If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Rockyman7 wrote: »
    ecoli is a busted flush,Ray is where its at.

Don't know about that Rocky, Ecoli could handle my madness I reckon I'd have Ray pulling (what's left of) his hair out!
    Two things... firstly, ya big SOFTIE :) what a lovely thing to do :) secondly, you only listen when advice comes from a 2:17 marathoner ???!! :pac:

Hey AM, I haven't said I'd agreed with him :) in fairness it was Dubgal that actually got me thinking about the whole approach again. Thick & stubbornness aren't great personality traits!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭jamule

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom%C3%A1s_Mac_Eoin

Someone needs to update his wiki page for TBLs good deed.

jamule wrote: »
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom%C3%A1s_Mac_Eoin

Someone needs to update his wiki page for TBLs good deed.

I didn't even know he lived in the village till Saturday night!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,054 ✭✭✭Itziger

Friday: lazy, took the day off.

Saturday: planned on doing 10 miles easy. Got out late evening for this. I don't run with my glasses and as such I'm usually oblivious to anything outside of a field of vision of a foot or two. Something caught my attention as l ran by one of the houses on the outskirts of the village so I stopped and doubled back to check it out. There was a very auld lad lying prone in his driveway. There were gardening implements and a zimmer frame scattered around him. He seemed to be badly shook and wasn't making much sense. He had a couple of minor cuts and bruises but he was very heavy and it took a monumental effort to get him back up onto the Zimmer frame. Eventually got him back into his house and his chair. Started chatting to him to see if he was ok, and did he want me to call someone or a doctor. Went mad at the mention of the doctor so I just decided that I'd stay with him for a while to make sure he was alright. He's very immobile so I made him a cup of tea (that he had to drink through a straw) and cleaned out his cuts. He'd a savage sense of humour and was actually great craic. Said he liked the peace and quiet and didn't like too many visitors, he left that hang for a minute and then followed it with a smile while saying "...and you're not getting the hint!"

Saw a framed record (anyone under 40 Google it!!) on the wall and I asked him about it, turns out he is/was a famous Sean Nos singer and recited "Stolen Child", with Mike Scott on the Waterboys album, Fishermans Blues and toured with them occasionally! Two hours later I made my way home slowly in the dark, 6 miles lost but an experience gained.

4 miles easy.

Sunday: mrs TbL had me doing slave labour all day and my back was acting up so I didn't run.

Monday: back very tight, got it looked at and was advised not to run, so another day goes by with no miles.

Tuesday: joined the "elites" on the track for a 5 x 1600m session. When a 2.17 marathoner tells you, you're doing the reps too fast you'd think it's time to listen up! My Thickness Plan might also be on the way out coz when I told him what I was at, he looked at me like I was asking his mother out on a date! He couched it diplomatically though and said "I was fcukin cracked", :)Also said I should go back on a structured plan and stop putting huge pressure on myself, and not bother with Limerick. We'll see.

Did 5 reps all between 6.08-6.15 pace, comfortably tired rather than goosed so I'll take that as progress.

https://youtu.be/Jg-oJKYIinQ

TbL

Ah, so you're doing Limerick then.

Itziger wrote: »
    Ah, so you're doing Limerick then.

Probably ;)

TbL

Probably ;)

TbL

Them 2.17ers, think they know everything.

(Next time ye have a chat tell him he's lucky he's not Kenyan. He'd be out ploughing a field on the side of a mountain at 4,000 metres. Too slow for a runner like.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Probably ;)

TbL

Best of luck, hope it goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Best of luck TBL

kit3 wrote: »
    Best of luck TBL

Hiya Kit,

Hope you're getting the miles in.

I'm down in Doonbeg for the weekend so I'll probably turn up for Limerick but still not sure I'll toe the line!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Hiya Kit,

Hope you're getting the miles in.

I'm down in Doonbeg for the weekend so I'll probably turn up for Limerick but still not sure I'll toe the line!

TbL

Hey there. Slowly & cautiously working my way back. Amazing how much good the bike did - thankfully not like starting again. Best of luck whatever you decide. Build a bit of a wall in Doonbeg while you're there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,893 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice work the other day. Hopefully someone will do the same for us all one day when the Zimmer frame decides to take itself for a walk. The man has a beautiful voice, although when I first heard that record I was sure it was Michael D (who would be a lot easier to lift)!

Best of luck whatever you decide. Personally I think you're both mad. ;)

Murph_D wrote: »
    Nice work the other day. Hopefully someone will do the same for us all one day when the Zimmer frame decides to take itself for a walk. The man has a beautiful voice, although when I first heard that record I was sure it was Michael D (who would be a lot easier to lift)!

Best of luck whatever you decide. Personally I think you're both mad. ;)

Lol Murph :)

Dr Jekyll has decided he's not running Limerick, Mr Hyde had decided to go balls out for a 2.55 :)

TbL

Today: despite living in Galway virtually all my life I've never gotten the chance to run around the race course.

The first race in the Galway 5k series was on there last night and I couldn't make it so when I found myself over that side of town today I decided to get some easy miles done there at lunch time. Nice mainly tarred loop of just under 1.5 miles around the track with a bit of a drag as you're coming up towards the stands. Probably a good location to do a session but the traffic can be shocking over that side so I'll probably only use it as a back up location.

Got 6 miles done at just under 8 minute pace.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Best Luck Sunday, have a good one, which ever personality runs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Best of luck on Sunday TBL, hope it goes well for you.

Enjoy Doonbeg too, that's my part of the country. I'm sure you know it well but there's a beautiful walk on Doughmore beach behind Trumps hotel and Kilkee has some savage cliff walks along with the best cake ever in the Diamond Rocks caf? on the West end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Ed McGroarty

All the best on Sunday. If I'm driving past I'll give a shout out the window😉.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Between yourself and tang1 it's like doing the Crosaire out of the times. Best of luck with whatever your up too. If your "thickness" plan works you should write a book and make millions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Best of luck Sunday tbl.If you decide to go for the sub 3,no doubt we will cross paths,as we battle to hang on to the pacer,for as long as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Best of luck TbL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Best of luck Sunday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Best of Luck, TBL. This surely is the one that all will go right for you. Have a great race and enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Good luck tomorrow, C.
    I'll be tracking both of you with interest.
    Remember we ran together for a bit there in 2014, both got pb's too. Happy hunting ground.

So, is this Limerick or what? Jaysus, don't be getting the sub 3 now before Cork, aren't we going to hold hands crossing the finish line in Patrick St in June?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Best of luck with your 5k, half, marathon tomorrow - you mad f*cker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Best of luck tomorrow Tbl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

I can't keep up! Good luck tomorrow with whatever you're doing :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Yea same, best of luck, hope it goes well.

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Best Luck Sunday, have a good one, which ever personality runs :)

Tnx Kennyg, hopefully it won't be the big positive split personality :)
    All the best on Sunday. If I'm driving past I'll give a shout out the window😉.

Tnx Ed, hopefully your niggles are on the mend.
    Between yourself and tang1 it's like doing the Crosaire out of the times. Best of luck with whatever your up too. If your "thickness" plan works you should write a book and make millions.

Tnx HBS, "thickness" plan won't pay dividends tomorrow but hopefully a bit of thickness will get me around.
    kerrylad1 wrote: »
    Best of luck Sunday tbl.If you decide to go for the sub 3,no doubt we will cross paths,as we battle to hang on to the pacer,for as long as possible.

Hopefully I'll see you at the start but body definitely not in sub 3 shape, I want to finish to get back on the horse.
    Best of luck TbL!

Tnx WW
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Best of luck Sunday :)

Tax Mrs, hope Mr isn't to irritable:)
    Younganne wrote: »
    Best of Luck, TBL. This surely is the one that all will go right for you. Have a great race and enjoy!!

Tnx YA, definitely won't be this one, just hoping to use it as a confidence builder
    snailsong wrote: »
    Good luck tomorrow, C.
    I'll be tracking both of you with interest.
    Remember we ran together for a bit there in 2014, both got pb's too. Happy hunting ground.

Tnx SS, always liked Limerick, I'd like to think I'd get near your time over the next couple of months but won't be tomorrow
    Itziger wrote: »
    So, is this Limerick or what? Jaysus, don't be getting the sub 3 now before Cork, aren't we going to hold hands crossing the finish line in Patrick St in June?

Just a tune up for Cork D ;). Holding hands? You promised me a kiss!
    Duanington wrote: »
    Best of luck with your 5k, half, marathon tomorrow - you mad f*cker

Haha Double D, you forgot "training run" :)
    jake1970 wrote: »
    Best of luck tomorrow Tbl.

Tnx Jake
    Bungy Girl wrote: »
    I can't keep up! Good luck tomorrow with whatever you're doing :rolleyes:

Neither do I BG, a decent finish would be nice!
    adrian522 wrote: »
    Yea same, best of luck, hope it goes well.

Cheers Adrian.

Only finally decided to do this on Friday afternoon. Body in pretty poor shape at the minute. The "thickness" plan called for as many miles as possible at sub 3 pace but that's definitely not happening tomorrow, I'd prefer a solid effort and finish for the confidence. Sub 3 tilt will have to wait!

TbL

Neady83 wrote: »
    Best of luck on Sunday TBL, hope it goes well for you.

Enjoy Doonbeg too, that's my part of the country. I'm sure you know it well but there's a beautiful walk on Doughmore beach behind Trumps hotel and Kilkee has some savage cliff walks along with the best cake ever in the Diamond Rocks caf? on the West end.

Tnx Neady, Doonbeg is lovely and spent the day around Loop Head and Kilkee.

Was really surprised that Kilkee wasn't busy and how run down it has become.

More boarded up businesses than open ones, really changed since I was there as a boy

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

The absolute very best out there tomorrow tbl. Give it your best.