Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda found guilty of sexually assaulting and sexually harassing female colleagues

• 02-11-2013 12:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/garda-found-guilty-of-sexually-harassing-female-colleagues-1.1581174

A serving Garda has been found guilty of sexual assault and harassment in a trial involving two of his female colleagues.

Garda Kevin Corby was found guilty of two charges of harassment and one charge of sexual assault on dates in 2010 and 2011 in Co Donegal.He was found not guilty of five further charges of sexual assault while another charge of sexual assault was struck out earlier in the trial.The three day trial heard graphic evidence of how the two female gardaí were both sexually assaulted and harassed by Corby.

Corby, who is in his 30s, faced seven charges of sexual assault and two charges of harassment but one of the charges of sexual assault was withdrawn by Judge John O’Hagan. The incidents happened simultaneously over a number of months in 2010 and 2011. The court heard how the married officer insulted the women about their sex-life and their weight.

The women said they dreaded going to work because of the alleged harassment and one of them even tried to take her own life. He jibed them about needing to “get a good ride” and not eating too much or they wouldn’t get a man.

The court also heard how Corby, on two different occasions, pushed them along a corridor in a swivel chair and pushed his groin up against them.
    He was said to have pushed himself up against one of the women form behind and she could feel his erect penis pressing against her.One of the women also claimed that he put his hand into her garda vest on one occasion and touched her breast.

On another occasion, while in a patrol car, Corby put his hand on one of the female Garda’s leg and then moved it up towards her groin area and told her if her husband didn’t do it then he would.

However, the court also heard from three different male gardaí who also worked with Corby in the same station. One of the gardaí said he had never heard such remarks in his numerous years as a serving member.
    Another said he told Corby to give it a break after he “crossed the line” with the female colleagues.

Summing up, barrister for Corby, Peter Nolan said the case was a “storm in a teacup” and “political correctness gone mad”. He also referred to the fact that one of the female gardaí had bought Corby red Santa boxer shorts as a present for Christmas – just weeks after some of the alleged incidents.
    “If you are going to join the guards then you have to be able for a bit of banter. This is a ridiculous case for prosecution to bring before the people of Ireland.

“If we were all to be done for putting our hands on someone’s knee then we would all be in jail,” he said.But State barrister Patricia McLaughlin asked the jury that if it was their wife, daughter or sister, would they not think it was indecent.Judge John O’Hagan said he would pass sentence in January.He released Corby on his continuing bail for a probation, welfare and community service reports and also ordered victim impact statements.

Seems to be going around...

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/garda-sergeant-avoids-jail-for-sexually-assaulting-female-colleague-29337178.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I saw it on highland right here, but yeah, not the first of a case of this situation. Ireland's finest An Garda Síochána. The PR department don't be long in responding with good news stories and pumping up the organisation with good newsies; but in cases like this where negative stories appear more and more frequently, little is said by them.

You wouldn't find Surgeons hitting headlines when they do remarkable work, yet this organisation feels to need to constantly make headlines outlining the fact that they do their paid jobs.

Nothing surprising about this case here for me, nothing! Don't forget recruitment next year, you get to risk having to work in this environment; being bullied and sexually harassed! Wonderful selling point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Nothing surprising about this case here for me, nothing! Don't forget recruitment next year, you get to risk having to work in this environment; being bullied and sexually harassed! Wonderful selling point!

Well what I find surprising is that if anyone else told a Ban Garda the she "needs a good ride", then you wake up sometime in March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

jonsnow wrote: »
    “If we were all to be done for putting our hands on someone’s knee then we would all be in jail,” he said.

Say what?

Perhaps the barrister works in an office where such things are normal. Frankly I would be creeped out at the idea of putting my hands on anyone's knee in the manner described.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

kerry4sam wrote: »

Come on now, that's being a bit sensationalist. You can be guaranteed that there have been bullying, harassment cases and sexual offenders employed in almost every type of career/job/trade there is so if we were to apply your line of thinking, no one would ever apply for any job anywhere...and doesn't the fact that he was prosecuted and convicted not suggest that it's not tolerated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭NoClues

Well he sounds like a barrel of laughs anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

He also referred to the fact that one of the female gardaí had bought Corby red Santa boxer shorts as a present for Christmas – just weeks after some of the alleged incidents.
    does anybody else find this (if true) a bit weird?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I feel sorry for his victims. One of them said she'd vomit in the morning at the thought of going to work and having to face the lecherous creep. That's little short of psychological torture.

I hope he does time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

I wonder what his wife makes of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

If you are going to join the guards then you have to be able for a bit of banter.

Sexual Assault = Banter.

Well, you'd learn something new every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

pharmaton wrote: »

That she bought a common Santa themed novelty present at Christmas time? Not really. Ah but sure it's just lads having the craic. Or the banter as its now called. I'm sure the women are just having the banter back by making allegations of unwanted physical contact and being remarked to on a constant basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

That is extremely weird. If the charge(s) concerning that Garda was one of charges that stuck me thinks this case will reappear.
    From the remarks of the Judge on the charge he threw out it would appear that he was not impressed with the evidence and the jury concurred with him on the majority of the charges.

I guess they must have thought that they were padding in that throw enough mud and some is bound to stick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

Yes, upon reading a description of the item from a given source, I find it very weird. Apparently there was a 'Santa hat shape' at the front of the garmented item of clothing with a little bobble and bell at the end where by the user would insert his penis in to, thus acting as a 'willy warmer'.

That said, I call bullsh1t on that one.

Sitec wrote: »
    “If you are going to join the guards then you have to be able for a bit of banter. This is a ridiculous case for prosecution to bring before the people of Ireland"

Bollocks. You're supposed to represent the Irish law.
    I suppose he was playing on what the Judge had said earlier before he dismissed one of the charges

Who doesn't need a good ride now and then though? :pac: Also the "PC gone mad" thing only works with UK police officers, the barrister really dropped the ball with that one.
    Will he be out on his arse then for the conviction?

WindSock wrote: »
    That she bought a common Santa themed novelty present at Christmas time? Not really. Ah but sure it's just lads having the craic. Or the banter as its now called. I'm sure the women are just having the banter back by making allegations of unwanted physical contact and being remarked to on a constant basis.
    and two and two makes five.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

If true, yes, very much so.

But in the article, it says that the boxers were bought a few weeks after some of the alleged incidents took place. That's the weird bit for me.

If true, yes, very much so.
    I would imagine that it would not be brought up in court if it was not true, and if it was not true it would be vehemently denied.
    I think the legacy of ex Superintendent John O'Connor (whom Judge Morris singled out as the main perpetrator for all that happened in Donegal)still lives on.
    He was not prosecuted for the harassment he organised of civilian and garda alike.
    Was a female Garda's house not unlawfully raided at that time.
    Queer times afoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Current serving members as at September 2013
    Commissioner: 1
    Deputy Commissioner: 1
    Assistant Commissioner: 8
    Chief Superintendent: 44
    Superintendent: 151
    Inspector: 273
    Sergeant: 1,874
    Garda: 10,807
    Total: 13,159

Considering the size of the force, two cases is hardly shocking and there are dickheads in all walks of life to be fair. Don't really get ya OP, are you disgusted by sexual harassment in the workplace or are you taking a pop at all gardai?

seenitall wrote: »
    I wonder what his wife makes of it all.
    In the interest of decency and privicy she should not be mentioned in this.
    Her feelings are not of any concern to anybody unless she chooses to make them public.

But in the article, it says that the boxers were bought a few weeks after some of the alleged incidents took place. That's the weird bit for me.
    ?...and I think for all of us who look at this on its merits and not from a cop bashing opportunistic perspective

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

She tried to take her own life? Surely she could have reported this behaviour to someone sooner?

As I said in another post recently the amount of garda going before the courts lately is scary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I don't know, I just don't see how novelty Santa boxers equate to something sexual, it's hardly lingerie. If there was a santa hat codpiece stitched in, then yeah, that's more odd. Considering he allegedly rubbed his bobby's helmet on one of them.

But....correct me if I am wrong, and maybe I am as I just jumped on to a moving bus, but my understanding is that the alleged victim bought this suggestive toy for the alleged offender some weeks after the alleged assault.
    Now the question to be asked here is what changed her mind, or perhaps who changed her mind in thelong term.

That's what I was thinking but I suppose without full knowledge of the case there's not much to go on and with two female colleagues bringing charges it's not very clear how (or to whom) it relates wrt the disclosed harassment.
    If it was a situation where that kind of carry on was so endemic that it was practically normalised I might be able to understand why she felt it would be an appropriate gesture but tbh if I were in a situation which made me physically ill due to the nature of the assaults, I can't imagine buying the perp a nice pair of santa boxers for Christmas as a token of my appreciation.
    I'm just trying to get my head around it.

That's what I was thinking but I suppose without full knowledge of the case there's not much to go on and with two female colleagues bringing charges it's not very clear how (or to whom) it relates wrt the disclosed harassment.
    If it was a situation where that kind of carry on was so endemic that it was practically normalised I might be able to understand why she felt it would be an appropriate gesture but tbh if I were in a situation which made me physically ill due to the nature of the assaults, I can't imagine buying the perp a nice pair of santa boxers for Christmas as a token of my appreciation.
    I'm just trying to get my head around it.
    Coupled with that the judge threw out one charge with a very suggestive comment and the jury threw out Five charges so that is just two charges out of seven survived over the first hurdle. That is a percentage... now what is 2 over 7 as a percentage. It is very low, too low to instill confidence in the prosecution and its methods.
    Asks too many questions I think.

timmy4u2 wrote: »
    Coupled with that the judge threw out one charge with a very suggestive comment and the jury threw out Five charges so that is just two charges out of seven survived over the first hurdle. That is a percentage... now what is 2 over 7 as a percentage. It is very low, too low to instill confidence in the prosecution and its methods.
    Asks too many questions I think.
    It does but I don't even know from which direction. Lets not forget the Garda in question was found guilty on some specific charges. I would genuinely be concerned though if sexual harassment was that systemic that anyone on the receiving end of it would feel compelled to play along less they be consigned to the non team player rubbish dump.
    tbh I'd probably have been a bit more imaginative with my Christmas present.

Did she buy them as a kris kringle and it ended up being him maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Five years ago he was king of his parish. The fool.

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/donegal-news/kinlough-16-04-09-1-1992113

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

At least when the two Gardaí made their complaint it was investigated and charges came through. In a lot of other jobs females are subject to continuous harassment and are afraid to make complaints because it would damage their careers.

While we are on the topic whatever happened in PWC with the lads who were circulating e mails rating the new female staff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    While we are on the topic whatever happened in PWC with the lads who were circulating e mails rating the new female staff?
    Afair most of those involved were fired.

The exact same thing happened in another big 4 firm at the same time (though it wasn't as widely reported). The guys who started the email chain were fired and the rest were told that they would have to find employment elsewhere at the end of their contracts.

Big companies take this stuff pretty seriously now because of the litigation aspect and the fact that HR departments are well separated from the others.

In smaller companies where the HR director is best mates with the rest of the management team, fear of reporting is still a huge problem.

It does but I don't even know from which direction. Lets not forget the Garda in question was found guilty on some specific charges. I would genuinely be concerned though if sexual harassment was that systemic that anyone on the receiving end of it would feel compelled to play along less they be consigned to the non team player rubbish dump.
    tbh I'd probably have been a bit more imaginative with my Christmas present.

I very honestly believe that there is more to this. I think that things were running along and then something external hit the fan that caused all of this to be revisited.

Buying such a suggestive toy for the apparent perpetrator whose actions were so apparently vile does not ring true for the allegations made.
    And we have to accept that that present was bought as the fact was not denied in court
    Hopefully we will hear the full story soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The best thing about cases like this resulting in convictions is that it might give other gardai in similar situations the courage to come forward. I suspect the fear of colleagues closing ranks in defence of their own makes it very daunting for people to speak out.

Current serving members as at September 2013
    Commissioner: 1
    Deputy Commissioner: 1
    Assistant Commissioner: 8
    Chief Superintendent: 44
    Superintendent: 151
    Inspector: 273
    Sergeant: 1,874
    Garda: 10,807
    Total: 13,159

Considering the size of the force, two cases is hardly shocking and there are dickheads in all walks of life to be fair. Don't really get ya OP, are you disgusted by sexual harassment in the workplace or are you taking a pop at all gardai?

It's a national pastime in this country. I can imagine the number of people wringing their hands in glee at this story and dreaming up some story about an encounter they had with a guard to throw into the mix when they discuss it with others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

What is it about Letterkenny and bullying cases, remember that poor woman who was almost bullied to death in Letterkenny General Hospital a few years back by horrible co workers. When she complained the treatment got even worse. Some right scumbags around.

The court case was held in letterkenny. Neither the defendant or his colleagues were stationed in Letterkenny. Get your facts right before jumping to stupid conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

bluewolf wrote: »

and then she selected this present for him. I never heard of kris kringle where you just buy a present then find out who it is for. You get a name and select a present

What sticks in my mind is the bullying that certain Gardai and members of the public in Donegal were subjected to when mid to high ranking officers were trying to make wrong and fabricated charges stick.
    In particular the treatment meeted out to the female Garda who was not prepared to go along with a conspiracy. Her house was raided ans she was subjected to other indignities; apparently because she choose to take the truthful road.
    I would imagine that if the charges that stuck come back before the courts the defence will be abandoning the softly, softly approach.
    Just my belief.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    and then she selected this present for him. I never heard of kris kringle where you just buy a present then find out who it is for. You get a name and select a present
    that's how I believe kris kringle works anyway, you put names into a hat and randomly select someone to gift. Unless it was a new version of the game where you go buy a gift blindly not knowing who it is for.

Well yeah, it was Secret Santa, but anytime I've participated in one, I've known who I was buying for. If I was her, and got him, that wouldn't be what I get for him!

Ray Palmer wrote: »

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

But....correct me if I am wrong, and maybe I am as I just jumped on to a moving bus, but my understanding is that the alleged victim bought this suggestive toy for the alleged offender some weeks after the alleged assault.
    Now the question to be asked here is what changed her mind, or perhaps who changed her mind in thelong term.
    There's no "alleged incident" or 'alleged offender" about it. The Garda Sergeant was found to be guilty.

The Sergeant says that one of the victims bought him novelty boxers.

First, that is not a sexual thing to do. Admittedly, it is not typically the behaviour of someone who feels sexually harassed.

And on that point, it is worth noting that the boxers were bought, by one victim, merely "after some of the incidents".

Some of the incidents: we do not know whether these incidents involved the Garda in question, nor of what degree of seriousness they were. It may be that the Garda thought that if she gave as good as she got, the Sergeant would lay off.

Or, it may be simply that these early incidents were not, taken alone, of a sufficient magnitude of seriousness for her to believe they necessitated a more serious response. It can be that the cumulative effect of someone's behaviour can be more harmful than early, niggling, aspects of the same behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Exactly.
    Do we know if she was one of the victims he was convicted of assaulting/harassing?
    Poster seem to forget that there were at least three women who made complaints.

There's no "alleged incident" or 'alleged offender" about it. The Garda Sergeant was found to be guilty.

The Sergeant says that one of the victims bought him novelty boxers.

First, that is not a sexual thing to do. Admittedly, it is not typically the behaviour of someone who feels sexually harassed.

And on that point, it is worth noting that the boxers were bought, by one victim, merely "after some of the incidents".

Some of the incidents: we do not know whether these incidents involved the Garda in question, nor of what degree of seriousness they were. It may be that the Garda thought that if she gave as good as she got, the Sergeant would lay off.

Or, it may be simply that these early incidents were not, taken alone, of a sufficient magnitude of seriousness for her to believe they necessitated a more serious response. It can be that the cumulative effect of someone's behaviour can be more harmful than early, niggling, aspects of the same behaviour.
    Of course there was an alleged incident(s) and there was an alleged offender and there was a number of accusers.
    Those are matters of fact-forgive me but sometimes I despair:rolleyes:

The fact that the court found, on the weight of evidence presented to it, that a small majority of the allegations were proven does not mean that there were no allegations, and for the purpose of this thread discussion we are discussing a continious action in the past.

It is disturbing the the prosecution failed to get a prosecution on 70% of the charges presented to the court.

Is this because they failed to prepare their case properly, and that should be very disturbing for the alleged victims.
    Or is it because they accelerated a "bit of banter and horse play" out of proportion and put the extra failed 70% of charges against the accused in the hope that some will stick. And that is a bad situation for the accused.

Either way its a bad situation for the prosecution and when you couple that with the fact that the Judge not only felt obliged to throw I one of the charges out but he felt that he had to comment on the fact that everybody in a workplace would also be sublect to being so charged for workplace banter if he was to allow the charge to proceed

And when you put that with the fact that one of the accusers did, at a time at which she later alleged she was the victim of harassment and or sexual assault bought for and presented to the person she alleged was the perpetrator of such acts, a present of a sexually suggestive santa type toy.

Blame the victim, typical Irish 1950's type response.
    Disgusting!

Blame the victim, typical Irish 1950's type response.
    Disgusting!

You took that sentence out of context, please have the decency to quote the whole post.
    I think it was Shakespear who wrote
    "The devil shall quote scripture for his purpose"

Of course there was an alleged incident(s) and there was an alleged offender and there was a number of accusers.
    Those are matters of fact-forgive me but sometimes I despair:rolleyes:

The fact that the court found, on the weight of evidence presented to it, that a small majority of the allegations were proven does not mean that there were no allegations, and for the purpose of this thread discussion we are discussing a continious action in the past.

It is disturbing the the prosecution failed to get a prosecution on 70% of the charges presented to the court.

Is this because they failed to prepare their case properly, and that should be very disturbing for the alleged victims.
    Or is it because they accelerated a "bit of banter and horse play" out of proportion and put the extra failed 70% of charges against the accused in the hope that some will stick. And that is a bad situation for the accused.

Either way its a bad situation for the prosecution and when you couple that with the fact that the Judge not only felt obliged to throw I one of the charges out but he felt that he had to comment on the fact that everybody in a workplace would also be sublect to being so charged for workplace banter if he was to allow the charge to proceed

abc

You took that sentence out of context, please have the decency to quote the whole post.
    I think it was Shakespear who wrote
    "The devil shall quote scripture for his purpose"

Wrong, that quote is Biblical not Shakespearean.
    You gave the sentence all the context it needed when you posted it.

Oh well all three deserved everything got then , didn't they!:rolleyes:

BTW a pair of Santa Boxers is hardly a sexually suggestive toy.
    Well not to most open minded 21st Irish men and women anyway!

Wrong, that quote is Biblical not Shakespearean.
    You gave the sentence all the context it needed when you posted it.
    My goodness you are wrong again. It was Shakespear in The Merchant of Venice.
    And the accused was not a Sergeant either
    And to your latest post.....I ...think that you should have a read of what the toy really was