Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Swedish experience

• 24-10-2013 3:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I'm a big fan of Europe, and our fellow Europeans. I have made friends across a wide spectrum of countries, from France to Ukraine, from Italy to Denmark. I've met warm lovely people from all countries and some assholes too. I regularly travel to Italy, and for me the best part about it is the warmth of the people there. Yes the scenery is stunning, the history, cuisine and weather too, but it's the people that really make the place. In the south particularly they are lovely and so welcoming. I've also had many positive experiences in Paris despite what people say about Parisians. I've never gone to a place thinking that everyone will be warm and welcoming, but you always hope that you'll meet enough decent folk to make your trip worthwhile.

I recently traveled to Sweden for the first time. I knew of the Swedes' reserved manner and shyness, as i lived with a Swedish guy a few years back and also worked with a few more. So i wasn't expecting people to be very out-going, but still i had basic expectations. But what i experienced there was not shyness or reserved emotion, it was just anti-social rudeness. The "hospitality" there is as warm as the weather. The whole experience really put me off the country. Some of the things i experienced:

1. Asking several people in both Stockholm and Gothenburg for directions, but being met by blank stares before they walked away ignoring me. This happened 3 times! And these were young students i asked, not old folks.

2. "Please" and "Thank You" do not exist in Swedish vocabulary. Holding the door open for someone in a shop, or giving a seat up for an older person on a bus is not even acknowledged. Any time i went to buy something in a shop, i never once heard a "hello" or "thank you" of any kind from the sales assistant. In fact even having someone make eye contact with you was a big ask! I was just made to feel uneasy and not welcome. People staring at you because you are a foreigner was common place too, and then if you went to smile back or salute they just look away as quick as possible. Swedes have very good English but are very reluctant to speak it with you. They'd rather pretend that they do not understand you.

3. The Swedish girl and guy i was staying with, who i knew through friends in Dublin, continued the trend. I couldn't get a laugh out of them, it was difficult to even get a smile. It was like living with robots for the five days. It was as if they could not show emotion.

Me and my friend were in a pub one of the nights when she went as far as to discuss what i earnt in my job with her boyfriend, in front of me and my friend! She criticised me for not earning enough! To say i was gobsmacked was an understatement. Surely that's a big no-no in any culture?!! She in particular was obsessed with talking about money, how much she was earning, the rich guys she had dated in the past, etc. Together they ate out every day, they never cooked at home. They had no understanding of the value of money!

The two of them never stopped criticising how things worked (or didn't work) in Ireland - the "everything works perfect in Sweden" was their favourite line. It became tiresome to listen to it. At the party we went to with them, they never introduced us to their friends, we had to do it ourselves. Even then, both of them and their friends tried their best to ignore us for the night. So much for making guest feel welcome!

4. People going nuts over a bus or train being one minute late!! I mean jesus christ! And don't get me started about people charging onto the train when the doors open, giving no chance for people to get off first. As with basic manners, orderly queues don't exist in Sweden.

Now, maybe i'm being too harsh on the place, perhaps i had too high of an expectation. But i honestly don't think so. I know people will say it's their "culture" and that its different to ours, but i honestly think that bull. I've been to their neighours when i visited Copenhagen, and although people are a little reserved there too, they are positively charming when compared to the Swedes i met. And they are polite too. I know there are nice Swedish people, and maybe i was unlucky in who i met or the places i travelled to - i've been told Stockholm is full of a$$holes anyway. Now i've got an invitation to return in December but am not really considering going back.

Should i give Sweden another chance? I've googled terms such as "Swedish hospitality" or "Swedish rudeness" and the results are anything but an endorsement of the country, so it appears that i am not alone in my complaint about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Go for a sauna, I'm sure Sweden's charms will become apparent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Yeah but did you get meatballs in IKEA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

MadsL wrote: »
    Go for a sauna, I'm sure Sweden's charms will become apparent.
    I don't care how good looking they are, if they have personalities of a stone!
    Yeah but did you get meatballs in IKEA?

Already did that in Ballymun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

grenache wrote: »
    Already did that in Ballymun :)

Posh bastard! :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I lived with a sweedish girl for a while and she was lovely and was always polite.

Different folks, and all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Me and my friend were in a pub one of the nights when she went as far as to discuss what i earnt in my job with her boyfriend, in front of me and my friend! She criticised me for not earning enough! To say i was gobsmacked was an understatement. Surely that's a big no-no in any culture?!! She in particular was obsessed with talking about money, how much she was earning, the rich guys she had dated in the past, etc. Together they ate out every day, they never cooked at home. They had no understanding of the value of money!

I think you were just stuck with a materialistic geebag TBH :mad:

Well yes, and i can allow for that, but it's the every day rudeness i experienced from people in general that annoyed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭TheHighest92

that's the Vikings for you

http://armigatus.files.wordpress.com/2010/10/swedish-girls.jpg

swedish women excite me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

You went over to meet Swedes and got turnips.

I see what you did there :)

turnips have more personality than the people i encountered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭maninasia

I'm a big fan of Europe, and our fellow Europeans. I have made friends across a wide spectrum of countries, from France to Ukraine, from Italy to Denmark. I've met warm lovely people from all countries and some assholes too. I regularly travel to Italy, and for me the best part about it is the warmth of the people there. Yes the scenery is stunning, the history, cuisine and weather too, but it's the people that really make the place. In the south particularly they are lovely and so welcoming. I've also had many positive experiences in Paris despite what people say about Parisians. I've never gone to a place thinking that everyone will be warm and welcoming, but you always hope that you'll meet enough decent folk to make your trip worthwhile.

I recently traveled to Sweden for the first time. I knew of the Swedes' reserved manner and shyness, as i lived with a Swedish guy a few years back and also worked with a few more. So i wasn't expecting people to be very out-going, but still i had basic expectations. But what i experienced there was not shyness or reserved emotion, it was just anti-social rudeness. The "hospitality" there is as warm as the weather. The whole experience really put me off the country. Some of the things i experienced:

1. Asking several people in both Stockholm and Gothenburg for directions, but being met by blank stares before they walked away ignoring me. This happened 3 times! And these were young students i asked, not old folks.

2. "Please" and "Thank You" do not exist in Swedish vocabulary. Holding the door open for someone in a shop, or giving a seat up for an older person on a bus is not even acknowledged. Any time i went to buy something in a shop, i never once heard a "hello" or "thank you" of any kind from the sales assistant. In fact even having someone make eye contact with you was a big ask! I was just made to feel uneasy and not welcome. People staring at you because you are a foreigner was common place too, and then if you went to smile back or salute they just look away as quick as possible. Swedes have very good English but are very reluctant to speak it with you. They'd rather pretend that they do not understand you.

3. The Swedish girl and guy i was staying with, who i knew through friends in Dublin, continued the trend. I couldn't get a laugh out of them, it was difficult to even get a smile. It was like living with robots for the five days. It was as if they could not show emotion.

The two of them never stopped criticising how things worked (or didn't work) in Ireland - the "everything works perfect in Sweden" was their favourite line. It became tiresome to listen to it. At the party we went to with them, they never introduced us to their friends, we had to do it ourselves. Even then, both of them and their friends tried their best to ignore us for the night. So much for making guest feel welcome!

4. People going nuts over a bus or train being one minute late!! I mean jesus christ! And don't get me started about people charging onto the train when the doors open, giving no chance for people to get off first. As with basic manners, orderly queues don't exist in Sweden.

Now, maybe i'm being too harsh on the place, perhaps i had too high of an expectation. But i honestly don't think so. I know people will say it's their "culture" and that its different to ours, but i honestly think that bull. I've been to their neighours when i visited Copenhagen, and although people are a little reserved there too, they are positively charming when compared to the Swedes i met. And they are polite too. I know there are nice Swedish people, and maybe i was unlucky in who i met or the places i travelled to - i've been told Stockholm is full of a$$holes anyway. Now i've got an invitation to return in December but am not really considering going back.

Should i give Sweden another chance? I've googled terms such as "Swedish hospitality" or "Swedish rudeness" and the results are anything but an endorsement of the country, so it appears that i am not alone in my complaint about the place.

OP you are brining it all back to me! I spent some time in Sweden quite a few years ago now and they were lonely and tough times.

People are extremely stand-offish and reserved, they will not talk to you unless you literally get in their face. Co-workers are professional but mainly will not be interested in you at all and won't even pretend to be interested in many cases. Which was disconcerting for an Irish person.

Sometimes I'd talk to girls on a night out and they wouldn't even believe I was Irish, one actually poured a drink over my head because she was convinced I was Swedish (I don't look very Swedish..).

It's a beautiful natural place, clean air and water, very well run, but also arrogant (somewhat understandable given their well run country and successful economy) and lacking in passion and warmth overall. There also definitely seems to be a certain distrust, distance or reserve towards migrants and foreigners.

The people who I got on best with were some other immigrants in Sweden including Finnish, although I did have a few good Swedish friends who I had known in Ireland already but they lived in another area.

I also visited Denmark and found them to be a warmer people overall.

I have spent a lot of time in Asia and much prefer it , even if it is more crowded and messy and polluted, because people will INTERACT with you here at a human level instead of completely ignoring you. At least they are interested in you and like to engage in conversation or interaction.

And now it's time to post a Swedish bus stop queue pic, be careful in case you may actually acknowledge somebody's presence or gasp, brush into them. :)

http://i.imgur.com/CoXO5dr.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/VQiUTgs.jpg
    http://pics.nattstad.se/3/800000/790000/782456/pics/201232023599879782456_sbig.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I was in Stockholm once. They seemed like a decent bunch. Just a zero tolerance to public drunkeness.
    The women though, jesus the women. The men there don't know how lucky they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

I have a small sneaky feeling that Sweden sees the rest of Europe like Europe sees the Middle-East.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

maninasia wrote: »
    OP you are brining it all back to me! I spent some time in Sweden quite a few years ago now and they were lonely and tough times.

People are extremely stand-offish and reserved, they will not talk to you unless you literally get in their face. Co-workers are professional but mainly will not be interested in you at all and won't even pretend to be interested in many cases. Which was disconcerting for an Irish person.

Sometimes I'd talk to girls on a night out and they wouldn't even believe I was Irish, one actually poured a drink over my head because she was convinced I was Swedish (I don't look very Swedish..).

It's a beautiful natural place, clean air and water, very well run, but also arrogant (somewhat understandable given their well run country and successful economy) and lacking in passion and warmth overall. There also definitely seems to be a certain distrust, distance or reserve towards migrants and foreigners.

The people who I got on best with were some other immigrants in Sweden including Finnish, although I did have a few good Swedish friends who I had known in Ireland already but they lived in another area.

I also visited Denmark and found them to be a warmer people overall.

I have spent a lot of time in Asia and much prefer it , even if it is more crowded and messy and polluted, because people will INTERACT with you here at a human level instead of completely ignoring you. At least they are interested in you and like to engage in conversation or interaction.

And now it's time to post a Swedish bus stop queue pic, be careful in case you may actually acknowledge somebody's presence or gasp, brush into them. :)

http://i.imgur.com/CoXO5dr.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/VQiUTgs.jpg
    http://pics.nattstad.se/3/800000/790000/782456/pics/201232023599879782456_sbig.jpg

Wow could you imagine how long their dole queues would be... oh wait!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

I seriously don't understand how you experienced Sweden the way you did! I've spent 3 years in Gothenburg and it has been nothing but great. I find the people friendly, it may take a few meetings with them to get the craic out of them but all in all a great bunch. There are the few asshats, as with any country, but in general a great bunch of lads.

I didn't have 'the way in'. It seems in Sweden (and this is true of all places but particularly Sweden) you need to be introduced rather formally into a group.

Of course random Swedes can be good craic, but the culture is VERY different than Ireland, for me it was much harder to take than adapting to living in Asia, which sounds strange but it's the truth. I remember one weekend I didn't actually talk to anybody except for a shopkeeper..it was just really hard to meet people...this is before the internet became popular so it's a while back now :).

The off-licenses closing early on the weekend was a bummer because if you didn't get your act together you'd be dry for the two days....my younger self wasn't a good planner!

Then there was the eternal light and dark thing....kind of hard to get used to at the start.

swe?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

Thinly veiled "look at me" I get to travel thread !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

TLDR.

did you ride a Swedish bird or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

I didn't have 'the way in'. It seems in Sweden (and this is true of all places but particularly Sweden) you need to be introduced rather formally into a group.

Of course random Swedes can be good craic, but the culture is VERY different than Ireland, for me it was much harder to take than adapting to living in Asia, which sounds strange but it's the truth.

I guess the fact I was studying there did help with the "way in", but in general any time I met new Swedes the fact that I was Irish always seemed to calm their initial stand-offishness. Picking up the language helped too. I just made a laugh of their quirks, the whole anti-social bus stop thing is hilarious and I make sure to make all my Swedish friends feel ultra weird when i stand next to randoms at the train/bus stops! The main thing is the difference in atmosphere during winter and spring/summer. Swedes have ****e winters and the craic is drained for them...all they can do is drink and ride to keep warm ;D . Spring and Summer sees a big change.
    I think I'm the kind of lad that fits in anywhere, lived in a few places in Europe and now in South America..just go with the flow.

Yeah but there was nobody to go with the flow with...because nobody would talk to me like the OP...get it? Trying to talk to some Swedes you don't know is like dealing with a caged animal it seems (you'd almost see the gears ticking in their head..Is this guy gay?....What does he want?...Why is he talking to me?...Is he really Irish?....What is somebody doing talking to me and this must be the thing I heard of called 'The Art of Conversation'). I must say I wasn't in Stockholm which is probably a little bit more used to foreigners.

I spent my Summer dossing around swimming naked with the ladies in the lakes and rollerblading backwards to piss them off (some parts of this are true..some not :)).

After a few months there I did build up a few friends from perseverance but then had to jet off again for happier climes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Been a few times, to both Stockholm and Gothenburg, didn't have an experience like the OP at all.

Maybe ya smell :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

"Thank You" do not exist in Swedish vocabulary
    The word is "tack" and is often used.

Like the rest of your post, you're talking utter horsemanure in my opinion.
    My brother married a swede and lives over there, and I've worked over there in the past. Lovely place, I visit every year, and would move there at the drop of a hat.

The people are sound.

Only if you are connected to them...the Swedes overseas loosen up a lot more but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

When I visited Denmark my host gave me a brief overview of Scandinavian history and local rivalries. His summary finished with the line "and of course we ALL hate the Swedes".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

I went out with a Swedish girl once.... *sigh*....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Thread needs more pics of hot swedish women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Give me the continuum transfunctioner!

Zulu wrote: »

Like the rest of your post, you're talking utter horsemanure in my opinion.
    My brother married a swede and lives over there, and I've worked over there in the past. Lovely place, I visit every year, and would move there at the drop of a hat.

The people are sound.
    Yours is not so much an opinion as a dictat then ;)

So because I and my friends had a different experience to you, it must be fabricated? Did you ever think that maybe I just met the wrong people? I'm not writing off the whole country on the basis of bad trip, I'm merely conveying my feelings about what we experienced. If you had bothered to read my OP properly you'll see that I acknowledge there are some nice people over there. I just didn't bump into them on this particular trip.

You're right though, I probably just imagined it. And the thousands of negative online reviews about their hospitality, probably a hallucination too. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Like the rest of your post, you're talking utter horsemanure in my opinion....
    Yours is not so much an opinion as a dictat then.....

No no, let him Finnish.

Boom! Aced that one.

You're a right square, Plazaman.

Let him off, this thread needs a little humour. God knows I didn't see much of it in Stockholm !

Look at my post again Grenache

Ah yes, sorry. :)

It's a bit early for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭mgwhelan

Did you ask them in english?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭sportloto86

OP, were you expecting them to throw their pearls and gold at you and worship you as a white god?
    You coming across as a snob. Different countries and nations have different rules and traditions and expecting them to dance the way you want just shows how full of yourself you are. This what leads some countries, which think that because they're eating different food and smile at each other they must be better than others, stick their noses into conflicts in other places and dictate rules.
    Learn traditions and culture first and maybe then you'll see that what you think is a norm for you is completely alien to other nation. I've met rude and xenophobic people in Ireland. So?

How was he dictating rules?
    He had a bad experience, people are allowed to have them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I spent a few days in Gothenburg and loved it for the most part.

They are slightly more reserved, but very polite and I was hugely impressed at the level of English spoken (including bar and restaurant staff).

I did find the men a bit weird in how they approach the wimminz; I was out in a bar with my mate and as soon as he went to the jacks a couple of lads came over and tried it on, despite the fact that I didn't have a word of Swedish and the fact that I was clearly with someone (they didn't know we were mates). They still hung around even after he came back to his seat.

There seems to be a massive gulf looks-wise between the men and women over there. I told my mate I expected him to be clearing up (he's a good looking dude).

Found Norwegians to be waaay ruder to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Yeah but there was nobody to go with the flow with...because nobody would talk to me like the OP...get it? Trying to talk to some Swedes you don't know is like dealing with a caged animal it seems (you'd almost see the gears ticking in their head..Is this guy gay?....What does he want?...Why is he talking to me?...Is he really Irish?....What is somebody doing talking to me and this must be the thing I heard of called 'The Art of Conversation'). I must say I wasn't in Stockholm which is probably a little bit more used to foreigners.

I spent my Summer dossing around swimming naked with the ladies in the lakes and rollerblading backwards to piss them off (some parts of this are true..some not :)).

After a few months there I did build up a few friends from perseverance but then had to jet off again for happier climes.

I met a few Swedes in my time and found them very nice and relaxed, not stand-offish...was only ever with one swedish girl, and she was definately one of the ones that got away, going out she had no problem paying(or offering to) for things and never nagged in any way. Living in Asia, a foreigner is treated like an ATM.

Saying this though, I've never lived in sweden but Stockholm has a great expat community AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

When I think of Sweden I think of zlavan Ibrahimovic who is a cracking player when he is in the mood but a moody so and so.

mgwhelan wrote: »
    Did you ask them in english?
    I asked them first in broken Swedish "Ursäkta, du pratar engelska?" Excuse me, you speak English? No response, then I ask them in English. Still no response!
    OP, were you expecting them to throw their pearls and gold at you and worship you as a white god?
    Where in my OP did I say I was expecting this?!
    You coming across as a snob. Different countries and nations have different rules and traditions and expecting them to dance the way you want just shows how full of yourself you are. This what leads some countries, which think that because they're eating different food and smile at each other they must be better than others, stick their noses into conflicts in other places and dictate rules.
    Learn traditions and culture first and maybe then you'll see that what you think is a norm for you is completely alien to other nation. I've met rude and xenophobic people in Ireland. So?
    Wait a second, you're calling me a snob for expecting other people to display everyday basic common courtesy?! :eek: Are you for real???!!!!!'

As for the bit about smiling at people and thinking I'm better than them, oh dear :rolleyes:

Keep it up though, it makes for funny viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

OP, theres a saying, that if you bump into one asshole a day, youre unlucky. But if you bump into nothing but assholes every day, chances are, youre the asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Did you ever think that maybe I just met the wrong people?
    Did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

It's because they knew you had spent time in Cork - ya langer ya!

OP, theres a saying, that if you bump into one asshole a day, youre unlucky. But if you bump into nothing but assholes every day, chances are, youre the asshole.

You obviously haven't been to Germany:eek:

lufties wrote: »
    You obviously haven't been to Germany:eek:

The people I've met in germany have almost always been absolutely lovely and friendly and helpful
    Complete strangers always no problem answering questions or trying to give me directions then making small talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Went to Gothenburg but didn't even catch a glimpse of Batman.

Dissapointed.

The people I've met in germany have almost always been absolutely lovely and friendly and helpful
    Found this about Berlin / Berliners moreso though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Did you?

TBH Zulu your whole post was condescending. I think the OP had quite a reasoned opening post explaining why and how and the instances that made him feel that way.

You however are defensive and completely unreasoned, and continuing that trend.

bluewolf wrote: »
    Complete strangers always no problem answering questions or trying to give me directions then making small talk

Have you lived and worked there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

They where not Vikings for Nothing;)