Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Making every mile count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Ha - no one told the other 800+ people.
    Did you pace KC around?

http://www.precisiontiming.net/result.aspx?v=2175

Ssssssshhhhh!

Much like the Great North Run but with me being Mo. He did the right thing and moved over to allow me glory!

Thursday 11/9

5 Miles Easy @7.24p/m in 37:01

After the double on Wednesday I was surprisingly shattered so decided to ease back a bit more on the mileage than I would have liked.

Friday 12/9

3 Miles Easy @7.21p/m in 22:07
    -inc. 3x30 second strides @10k effort

The now traditional three mile run the day before racing a half. Feeling good.

Saturday 13/9

16.11+ Miles

Can a 'bad' race be a good race? It quite possibly can be.

Athlone Flatline Half Marathon 2014

31st

1.20:01

I will start by saying that the finishing time achieved yesterday was some 3 minutes off what I currently feel achievable. Training has progressed well despite a poor 10k race last week. With that in mind I believed 1.16:3x a realistic goal. I fully believed this was within my capability but at the top end of expectations (if that makes sense). Needless to say the race did not go according to plan. In fact, I nearly dropped out several times. The last 8 miles were a real mental struggle. This was as bad as I have ever felt during a race. In many ways indescribable but a feeling most runners, if not all, have felt at some stage. Unfortunately.

The previous two days of easy running left the legs, body and mind in rather good shape. This was a race I was really looking forward to. The drive down was trouble free and the registration effortless. With this being an important race the plan was to essentially warm-up twice, with two easy 5 minute runs with strides incorporated into the latter run. Fantastic to see so many recognisable faces flying about. In confident mood I joined the start time, just in time to line-up beside Krusty and Dr.Q.

The first three miles ticked by nicely, with the Dr. overtaking me on the second mile to join his fellow boardsie. I maintained a 20m gap to them, working with similar paced runners. Just keep them in sight I told myself. The effort level increased approaching the fourth mile. I focused on keeping a nice rhythm, trying to keep the inner demons at bay. Here I began breaking the race down mentally, assigning myself mini-goals. The next target was to reach mile 5 on target and that I did. I was in trouble though and I knew it. The heat and humidity became stifling. I felt like I was very quickly melting onto the roads of Athlone.

The Death March.

The next 8 miles pushed me to breaking point. The 6th mile (6.02) welcomed that beginning of the end. I needed to play every mental trick just to keep going. The heat drained every bit of energy from the legs and the mind start to play tricks. The gap instead to the two ahead was closing. I stopped looking at the watch after the 5th mile so this had me confused. I was going backwards quickly so how was I closing? I could not think straight. Mile 7 (6.05) and Mile 8 (6.13) saw me pass the Dr. This was something I did not want to do. On a normal day my competitive nature would have loved to kick his ass but not today. We were both going backwards. Hopefully next time we will both be in good nick and properly fight it out. Like real men :cool:

From here on in I began to mentally fall apart. I desperately latched on to fellow runners, following their every weave and move (how annoying for them, sorry).

Mile 9: 6.20
    Mile 10: 6.14
    Mile 11: 6.20
    Mile 12: 6.31
    Mile 13: 6.23
    Last bit: 38 seconds (6.22)

Much like passing the Dr., passing Krusty was tough. We were all in pain and we all wanted out. Mile 12 and 13 became as tough as anything ever experienced. The rough country roads sapped every bit of energy and how I craved the finish. As late as 12.5 miles in I thought about stopping. All I wanted to do was to sit down but a DNF was never really an option for me.

The sweet release of the finish line (and the warm cup of coke) meant the previous 80 minutes of torture were almost worth it.

Some days are about running a race but this race was something different. Quite simply, it was a test of character.

I have taken so many positives from this race. I am in no doubt I am a stronger runner for the experience. Oddly, a 86 minute half marathon feels closer than ever.

-W/U 1+ Mile (inc. strides)
    -W/D 2 Miles @7.40p/m

Sunday 14/9

Long Easy Run
    -18 Miles @7.17p/m in 2.11:16

Just to reinforce the belief that the race yesterday was more a mental than physical battle, this was an enjoyable with Ecoli and TRR despite the hardship of the previous day. The legs felt good but the late night working left me somewhat tired. Despite a dodgy mile 12 the legs held up very well. Delighted to tick this one off and be done just after midday. Nice to be able to enjoy a relaxing Sunday afternoon!

WEEK TOTAL: 75.11+ MILES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭NiallG4

Thursday 11/9

5 Miles Easy @7.24p/m in 37:01

After the double on Wednesday I was surprisingly shattered so decided to ease back a bit more on the mileage than I would have liked.

Friday 12/9

3 Miles Easy @7.21p/m in 22:07
    -inc. 3x30 second strides @10k effort

The now traditional three mile run the day before racing a half. Feeling good.

Saturday 13/9

16.11+ Miles

Can a 'bad' race be a good race? It quite possibly can be.

Athlone Flatline Half Marathon 2014

31st

1.20:01

I will start by saying that the finishing time achieved yesterday was some 3 minutes off what I currently feel achievable. Training has progressed well despite a poor 10k race last week. With that in mind I believed 1.16:3x a realistic goal. I fully believed this was within my capability but at the top end of expectations (if that makes sense). Needless to say the race did not go according to plan. In fact, I nearly dropped out several times. The last 8 miles were a real mental struggle. This was as bad as I have ever felt during a race. In many ways indescribable but a feeling most runners, if not all, have felt at some stage. Unfortunately.

The previous two days of easy running left the legs, body and mind in rather good shape. This was a race I was really looking forward to. The drive down was trouble free and the registration effortless. With this being an important race the plan was to essentially warm-up twice, with two easy 5 minute runs with strides incorporated into the latter run. Fantastic to see so many recognisable faces flying about. In confident mood I joined the start time, just in time to line-up beside Krusty and Dr.Q.

The first three miles ticked by nicely, with the Dr. overtaking me on the second mile to join his fellow boardsie. I maintained a 20m gap to them, working with similar paced runners. Just keep them in sight I told myself. The effort level increased approaching the fourth mile. I focused on keeping a nice rhythm, trying to keep the inner demons at bay. Here I began breaking the race down mentally, assigning myself mini-goals. The next target was to reach mile 5 on target and that I did. I was in trouble though and I knew it. The heat and humidity became stifling. I felt like I was very quickly melting onto the roads of Athlone.

The Death March.

The next 8 miles pushed me to breaking point. The 6th mile (6.02) welcomed that beginning of the end. I needed to play every mental trick just to keep going. The heat drained every bit of energy from the legs and the mind start to play tricks. The gap instead to the two ahead was closing. I stopped looking at the watch after the 5th mile so this had me confused. I was going backwards quickly so how was I closing? I could not think straight. Mile 7 (6.05) and Mile 8 (6.13) saw me pass the Dr. This was something I did not want to do. On a normal day my competitive nature would have loved to kick his ass but not today. We were both going backwards. Hopefully next time we will both be in good nick and properly fight it out. Like real men :cool:

From here on in I began to mentally fall apart. I desperately latched on to fellow runners, following their every weave and move (how annoying for them, sorry).

Mile 9: 6.20
    Mile 10: 6.14
    Mile 11: 6.20
    Mile 12: 6.31
    Mile 13: 6.23
    Last bit: 38 seconds (6.22)

Much like passing the Dr., passing Krusty was tough. We were all in pain and we all wanted out. Mile 12 and 13 became as tough as anything ever experienced. The rough country roads sapped every bit of energy and how I craved the finish. As late as 12.5 miles in I thought about stopping. All I wanted to do was to sit down but a DNF was never really an option for me.

The sweet release of the finish line (and the warm cup of coke) meant the previous 80 minutes of torture were almost worth it.

Some days are about running a race but this race was something different. Quite simply, it was a test of character.

I have taken so many positives from this race. I am in no doubt I am a stronger runner for the experience. Oddly, a 86 minute half marathon feels closer than ever.

-W/U 1+ Mile (inc. strides)
    -W/D 2 Miles @7.40p/m

Sunday 14/9

Long Easy Run
    -18 Miles @7.17p/m in 2.11:16

Just to reinforce the belief that the race yesterday was more a mental than physical battle, this was an enjoyable with Ecoli and TRR despite the hardship of the previous day. The legs felt good but the late night working left me somewhat tired. Despite a dodgy mile 12 the legs held up very well. Delighted to tick this one off and be done just after midday. Nice to be able to enjoy a relaxing Sunday afternoon!

WEEK TOTAL: 75.11+ MILES

HTF do you do 18 miles @ 7.17 the day after a half. I struggled to hold 9 min miles on grass yesterday as a recovery. I told you a while back we would have wee 5.50 per mile group. I hit the first mile in 5.48 but then as we were on 5.58 pace for mile 2 one of them said lets up it. I knew the time was gone as early as that and waved them on and said o myself if I can hold 6's it will be a good day. They both suffered late on and one came back to me. it really was a freak day. We jogged back out the course for a cool down and it was like a scene from a war movie. There were bodies everywhere and we helped two girls who had to be taken away in an ambulance. Anyway if it is any comfort to you I am aware of at least 4 guys who were targeting similar times to you and none of us got them. I think I passed you on the main road stretch at about 9 mile. Anyway, onwards and upwards.

NiallG4 wrote: »
    HTF do you do 18 miles @ 7.17 the day after a half. I struggled to hold 9 min miles on grass yesterday as a recovery. I told you a while back we would have wee 5.50 per mile group. I hit the first mile in 5.48 but then as we were on 5.58 pace for mile 2 one of them said lets up it. I knew the time was gone as early as that and waved them on and said o myself if I can hold 6's it will be a good day. They both suffered late on and one came back to me. it really was a freak day. We jogged back out the course for a cool down and it was like a scene from a war movie. There were bodies everywhere and we helped two girls who had to be taken away in an ambulance. Anyway if it is any comfort to you I am aware of at least 4 guys who were targeting similar times to you and none of us got them. I think I passed you on the main road stretch at about 9 mile. Anyway, onwards and upwards.

Sorry to hear you also missed your target. As you say, it was a freak day. You probably did pass me alright! I tried to inject a bit of pace before mile 9 as I realised (somehow!) a PB was still on but as soon as I did I began to get dizzy. I really am not built for any type of heat (typical Irish man!)

I recover quite well from races. This may be because I usually hold a bit back but I certainly had nothing left in Athlone. The battle was more a mental than physical battle on Saturday. The legs felt great that night and the next day. This cemented the argument that the heat really hindered me race day. I don't think it's an excuse, just the way I am built.

As you say, it's upwards from here. Certainly cannot get any worse anyway! Roll on Dublin. Guaranteed rain, wind and fierce mild weather! My cup of tea :)

Many more races? Just the Kilomarathon in Moone confirmed so far for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭NiallG4

Sorry to hear you also missed your target. As you say, it was a freak day. You probably did pass me alright! I tried to inject a bit of pace before mile 9 as I realised (somehow!) a PB was still on but as soon as I did I began to get dizzy. I really am not built for any type of heat (typical Irish man!)

I recover quite well from races. This may be because I usually hold a bit back but I certainly had nothing left in Athlone. The battle was more a mental than physical battle on Saturday. The legs felt great that night and the next day. This cemented the argument that the heat really hindered me race day. I don't think it's an excuse, just the way I am built.

As you say, it's upwards from here. Certainly cannot get any worse anyway! Roll on Dublin. Guaranteed rain, wind and fierce mild weather! My cup of tea :)

I agree, it was a pure test of mental strength and hopefully it wll stand to us. I am doing the Armagh 10 miler in early October as a final blowout.

NiallG4 wrote: »
    I agree, it was a pure test of mental strength and hopefully it wll stand to us. I am doing the Armagh 10 miler in early October as a final blowout.

Great stuff. All the best with the training and with the race. Not long to go now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Saturdays mental battle should really stand to you DR. It seemed to be a horror show for most people.

Best of luck in Moone, I'll keep an eye out for you (at the start!)

TbL

Saturdays mental battle should really stand to you DR. It seemed to be a horror show for most people.

Best of luck in Moone, I'll keep an eye out for you (at the start!)

TbL

Thanks man.

Whether it's blind confidence or stupidity I am feeling more positive than ever.

I will see you in Moone. Should be fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I'm only getting around to reading the weekend's reports now. Seems like everybody suffered in Athlone last Saturday (a little bit like the Dublin HM last year?). We're not used to these balmy Septembers in Ireland. Bearing that in mind, your result seems pretty respectable in the grand scheme of things. I wouldn't be too worried if I was you.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I'm only getting around to reading the weekend's reports now. Seems like everybody suffered in Athlone last Saturday (a little bit like the Dublin HM last year?). We're not used to these balmy Septembers in Ireland. Bearing that in mind, your result seems pretty respectable in the grand scheme of things. I wouldn't be too worried if I was you.

Exactly.

I am confident it was a one off. I will take many positives. My pain threshold is now greater for sure. Luckily I cannot race Charleville. The temptation to right a few wrongs would have meant me entering.

Stupid Irish weather!

yaboya1 wrote: »

Exactly.

I am confident it was a one off. I will take many positives. My pain threshold is now greater for sure. Luckily I cannot race Charleville. The temptation to right a few wrongs would have meant me entering.

Stupid Irish weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Exactly.

Stupid Irish weather!

Your post eerily reminds me of my Rotterdam experience with the heat playing a pivotal role and longing to curl up in a ball on the side of the road. But as someone said to me after it, 'tough days beget better ones' and there will no doubt be better days. Fair play for sticking it out, no doubt you'll gain from it and come back stronger. You're training really well, injury free and the primary target is still there for the taking, so refocus now back to the training and keep positive, like these positive signs: ++++++

jebuz wrote: »
    Your post eerily reminds me of my Rotterdam experience with the heat playing a pivotal role and longing to curl up in a ball on the side of the road. But as someone said to me after it, 'tough days beget better ones' and there will no doubt be better days. Fair play for sticking it out, no doubt you'll gain from it and come back stronger. You're training really well, injury free and the primary target is still there for the taking, so refocus now back to the training and keep positive, like these positive signs: ++++++

You know what? As soon as I saw you left a comment I thought of your experience in Rotterdam. I think everyone goes through it some stage. Hopefully never again though!

++++++++++++++ :):):)

So with almost 60 miles ran since the overheating incident on Saturday the race has been firmly put in the back of the mind.

I made the very conscious decision to ease right back on the easy runs, aware that the weekend maybe took more out of me than I thought. The AM runs in particular were taken quite slowly on the Monday and Tuesday, with the first mile of both runs hovering around the 8 minute mile mark.

I feel like Padraic Harrington at the moment. Always tweaking. I wouldn't recommend it but I am playing it by feel as I have yet to nail down a plan for the next few weeks. Again, not recommended. Don't try this at home kids!

Monday 15/9

AM

4.25 Miles Very Easy @7.42p/m in 32:43

PM

8 Miles Easy @7.24p/m in 59:10

Tuesday 16/9

AM

4.25 Miles Very Easy @7.40p/m in 32:39

PM

8 Miles Easy @7.20p/m in 58:42

Wednesday 17/9

Medium Long Run
    -15 Miles Easy @7.14p/m in 1.48:29

Nice and comfortable with a 30 second stride thrown in at the end to wake up the legs.

So, an easy start to the week. I will look to put in a steady run on Saturday and some MP work later in the week. Although in confident enough mood I have let the mind drift and in many ways I am currently struggling to focus on Dublin. This may be quite natural as my goal time starting out may be beyond me come October. Part of me is looking to exciting targets early next year rather than focus solely on the marathon. That will come though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭dukeraoul

So with almost 60 miles ran since the overheating incident on Saturday the race has been firmly put in the back of the mind.

I made the very conscious decision to ease right back on the easy runs, aware that the weekend maybe took more out of me than I thought. The AM runs in particular were taken quite slowly on the Monday and Tuesday, with the first mile of both runs hovering around the 8 minute mile mark.

I feel like Padraic Harrington at the moment. Always tweaking. I wouldn't recommend it but I am playing it by feel as I have yet to nail down a plan for the next few weeks. Again, not recommended. Don't try this at home kids!

Monday 15/9

AM

4.25 Miles Very Easy @7.42p/m in 32:43

PM

8 Miles Easy @7.24p/m in 59:10

Tuesday 16/9

AM

4.25 Miles Very Easy @7.40p/m in 32:39

PM

8 Miles Easy @7.20p/m in 58:42

Wednesday 17/9

Medium Long Run
    -15 Miles Easy @7.14p/m in 1.48:29

Nice and comfortable with a 30 second stride thrown in at the end to wake up the legs.

So, an easy start to the week. I will look to put in a steady run on Saturday and some MP work later in the week. Although in confident enough mood I have let the mind drift and in many ways I am currently struggling to focus on Dublin. This may be quite natural as my goal time starting out may be beyond me come October. Part of me is looking to exciting targets early next year rather than focus solely on the marathon. That will come though.

What's driving the loss of focus DR? Looks to me like you're on for a big PB... Just a couple weeks left of hard training and then the taper- you gonna let Moone be the marker for what you're gonna use for MP? I reckon it will have a big impact on where we set mine!

I made the very conscious decision to ease right back on the easy runs

I think this is quite smart and something I've started doing recently also. Easing up on the easy running has allowed me to recover well during key sessions, the Saturday/Sunday combo is particularly tough on the body so 7 min/mile-ing on a Monday is not going to do you any favours for your Tuesday session.

It's been drilled into me by my coach at this stage but having been out for a Monday 70 min jog with some of top runners in the club recently (including the holder of the national 10k road title), the pace was just below 8 min/mile and that pretty much confirmed to me I was running too fast. It's hard to adapt to at first, you think you're almost going backwards but I'm seeing the benefits.

What I like doing also, similar to what you do is a very easy 5 mile recovery in the morning and then a second run at a slightly faster pace in the evening, it's mentally a bit more satisfying than a 10 mile recovery.

dukeraoul wrote: »
    What's driving the loss of focus DR? Looks to me like you're on for a big PB... Just a couple weeks left of hard training and then the taper- you gonna let Moone be the marker for what you're gonna use for MP? I reckon it will have a big impact on where we set mine!

All being well I will be well under my PB, but it is a bit soft. I guess it's the fact the chances of hitting 2.39 are slimming daily. As I said to the man of the moment (ecoli!), pb's don't really interest me. What does is simply, doing my very best. I know that may sound stupid but I know I haven't recently. Lack of structure, a clear vision of where I am going..... etc. It's honestly very frustrating and knowing it is my fault makes it worse!!

Yeah, looking forward to Moone. No idea of the plan yet but ideally I would trot around easily at 6.04 pace but that may not be on or possibly not the right way to go about it.

Great training by the way. Really nailing in those MP runs. Great to see.

jebuz wrote: »
    I think this is quite smart and something I've started doing recently also. Easing up on the easy running has allowed me to recover well during key sessions, the Saturday/Sunday combo is particularly tough on the body so 7 min/mile-ing on a Monday is not going to do you any favours for your Tuesday session.

It's been drilled into me by my coach at this stage but having been out for a Monday 70 min jog with some of top runners in the club recently (including the holder of the national 10k road title), the pace was just below 8 min/mile and that pretty much confirmed to me I was running too fast. It's hard to adapt to at first, you think you're almost going backwards but I'm seeing the benefits.

What I like doing also, similar to what you do is a very easy 5 mile recovery in the morning and then a second run at a slightly faster pace in the evening, it's mentally a bit more satisfying than a 10 mile recovery.

Most definitely. Learning to run slow to run fast! Such a simple idea but difficult to correctly implement.

Ideally the morning runs will get even slower. Just trying to nail in a pace without Garmin watching.

All set for Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I know this is a radical suggestion, but would you consider not doing the Kilomarathon and not racing again between now and the marathon?
    I think You're worst enemy DR is the need to reassure yourself and flog it all the time. I know you dont wanna hear that, I mean had somebody said that to me a while ago I wouldve told them to **** off. But I dont wanna see you make the same mistake you made with rotterdamn. At the risk of name dropping, Mark Keneally said to me one time, its better to get to the start line fresh and under trained, than it is to get there half cooked and race weary. It took me a while to accept this but he was 100% right. Just alwasy be questioning what youre doing and whether its gonna get you to the start line feeling fresh and strong.
    *You can tell me to **** off if you want

Yup, I turn off all the bells & whistles on the garmin for easy runs and just head off on what I feel is the right pace, good for the mind.

Yeah I'm all set now, battling a cold right now but should be fine by Sunday. Got a nice track session in last night to sharpen up and as usual will be taking a rest day before giving myself a chance to run the best race I can. Looking forward to it to be honest!

I'm also looking at a race I can target for an MP session, Cork to Cobh (15 miles) is on the same weekend as Moone. Cork is obviously handier but would be good to work in with a group targeting ~6:05 min/miles so might consider that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭dukeraoul

tunguska wrote: »
    I know this is a radical suggestion, but would you consider not doing the Kilomarathon and not racing again between now and the marathon?
    I think You're worst enemy DR is the need to reassure yourself and flog it all the time. I know you dont wanna hear that, I mean had somebody said that to me a while ago I wouldve told them to **** off. But I dont wanna see you make the same mistake you made with rotterdamn. At the risk of name dropping, Mark Keneally said to me one time, its better to get to the start line fresh and under trained, than it is to get there half cooked and race weary. It took me a while to accept this but he was 100% right. Just alwasy be questioning what youre doing and whether its gonna get you to the start line feeling fresh and strong.

In fairness E - I would have said the same last year (and think I did in this log) but I've run w/ DR a good bit lately and think he's been training pretty sensibly and if you look at his log has run no more races than the rest of us...

I think a good few of us are targeting Moone as the last big PMP effort and a way to do that w/ company? How you gettin on btw? Hopefully bump into you at a race soon...

dukeraoul wrote: »
    In fairness E - I would have said the same last year (and think I did in this log) but I've run w/ DR a good bit lately and think he's been training pretty sensibly and if you look at his log has run no more races than the rest of us...

I think a good few of us are targeting Moone as the last big PMP effort and a way to do that w/ company? How you gettin on btw? Hopefully bump into you at a race soon...

Thats kind of the point Im making though, to not do what others are doing, do something different that involves taking a bit of a step back.
    But look every man makes his own decisions, all Im saying is to stop and question yourself, not to blindly follow the pack, or get caught up with insecurity and flog yourself as a consequnce of not having faith in your own ability.
    Anyway Im good. I decided to not race at all in the build up to the marathon(last race was dunshaughlin 10k) just to see how that plays itself out. I feel great, although I'll admit that I havent done any sessions at all. I didnt plan it that way, just been distracted with life, but I have been doing all my runs in the flats so as to be able to do the marathon in the piranhas. I'd say 2:38 is where I'll be at on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I'm only a plodder and know nothing about the science of running but if you don't mind Tunguska, what do you think about the effect of confidence. I see my self as a confidence runner and a good tune up race or good session nailed before a target race can be a big help mentally and give you the self belief on target race day. I'm sure that there is a very fine line between overtraining and not been properly prepared. The point I'm trying to make is that the self confidence a good race brings might possibly outway the effect of been slightly overtrained?

Tnx,

TbL

Hey E. I won't tell you to **** off, don't worry!!

Having made a few mistakes in the lead-up and post marathon in April, I am very keen not to repeat those same mistakes. I know what you mean about racing, it's very easy to over-race yourself and chase results. The kilomarathon should really be a training run, a decent hard effort and a good race simulation run. I have only really 'raced' properly twice in the past 4-5 months (albeit both terrible runs).

At the moment I am feeling fresh and confident so I don't think I am over trained but I am very conscious over the next two weeks to do exactly what you say and be on the line in Dublin on an upward trajectory rather than feeling flogged! That saying is great. I'll keep that :)

I think I am just p1ssed off that I have allowed myself get this far with a proper plan but I will have to park that and move on. Another lesson learned.

Good to see you are doing Dublin and that training is going well. Cannot wait for it!

Thursday 18/9
    11.8 Miles

After a bit of deliberation I settled on a set of Yasso 800m reps for the Thursday session. The plan was to simply evaluate where I am at the moment. This was partly because the last two races haven't been true reflections of my current ability (in my opinion :)). I know, I know. Races are what count (and they do) but the marathon distance is a bit of a different beast. Anyway.....

The plan: 800m x10 in 2.40-2.42 (with the same recovery as the previous rep)

(For further info: http://www.runnersworld.com/race-training/yasso-800s)

Actual:

-W/U 1.50 Miles (inc. 3 pick-ups)

Reps:
    2.41, 2.41, 2.40

After a hard first rep, I quickly settled into a nice rhythm but don't get me wrong, these were hard. Recovering after the 3rd rep I met someone I knew. Disaster. 5 minutes of happy small talk later the session had to be shelved. Absolutely no point doing an evaluation session with a 5 minute recovery thrown in. I am too nice for my own good! The options were to tick off some easy miles or get some quality in. With that in mind:

-6 Miles @MP @6.02p/m in 36:14

-W/D 2.2 Miles @7.39p/m in 16:53

Fnckin' delighted with the session. It would have been so easy to give in and end the session but a bit of HTFU was called for. The planned marathon pace miles felt comfortably hard. If anything, the 800m reps previously meant the pace felt relaxed in comparison.

This probably won't end up being my marathon pace but it won't be far off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Next time you see that friend thank them, they did you a favour, Yasso's can be a novel session, a decent workout but they are not what you need right now, focus on getting the miles and the specific session's in, park the need for self validation of the training it will come in Moone, in mean time keep focused on sessions to lock in the MP rather than ones to confirm you are in the shape to run at that pace because you have the miles done and the fitness over the course of the year.

Stay the course ;)

(Tough love speech over and out :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Im with larry david on this: "I dont stop 'n' chat"

Impressive salvage job afterwards.

I'm only a plodder and know nothing about the science of running but if you don't mind Tunguska, what do you think about the effect of confidence. I see my self as a confidence runner and a good tune up race or good session nailed before a target race can be a big help mentally and give you the self belief on target race day. I'm sure that there is a very fine line between overtraining and not been properly prepared. The point I'm trying to make is that the self confidence a good race brings might possibly outway the effect of been slightly overtrained?

Tnx,

TbL

Hey I've been there I've done those confidence boosting races. But the thing is it takes more confidence to not have to reassure yourself. To just say I've done enough, its in the Bank I Dont need to race the **** out of myself to prove anything. Just have confidence in yourself that on the day you'll nail it. If there's one thing ive learned in the last while its that it doesn't take as much effort as you might think it does to progress. That flogging yourself repeatedly because you need reassurance is a disaster Waiting to happen. All it takes is consistency but to be consistent you need to make good decisions that support keeping you feeling strong and relatively fresh. When you Dont have confidence in yourself you'll make bad decisions and race when you shouldn't. And two things a lot of runners lack are confidence in themselves and the ability to take a step back from the obsession, to just let go.
    All I'm saying is give it a go, resist the urge to reassure yourself. It can be uncomfortable but it will give you information about how confident you really are and put you in a place where you won't make decisions based on insecurity but on what's best for your health, fitness and well being.

Hey I've been there I've done those confidence boosting races. But the thing is it takes more confidence to not have to reassure yourself. To just say I've done enough, its in the Bank I Dont need to race the **** out of myself to prove anything. Just have confidence in yourself that on the day you'll nail it. If there's one thing ive learned in the last while its that it doesn't take as much effort as you might think it does to progress. That flogging yourself repeatedly because you need reassurance is a disaster Waiting to happen. All it takes is consistency but to be consistent you need to make good decisions that support keeping you feeling strong and relatively fresh. When you Dont have confidence in yourself you'll make bad decisions and race when you shouldn't. And two things a lot of runners lack are confidence in themselves and the ability to take a step back from the obsession, to just let go.
    All I'm saying is give it a go, resist the urge to reassure yourself. It can be uncomfortable but it will give you information about how confident you really are and put you in a place where you won't make decisions based on insecurity but on what's best for your health, fitness and well being.

+1 to this. Great piece of advice. Unfortunately, for me it's easier said then done but I am trying!

ecoli wrote: »
    Next time you see that friend thank them, they did you a favour, Yasso's can be a novel session, a decent workout but they are not what you need right now, focus on getting the miles and the specific session's in, park the need for self validation of the training it will come in Moone, in mean time keep focused on sessions to lock in the MP rather than ones to confirm you are in the shape to run at that pace because you have the miles done and the fitness over the course of the year.

Stay the course ;)

(Tough love speech over and out :p)

Without doubt a blessing in disguise. Whilst I was buying runners (Puma Faas 300v3....best runner out there btw :p) I was doing my very best to convince myself not to do MP miles. Looking for a way out!

Yasso sessions are definitely a tough one though. It looks a hell of a lot easier written down. I think there is merit in them but as you say, not now!