Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Begging for food

• 03-10-2013 11:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭

Was just speaking to a friend of mine who walked past a woman in the street today with two young kids begging for food. She wasn't asking for money, just for something simple like a loaf of bread. Apparently had tears in her eyes saying all she wanted to do was feed her children and she couldn't afford to. She was now homeless because she couldn't afford her rent and was kicked out.

Really made me think, I'd be likely to just walk past someone asking for money on the streets, but the thoughts of a woman asking for food for her kids was just heartbreaking, it's the first time I've ever heard of something like this. It's just shocking how bad the country has become that a woman is forced to beg for food on the streets to fed her kids. Out in that weather and everything :(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

username_x wrote: »
    Was just speaking to a friend of mine who walked past a woman in the street today with two young kids begging for food. She wasn't asking for money, just for something simple like a loaf of bread. Apparently had tears in her eyes saying all she wanted to do was feed her children and she couldn't afford to. She was now homeless because she couldn't afford her rent and was kicked out.

Really made me think, I'd be likely to just walk past someone asking for money on the streets, but the thoughts of a woman asking for food for her kids was just heartbreaking, it's the first time I've ever heard of something like this. It's just shocking how bad the country has become that a woman is forced to beg for food on the streets to fed her kids. Out in that weather and everything :(

I've two simultaneous thougths on this, firstly if the woman was Roma, is she part of the gangs,

Secondly if she is not and is an EU national and entitled to welfare here, why is she on the streets?

I've been in need of welfare, and without a home, and had the information I needed to get the help I needed

If I met the person you are describing, I'd be inclined to stop and give them a meal if I had the money ( I might not always have) and talk with them to understand why they are in that situation and give advice/help if I could.

Even the homeless have rights to welfare/accomodation in this country, sounds to me like a like of information is inhibiting this lady in getting help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

Not the first time I have heard of that tbh. It is very worrying and a very bad situation for that woman and her family.

Like you OP, I would just walk past someone on the street looking for money but a few years back I saw a kid (about 12-14) sitting on a street in Dublin with a cup in front of him, as we walked past he said "anything to drink?". I am from Kerry and the person I was with is from Dublin and she said not to do anything cos the kid probably had someone nearby who would take whatever we gave. I couldn't do it so I went to a shop, bought a cup of tea and a sandwich and gave it to the kid. I then watched him from across the street. A man in his 40's came to the kid, kicked over the cup of tea, ate the sandwich and took the money from the cup. I will never again help somebody out after witnessing that!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,868 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Your friend picked up quite a bit of information in walking past them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭username_x

Your friend picked up quite a bit of information in walking past them.

Yeah she walked past to go to a shop and went back to her with what she'd bought for her and got talking. Probably should have specified that, apologies.

dobman88 wrote: »
    Not the first time I have heard of that tbh. It is very worrying and a very bad situation for that woman and her family.

Like you OP, I would just walk past someone on the street looking for money but a few years back I saw a kid (about 12-14) sitting on a street in Dublin with a cup in front of him, as we walked past he said "anything to drink?". I am from Kerry and the person I was with is from Dublin and she said not to do anything cos the kid probably had someone nearby who would take whatever we gave. I couldn't do it so I went to a shop, bought a cup of tea and a sandwich and gave it to the kid. I then watched him from across the street. A man in his 40's came to the kid, kicked over the cup of tea, ate the sandwich and took the money from the cup. I will never again help somebody out after witnessing that!!!

That's just absolutely awful. I've heard of things like this before but never witnessed it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yeah she walked past to go to a shop and went back to her with what she'd bought for her and got talking. Probably should have specified that, apologies.

If she's likely to see the lady again shoot me a pm and I'll send you what she should be asking so she can point the lady in the right direction?

Very tough in that situation and the lady may end up in hostels, but more likely b and b so at least a breakfast for her kids?

Did she tell your friend where she and her children were going to sleep?

I'll find out where she saw her, as far as I know it was around the grafton street area. I'm just hoping they have somewhere for the night, must be an awful situation to find yourself in. Not knowing where to look for help and not being able to feed your children.

Did she tell your friend where she and her children were going to sleep?

Nope, no mention of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Its a regular scam well known by anybody who works or has worked in retail security in any of the city centers ,

Personally I remember watching a woman setting up begging for food at 9am and watcher her receive various hand outs of food and bags of shopping throughout the day then watch as she passed the bags to a man to put into a van throughout the day I reckoned she was getting between. 20/30 bags a day and yet she moved to various locations around Dublin city center 7 days a week

Oh god, now it really is starting to sound like a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Immaculata

That's awful.

In fairness, the unfortunate lady ought to go to her local county/city council office and speak to the Homeless Outreach staff, and visit her local Community Welfare Officer. They will help her with accommodation and organise emergency payments.

I imagine that that lady is in some situation that a bystander can't see, such as perhaps her partner commits DV and takes all her income, or she's not eligible for welfare in Ireland, or there are addiction issues, or something along those lines. The welfare system in Ireland is a bit creaky, no doubt, but there's no need for anyone to beg for food or sleep rough, so there must be more going on.

Gatling wrote: »
    Its a regular scam well known by anybody who works or has worked in retail security in any of the city centers ,

Personally I remember watching a woman setting up begging for food at 9am and watcher her receive various hand outs of food and bags of shopping throughout the day then watch as she passed the bags to a man to put into a van throughout the day I reckoned she was getting between. 20/30 bags a day and yet she moved to various locations around Dublin city center 7 days a week

Yet if you work in the city centre you identify the "regulars" from those in a bit of need.

I'd one a few years ago with a dog, and being a doglover, asked him if he needed dogfood. He was very happy to get a few cans and a bag of mixer.

Sometimes those folk are genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Stheno wrote: »
    Yet if you work in the city centre you identify the "regulars" from those in a bit of need.

I'd one a few years ago with a dog, and being a doglover, asked him if he needed dogfood. He was very happy to get a few cans and a bag of mixer.

Sometimes those folk are genuine.

The same usual suspects and there friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

sadly, we live in a world full of cynicism. And although most of it well grounded, there are the needy out there who need our help, but because of the schemers and chancers, both home-grown and imported, who push to the fore, we are want to help those who really need it, clouded by the doubt, that if we do contribute, who are we contributing to? are we helping or just excarerbating the problem....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭thomur

I have bought many people food over the years, usually women saying the same thing and I regret each one of them.

Why? Well, because I have then seen them many times that day and days and weeks after saying the same thing and I now realise it's a scam but that's not the real reason.

The real reason is that there is a ton of places in Dublin where people can go for free meals and / or get meals at a very very low cost. Plus there is lots of food parcels available for those in need each week also. If people really want to help the people like the one described in the OP, print out the following list and give it to them:

http://www.coolmine.ie/about/links/food-day-centres-and-practical-support

There is one exception I will make and if I think someone is mentally ill, I may go and buy food for them as sometimes they won't go to the places in the above list as they have social phobias etc and won't seek out help and so for them, I would make exceptions.

Agree completely. There are a lot of supports in Dublin for people who are hungry. I always donate to http://homeless.ie/Capuchin_Day_Centre/Welcome.html

They have been doing fantastic work for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

There's several services in Dublin City Centre that dispense free hot meals everyday and food parcels(Bro Kevin,Merchants Quay,Penny Dinners,Mendicity,Crosscare,probably more).No reason to be begging for food in this day and age,though maybe those new to homelessness are unaware of the services.

I have bought many people food over the years, usually women saying the same thing and I regret each one of them.

Why? Well, because I have then seen them many times that day and days and weeks after saying the same thing and I now realise it's a scam but that's not the real reason.

The real reason is that there is a ton of places in Dublin where people can go for free meals and / or get meals at a very very low cost. Plus there is lots of food parcels available for those in need each week also. If people really want to help the people like the one described in the OP, print out the following list and give it to them:

http://www.coolmine.ie/about/links/food-day-centres-and-practical-support

There is one exception I will make and if I think someone is mentally ill, I may go and buy food for them as sometimes they won't go to the places in the above list as they have social phobias etc and won't seek out help and so for them, I would make exceptions.
    The same usual suspects and there friends

This chap was seen once on baggot street, and when I talked to him he got SW and RA and was usually ok, but stuck that week.

He's never shown up again in two years.

I regularly buy for those who sleep rough close to me, and get to know them, and they either don't want, or are not willing to abide by the rules in shelters.

No reason not to give them a meal tho.

The gangs, I cannot abide, sometimes it down to personal judgement.

I am very rarely in Dublin. How common is it to see women with children begging for food there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

I read a heartbreaking story in the media last winter, of a Dad who had to wake up early and go to the Capuchins, and ask them for food for his daughters before they got up for school. He had no food in the house to give them any breakfast or make a lunch for them.

This is 2013. We have spent €70 billion to save our banks; we cannot do any better for the children of this country? We will let them go hungry from time to time, we will raise them to leave their families and their communities, we cannot promise them that if they work hard they will have a life. And the banks are our only priority. Let our people leave, let communities ruin, but never perish our banks. Something is so wrong with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I send whatever few bob I can manage to a few charities that I support but would never give a street beggar anything, it only encourages them and there is no gaurantee that they are genuine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 988 ✭✭✭deadeye187

I treat her the same as every con-artist on the street just pass by and it will never enter my mind again....I`d rather burn my money that give it to these people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

Obviously depends on the situation, but I wouldn't be surprised if this was a bit of creative begging using social engineering. ie. If you ask for food people will see you as authentically desperate and more likely to give money to you (as who walks around with food to give out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I hate being cynical; literally it's the last thing I want to be but I cannot imagine, with children involved that, if true, they would not be fed by the state. It would not get to that level.

I am open to correction but it just doesn't add up.

I would be more inclined to think that it is a case of: ask for a loaf of bread to sound more genuine but know that most people don't carry around loaves and might not have the time to go to the shop and buy one so instead just give money. But if you ask for money, people will be less likely to give.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Asking for food while begging with two small children smacks of someone tugging at the heartstrings of all the women from outside the city doing a bit of shopping who would never see a child go hungry. Heard a beggaar at a luas stop one day telling an elderly woman about how she was just out of hospital, when asked why she was in hospital she said she had lost her baby. Maybe true but coming fom a junkie begging for money for drugs it is not so believable. This woman and kids story sounds like a scam to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Use to get the bus from Parnell street and would be offered fresh meat and other groceries, would also have people walking into the bars around there doing the same.

I really doubt anyone in Ireland is begging for food, just take a walk around the city centre, we must have the fattest beggars in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Use to get the bus from Parnell street and would be offered fresh meat and other groceries, would also have people walking into the bars around there doing the same.

That stuff is stolen.

Joe Duffy covered this before. Tesco Parnell St put security tags on their meat but didn't do it in other stores. They identified a problem and tried to fix it

Locals called up Joe Duffy crying they were being labelled as thieves and other shoppers in Ireand were not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I must admit that if I ever found myself homeless and without income I would not know where to go or who to see. I would probably end up begging for food after a day or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Roselm

Www.ispcc.ie/leanbh have a phone number you can call of you see a child begging/out with a parent begging as this is a child protection issue. The num is 087 0625198

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

This is 2013. We have spent €70 billion to save our banks; we cannot do any better for the children of this country? And the banks are our only priority. Let our people leave, let communities ruin, but never perish our banks. Something is so wrong with us.

The banks are a priority to regain (hopefully) economic growth and stability, precisely to avoid the situations being discussed. Without stabilising the economic system there will be no money to help anyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

stoneill wrote: »
    I must admit that if I ever found myself homeless and without income I would not know where to go or who to see. I would probably end up begging for food after a day or two.

svp, gardai, priest. They might not be able to help but they'll put you on the right track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Wasn't there a thread on this before a while back? A poster did a big shop for someone and it turned out to be a scam. It's hard to know what to do but personally I would prefer to give to a food bank (and until recently did regularly through work)

I lived in NZ for a while and in the supermarkets they donation boxes as you left for the city mission. Was an easy way to donate and most people did, just by buying a few extra things in your shop. I would love to see that here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Stheno wrote: »
    If she's likely to see the lady again shoot me a pm and I'll send you what she should be asking so she can point the lady in the right direction?

Very tough in that situation and the lady may end up in hostels, but more likely b and b so at least a breakfast for her kids?

They have to spend all day on the streets so not surprised she's out in the rain like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Not surprised by this in the least but hey not to worry once our bond yields are falling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Some of it is well fake.

There use to be a traveller begging near arnotts side entrance facing M&S. She'd have a kid in the buggy, then eventually it was a sack of potatoes wrapped up to look like a kid and finally she stopped putting the effort in and had an empty buggy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

You followed her around the city 7 days a week?

Some of it is well fake.

There use to be a traveller begging near arnotts side entrance facing M&S. She'd have a kid in the buggy, then eventually it was a sack of potatoes wrapped up to look like a kid and finally she stopped putting the effort in and had an empty buggy.

I know who you mean, she lives in a very very nice estate in Lucan in a 3 bed house. She trys to dodge her bus fare every ****ing time, all the drivers know her.

I wouldnt give her a shillin, shes not starvin that one, or impoverished let me tell you. Shes just a ****ing leech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

But... that's not always going to happen every time you give a beggar something small...

I know you're talking about giving food here,but giving something small, all adds up.

When I started working in Dublin, naive donkey that I am, would end up giving money to anyone who asked me for it.
    So, it basically would start as soon as I got outside heuston station, before I'd even buy myself a luas ticket. 2 euro that man, another 2 euro to someone else ect. Some mornings I could be 8/10 euro poorer before I even got to work, and when that's pretty much every day, and you're running into the same people, naw. I copped on fairly quickly, not long after I saw that man that always sat reading a book on Stephens green, in the same spot every day, skagged off his head down that alley by coppers.

There's plenty of help out there for those people, if you really want to help, donate food or something to soup kitchens/homeless shelters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Anybody who works in Dublin city centre gets used to the same faces begging and the junkies.

Been given the same sob stories numerous times by the same person but also the same story from different people and then see them talking to each other later on.

Giving anything out on the streets actually causes the problem of begging. There are services to use and you should support them and not undermine the work they do.

Look at a beggars shoes, often they are wearing fancy trainers. The junkies have even their own status symbols. They will sleep rough in order to save money to have fancy runners. The services won't give them money for runners but they can beg for the money. That is what you are paying them for.

When a guy comes up to you telling you how he lost his wallet for the 6 time in a week you can't help but be cynical. When a beggars has a spot you know they aren't doing anything to help them selves or use the services. When you see them in their spot a year later you got to wonder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Offer to buy them a meal, they may change their tune pretty quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Personally don't give a red cent to beggars as this is generally organised in Dublin City centre (certainly by the Roma) and it encourages it amongst the junkies - I have seen the Guards move these people away from places that it's illegal to beg, like ATMs. Anyone desperate for food - the Capuchin day centre and other resources won't turn anyone away that's hungry.

I had a Roma neighbour once who came to my door in a distressed state. She begged for food from me - she said she had a 6 month old child that was starving . As it turned out at the time, we had a little guy the same age so I offered her a tub of baby powder - enough to make bottles for perhaps a week or so. She refused it point blank, insisting she wanted the money instead. Door closed pretty rapid after that.

Surveyor11 wrote: »

I had a Roma neighbour once who came to my door in a distressed state. She begged for food from me - she said she had a 6 month old child that was starving . .

A friend of mine had a large Roma family move in next door to her. She tried to be all PC about it but went mental at one of them when she saw them begging in the local supermarket. She was fully aware of all the benefits they were getting (due to a family member in DSP).

Then a few weeks later she spots various family members begging in Dublin city centre. She was completely livid eventually when she told the LL he kicked them out as they started begging door to door. They were in no way in need of the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭xxmeabhxx

I've heard it's much better to give money to charities if you want to help the homeless than to the individuals directly because there are scams out there. My boyfriend was walking in town one day and said he saw a group of beggars being told by a woman which areas they should each cover to get the maximum yield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

dobman88 wrote: »

Eh..... what?

A random person came up to the kid and stole his sandwich and took his money? Is that right?

Why would that put you off helping people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Anybody who works in Dublin city centre gets used to the same faces begging and the junkies.

Been given the same sob stories numerous times by the same person but also the same story from different people and then see them talking to each other later on.

Giving anything out on the streets actually causes the problem of begging. There are services to use and you should support them and not undermine the work they do.

Look at a beggars shoes, often they are wearing fancy trainers. The junkies have even their own status symbols. They will sleep rough in order to save money to have fancy runners. The services won't give them money for runners but they can beg for the money. That is what you are paying them for.

When a guy comes up to you telling you how he lost his wallet for the 6 time in a week you can't help but be cynical. When a beggars has a spot you know they aren't doing anything to help them selves or use the services. When you see them in their spot a year later you got to wonder.

I work in the Homeless services particularly around addiction and I've never heard of a rough sleeping addict choosing to sleep out in order to get more expensive trainers , generally rough sleepers stay out because of the chaos of their addiction,lack of beds in hostels and/or fear of hostel accommodation.
    Ray Palmer wrote: »
    A friend of mine had a large Roma family move in next door to her. She tried to be all PC about it but went mental at one of them when she saw them begging in the local supermarket. She was fully aware of all the benefits they were getting (due to a family member in DSP).

Then a few weeks later she spots various family members begging in Dublin city centre. She was completely livid eventually when she told the LL he kicked them out as they started begging door to door. They were in no way in need of the money.

I hope that's worded arseways because if a DSP employee gave out information about somebody's benefits , they have no understanding of FOI, Data protection and confidentiality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

Buy red pepper.
    Buy groceries.
    If she'll willingly chomp down the pepper then she's obviously desperate for her kids, if not she's on her 5th sap of the day and will take a pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

If some poor divil on the street, particularly a woman with a child, asked me for food, I would give it to them. If there's one thing that drives me nucken futs it's the idea of people going hungry, especially in a Western society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Maybe I'm cynical, but I think pretty much everything is a scam. I have trouble trusting anyone.

mattjack wrote: »
    I work in the Homeless services particularly around addiction and I've never heard of a rough sleeping addict choosing to sleep out in order to get more expensive trainers , generally rough sleepers stay out because of the chaos of their addiction,lack of beds in hostels and/or fear of hostel accommodation. .

Well my friends deal with addicts too and they are the one who explained it to me. I'll believe them over you as I know they work with the homeless and addicts and have to take your word you do.

mattjack wrote: »
    I hope that's worded arseways because if a DSP employee gave out information about somebody's benefits , they have no understanding of FOI, Data protection and confidentiality.

People can understand things and choose not to do them.