Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

out of season deer shooting

• 17-11-2013 2:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭

hi all,now before i go into the reason for this post,let me say i dont know the first thing about deer shooting/seasons having never done it,ok? any how i was on a train from limerick to dublin recently,and as it is next to impossible not to hear people talking beside you,i just happened to hear 2 lads on about deer hunting, when one said,well it dont matter to me wether its in season or not,ill pop one if i get the chance,and ill break its leg in case i meet someone ill tell them i came across the animal with a broken leg and put it out of its misery,and im covered in or out of season haha big laugh(his words) is that true?is any person legally covered to shoot an injured deer out of season and bring it home for the freezer?,and if so i wonder how many are getting away with doing what your man said?or was this lad just a bull s***ter,?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Section 23 deals with Humane dispatch of an animal out of season.

Basically he is right. He can shoot an animal, out of season, with any caliber firearm, for the purposes of humane dispatch. However i don't believe he can sell the carcass/meat. If he brought it to a game dealer,especially out of season, he would have to give details as to where, why, name, address, etc. and even then it's classed as road kill, and not fit for consumption. Otherwise every Tom, Dick, and Harry would be humanely dispatching "injured" deer.

I stand to be corrected on the road kill bit, but afaik it's right.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

I'm sure it does happen from time to time.

But also sounds like bravado bull**** from someone showing off. Any half decent hunting person worth their salt welcomes the off season as a chance for nature and the quarry to replenish itself. I understand there are times when deer need to be managed outside the normal season but that conversation on the train did not seem like one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Cass wrote: »

Basically he is right. He can shoot an animal, out of season, with any caliber firearm, for the purposes of humane dispatch. However i don't believe he can sell the carcass/meat. If he brought it to a game dealer,especially out of season, he would have to give details as to where, why, name, address, etc. and even then it's classed as road kill, and not fit for consumption. Otherwise every Tom, Dick, and Harry would be humanely dispatching "injured" deer.

Your right a game dealer wont even take it if it has been shot twice.

I'm not getting ya. Twice?

Is there something about the amount of times a deer can be shot?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

I'm not getting ya. Twice?

Is there something about the amount of times a deer can be shot?
    I seen one refused as it was shot above the front leg and then dispatched with a head shot a while later when found,they refused it saying they couldnt be sure that the leg shot was fresh and it could have been contaminated.:confused:
    There again i have seen one take half an animal and say noting,depends on the demand how fussy they want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

I'd say its bull**** at a guess.

Technically he is prob right about the humane dispatch but just out of curiosity do these instances have to be reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fallow01

Your are correct in what you are saying here, in that a deer can be dispatched by legal means but the important piece is a NPWS ranger must be informed (as per the HCAP training manual) to avoid what was been claimed.

Saying all of that GD's did buy carcasses out of season in the summer just gone, our local GD sent a number text looking for carcasses, this is despite previous media coverage saying they won't buy anymore out of season (section 42) deer because he was worried there would be no business in the future for him with the number being killed

Wha if a guy does have hcap or shooting on npws land.

HCAP only entitles you to bid/hold Coillte shooting rights. NPWS do not have land & it's illegal to shooting in any national park.

Ye I know that. But you say as per the hcap manual. If a guy doesn't have hcap what's the story there.
    Who or does he have to report it to.

Just to say I agree with what your saying. Just wondering what the protocol is outside of hcap.

The HCAP training manual reference was just quoting where I got the info, it doesn't allow you to shoot deer out of season, it only allows you to shoot on Coillte land when you have the shooting rights leased.

You obviously don't have the ans to my question or don't understand what I'm asking sorry I'll try examined it better.

I understand coillte/hcap/hunting seasons etc.

Not every one needs hcap to hunt. I presume you know that. So if a guy hunting on coillte land with hcap comes across a deer in/out of seasons. He makes a decision he has to dispatch the animal humanly. He does so and reports it to a npws ranger. Job done fair play he is by the book.

But what happens when a guy comes across the same situation except he doesn't have hcap and is on private land. He takes the same action. But now he feels he should report it but to who ???

I'd presume the reporting is so the npws can keep a number on the deer that have been killed in hunting/injury/by cars and disease. Just to keep a count and have an idea of herd population.

Regardless if you have the HCAP or not, on private or Coillte land etc the rule is the same, you must report to a NPWS ranger. Our wildlife laws do not vary on any one type of land over another i.e. coillte versus private

The reporting is required to avoid the suggested breaking of the law at the start of this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Fallow01 wrote: »
    Regardless if you have the HCAP or not, on private or Coillte land etc the rule is the same, you must report to a NPWS ranger. Our wildlife laws do not vary on any one type of land over another i.e. coillte versus private

The reporting is required to avoid the suggested breaking of the law at the start of this thread

I can't see the requirement in section 23 to report it, is there a section or amendment I am missing?? :confused:

Quote from the HCAP....

You are out pheasant shooting and on driving home you find a deer that has been hit on the road and dragged itself 20 feet into a field. You dispatch the deer with your shotgun to prevent further suffering. Who should you inform?

Answer: The local wildlife ranger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭mrbrianj

You don't need to contact the npws to dispatch an injured deer.
    To humanly dispatch you must do it as quick as possible to reduce suffering.

I would not fancy trying to contact the npws on a Saturday or Sunday night.

The OPs scenario I think would be rare enough, maybe some guys hunting for their own pot. I imagine that most stalkers would have some meat in the freezer already, plus the handling of a carcass in the warmer months must be a nightmare.

As long as the game dealers do not accept animals out of season/non section 42. No profit, no poaching. Proper audits on game dealers is a must to prevent them from sourcing poached deer - not that they would do such a thing anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Quote from the HCAP....

You are out pheasant shooting and on driving home you find a deer that has been hit on the road and dragged itself 20 feet into a field. You dispatch the deer with your shotgun to prevent further suffering. Who should you inform?

Hcap isnt the law..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭mrbrianj

Quote from the HCAP....

My belief was that it was by "legal means" - therefor only a deer legal calibre only
    Time to revisit the training book for me!

As per Vegeta's point i was not aware that informing a ranger was a necessity. A courtesy, yes, but it's not required under law afaik.

And as for the means of dispatch. Any means is allowed. So as per the example Fallow quoted from the Hcap manual, if you are out with a shotgun, to leave the animal in distress because you don't have a deer legal caliber is wrong. Also some lads may not have deer legal calibers.

If anyone can provide a link to the legislation where it says about informing ranger i'd like to have it please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭madred006

Deer alliance website in relation to humanely dispatching an injured deer states under frequently asked questions, that it is not necessary to report same to any body .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Larry60

I think that reporting to the local wildlife ranger that you have put a seriously injured deer you have found out of its misery is perhaps mostly about "covering your arse" than a legal requirement.

The guys on that train were not very discreet to openly discuss their deer poaching activities, so I would think that more likely than not they were just bull****ting each other.

I personally am not to keen on shooting deer out of season (under a section 42 licence) in the warmer months as as soon as you open it up every fly for miles about is there in seconds !!!! Also the licence will usually apply only to male deer which in my experience in my locality are not the ones in, doing the damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

Quote from the HCAP....

is the hcap manual you got this from the latest, reason im asking is the manual i read at time of doing hcap said that no one need be informed when putting an injured deer out of its misery, that is any one can do this deer license or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

You need a deer legal caliber to hunt deer, humane dispatch is not hunting.
    As a precaution I'd leave the local ranger at least a voice message or a text if they didn't answer the phone.