Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you consciously aware of your surroundings?

• 24-10-2013 9:54am

I'm very aware of them. I always know if there is someone behind me when I walk through a door so I hold it for them. I notice if someone holds the door for me and I say thank you. I tend not to walk in people's paths or get in people's way. If I'm walking up a busy street, I usually have my path kind of planned out (subconsciously I guess) so I have a fair idea of how I'll get to the other end without bumping into anyone. I notice where a queue begins and ends. All that kind of stuff.

I notice some people don't say thank you or even attempt to take the door from you when they're walking through it. If I'm queuing I've often had people attempting to "skip" because they are in another world and think they can just march straight up to the top.

I sometimes wonder are these people rude, or are they just not as consciously aware of their surroundings? I think it would be a much more pleasant existence is everyone paid a bit more attention, but perhaps it's just different brains, calculating things in different ways.

TL;DR? tough titty, I'm not repeating myself :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Yep.

I can spot a ninja hiding in a Muslim parade.

Although, I did walk into a pole while pissed once and a tramp laughed at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Get out of my head, you demon.

Have been thinking pretty much all of this a fair bit recently.

What I will say is, the people who look you in the eye and thank you properly, in a way that shows they appreciate the small kindness that say opening a door for them is, you appreciate them all the more because of the ignorant folks.

I do think a lot of the things you mentioned is self absorbed ignorance, albeit on a small scale, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I always hold the door open for people but it really gets to me when they don't even say thanks

I gave up a few seconds of my life for your convenience and you don't say a word? Fúck you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Yes. I can tell the difference between butter and I cant believe its not butter.

But I do know what you mean. Some people are just oblivious, makes you wonder where there head is at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Yup agree with you there. Another massive bug bear is when people are behind me in a queue and keep bumping into me. Its drives to distraction and evil looks ensue but they are always oblivious. I always leave space for the person in front of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

sometimes i am sometimes i am not,

whats worse is when i'm not, its always hours later my head suddenly starts giving out to me for not holding that door for that pensioner.... :mad:

i mean if my head was paying attention in the first place i wouldn't have let the door slam in their face.

Also, add people who leave their music blaring from their headphones even when in public places, such as a bus or waiting room.

Turn it down a bit, I don't need to hear your peripheral noise. Simple thing to pop your earphone/headphone out for a sec to gauge how loud it is to everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Yes, make a point to be, I'd always be aware of who's around me on nights out, bugs the sh1te out of me when people back into you or start moving into your personal space. Same with a route through someplace, like going across a busy pub to the bathroom.

I started a thread in R&R about this very thing inspired by some dope of a woman who was in front of me getting off a Ryanair flight, she gets off the plane, goes down the steps to the runway, STOPS DEAD at the bottom and starts rooting through her bag. I bumped into her cos she stopped so suddenly then got a "ohh sorry I didnt realise anyone was behind me" Ehhh, it's a packed plane that just landed you dizzy bitch what were you expecting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

When I walk into a roadside cafe, I can tell you the license plate numbers of all the cars outside.
    I can tell you that the waitress is left-handed and that the guy sitting up at the counter weighs two hundred fifteen pounds and knows how to handle himself.
    I know that the best place to look for a gun is the cab of the grey truck outside.
    And depending on the altitude, I know I can run flat out for a half mile before my hands start shaking.

Birroc wrote: »
    When I walk into a roadside cafe, I can tell you the license plate numbers of all the cars outside.
    I can tell you that the waitress is left-handed and that the guy sitting up at the counter weighs two hundred fifteen pounds and knows how to handle himself.
    I know that the best place to look for a gun is the cab of the grey truck outside.
    And depending on the altitude, I know I can run flat out for a half mile before my hands start shaking.

Good evening, Mr. Bond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I completely agree. The level of ignorance these days is amazing.

Was walking home the other day, narrow enough path, 2 women with buggies decided to walk alongside each other, forcing me to walk in the fcuking cycle lane.

A large sigh was dispensed towards them as I passed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

I'm mostly logged on but afk, I do respond when actively engaged though but mostly I'm on autopilot when getting from a to b or waiting in a queue. I don't walk into people or step in poo as my periphery senses are still functioning and always manage a thank you or hold a door if I'm coming through at the same time, all these things are programmed responses at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Knex. wrote: »
    Good evening, Mr. Bond.

The name's Bourne, Jason Bourne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

Nope I walk around the place in a complete world of my own. Away with the fairies I think you call it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 She bangs She bangs

Mince Pie wrote: »
    Yup agree with you there. Another massive bug bear is when people are behind me in a queue and keep bumping into me. Its drives to distraction and evil looks ensue but they are always oblivious. I always leave space for the person in front of me.

Cant stand this........feckin auld ones pushing you along in a queue with their handbag is a common one..or people with back packs with no awareness as to its size and bumping it off everyone.

Im a big fan of personal space

Good evening, Mr. Bond.

Bourne!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I'd consider myself to be quite aware of these things. I think commuting does that to you :pac:

I always hold doors open for people and try not to get in people's way. But other people are either totally oblivious to it, or just don't care if they've let a door slam in someone's face (a huge bugbear of mine).

What also annoys me is people standing too close to you when you're looking at something in a shop. They'd nearly knock you over to get to whatever it is you're looking at. Feck off, I'll be gone in a minute!

Birneybau wrote: »
    The name's Bourne, Jason Bourne.
    krudler wrote: »
    Bourne!

I should have known that :o

Knew it seemed familiar, yet somehow thought he made it up.

Giving people far too much credit :pac:

People who walk in the door of a shop and stop to gawk around.

People who stand close enough in a queue to feel their breath on the back of your neck.

People who arrive into the cinema, stand in front of you and slowly take off their coats and arrange themselves before sitting down, all while the movie has already started.

People on nights out who hold cigarettes so they're dropping ash on people and spill drinks on you.

Oul wans who pay for stuff at a checkout then start rearranging their entire purse instead of getting their sh1t and moving away so you can pay for your stuff.

Christ I hate people :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Also, add people who leave their music blaring from their headphones even when in public places, such as a bus or waiting room.

Turn it down a bit, I don't need to hear your peripheral noise. Simple thing to pop your earphone/headphone out for a sec to gauge how loud it is to everyone else.

That's noise leakage caused by a shítty pair of earphones tbh. I have mine in at full volume and you won't hear a peep out of them.

I'm normally acutely aware of my surroundings, even though I would have my head stuck in the phone and sunglasses on most of the time, it kinda "turns the world down a bit" because I can get a bit overwhelmed when everything is coming in and I'm trying to process it.

One of the things people used wonder about was how could I see where I was going when I'd my head stuck in the phone, and to "trick" me they used think it was heeeelarious altogether to suddenly stand directly in my path as I'd be walking, thinking I'd bump into them. They couldn't figure how I was able to walk around them with my head still buried in the phone.

I could see your feet you daft prick! :pac:

OMG, people waiting in a queue in the shop then wait to be told the total to then decide they will rummage around in their bag to find their purse/wallet and proceed to count out the exact change! I want them to die!!!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

If I hold the door open for someone (and I do it for both genders) ... and they dont so much as acknowledge me, I shout "Hey don't mention it" at them to get their attention and then "oh yeah... thats right, you didnt" when they turn around. :)
    It drives me loopy when people are just rude like that and I hate to say it but my empirical experience is that its usually middle aged women who just breeze through like they are entitled to it (sorry!).

Oh god, I didn't meant to bring out the rant in folk :pac:

I recently said "you're welcome" to a woman who I had gotten completely out of the way for while another lady held the door for her to push her buggy through. If there are three people walking together and taking up the width of the path, I have started to just stop to allow them go around me, rather than stepping off the kerb or pushing my way through. It's funny how sometimes they'll not even have noticed you at all but manage to avoid knocking you over!

I don't know if I only notice it because I'm extra aware, and if I'm extra aware because I see that it's frustrating when you're not. But I don't know whether these people are rude or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Mousewar

I don't know if I only notice it because I'm extra aware, and if I'm extra aware because I see that it's frustrating when you're not. But I don't know whether these people are rude or not.

You have a condition. It's called being conscientious. Thankfully, modern society has cured most people of it so there's hope for you yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gw80

@ op,

maybe your the next spiderman or woman, spidy senses en all that,
    can you shoot a white sticky substance from any body parts?

gw80 wrote: »
    @ op,

maybe your the next spiderman or woman, spidy senses en all that,
    can you shoot a white sticky substance from any body parts?

You need to subscribe for that info dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Yes I think the vast majority of people walk about almost completely unconscious of everything except the static in their head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm fully aware of my surroundings at all times. I'm also simply an ignorant fcuker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

People who exit buildings and then just stand on the other side of the door blocking it.. argh! It seems that some people just do not take in their surroundings at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Yes I think the vast majority of people walk about almost completely unconscious of everything except the static in their head!
    the static talks softly to me and tells me nice things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Oh god, I didn't meant to bring out the rant in folk :pac:

I recently said "you're welcome" to a woman who I had gotten completely out of the way for while another lady held the door for her to push her buggy through. If there are three people walking together and taking up the width of the path, I have started to just stop to allow them go around me, rather than stepping off the kerb or pushing my way through. It's funny how sometimes they'll not even have noticed you at all but manage to avoid knocking you over!

It should be in no way illegal to drop the middle one with a crotch kick as you shove their mate nearest the curb into oncomming trafic and then walk over the prone body of middle git, leaving both of them as a harsh life lesson in manners for their remaining numpty friend.
    People like that infuriate me.

Butterface wrote: »
    People who exit buildings and then just stand on the other side of the door blocking it.. argh! It seems that some people just do not take in their surroundings at all.

Or stopping at the bottom of an escalator! Why do people do that?? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Czarcasm wrote: »
    One of the things people used wonder about was how could I see where I was going when I'd my head stuck in the phone, and to "trick" me they used think it was heeeelarious altogether to suddenly stand directly in my path as I'd be walking, thinking I'd bump into them. They couldn't figure how I was able to walk around them with my head still buried in the phone.

Who were these people that were trying to figure this out? If it was strangers, then no, I don't think they cared that much about some guy on a phone.:pac:

If there are three people walking together and taking up the width of the path, I have started to just stop to allow them go around me, rather than stepping off the kerb or pushing my way through. It's funny how sometimes they'll not even have noticed you at all but manage to avoid knocking you over!

This happens an awful lot when I'm collecting my son from school - people just barge out the gate when you're trying to make your way in, I just stand to one side and let them out. You'd nearly swear the school had gotten a bomb threat the way some parents will squeeze and crowd their children through a gate that's only two foot wide just to get out, no sense of order!

There's a couple of schools and a college up around the area and one time when I was walking up to the school, there was a bunch of about twenty girls in front of me, so I was just casually walking along behind them, when next thing I got a weird feeling and looked behind me and there was another twenty girls behind me, both groups beginning to bunch so I had to cross the road to make some space for myself.

I was rightly freaked out :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I notice some people don't say thank you or even attempt to take the door from you when they're walking through it.

I like to play a game I call "catch the door - will it be your hand or your face?" with these people.

I can feel the bloody boiling :D

Don't get me wrong, I know you never know what kind of a day someone is having, or what news they've just had etc and so there will be times in all our lives that we are "in another world" but even then, I don't think I would forget to say thank you to someone.

Also - the fact that I notice the ones are "rude" must mean there are fewer of them than the nice people so we're not lost just yet!

Who were these people that were trying to figure this out? If it was strangers, then no, I don't think they cared that much about some guy on a phone.:pac:

No they were people I used work with before, their thinking was that I couldn't be looking where I was going when I was on the phone with my head down. My eyesight isn't great anyway but I can still see where I'm going! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

I should have known that :o

Knew it seemed familiar, yet somehow thought he made it up.

Giving people far too much credit :pac:

Don't call me "people" or I will stab you with a Bic biro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I was queueing to exit customs in the baggage claim area of JFK last week & the chap in fronts wheelie case toppled backwards & hit the floor. I grabbed the handle and lifted it back to him. The asshat took it & simply turned back around without a word.

He received the standard 'you're welcome' from me.

Some folks are just odd I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

awww i thought you meant Sherlock style.

I think i'm the same though. And I also think most people are rude in those situations you described. There are the exceptions but they are easy to spot they look dozey instead of trying to look dozey.

I also think playing games has affected me in a good way. I notice little things that others miss i feel thanks to FPS games, feel more aware of my surroundings and have better reactions. Also don't jump as nearly as much to loud unexpected noises because it happens so much i nearly expect them now.

My love of stratagy games however often sees me considering the big picture a lot more when i hear of events. the whole cause and effect thing i guess. I can understand for example the greater good in essence and sacrifice, lose a battle win a war etc.

But then again most people could see it that way or maybe not maybe its nothing to do with video games and its all just me and an odd way of thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Me and Mr. Merkin are acutely aware of our surroundings and other people. Opening doors for people, not causing an obstruction on the sidewalk, being aware of the need for personal space.....all very basic things I would have thought. We've just come to the conclusion that most other people are a. pig sh1t ignorant and b. so very far up their own arses to not even be conscious of other people and their surroundings.

I've been reading this thread nodding my head at other people's annoyance too. I just don't get how people can be so doggedly unaware and ignorant. Grrrrrr! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I reckon I'm fairly consciously aware of my surroundings. I'd normally be good at weaving in and out, moving quickly through a busy street, even though I'm a fairly sturdy 6'5". I hate when people meander, especially in supermarkets, and those who have their trolleys on one side of the aisle, and while holding on to it, browse on the other side of the aisle.

On the other side of it, I've often scared people who aren't very aware of their surroundings. In spite of my size, I am light of foot and have often made people jump by just appearing behind them or even in front of them. The fact that I always wear black adds to the effect. :D

If I am at a bar, and there is a person who has been there longer, I would always tell the barman to serve them first. Inevitably you will be served straight away after because the barman remembers that you were not being a dick - so both of you get served in a reasonable amount of time whereas if you didn't do that, the other person might still be there 10 minutes later if the place is busy enough. Perhaps that just makes me stupid for not only looking out for number 1!

Edit: I should clarify, I meant this more as a "I notice if there is someone before me at the bar and act accordingly, rather than "OMFG I'm deadly at being nice to everyone".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I'm very aware of them.

Yep, you could have been describing me in that post. I'm exactly the same as you, very good peripheral awareness.

It always baffles me when I see people stumbling around looking like they're in another world, walking at 1mph down busy streets and not in a straight line whilst seemingly sober. Not knowing where a queue begins or ends. Not holding doors for people who are right behind them, and so on.

I always assume they must have an awful lot on their mind.

On the other side of it, I've often scared people who aren't very aware of their surroundings. In spite of my size, I am light of foot and have often made people jump by just appearing behind them or even in front of them. The fact that I always wear black adds to the effect. :D

I accidentally gave a chap a static shock when he went to do that to me one time. He was intending to give me a start, when suddenly I heard him turn the air blue behind me, wasn't my fault :D

danniemcq wrote: »
    I also think playing games has affected me in a good way..

Yeah, nailed that basketball/gorilla video!
    :cool:

I think I usually am aware. Especially when trying to navigate a path through crowds of people when walking. Or if someone is nearby when I want to take out my phone. Sometimes I'm off in la la land though. Or insanely tired which makes me clumsy which probably seems like I'm being dopey, but no, just clumsy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

No, world of my own. Friends constantly ringing me saying, "eh wtf? I was calling you and waving at you the other day and you didn't see me?" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Although, I did walk into a pole while pissed once and a tramp laughed at me.

But you noticed the tramp and that's the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭malkmoose

If I am at a bar, and there is a person who has been there longer, I would always tell the barman to serve them first. Inevitably you will be served straight away after because the barman remembers that you were not being a dick - so both of you get served in a reasonable amount of time whereas if you didn't do that, the other person might still be there 10 minutes later if the place is busy enough. Perhaps that just makes me stupid for not only looking out for number 1!

I have a slight variation on this queue etiquette.

I went to a burrito place with my friend for lunch about an hour ago, there was a group of 3 ahead of us and a group of 2 behind us. Its a casual enough place where people get both take out and sit down with the burrito.

Two tables left in the restaurant, one of the guys behind us cops on to this and goes to sit at the last available table. What is the social etiquette here? I confronted him and he had some weak excuse, eventually he apologised and shared the table with us. Is the table fair game or was he being a dick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Dipsticks glued to their earphones while texting and blocking the pavement at the same time. Makes me glad Dublin has so many violent muggers to help them out with their day.