Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could you finish this breakfast in half an hour?

• 15-10-2013 6:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Just saw this thread on Breaking News. Basically, Murphy's Law bar in Athlone challenges folks to eat the following in less than 30 minutes...

- Four slices of brown bread
    - Four rashers
    - Four sausages
    - Four (big) cuts of black pudding, four of white
    - Four fried eggs
    - Four grilled tomato halves
    - Four hash browns
    - A Bowl of beans
    - At least half a bag of chips
    - Fried mushrooms
    - Tea & Biscuit

http://www.breakingnews.ie/discover/gbkfaukfgboj/

...and if you succeed you get the breakfast for free or else you've got to shell out €13.95 for it.

Only one person has succeeded thus far but I'm pretty confident I could make that #2 to be honest...can't be that hard.

Do you think you'd be able? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I wouldn't be able to eat that in a full day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I couldn't, but only because beans are absolutely rank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Might....if the tomato halves weren't there.

Lose the beans, mushrooms, and tomato and you've got a yes.

Could even throw on four extra rashers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

make it white bread and give me a night on the lash beforehand to prepare myself and you got a deal ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Whatever about the rest of the ****e in that breakfast, mushrooms are disgusting and for that reason I am out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Id certainly take a decent shot at it! Beans would be a struggle though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Sounds like the pat shortt song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Why is there no toast?

I reckon I could eat that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The chips are too much. It's fine otherwise :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭billywilly

Just saw this thread on Breaking News. Basically, Murphy's Law bar in Athlone challenges folks to eat the following in less than 30 minutes...

- Four rashers
    - Four sausages
    - Four fried eggs
    - Four hash browns
    - A Bowl of beans
    - Fried mushrooms
    - Tea & Biscuit

...and if you succeed you get the breakfast for free or else you've got to shell out €13.95 for it.

Only one person has succeeded thus far but I'm pretty confident I could make that #2 to be honest...can't be that hard.

they forgot to mention when you finish that lot... 4 JAX ROLLS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

€13.95 is great value for a breakfast that size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Easily and id have it with a protein shake.
    Throw in some ribs aswell. Maybe a leg of lamb t go with it :D

Easily and id have it with a protein shake.
    Throw in some ribs aswell. Maybe a leg of lamb t go with it :D

Alright Hercules, calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

Honestly..no bother at all, wouldn't need 30 min. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I think I'd be able for it.

I'd struggle with the pudding though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

I don't drink tea so I'm out for that reason!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I'd ask them to throw a pint in and some tayto for dessert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    €13.95 is great value for a breakfast that size.

Excellent value - worth giving up at the start and then calling two friends to join you for a cheap €4.65 brekkie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

One lad did it already.He had a gastric band fitted a few years ago ,so must have a death wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Chips are the enemy here. They have photos on the facebook page that show the scale of the challenge.

https://www.facebook.com/murphyslaw.athlone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I could but it involves going to Athlone, so I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Make two big sandwiches and it would be done easy enough. Id have to be starving though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

What about this one from Tonys bistro cork

* 8 Horgan’s Irish sausages

* 6 smoked rashers

* 6oz sirloin steak

* 4 hash browns

* 4 slices of Clonakilty black and white pudding

* 2 fried eggs

* 2 scrambled eggs

* 2 bowls of chips

* 3 fried tomatoes

* 1 bowl of baked beans

* 1 bowl of sauteed mushrooms

* 1 bowl of fried onion rings

* 6 slices of toast

* 3 slices of soda bread

* All washed down with a bucket of tea or coffee

* The monster breakfast is €29.95, but is free if you finish it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭magicman88

- Four rashers
    - Four sausages
    - Four fried eggs
    - Four hash browns
    - A Bowl of beans
    - Fried mushrooms
    - Tea & Biscuit

I've eaten more in less time when starving think ill b goin dub soon mmmm free breakfast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

If I had a mind to I reckon I'd get in down in 30 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

murrayp4 wrote: »
    Chips are the enemy here. They have photos on the facebook page that show the scale of the challenge.

https://www.facebook.com/murphyslaw.athlone[/QUOTE]

Dam you murray..dam you for putting up that...I'm bucking starving after looking at it :o

xabi wrote: »

* 6 smoked rashers

* 6oz sirloin steak

* 4 hash browns

* 2 fried eggs

* 2 scrambled eggs

* 2 bowls of chips

* 3 fried tomatoes

* 1 bowl of baked beans

* 6 slices of toast

* 3 slices of soda bread

It should be called taking the piss...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was gonna say yes just from reading the contents of the breakfast, but jaysus, when you see it on the plate it's A LOT of food to swallow in 30 minutes. I'd make a brave effort all the same :pac:

In fact, when you look at the images on FB, it looks like they pile on even more! :eek:

magicman88 wrote: »
    I've eaten more in less time when starving think ill b goin dub soon mmmm free breakfast

Athlone is in Dublin???
    Now I've heard it all.

I bet Michael Noonan could finish it...while saying the word budget with half a swimming pool of beans falling out his mouth.

Athlone is in Dublin???
    Now I've heard it all.

It's on the way the way there some people seriously make me laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

God I despise those eating challenges where they have a load of morons standing around cheering on the fatletes in their monumental efforts to stuff themselves until they vomit.

Dim witted stuff.

God I despise those eating challenges where they have a load of morons standing around cheering on the fatletes in their monumental efforts to stuff themselves until they vomit.

Dim witted stuff.

You need to look up Furious Pete if you're calling them fatletes.

magicman88 wrote: »
    It's on the way the way there some people seriously make me laugh

Well considering you have not said where your from then what I said is totally relevant to my post.
    Good lad

Well considering you have not said where your from then what I said is totally relevant to my post.
    Good lad

I never said anything about athlone being in Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭creep

I'd have to smoke a few doobies before hand

* 6 smoked rashers
    * 6oz sirloin steak
    * 4 hash browns
    * 2 fried eggs
    * 2 scrambled eggs
    * 2 bowls of chips
    * 3 fried tomatoes
    * 1 bowl of baked beans
    * 6 slices of toast
    * 3 slices of soda bread

I wonder how many retards have tried that and inevitably failed.. does the €30 even cover the cost of the taxi to A&E?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Without a shadow of a doubt :o Ugh I could eat it in 15 minutes Id say.

When I make breakfast its 4 rashers, 2 sausages, 1 egg, tomatoes, mushrooms, about 6 slices of pudding and 2 slices of bread. And I eat it in about 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

* 6 smoked rashers

* 6oz sirloin steak

* 4 hash browns

* 2 fried eggs

* 2 scrambled eggs

* 2 bowls of chips

* 3 fried tomatoes

* 1 bowl of baked beans

* 6 slices of toast

* 3 slices of soda bread

Since when has steak formed part of any breakfast fry?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Abigayle

No way.

A) because there is for more than I can handle and

B) There is mushrooms and black pudding on it, and I can barely stand a few beans

That place is promoting heart attacks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Photo of the Cork challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

You'd be doing well if you finish the toast.

Ridiculous breakfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Athlone Forum.

Madness. Most people would struggle with the plate of bread let alone the rest of it.

I don't mind places that have signature eating 'challenges'.. but as wretcheddomain said, that's just taking the piss altogether. Wasteful as fcuk too. Someone could call it quits after a bowl of chips and a few bites of the steak and the rest would be thrown out =(

Seems less about the 'fun' aspect of it and more about blatant money grabbing.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    You'd be doing well if you finish the toast.

Ridiculous breakfast

It's the onion rings and chips I can't understand.

I wonder how many retards have tried that and inevitably failed.. does the €30 even cover the cost of the taxi to A&E?

With the likes of that you're better off just forking up the money straight away and splitting it between 4 of ye, Works out decent value then for a monster feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Stay at a hotel with a free breakfast buffet, and see what happens to your appetite in the mornings, eh? That's what you pile in so you can avoid paying for lunch, maybe even dinner that night.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

The cork one is a defo no no way but the athlone one i think i could do it.The athlone breakfast is good value .I have eaten half the althlone breakfast in under 15 mins.If im passing ,i will pop in and have a go.