Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FREE Pint Of Guinness Via Guinness App for IOS and Android

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

rubadub wrote: »
    You poor gullible suckers, I have it on good authority that this is nothing more than a cynical marketing trick created by the evil guinness marketing team, and you fools are all falling for it, just like you all probably fell for the Arthur's day scam.

Oh!
    My!
    God!
    You are so intuitive....I feel so used.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Access wrote: »
    Also, it's not really fair to call us fools rabadub.
    I was only messing, being sarcastic about all the arthurs day nonsense complaints, people informing/warning people it was marketing, as if its any secret they have a marketing team.

damian139 wrote: »
    Oh!
    My!
    God!
    You are so intuitive....I feel so used.....:(
    Exactly my thoughts/response to the arthurs day complainers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Downloaded app, used 1/11/1983 as DOB, two rewards in wallet, "welcome pint" and "Birthday pint".

\o/

Two free pints on rent day, whoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Access

I was only messing, being sarcastic about all the arthurs day nonsense complaints, people informing/warning people it was marketing, as if its any secret they have a marketing team.

Exactly my thoughts/response to the arthurs day complainers.

Ah fair enough, maybe throw a smily face in there at the end of the sentence - as if you read it back to yourself it almost reads as though you are attacking us! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Can you bypass it on a iPhone ie the rooting thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Seaneh wrote: »
    Downloaded app, used 1/11/1983 as DOB, two rewards in wallet, "welcome pint" and "Birthday pint".
    There are loads of "imaginary people" living in my house all with birthdays very close together, they all signed up to guinness. We get loads of post in that week with vouchers for them all, my housemate brings all these imaginary lads down the pub and gets a rake of free drink. He knows the barman well so doesn't even have to get guinness, since the publicans just get refunded the price of a pint.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

There are loads of "imaginary people" living in my house all with birthdays very close together, they all signed up to guinness. We get loads of post in that week with vouchers for them all, my housemate brings all these imaginary lads down the pub and gets a rake of free drink. He knows the barman well so doesn't even have to get guinness, since the publicans just get refunded the price of a pint.

I'm just happy because it means even though I'm broke as feck (hurrah for rent day) I can go to the beers in sweetmans later with a tenner and still have 4 beers and get a bus home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Bumping this for another free pint offer today at participating watering holes. Just checkin before midnight, wait 3 mins, and you'll receive a free pint notification. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭JimFin

I accidentally cleared the cache for this app after it crashed on me, now I can't get registered again. Can anyone tell me how I can re-install the app so it'll work? I'm not trying to cheat it to get several free pints - just want the bloody thing to work! Diff email address won't work, it only allows the app to be installed once on each device.

Several free pints coming up during the six nations so this needs fixin!

JimFin wrote: »
    I accidentally cleared the cache for this app after it crashed on me, now I can't get registered again. Can anyone tell me how I can re-install the app so it'll work? I'm not trying to cheat it to get several free pints - just want the bloody thing to work! Diff email address won't work, it only allows the app to be installed once on each device.

Several free pints coming up during the six nations so this needs fixin!

Delete the app completely, then re-install.

Thanks dodzy but afraid that doesn't work either. They seem to be able to detect if the app was there previously, perhaps by storing the device ID remotely.

Sorry, just seen the app store warning:

● Note: Uninstalling the app will render the application unusable upon re-installation. ●

Could be screwed. Same boat myself. Restored from backup to unlock a 5S and I'm getting same message. I've sent them a mail but I wont hold my breath.

For those that have accidentally deleted cache or uninstalled this app Guinness have now changed their policy and allowed you to reinstall on your device...thankfully!!

And just to celebrate there is a free pint with the app if Ireland beat Italy on Saturday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭kala85

Does anybody have any problems in retrieving their pints? What happens if you go into your local and they don't give out the pints??
    I know that if I go to my local with this they will be very sceptical about it and not believe it

For those that have accidentally deleted cache or uninstalled this app Guinness have now changed their policy and allowed you to reinstall on your device...thankfully!!

And just to celebrate there is a free pint with the app if Ireland beat Italy on Saturday!!

"We're sorry, invalid consumer" message after re-reg. Bugger.

kala85 wrote: »
    Does anybody have any problems in retrieving their pints? What happens if you go into your local and they don't give out the pints??
    I know that if I go to my local with this they will be very sceptical about it and not believe it

Most pubs that are aware of it will have the poster promoting the app up in the pub. Also you could just ask in advance if they have a Guinness 5 digit code and that will sort it before you start showing your fancy app at all :)

Also make sure you have a decent signal or else your pint will be gone stale before you have proved to the bar tender that you are owed a pint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

anyone have a code for a pub for this? any code for any pub in Ireland. i'm working on something and need to test. basically this app sends your android UDID to a server when you first start up. it should be easy enough to modify it to give dummy UDIDs. just need a pub code to test. PM me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 bigmaggie

I deleted the app by accident but it wont let me register again. It tells me I am already registered. Any help in gettin it back would be great.

Free pint today folks. 3000+ remaining as I type:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,399 ✭✭✭Doge

Tried to redeem a pint today in a certain venue only to be fobbed off when I asked for their venues code.

They are definitely a participating venue in the app, I even checked into the venue.

Tried emailing support using the address supplied in the play store, got a failed delivery notification - the address doesn't exist, its guinnessplus@yourguinnessplus.com btw.

So went to the appstore and clicked the support link... It just brings you to Guinness.com

There is no way of sending feedback within the android app itself, I tried.

So screw you Guinness, i'm going to stick to buying Murphy's and using their app.

Its a better pint of stout anyway, IMO of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

waveform wrote: »
    Tried to redeem a pint today in a certain venue only to be fobbed off when I asked for their venues code.

They are definitely a participating venue in the app, I even checked into the venue.

Tried emailing support using the address supplied in the play store, got a failed delivery notification - the address doesn't exist, its guinnessplus@yourguinnessplus.com btw.

So went to the appstore and clicked the support link... It just brings you to Guinness.com

So screw you Guinness, i'm going to stick to buying Murphy's and using their app.

I too tried this app a couple of months ago and gave up in frustration, #pieceofcrap

Can we trade usernames? ;)

Because I certainly feel like I've a chip on my shoulder when it comes to Guinness now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,476 ✭✭✭Invincible

The quality of draught Guinness is so inconsistent, a can of draught tastes way better than the muck that's served up in the local, app not working in local either as garda station looks like position on map.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

just deleted this, had it ages and never could actually get a pint with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

What's the Murphys app?
    I've tried to find it in apple store on the phone but can't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

D Trent wrote: »
    What's the Murphys app?
    I've tried to find it in apple store on the phone but can't

http://www.murphys.com/whenitrainsitpours/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭omega666

Same happened to me, Was fobbed off in a well know Dublin establishment
    by the Owners son. When i asked why do they have poster's up advertising it the response was "Aw Guinness just come in and put those up"

The Murphy's app promotion is only available in Cork, just in case people are wondering.

omega666 wrote: »
    Same happened to me, Was fobbed off in a well know Dublin establishment
    by the Owners son. When i asked why do they have poster's up advertising it the response was "Aw Guinness just come in and put those up"
    That's bollox. They get the allowance for the drink. I use mine in the local for Bud. They couldn't give a rats what you order. Report them to Guiness.