Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Google revenue diverted through Ireland 'to make amends for Black & Tans' - Brit MP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I'm surprised he even knows what the Black and Tans are. Most people i've met in Britain know next to nothing about Irish history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Most people i've met in Britain know next to nothing about Irish history.

Most people in Ireland don't either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Bull****e!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Hated history in secondary school...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Just another misguided comment from a British official. He's attempting to use historical events to explain the actions of a multinational. Im surprised he didnt use the term paddy and claim there was IRA involement.

I dislike ignorance, but a lot of UK politics and media are full of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Just another misguided comment from a British official. He's attempting to use historical events to explain the actions of a multinational. Im surprised he didnt use the term paddy and claim there was IRA involement.

He is not an official, he is an elected representative, big difference.
    He is however an idiot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

I think we should give him the benefit of the doubt - for thinking outside of the box like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Bull****e!

No its true.

They believe what De Valera and that McQuad fcuker told them to teach in schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Gombeen! I literally facepalmed reading that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

If only we'd stayed in the 'union', eh? London/England wouldn't have had to put up with upstarts like us drawing business away from them.

He has a point, though, to an extent. An extremely uncomfortable phase between us and the Brits, after British (Central) rule, has morphed into a case where Britain treats Ireland quite favourably both economically and politically, in the grand scheme of things. Considering the history between our two countries, and with Irish bombs going off on the mainland UK not so long ago, they take an extremely conciliatory tone with us. Quite different to Argentina, for example, whom they've also had issues with during a similar timeframe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

We should all be thanking the British for allowing google to operate in Ireland.

Will this be like the 12 days of Christmas? Next Microsoft will be making up for the potato famine fiasco.
    double Irish Dutch sandwich
    I'm I the only one that thinks that's a great name for a porno?

ScumLord wrote: »
    We should all be thanking the British for allowing google to operate in Ireland.

In the British media for the last while there has been quite loud talk from a lot of people about how these tech companies are avoiding tax by using their Irish bases to close sales that have essentially been made in Britain. Among other things.

Nobody is saying that we should be thanking Britain, but with the way a lot of people go on around here they would probably be complaining about the situation too were they British and missing out on all that lovely tax.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    they take an extremely conciliatory tone with us.

Ugh.. how sickening. You'd nearly think, by your fawning, we were the ones who colonised Britain, threw people off their land, suppressed their culture/language, presided over a devastating famine etc.

No, you'd rather go with the 'they've been ever so nice to us despite our monstrous treatment of them - aren't we lucky'.

Forelock tugging shite.

Ugh.. how sickening. You'd nearly think, by your fawning, we were the ones who colonised Britain, threw people off their land, suppressed their culture/language, presided over a devastating famine etc.

No, you'd rather go with the 'they've been ever so nice to us despite our monstrous treatment of them - aren't we lucky'.

Forelock tugging shite.

I would see it more as an objective view of the global geopolitical landscape relating to us and Britain, rather than "fawning". Take a chill pill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Forelock tugging shite.

Why do people in Wales still speak welsh ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Stojkovic wrote: »
    No its true.

They believe what De Valera and that McQuad fcuker told them to teach in schools.

Which is apparantly not the Black and Tans?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 222 ✭✭harryr711

He has a point, though, to an extent. An extremely uncomfortable phase between us and the Brits, after British (Central) rule, has morphed into a case where Britain treats Ireland quite favourably both economically and politically, in the grand scheme of things. Considering the history between our two countries, and with Irish bombs going off on the mainland UK not so long ago, they take an extremely conciliatory tone with us. Quite different to Argentina, for example, whom they've also had issues with during a similar timeframe.
    Naive is the word that comes to mind.

harryr711 wrote: »
    Naive is the word that comes to mind.

Are you going to say why? Or is that it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

How fucking wrong is it that Google can sell their products "through" Ireland, but they don't physically sell any of their products to the Irish market?

In the British media for the last while there has been quite loud talk from a lot of people about how these tech companies are avoiding tax by using their Irish bases to close sales that have essentially been made in Britain. Among other things.

Nobody is saying that we should be thanking Britain, but with the way a lot of people go on around here they would probably be complaining about the situation too were they British and missing out on all that lovely tax.

The problem with that statement, despite the sleeveenism is this: Google is not avoiding tax in Britain. Companies don't owe corporation tax where they sell but where they are incorporated. Which is here.

But they are avoiding tax here.

keith16 wrote: »
    How fucking wrong is it that Google can sell their products "through" Ireland, but they don't physically sell any of their products to the Irish market?

What now? What does that even mean? They sell software services - here and there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

But the Irish government didnt have much to do with those bombs, big difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

1. Make reparations for an Gorta Mor please 'boys'.

2. Continue to subsidise the statelet in the north ye created for the next 50 years before ye hand it back.

3. Stop polluting the Irish Sea.

I would see it more as an objective view of the global geopolitical landscape relating to us and Britain, rather than "fawning".

Objective if you're Ruth Dudley Edwards or Kevin Myers maybe.

Even Mrs Windsor of the British blue bloods acknowledges that:
    "with the benefit of historical hindsight we can all see things which we wish had been done differently, or not at all."

"To all those who have suffered as a consequence of our troubled past I extend my sincere thoughts and deep sympathy."

But the Irish government didnt have much to do with those bombs, big difference

Our Taoiseach for much of the 80's had himself been embroiled in an IRA gun smuggling scandal a few years earlier. To say there wasn't distrust of the government also would be wrong, in my opinion.

What now? What does that even mean? They sell software services - here and there.

They sell hardware too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Why do people in Wales still speak welsh ?

So the sassanach can't overhear their plans for a sheep-led revolution.

Ssssssh.

Our Taoiseach for much of the 80's had himself been embroiled in an IRA gun smuggling scandal a few years earlier. To say there wasn't distrust of the government also would be wrong, in my opinion.

Anyone who supplied arms to Nationalists in the north at the time should be revered for their efforts to prevent ethnic cleansing.

They sell hardware too.

You said they didn't sell what they did here, here. They do software services here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Irish history in secondary school bord me senseless. Irish history from the text books I led me to think not much had change in Ireland over the years and it was the same petty in fighting thats still going on. Mind numbing crap.

I was more interested in the Irish history proceeding that, which strangely I learned about when learning Irish in primary school.

It pisses me off that Irish history start @ Cromwellian invasion. Horse****.

You said they didn't sell what they did here, here. They do software services here.

So why is it then, that on an invoice for a Nexus device I purchased from Google:
    Purchased from:
    Google Commerce Ltd
    Gordon House, Barrow Street
    Dublin 4
    Ireland

but I had to mask my IP, pretend I was in Britain and use a British shipping address to send a device from Birmingham?

The only time the device was in Dublin was when it arrived in my hands. How in the name of god was it purchased from Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Why are you looking for offence where none was meant?

So why is it then, that on an invoice for a Nexus device I purchased from Google:

but I had to mask my IP, pretend I was in Britain and use a British shipping address to send a device from Birmingham?

The only time the device was in Dublin was when it arrived in my hands. How in the name of god was it purchased from Dublin?

It was built on the Internet then shipped to you :P

Companies sell different products into different markets. It presumably makes financial sense for them to hold stock of that product in Britain if that's the intended destination/market for the product. I don't see any issue here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Seriously?! Argentina, Iraq, Afghanistan.... Were all either government led or government backed violent acts against Britain and its interests. What you're implying is the the Irish government backs the actions of the ira or whatever handle they use now.

Companies sell different products into different markets. It presumably makes financial sense for them to hold stock of that product in Britain if that's the intended destination/market for the product. I don't see any issue here.

So it was purchased in the Uk then so as the stock was in the UK and nowhere else

Wut? Companies sell different products to different markets? What an amazing insight.

So it makes sense for them to hold inventory in Britain, sell it to the British market but put and Irish address on the invoice?

There is a bloody big issue here. Google taking advantage of Ireland's low corporate tax regime, while simultaneously sticking two fingers up to the Irish market.

So it was purchased in the Uk then so as the stock was in the UK and nowhere else
    The product is apparently not intended for the Irish market. The buyer bought online by masking his IP address. He bought it from an Irish company that was selling into Britain. There is nothing wrong with this. This is common business practice across the world, not just Google in this particular scenario. How the **** is this even an issue to some people?

Wut? Companies sell different products to different markets? What an amazing insight.

So it makes sense for them to hold inventory in Britain, sell it to the British market but put and Irish address on the invoice?

There is a bloody big issue here. Google taking advantage of Ireland's low corporate tax regime, while simultaneously sticking two fingers up to the Irish market.
    There is no issue here. Companies sell into foreign markets every day of the week. They pay corporation tax in the country in which they are incorporated. If a company doesn't wish to sell their product in a particular country they don't have to. Common sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Didn't take you long!

Gavlor wrote: »
    Seriously?! Argentina, Iraq, Afghanistan.... Were all either government led or government backed violent acts against Britain and its interests. What you're implying is the the Irish government backs the actions of the ira or whatever handle they use now.

Those blasted Afghanis on their camels attacking the mighty empire, what were they thinking!

The product is apparently not intended for the Irish market. The buyer bought online by masking his IP address. He bought it from an Irish company that was selling into Britain. There is nothing wrong with this. This is common business practice across the world, not just Google in this particular scenario. How the **** is this even an issue to some people?

Google are an Irish company now? They are not selling "into" the British market, they are selling from within the British market via google.co.uk

It's an issue to many many people because it is depriving the British exchequer of millions in tax. It's a huge issue because Ireland continues to come under pressure from Europe for fostering this type tax dodging.

What do you think Google will do if or when Ireland does up it's rates? They won't be long upping sticks from Barrow St.

Jesus Christ :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

As long as the revenue continues to be diverted here, supports Irish jobs, and/or give us a hand in any way, I could not care if it were to make up for the Nine Years War up North during the 1500's

what the less than 3% effective tax they pay ?

Google are an Irish company now? They are not selling "into" the British market, they are selling from within the British market via google.co.uk

It's an issue to many many people because it is depriving the British exchequer of millions in tax. It's a huge issue because Ireland continues to come under pressure from Europe for fostering this type tax dodging.

What do you think Google will do if or when Ireland does up it's rates? They won't be long upping sticks from Barrow St.

Jesus Christ mad.png
    You bought the product from Google Commerce Limited, an Irish company. Google Commerce Limited sells product into the British market via google.co.uk.

I was looking at buying something from a website with a .eu domain name. Where do they pay their corporation tax? Straight to the EU in Brussels? :pac:

You've completely missed the point on tax avoidance. It has nothing to do with selling into different markets and not paying corp tax in those markets, nor does it have anything to do with the 12.5% rate. It's to do with a loophole that allows companies to be stateless in terms of tax residency. This loop hole will be closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

"Richard Murphy, Director of Tax Research UK told RTE Radio's Morning Ireland that he doesn't know exactly where Mr Mitchell's comments about the Black and Tans came from."

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/google-revenue-diverted-through-ireland-to-make-amends-for-black-tans-suggests-british-mp-29707797.html

I've a good idea meself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I liked one of the comments underneath the story:

"Giving Ireland back her 6 counties would be a better way of making amends".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'm surprised he even knows what the Black and Tans are. Most people i've met in Britain know next to nothing about Irish history.

Why would they care?

anncoates wrote: »
    Why would they care?

Well they all seem to be remembering their war dead this week...