Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many friends do you have?

• 01-11-2013 5:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

How many people (non-family) would you call if you got a new job and wanted to pass on the good news?

How many people (non-family) would you contact if a family member died and you wanted them to come to the funeral?

How many people would you want to attend your 30th birthday celebration?

How many people would you feel comfortable pouring your heart out to if you were going through a tough time in your life?

How many people do you feel you can be 110% yourself around, the bad and the good sides of you?

How many people do you feel will never judge you or speak badly of you no matter what?

How many people would you feel a big depressing gap in your life if they were no longer there?

To summarise, how many friends do you have? Truly?

As I get older, I'm finding that for me this number is decreasing rapidly.

Basically, the older I get, the more "friends" turn into c**ts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Id say a comfortable 3, I have other friends but I wouldnt be as close to them. 3 is more than enough I think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

None. Self employed thirty-something here. (Non-family) are busy with their own families so families are great for the odd meal and a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

5 loyal, trusted friends and 4 of them live 1000's of miles away!

Have mates and drinking buddies but with some of them if they told me it was dark outside, i would check. Jaysus, you just made me realise how much I miss the lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭carefulnow100

Not as many as I feel I should! Since leaving college its been tougher to stay in touch. And even old friends from school have had to move away.

I never realised how hard it is to make new friends outside of work school or college!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

None.

I've lived away from my home town since '98 and lived in three different countries.

In my forties with a family and no need or desire for friends. We're going to my Daughter's friends parents Halloween party on Saturday so that's the thing that middle aged fuddy duddies get up to.

A friend in need.............is a pain in the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Too many how manys...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

over 9000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

About three fi.. , nah too easy.

Around 10 I would call if in a crisis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

I have a couple of handfuls of people in my life that are friends, real friends. Sometimes I don't see them for extended periods of time but when we meet up it's as if we'd never been apart. I rarely ask anything of them, or they of me, but just to know that they are there is wonderful. When you think about it having a friend is amazing, out of all of the people in the world someone chose you to be in their life and to care about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

That may seem like a lot of people knowing your **** but just because you can tell them doesn't mean you do.

They range from childhood, play school, college... But I'm having a party in a few weeks and 7 of them will be there. The other one lives abroad.

They drop everything for me. I drop everything for them.

And oddly, none of them really know each other!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I got friends in low places,
    Where the Whiskey drowns,
    And the Beer chases my blues away,
    And I'll be okay,
    Ahhhh, I'm not big on the social graces,
    Think I'll slip on down to the oasis,
    Oh I got friends,
    In low places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

There's 4 or 5 I'd consider very good friends, I could bump that up to 6 or 7. Then there are 3 or 4 others I'd consider close friends but not as close.

Those are the 10 or so friends I have. Everybody else is an acquaintance really, people I might booze with but wouldn't be pushed about hearing about their lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I had a friend once but he asked too many 'how many' questions so I cut him loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

whirlpool wrote: »
    How many people (non-family) would you call if you got a new job and wanted to pass on the good news?
    I'd write it on facebook, :pac: (I have 26 people on my facebook, only 4 are people I don't really speak to)

How many people (non-family) would you contact if a family member died and you wanted them to come to the funeral?
    None, I don't do funerals. I would get comfort from my parter. And I would contact 2 friends, that live abroad, sadly.

How many people would you want to attend your 30th birthday celebration?
    nobody :P Who needs b-day parties?

How many people would you feel comfortable pouring your heart out to if you were going through a tough time in your life?
    Quite a few actually, I've learned that the best way to get help is to tell as many as you can. More people who know, mean higher chances of someone being there for you. Not everyone I'd consider a close friend, like we're there for eachother, but don't really care to hang out with eachother.

How many people do you feel you can be 110% yourself around, the bad and the good sides of you?
    I'm only ME around people, I stopped acting a long time ago. I don't care to be around people that need me to be someone else. Of course I do still act for work.

How many people do you feel will never judge you or speak badly of you no matter what?
    Oh god, anything can happen to change a friend or friends perception of you. Meaning no one is immune to backstabbing. I would trust my partner about 5 or 6 others though.

How many people would you feel a big depressing gap in your life if they were no longer there?
    Depends, if they died, I'd always miss them, if they moved on, then whatever, I'd move on to. Friends do come and go, and if they're not worth time to still be around, why would they be worth your thoughts or misery?
    To summarise, how many friends do you have? Truly?
    3 or 4. And that's more than enough. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Had one good friend who disappeared up his own hole. Living 'out foreign', too cool for school for the last few years now. A few good friends, about half doz will still make time for you for a pint instead of being under the shadow of the rolling pin with the wags and/or playing happy families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I guess I've about 6 close friends who I speak to very regularly all that. And about 5 more who wouldn't be as close but are still friends..

And then a good few "acquaintances"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭MomijiHime

Maybe 1-3 if you're not including family.

Quite a lot, actually. Around 20 believe it or not.

The ones who have been around since I was a kid I don't see all of them all of the time, but I've been through a whole hell of a lot in my life, and they've been there when I've needed them to be. They remember dates important to me and don't let them pass by. When I was in a major car crash, they were all in the hospital by my side to help me through everything, they took time off work, they came and made tea and sandwiches, just all of the little things that make a friend a friend. They were just there and I know that if I needed them here right now, they would drop what they were doing just to be there for me again and vice versa.

The newer friends, that I've made as an adult through work, and through boards, are there for me now - whenever I need them to be, and without question. I am in touch with them on a very regular basis - some daily - and my life would simply not be as good without them in it.

*cries*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭travis1976

Quite sad actually, but none. After looking at the questions and considering the answers, None. I've moved away from where I was brought up, got married (mistake), had kids (light of my life) and left all my friends behind. My wives friends are all I see, and they're not much good. The once I confided in one of them, she told my wife.
    Thinking about it now, my phone never rings unless it's bad news. Damn, I wish I hadn't read the post now...:(

travis1976 wrote: »
    Quite sad actually, but none. After looking at the questions and considering the answers, None. I've moved away from where I was brought up, got married (mistake), had kids (light of my life) and left all my friends behind. My wives friends are all I see, and they're not much good. The once I confided in one of them, she told my wife.
    Thinking about it now, my phone never rings unless it's bad news. Damn, I wish I hadn't read the post now...:(

Don't be sad :)
    Make new friends. Come to boards beers - any and all of them! Boards people are awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Two. The rest are just acquaintances or people I'm forced to interact with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

None,

Always spent most of my time with girlfriends, Which never works out :rolleyes: so never had my own.

Never go out, Never Anyone To Do Anything With.

It's Shít, but after so many years you get used to it.

Although it does get to me when you see people out and about having a great time.

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

They remember dates important to me and don't let them pass by.

And right on schedule - my phone is buzzing away here with messages from my friends, because today is one of those dates. <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

And right on schedule - my phone is buzzing away here with messages from my friends, because today is one of those dates. <3

Damn Your Lucky, My Own Family Don't Even Remember My Birthday, Nevermind Other People

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

According to my Boards profile I have none.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I only have friends when they need something fixed, beyond that I don't see anybody for months on end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I find it kind of sad that in the OP friendship is all about what others will do for you and your needs, not how much you like someone and what you would do for them.

There are people who will always be friends of mine, even if I don't see them for ages - they might pop into my head while I'm walking down the street and I'll smile all day long at how lovely they are. I think a good friend is one you can meet after a long absence and it's as if they just came back to the bar from the jacks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I didn't read the opening post so I'm just going to answer the thread title. Have a lot of acquaintances i.e. people I could meet in a pub and have a pint with but about 10-15 very good friends and 5 close friends.

And know some ***** too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

Two excellent excellent friends that I see all the time and are like sisters to me. I can talk to them about everything. And one friend I don't speak to that often and is living on the other side of the world, but I know I could ring her about anything if I needed.

I push people away a lot and tend not to invest too much time in acquaintances, so I don't have that many I could just call up out of the blue- maybe 3 or 4 I would occasionally invite to stuff if they're around. There's a few people that would probably LIKE me to call them every so often, but I don't want to. Not because I don't like them or anything- I just find it exhausting managing so many people :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Muise... wrote: »
    I find it kind of sad that in the OP friendship is all about what others will do for you and your needs, not how much you like someone and what you would do for them.

Ah, now. That's clearly not true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

Around 3. I've given up Alcohol so my social life is taking a battering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I probably have one real friend.

The rest of the people would just be acquaintances, it's hard to make real friends as you get older I find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

"Don't worry its only once a month it will pass in a few days...."?

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I've led a transient life so childhood friends are non-existant...

Not including my brothers in the motorcycle club, who I can always count on, I have 2 friends I can count on no matter what...1 from my military days & 1 from civvie street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Used to have lots while I was in school. Lucky enough to hang around with both the townies and the country lads from my own area. A good few of us all happened to end up in the same college after the LC. Sadly, most of them were only going for the craic and dropped out in first year. One of the lads completed a degree the same year as me, but I havent heard from him since leaving college, which is yonks ago now. :(

My closest friends were lads from around home, but as is always the case wives and girlfriends and lives get in the way. So a handful of meetings a year is about as much as I see them.

Women are way better at staying in contact and working at friendships I think. Fellas just go with the flow and it leads to dwindling numbers of friends the older you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I had a friend once but he asked too many 'how many' questions so I cut him loose.

OMG, a correct use of the word "loose" on Boards!

Well done Sir, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

25. I'm really really lucky. That might seem like a ridiculously high number but I've often had people comment to me how amazing my friends are and how lucky I am to have so many true friends. I love each and every one of them so so much and they would be there for me in a heartbeat if I ever needed them. I know them from a mixture of primary and secondary school, college, work, hobbies and the Gaeltacht- and then kind of meeting the rest through those people. I've known one of the girls for 27 years, and another only about 2 years; there are 17 girls and 8 lads and I wouldn't be without any one of them.

I honestly couldn't survive if I didn't have my friends. We have had to go through so much happiness and sadness together between births, deaths, weddings, marriage breakdown of their parents, illness. Obviously there are some I'm closer to than others but for big life events or any news I have, all 25 of them would know what's going on in my life.

I know there are people who would say that you couldn't possibly have that many close friends, but I am definitely lucky beyond the point of anything that I've ever done to deserve these people in my life.

Sorry for being a soppy sap but it's lovely to be able to say all those things.

Sniff! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I'd say around 7.
    By that I mean I could call them for any number ofreasons at 4am and say 'help' and they'd drop all and do it, no questions asked.
    And even more importantly, it'd never be mentioned again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

How many people (non-family) would you call if you got a new job and wanted to pass on the good news? None

How many people (non-family) would you contact if a family member died and you wanted them to come to the funeral? None

How many people would you want to attend your 30th birthday celebration? Not having one so none

How many people would you feel comfortable pouring your heart out to if you were going through a tough time in your life? None but thats down to me

How many people do you feel you can be 110% yourself around, the bad and the good sides of you? 20ish

How many people do you feel will never judge you or speak badly of you no matter what? None

How many people would you feel a big depressing gap in your life if they were no longer there? None

To summarise, how many friends do you have? Truly? Between 10 and 20 probably

If you spend enough time with anyone you will grow tired of them. Nobodys perfect. I have friends that I see once a year, I have friends that I see almost every day. Sometimes they are annoying but **** it, theyre mostly good so who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I have loads of acquaintances but no good friends really. Nobody who'd call me in the middle of the night with a problem, nobody I could just call for a natter. My 21st birthday really hit home to me just how few friends I do have, fewer than half of the people I'd invited for a few drinks actually showed up.

It's a bit sad but there you go. I have a great boyfriend and family though, so I'm not a complete loner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭noah45

None really, a few work friends. I think I push people away if I feel they are getting too close, I think I'm afraid that if they really knew me they wouldn't like me... or something like that.
    I have no best friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

None. Friends are like trees.

Made of wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

AnonoBoy wrote: »

How many did he ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

I have none
    Not bothered about having friends really I can keep myself entertained and were all going to die alone anyway so what good will your friends be when your dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I have none
    Not bothered about having friends really I can keep myself entertained and were all going to die alone anyway so what good will your friends be when your dead

:(

That makes me sad. I totally agree that you should be able to entertain yourself and be comfortable just in your own company by yourself, but it makes me sad that people feel they don't need anyone. We all need people. Or at least one other person anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Meangadh wrote: »
    :(

That makes me sad. I totally agree that you should be able to entertain yourself and be comfortable just in your own company by yourself, but it makes me sad that people feel they don't need anyone. We all need people. Or at least one other person anyway.

Don't be sad about it I'm not unhappy about it at all I've had a few friends in the past but we drifted apart because I never kept in contact with them
    If I really need to talk to someone I can just contact a family member but its rare enough that I would need to do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭HemlockOption

Have lots of acquaintences and would never be stuck for a night out. But don't want friends - too much like hard work.