Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weed

• 28-11-2013 2:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭

I was just driving home from work (about a 20 minute drive from home) and I recognised a guy thumbing on the side of the road so I pulled in and offered him a lift.
    He was a younger brother of a guy I know. The thing was I knew him but he didn't know me but I didn't let on. We'd a good chat on the way and when I got near to his house he said 'that's me, drop me off here'. Grand I said, and in return for the lift he offered me some weed. He took out a tiny bag and asked had I an empty cigarette box so he could put some into.
    I told him it was grand and I didn't smoke so there was no need. Anyway he showed me the bag of weed and said its grand it's a 50e bag so he'd loads to spare in any case.
    Now...
    I'd like to ask how much weed is 50e worth. As in whats the weight.

Tbh I just found it ridiculous that anyone would pay 50quid for a tiny bag of what is essentially a bag of weeds.

What an I missing?

Ps
    I didn't take anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Thats where the money is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

God I hate them please take my weed people :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

You should get 3.5 grams for €50
    But theres greedy bastards selling 2 grams for €50 depends who you get it off some people give you your moneys worth others won't

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭Fratoue

Thread will be rife with gardai in no time!

On a side note it's very expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I was just driving home from work (about a 20 minute drive from home) and I recognised a guy thumbing on the side of the road so I pulled in and offered him a lift.
    He was a younger brother of a guy I know. The thing was I knew him but he didn't know me but I didn't let on. We'd a good chat on the way and when I got near to his house he said 'that's me, drop me off here'. Grand I said, and in return for the lift he offered me some weed. He took out a tiny bag and asked had I an empty cigarette box so he could put some into.
    I told him it was grand and I didn't smoke so there was no need. Anyway he showed me the bag of weed and said its grand it's a 50e bag so he'd loads to spare in any case.
    Now...

Tbh I just found it ridiculous that anyone would pay 50quid for a tiny bag of what is essentially a bag of weeds.

What an I missing?

The repeal of prohibition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Doris300

Yep 50 bag would get you 3.5g no more really in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Well, you are supposed to light the "weeds" on fire, and inhale the smoke. Then food tastes better, music sounds better, movies are more interesting and you really appreciate the classic old episodes of The Simpsons, like the one where the Germans take over the Nuclear Power Plant, or the Frank Grimes episode.

€50 in Ireland doesn't get you a lot, comparable to places like the US it's laughable.

Hang on, wait. Hang on. Are they not the same episode? what? They are! Aren't they?

Sure €50 would keep you going for 3 or 4 nights of fairly heavy duty intoxication, or 7-10 nights of tasty mellow bedtime doobies. Probably the same price or cheaper than alcohol depending on individual tolerances, definitely cheaper as far as your liver is concerned.

Edit: comments on price directed at OP, weed is indeed very expensive here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

AH User wrote:
    something something old classic simpsons episodes Germans taking over power plant, Frank Grimes etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Well if if this is what weed does to me

I think I'll pass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Sniff Sniff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

What an I missing?

You do realise that weed is just a nickname, for a certain plant.
    It's not like any old weed will and you can grab a few from the end of the garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

These days, 2.5 to 3 grams, though it varies depending on the person and area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Now...

What an I missing?

Ps
    I didn't take anything.

It's essentially a flower, not a weed though. Sure look, the price people pay for roses, and they can't get ya stoned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

1/4 of pollen way better value for same price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

bassy wrote: »
    1/4 of pollen way better value for same price

Pollen AKA Red Leb, from the Lebanon many many years ago was clean, very nice light euphoria hash, but now they call it pollen for some strange reason, but also this pollen/red Leb is mixed with everything you can think of, so why a person would smoke that muck is beyond me. Nasty stuff indeed. The other stuff 'hash again' called pig-sh!t, smells exactly as such, with an aroma of real pig-sh!t, how enjoyable to smoke, who knows what the hell is in that stuff.

Not recommended that stuff now. What is 'not' in that pollen hash/red Leb is the real question.

Oh, one more thing... If you smoke the hash only, you might notice the odd time that you get sleep paralysis i.e as in going to bed and sleeping but to wake up during the night and cannot move :eek: yes, the indica of hash can put this into effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

i get 3.5 for my 50.... jus' sayin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

So you're telling me it's worth more than gold? How the hell can that be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Solely because it's illegal. We're doing our best to keep the dealers rich hey!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Hitch-hiking Rule #2372 - offer weed as thanks
    Hitch-hiking Etiquite (which superceeds the rules) - Always offer a hand-job as thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I have 10 bags of weeds in my back garden.

It was a whore getting them out of the lawn this year.

Me flowers were wrecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Ya got any Clarkycat?

I would HIGHLY recommend you look at this
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/The-Union-The-Business-Behind-Getting-High-2007-DVD-By-Adam-Scorgie-Chris-/331073615626?pt=UK_CDsDVDs_DVDs_DVDs_GL&hash=item4d1586770a

One of the most eye opening things I've ever watched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

If you are still smoking weed past the age of 20 you should have a good hard look at you're life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

If you are still smoking weed past the age of 20 you should have a good hard look at you're life.

I don't even smoke and I know this sentence is stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

SV wrote: »
    It's essentially a flower, not a weed though. Sure look, the price people pay for roses, and they can't get ya stoned.
    Well if you DONT buy them the chances of being stoned are very high..

Smoking it before that age (Well before 17) is actually one of the only times it can be detrimental to health. So well done with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

why is that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

pundy wrote: »
    i get 3.5 for my 50.... jus' sayin!

Not bad that...a friend of mine paid 100 for 5 grams a while back.

zenno wrote: »
    Pollen AKA Red Leb, from the Lebanon many many years ago was clean, very nice light euphoria hash, but now they call it pollen for some strange reason, but also this pollen/red Leb is mixed with everything you can think of, so why a person would smoke that muck is beyond me. Nasty stuff indeed. The other stuff 'hash again' called pig-sh!t, smells exactly as such, with an aroma of real pig-sh!t, how enjoyable to smoke, who knows what the hell is in that stuff.

Not recommended that stuff now. What is 'not' in that pollen hash/red Leb is the real question.

Oh, one more thing... If you smoke the hash only, you might notice the odd time that you get sleep paralysis i.e as in going to bed and sleeping but to wake up during the night and cannot move :eek: yes, the indica of hash can put this into effect.

Ah for the days of Afghani Black!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Many people are paying up to €7.15 for a pint of what is essentially a glass of fermented barley which costs a few cent to make. People are willing to pay a lot for recreational drugs, nothing new about it.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-715-pint-that-people-rarely-complain-about-29724868.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ah the classic hippy rules...Gas, Grass or Ass: No-one rides for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

zenno wrote: »

All better than smoking diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I must tell that to my friends in their 70s, they'll enjoy that joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Im paying a tenner a gramme for cheese (type of weed for the uninitiated amongst you)

I even offered some to the bus driver after he dropped me home the other night but oddly enough he didnt take any either!!

Weird huh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

rambutman wrote: »
    why is that?

because you're one of the freaking cool people and it's probably enjoyable looking at how cool your life is.

Grayson wrote: »
    because you're one of the freaking cool people and it's probably enjoyable looking at how cool your life is.

be the hokey - i didn't even mention myself :) just asked "why is that?"!!!

but then again - yes i do............and yeah i am..........if you say so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I still smoke it at close to double that age, yet rarely get your/you're confused.
    Which just goes to show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

kowloon wrote: »
    Ya got any Clarkycat?

I don't want to end up like a bloody piano dentist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Yeah. My great aunt will be coming over at christmas and usually has a glass of sherry, she is 93 at still carrying on like an 18 year old on spring break in some american movie. Grow up woman, its embarrassing to think you might still enjoy a relaxing mind altering substance past the age of 20.

frag420 wrote: »
    Im paying a tenner a gramme for cheese (type of weed for the uninitiated amongst you)

I even offered some to the bus driver after he dropped me home the other night but oddly enough he didnt take any either!!

Weird huh!!

Tenner a gramme is more like what our european cousins pay...ie it's actually good value.

rubadub wrote: »
    Yeah. My great aunt will be coming over at christmas and usually has a glass of sherry, she is 93 at still carrying on like an 18 year old on spring break in some american movie. Grow up woman, its embarrassing to think you might still enjoy a relaxing mind altering substance past the age of 20.

Down with that sort of thing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

I still smoke it at close to double that age, yet rarely get your/you're confused.
    Which just goes to show.

Indeed. I too still smoke at almost twice that age and can always use the appropriate your/you're in a sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Like any other commodity the price can vary a lot depending on local supply and demand. However it is not an exaggeration to say that good "weed" is worth half it's weight in gold. In the Netherlands a rough ballpark price for decent stuff would be e10 per gramme. The current price of gold is about e20-30 per gramme I think?

Imagine if it were legalised and anyone could get a licence to have "gold" grow in their cupboard/field...

Indeed. I too still smoke at almost twice that age and can always use the appropriate your/you're in a sentence.

Ah but can you do it when your/you're stoned?

chopper6 wrote: »
    Ah but can you do it when your/you're stoned?

Technically, stoned is when you smoke hash, high is when you smoke weed. I can do it all three ways ;)

Multiple scientific studies have shown that grammar nazis retain their capacity for pedantry even whilst under the influence of various narcotics.

Don't let the errorists win.

Technically, stoned is when you smoke hash, high is when you smoke weed. I can do it all three ways ;)

Dunno about that definition...i've heard people saying both whilst smoking both.

certainly very few irish people talk of getting high...they prefer to say getting stoned.
    Americans on the other hand get ghigh ratheer than stoned and so on.

Well most Irish people seem to think that people still smoke "hash".

chopper6 wrote: »
    Dunno about that definition...i've heard people saying both whilst smoking both.

certainly very few irish people talk of getting high...they prefer to say getting stoned.
    Americans on the other hand get ghigh ratheer than stoned and so on.

Maybe it's just me then, but I would definitely differentiate the two states of conciousness caused by the effects of hash and grass. Mind you, that could just be cos the hash in Ireland has always been sh*te, even back when it was allegedly good.