a black top, was with a girl from work with an orange t-shirt. Not ever sure if we were running, she likes to do a long walk before she'll do any running :D

I wear blue runners, say hello next time :)

Yep remember passing you, ye were almost at the back/last pitch. Thought ye we out for a stroll in the evening sun :)

TbL

Fri-Sun: was sick and had to bring the young lads to the Stoke/Arsenal game. Don't think I left the couch at all on Sunday!

Mon: back to the plan and started with an early morning S&C session, this one included some core work. This will need some serious attention as it's particularly weak.

Was travelling to London and was staying near Windsor, was looking forward to it because the hotel was an 18th century mansion of historical interest, built for Lord Weymouth , apparently it was also the location for the very first heated indoor pool in the U.K. (1882). Supposed to have been set on 44 acres of parkland grounds so I thought I'd get some nice runs in. Serious disappointment as the hotel was a sprawling complex of very basic drab and dreary rooms in extensions to the main building. And the only thing I could see with any historical connotation was grit and grime that looked like it was there for ages!!

Anyway I got 7 miles done before I headed to the airport.

7 miles @ 7.53

Tue: long day at work and got out with just enough daylight to get the planned 6 miles moderate in. Headed down towards the Thames and ran this partially on a trail track along the river with a detour through a couple of villages. Felt tired and tight and hit the leaba once I finished and showered.

6 miles @ 7.36

Wed: another long day and I wasn't looking forward to doing my 10 mile "long" run as it was pissing rain all day. Tried the trails along the river again but I'd to rapidly detour as they were badly waterlogged in places, ended up doing a nice enough out and back route through some villages near Windsor.

Really concentrating on trying to improve my running form and posture and felt surprisingly better on this run.

10 miles @ 7.52

TbL

Friday: plan called for 7 miles easy.

Had another early morning S&C session, I'm already starting to see the benefits of these and when I'm not travelling I'm trying to have two sessions a week. I also got a S&C routine that I can do in a hotel room when I'm travelling so no excuses!

Got out in the evening around Dangan for the run, ended up slightly too fast @ 7.48 but happy enough.

Sat: plan had called for a session but I'd two communions to go to and the planned morning start got shelved when the young lad hounded me to take him into town to try and buy him the latest yoooth craze, "a frigid spinster", well that's what I thought he said, thankfully it turns out he isn't a sexual deviant but wanted this ridiculous "toy" called a fidget spinner! It's some absolutely crappy inane yoke that you spin with your fingers. Never thought I'd see a more ridiculous thing until the cashier also tried to sell me a fidget cube!!! Ended up at communions surrounded by gangs of young lads with these stupid yokes. Didn't finish up till late so I'd to swap the planned rest day on Sunday.

Sunday: got 12 hours sleep!! Plan called for 2 miles @ 6.35 with 5 mins jog recovery and 4 x 150mtrs.

I'm mentally softer than a new born lambs belly button fluff and my head was telling me that I wouldn't be able to manage this before I'd even put on the runners. Eventually forced myself out and got a short warm up done. The minute my heart rate went up my head dropped and I wanted to quit. I probably had the benefit of a net downhill section for this and I was surprised by how hard this felt. Walked/jogged the recovery and did the 4 x 150m at a decent clip but not flat out as I was trying to run with some decent posture/form.

Couple of miles wm/cd, 2 miles @ 6.29 and 4 x 150 metres.

I'm long hauling it tomorrow for 10 days so I'll have to juggle some of the days to ensure I get all the runs done.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

The minute my heart rate went up my head dropped and I wanted to quit.

TbL

I think we've all had this at one stage or another C, I actually get it quite a bit on some of the longer sessions. Guess what though? I tend to get through them fine - as did you !
    Sometimes I find myself focusing too much on beating the target pace too, checking the watch every few minutes - when I catch myself doing that, I know I'm overthinking the session - then it's time to relax, forget the watch and focus on keeping the effort consistent, if the time is right at the end, great. If not, no big deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

It looks like you got the session done in the end, despite what you thought yourself. Yeah it was hard, but you were able to manage it. You wanted to quit, but you didn't. This is only the beginning of your training programme - just wait for the improvements and adaptations to kick in. Sounds like your building mental toughness already.

Monday: was travelling all day so I had to juggle the weeks plan and by the time I arrived in Singapore it was Tuesday anyway. No run. The Coptic Pope was sitting behind me on the flight to Heathrow dressed in all his finery and carrying a staff that could club a hippo to death! Wonder how he got that through security as last year they wouldn't let my kids take plastic Star Wars light sabres through.

Tuesday: I didn't sleep on the flight to Singapore and headed straight to the office. By the time I finished I had a jet lag headache and considered just going to bed. Was staying at the airport hotel so even if I was inclined to run outside in the horribly humid conditions my options were very limited so I decided to do the 7 miles on the treadmill. Was a soggy mess when I finished.

Wednesday: plan was 6 miles moderate. A brought forward meeting meant that I'd to get up at stupid o clock to do this in the 24 hour gym. Again I was considering putting this off, but decided to suck it up. I didn't become mentally weak overnight and I'm not all of a sudden going to become mentally tough, it'll be a progression through a number of phases to get there. Decided that doing this when I didn't want to would be a good start.

The gym was very hot and trying to run 6 miles @ 7.30-7.40 was harder than I would have liked. (Don't know how Krusty did those tough sessions on the treadmill!). Anyway happy to have it done and dusted before travelling onto Japan. The weight of the sweat drenched gear almost put me over my baggage allowance though!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Maybe that's a conversation you could have with Krusty, given your tendency to find yourself in locations where it's often the best option? Nice going.

Did you have a chinwag with that Coptic Pope fella? Does he work out? ;)

Thursday: arrived in Tokyo late Wednesday evening, am staying in a decent hotel on Tokyo Bay. I had to pull an all nighter to be ready for presentations and take a crash course in Japanese business etiquette the next day. Meetings and business dinners meant it was very late in the evening when I finished and I didn't have the will power to do the planned 7 mile easy run. No run. My head fried with trying to remember all the "rules" of business engagement, present your business card with both hands, have you name facing outwards, present yours lower that your potential client. Who to pour the wine for first, how often to pour it, when to toast, how to touch glasses when toasting. Where to sit in meetings, how to respond to certain questions. Jesus, I think I'm only fit for the Japanese equivalent of the dole!!!

Friday: plan was for 6 miles easy with 8 x 30 second strides at 10k pace off 2 minutes. Similar day to the day before and the only option to run was the treadmill in the hotels 24 hour gym. Wasn't exactly enamoured with this option, I was wrecked and my knee was aching a little from all the sitting but I couldn't let another day slide. I was also stuffed after eating one of the best meals I've had at a tepanyaki restaurant, absolutely fantastic, lobster and Kobe beef amongst the courses. Felt like ****e doing the 6 miles easy but surprisingly felt really good doing the strides. Did them at 3.55 km pace.

Sat: plan today called for 7 miles easy but my host in Japan said he'd run a bit and was going to do 10 miles today and he wanted me to go with him. My plan tomorrow had 13 miles long run so he agreed to do 21k. Started the day with a 5.30am visit to the Tokyo fish market which is one of the biggest in the world and that was an experience. Was collected after breakfast by my host and we ran around the imperial palace. It was nice but nothing spectacular, the bits I've seen of Tokyo haven't wowed me, I was expecting something different. It was warm and humid and a little slow for my liking but my host was puffing a fair bit so I'd to go at his pace. Got 22.3k done but it took over 2 hours. He took me back to the Tokyo America Club where he is a member and the club had very good facilities. Did 30 mins S&C in the gym before using the jacuzzi and cold plunge pool, nice way to finish a run.

Supposed to be doing some hill walking about 90 mins outside Tokyo tomorrow, so hopefully that'll be good.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Supposed to be doing some hill walking about 90 mins outside Tokyo tomorrow, so hopefully that'll be good.

TbL

Ooh wonder if that will be in the same place that Joanna Lumley did hill walking on her Japan programme, looked amazing. I think she said similar re Tokyo but other parts of Japan are supposed to be spectacular. Enjoy!

Sunday: early morning start as I was doing a bit of hill walking on Mount Takao, which although outside the city is still within the Tokyo metropolitan area.

Got the Yamanote line to Shinjuki and then another train to Takao. The mountain height is 600 metres and there are a number of hiking trails up to the summit, we took the narrower dirt trails on the way up (they were much less busy) and the mainly paved route down which was packed. The hike itself wasn't too bad and we were shaded from the sun by large trees and foliage on both sides of the trail. The summit was feckin thronged with people and there was just an ok view as the visibility wasn't great.

Grabbed a drink and an ice cream before heading down. Was looking around for an age for a bin but they have none. Zero. Everyone brings their own rubbish home, no bins and I've never seen a tidier public amenity, absolutely brilliant!

Stopped at the temple on the way down to say a quick prayer for world peace and a sub 3 :)

Spent about 3 hours of easy to moderate hiking before getting the train to Harajuku to be dragged around shops for another 3 hours! The place was packed solid, I couldn't believe the crowds.

Plan today was for 7 miles easy but I'd only a short window as I'd some commitments to sort before shipping out of Japan for another 3 day trip. Only managed to get 5 miles easy done on the hotel treadmill.

The Japanese are very polite but my back is fecked from all the bowing :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Grabbed a drink and an ice cream before heading down. Was looking around for an age for a bin but they have none. Zero. Everyone brings their own rubbish home, no bins and I've never seen a tidier public amenity, absolutely brilliant!

You don't get drinks and ice cream at the top of the hills around Connemara :) Sounds like a beautiful hike.

Loving this run/travel log :)

Monday: flew into Seoul early this morning. Much prefer Seoul to Tokyo, seems much more vibrant and full of energy. The people are also more engaging and up for a laugh and by Jesus can they drink! I'm staying in a very nice Lotte hotel, it's a bit posh and has a 3 star Michelin restaurant on the top floor. Finished my meeting early afternoon and we were taken out for drinks and food.

Was brought to the Gwangjang market and saw the most nauseating culinary dish ever, I actually nearly gawked. There was "food" on a dish covered in a sauce that was actually moving, it was a live octopus and the diner would lift it up and snip off a bit of the tentacle and eat it!!! I broke out in a sweat as they assured me that it was in fact delicious. We ended up eating at a Korean BBQ where they placed hot charcoal in a receptacle in the middle of the table put a grill over it and we bbq'ed meats and vegetables that they brought to the table. Finished (rather than started) the meal with a tofu, chilli and vegetable soup that you scooped rice into, apparently it's good for the digestion! I made my excuses and made a hasty retreat as it looked long me it was going to be a long night.

Got back to the hotel and decided I'd do a couple of easy miles around the tourist area of the city. Was having trouble with my e mails so I'd didn't know what was on this weeks plan, so just decided to do 4 easy miles. Had to concentrate really hard to make sure I remembered which way I'd run as it would have been easy to get lost. Lovely balmy evening for a run, enjoyed it even though it was slow and very stop/start. More travel diary than running log at the moment but updating the log is better than watching Korean tv in the hotel room! Hoping to get up to see the DMZ at the North Korean border tomorrow.

When I eventually got my e mails the plan today had me down for a rest day :)

TbL

Ps. Can't seem to post photo attachments as I'm getting a different format of Boards?

Monday: flew into Seoul early this morning. Much prefer Seoul to Tokyo, seems much more vibrant and full of energy. The people are also more engaging and up for a laugh and by Jesus can they drink! I'm staying in a very nice Lotte hotel, it's a bit posh and has a 3 star Michelin restaurant on the top floor. Finished my meeting early afternoon and we were taken out for drinks and food.

Was brought to the Gwangjang market and saw the most nauseating culinary dish ever, I actually nearly gawked. There was "food" on a dish covered in a sauce that was actually moving, it was a live octopus and the diner would lift it up and snip off a bit of the tentacle and eat it!!! I broke out in a sweat as they assured me that it was in fact delicious. We ended up eating at a Korean BBQ where they placed hot charcoal in a receptacle in the middle of the table put a grill over it and we bbq'ed meats and vegetables that they brought to the table. Finished (rather than started) the meal with a tofu, chilli and vegetable soup that you scooped rice into, apparently it's good for the digestion! I made my excuses and made a hasty retreat as it looked long me it was going to be a long night.

Got back to the hotel and decided I'd do a couple of easy miles around the tourist area of the city. Was having trouble with my e mails so I'd didn't know what was on this weeks plan, so just decided to do 4 easy miles. Had to concentrate really hard to make sure I remembered which way I'd run as it would have been easy to get lost. Lovely balmy evening for a run, enjoyed it even though it was slow and very stop/start. More travel diary than running log at the moment but updating the log is better than watching Korean tv in the hotel room! Hoping to get up to see the DMZ at the North Korean border tomorrow.

When I eventually got my e mails the plan today had me down for a rest day :)

TbL

Ps. Can't seem to post photo attachments as I'm getting a different format of Boards?

Have a look at the very very bottom of the screen for the line that has 'contact us' FAQ's etc, it should also say 'touch site' and 'responsive site' if it doesn't say 'responsive site' then it will say 'legacy site' click on that to get back to the old format (if you're on your phone then click on touch site). Hopefully that'll work.

We need your photos :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

We need your photos :D

No photos of the Korean food though please :eek: :eek:

Really really like Seoul, it's definitely one of my favourite cities. It's crowded (over 25 million people in the wider Seoul metropolitan area), vibrant and a bit crazy. The food is varied and very good (just be careful what you pick up) the people are friendly and set against a backdrop of mount Bukhan with the Han river flowing through it, it really is a spectacular city.

The night time sky line is lit up by a multitude of neon colours and the Lotte World tower, (556 metres high and one of the regions tallest) is very impressive at night. Definitely will come back.

Tue: early morning start as I was getting a guided tour of the DMZ (demilitarised zone) area between South and North Korea. The DMZ is a bit of a misnomer as there is military presence in the area just no civilians. There were over 3 million land mines in the DMZ and only about 1 million have been found, the guide told us that in times of high rainfall mines can get washed down from the DMZ area.

There is also another highly controlled "border" between South Korea and the DMZ called the CCL (civilian control line) and this corridor is about 4k wide and 250k long, the DMZ is another 2k wide. The CCL has a big military and military police presence and all civilians are carefully controlled in and around this area and our passports were checked by the military police before we were allowed to proceed.

After about an hours transfer from the hotel we arrived at Imjingak Park where Freedom Bridge (the bridge across which the POWs were repatriated at the end of the Korean War) is located. The park is located on the banks of the Imjin river and has a number of statues and monuments dedicated to the Korean War. You can also see on display a train engine that was destroyed by shrapnel and riddled with bullet holes. A bit of a peculiarity was the small amusement theme park that was beside all the war memorials!!

There have been 4 "infiltration" tunnels dug by the North Koreans into South Korea controlled territory, and we were going to visit the 3rd one. It was discovered in 1978 and is about a mile long and extends 435 metres into the South side of the DMZ. It's about 6 feet high and wide and could facilitate 30,000 troops an hour passing through it. We entered via the South Korean interception tunnel and it was very interesting to see the dynamite holes made by the North Koreans at the tunnels end. The tunnel has been sealed at the start of the South controlled area and is monitored by CCTV and motion sensors.

Went from the tunnel to the Dora observatory and the Dorsan train station. From the Dora observatory you can see right across the DMZ and into North Korea. Propaganda music was blaring across the landscape with massive flagpoles flying the respective countries flags a couple of hundred metres apart as if in a standoff. It was interesting to see the contrast between the two countries landscapes, the South has lush green bushes and trees and the North was barren and devoid of foliage. The Dorsan train station was build to connect the railroads of the two countries but it isn't in use and it's a bit surreal to see signage for Pyongyang station but the whole area is closed off.

Very enjoyable but I would have liked to visit the JSA (joint security area) where the soldiers from the two countries face off but you need 48 hours notice and can only travel with an approved tour guide.

Had an absolutely fantastic sashimi evening meal in a small private traditional room and we'd to leave our shoes outside. I was walking all day and was starting to smell like a mature cheese but nobody complained. Never ate as much raw fish in my life and the quality and presentation was excellent.

I must be the only auld lad in Seoul with grey hair, they all dye their hair jet black, might turn up to the next race with a mad black doo :)

Oh yea, plan today called for 6 miles easy with 6 x 45 seconds at 10k pace off 2 min jog. Had to treadmill this, did the faster stuff a bit quick at 3.52k pace but was happy enough to get it done.

Heading back home today.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Top class travel post Tbl. You have me hooked.

Back to the wind and rain :(

It's the first time I've come back from a business trip and wished I'd more time abroad, really would have liked a few more days in Seoul and I'm already angling to get back out there in a few weeks!

Back to the bog and basics for now though!

Body clock a bit all over the place and I'd only a couple of hours kip last night so I was fairly tired heading out for my run today.

Yesterday was a rest day and today had me down for what is becoming a habitual 7 miles easy. Took a late lunch and headed out to Dangan to get this done. After about a mile I bumped into one of the fast lads by chance, he was doing 10 miles easy and I tagged along for a bit with him. I told him he'd either need to slow down or to just head off, he slowed down but it was still too fast and after about 3/4 miles I let him go and finished off myself.

7 miles @ 7.27.

I'm going to train away for another while before I commit to anything as I'm still managing a basket of niggles and I want to try and address them once and for all.
    Back to the S&C sessions tomorrow and also going to see the orthotics guy as I think the latest set I got might need some tweaking.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Yeah cause it's the orthotics that's to blame for you not going sub 3 by now!!!!!

OOnegative wrote: »
    Yeah cause it's the orthotics that's to blame for you not going sub 3 by now!!!!!

I have to blame something at this stage for the monumental failure and I'm running out of excuses ;)

Shouldn't you be busy rubbing sun screen into your head!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

I have to blame something at this stage for the monumental failure and I'm running out of excuses ;)

Shouldn't you be busy rubbing sun screen into your head!

TbL

I'm more bronzed now than AMK after a date with one of his bottles of St Tropez!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I'm more bronzed now than AMK after a date with one of his bottles of St Tropez!!!

I met a guy on Tuesday night in Dunboyne who was much more tanned than me.
    I was dead jealous.

I met a guy on Tuesday night in Dunboyne who was much more tanned than me.
    I was dead jealous.

Fletch is looking very tanned after his holiers alright :D

You're very cranky for someone on his holidays :rolleyes:

Not great news for me, had an MRI to try and get to the bottom of the persistent knee niggle that's been at me since March

Seems like I've a complex tear in the post horn medial meniscus :(

Currently taking advice to ascertain next steps

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Not great news for me, had an MRI to try and get to the bottom of the persistent knee niggle that's been at me since March

TbL

Sh1t. I'm sorry to hear that. I hope it's something easily fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

TbL

Ah sorry to hear that C. I hope its something that can be repaired easily and have you back on the roads before you get a chance to miss it.

Balls :( hopefully sounds worse than it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Ah for fup sake - sorry to hear that - at least you know what you're dealing with now.

Best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Hope you get it sorted TBL. Be nice to do at least one marathon with you before we really get too old.