If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)

The main thing is keeping the main thing, the main thing

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭ babacool

I love the “race more part” 🤣 doing the same this year (at least so far I have planned the most races to date yet). Xc next Sunday is still open to register 😁. Would love to meet you there.

other than that, always happy to switch it up and go for an easy jog in the park. I get the whole turning down part as even easy runs have a certain pace. So grateful that my new/old coach goes more by “better slower than too fast but see how it feels”. More freedom to meet up for easy long runs as no pace is really too slow.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,018 ✭✭✭✭ Murph_D

Interesting thoughts, A. Do you think the decision would have been different if things had gone better at Raheny? It seems you've been thinking for a while about a change, but what if Trim turns out to be a great performance. Will you feel any different?

Either way it seems you've taken quite a bit from the latest coaching arrangement so it al adds to the knowledge base. Good luck with the next phase.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,138 ✭✭✭ AuldManKing

Thanks Lads - Marc - I'll defo take you up on an offer to run in the future - but maybe a session, it'll be like an easy run to you :)

Murph - I seen this post on Sunday morning, prior to the race, and it was one of those things I've thought about a lot. "What if....."

One of the things I thought about after Raheny was that if I ran poorly in Trim - then it would be seen as a reaction to the coaching. So I wanted to hit that nail early and do it prior to Trim. Whatever the result in Trim, good, bad or indifferent - I knew I was going to be self coached going fwd.

Monday 30th: A nice recovery trek on the trails in the PP - haven't done that is quite a while. Gorgeous!!

5.4m / 8.35 pace

Tuesday 31st: I had a running date today :)

A few miles around Porterstown park - great chats.

5.8m / 8.30 pace

Wed 1st: Rest day

Thur 2nd Feb: A pre race workout of my own design. 200m/300m at 3k pace - 4x800 at 10m race pace - 200m/300m at 3k.

Rational for the workout was to run some faster efforts prior to and after the 'meat' - the legs needed reminding of some work as this was an 'in between' week while also needing some race pace work to keep the muscle tension in place.

The longer strides afterwards were for a similar reason - turnover, muscle tension but mostly psychology. The 2nd 200/300 would feel easier than the 1st set.

The workout went well - but the 10mile pace felt like 5k effort - far too tough even with a 2min recovery.

And yes - the 2nd 200/300 felt better than the 1st :)

8 mile (great song btw)

Friday 3rd: Easy miles around Porterstown Park - I had a strange feeling in my hamstrings during and after the little pre-race workout - it was still lingering on Friday so rather than a planned rest day - I ran a few short miles to flush out the legs. Felt much better afterwards.

4.3m / 8.20 pace

Sat 4th: Shakeout and strides

3.76 miles.

Super account, gripping stuff. Left me wanting more so I had to check the results to see who won the Battle of Alan vs Dunboyne. Hopefully he's the runner who finished a few secs behind and not the other fella. I suspect you didn't let him away with it.

Well done, certainly battled through lots of difficulties there and never gave up. Your ability to bite down and latch on to a passing group late on is something I'd love to be able to do.

Gandalf vs the Orcs, love it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭ Laineyfrecks

Super stuff A, well done on an amazing time but more than that, well done on seeing it out when it got tough. I don't think anyone who's a non runner would believe the stuff that goes on in our heads when we are racing. That constant runners dialect that goes from one thought to another so quickly! These races will stand to you, D is 100% right, we won't always have great racing days(in our eyes) but every single race is a step forward to being the best runner we can be!

Sorry I missed you, would have been nice to say hello😊

• Registered Users Posts: 4,153 ✭✭✭ ariana`

Super race and I echo @Murph_D the report was gripping. Sub 60 would have given you a real boost I'm sure but it's very heart warming to hear you speak so positively and proudly of your performance - it can be hard to quantify what will give us most satisfaction - it's hard to beat the PB feeling but at the end of the day I don't think anything beats working hard for any result, whether it ends up being a PB or not, that feeling when you've had to grind to stop the demons from winning - you certainly won this one, well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭ healy1835

Tipping nicely Alan. Couple of tweaks here and there and a big performance on raceday is near enough I think. That turn at 6 miles can be grim alright,especially if the wind is blowing and you get isolated at all. Fair play for keeping it between the lines 👍

Up and down? 🧐

Endoscope & Colonoscopy 😫😕💩

A right pain in the h0le.

Hope all went well A & you get some answers😊

• Registered Users Posts: 4,690 ✭✭✭ skyblue46

Had both done a few years ago...the endoscope without sedation was the absolute worst. Best of luck with it.

I'm saying nothing. 😉

Well… if you got fire in the hole you may use it. Nothing wrong with that.

I see what you did there, @babacool 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭ Lambay island

I really like the sound of that session with the variation of time and pace- seems like you nailed it too!

Would have thought you are giving tallaght 5k a go on the 17th as prep for dunboyne

I'd never trained specifically for a HM previously - it was always on the back of Marathon Training - so interested to see how Mullingar goes.

I think I can run a good 10k off the back of it - but the priority was the HM.

Original plan was for sub 1.20 - but I dont think I'm there yet - I do think that a few 20 milers are needed to really prepare for a Half, but we'll see - I've had a good last few weeks so feeling confident going into it for a decent run.

Haha PP inhabitants😆 Very best of luck to you in Mullingar, nice block of training, might see you in Dunboyne!

Looking at my plan the longest run is a 16miler (twice) so not sure if you really need a few 20milers to prep for a half. But I’m saying that now … who knows what I will say after the half 🤣

either way best of luck with those races. Go out and Enjoy them!

20 milers for a half seems like overkill to me too - surely more specific training/sessions would deliver more bang? Interested in the thoughts there.