If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

the importance of good shot placement

• 03-10-2013 12:59PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭

just shows you the importance of shot placement... was out yesterday evening on a new permission when i spotted this fellow he popped out in front of me about 30 meters could spot the wound on his back glasses him for a few second and decided to shoot him... i reckon the smaller hole is the entry wound and the side with the bigger wound and the missing flesh was the exit wound... the wound was festered with maggots and ozzing puss to an extent where it had removed the hair after dragging him out the wound had cleaned up quiet a bit from the wet grass

P1010234_zpsfe15450a.jpgP1010235_zpse323435d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭sniperman

yes i agree fully,if one is not sure of a clean kill,dont take the shot,vermin or not,there is no need for any animal to suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

sorry,hard to tell from pictures, could you give a bit more info on where shot was etc ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

Could be any mount of reasons how this happened, Last year i took a neck shot at a pricket shot the pricket but the bullet went straight through and shot a doe in the back lucky for me she did not go far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭daithi55

sorry,hard to tell from pictures, could you give a bit more info on where shot was etc ?

it was on the top of the back behind the neck
    Could be any mount of reasons how this happened, Last year i took a neck shot at a pricket shot the pricket but the bullet went straight through and shot a doe in the back lucky for me she did not go far

thats what id call bad shot placement you should always be aware of your back stop when hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭martin s

Hi Daithi, by any chance was that deer near Mullins in Wicklow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭martin s

martin s wrote: »

no why?

daithi55 wrote: »
    it was on the top of the back behind the neck

thats what id call bad shot placement you should always be aware of your back stop when hunting
    Call it what you like it happens some would say 2 deer with 1 bullet good on ya **** happens when out shooting i aint god

just wondering, if the bullet had not hit the second deer, where do you think it would have ended up?

sniperman wrote: »
    just wondering, if the bullet had not hit the second deer, where do you think it would have ended up?
    Into the big 300 acre forest behind the deer, let me guess your next question .What would i do if the bullet made it through the whole forest without hitting a single branch and struck a poor farmers cow that was being milked by his wife in the side of the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

Into the big 300 acre forest behind the deer, let me guess your next question .What would i do if the bullet made it through the whole forest without hitting a single branch and struck a poor farmers cow that was being milked by his wife in the side of the head.

Get a grip lad,

sniperman wrote: »

in a bank or in the heavy undergrowth etc ... any deer stalker with a bit of cop on nos not to shoot a deer if theirs another directly behind it as the bullet will most likely pass through and strike the other if this does happen retreiving the second deer is very unlikely as the first deer has taken most of the energy out of the bullet

the very same as not shooting something thats standing on the top of a hill as theres no safe back stop

Get a grip lad,
    This wound to the deer could easily being done by a top deer stalker ,who on this occasion had the crosshairs on the deer head or neck and at the very second he pulled the trigger the deer moved it happens its called BAD LUCK not the stalkers fault its mother nature you can go on about shot placement all ye want on the fourm one thing is shooting little round targets out to 300 yards another thing is shooting a deer that moves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Imo ,there are no absolutes or 100% certainties when out shooting ,weather it be deer or rabbits .
    Regards,Tomcat.

tomcat220t wrote: »
    Imo ,there are no absolutes or 100% certainties when out shooting ,weather it be deer or rabbits .
    Regards,Tomcat.
    I agree

This wound to the deer could easily being done by a top deer stalker ,who on this occasion had the crosshairs on the deer head or neck and at the very second he pulled the trigger the deer moved it happens its called BAD LUCK not the stalkers fault its mother nature you can go on about shot placement all ye want on the fourm one thing is shooting little round targets out to 300 yards another thing is shooting a deer that moves

That's fair enough alright, but a forest is not a backstop, that's what I was getting at

plus 1;)

IF it stops a bullet its good enough for me, being out 5 times this year shot 3 prickets and a doe with a smashed leg i must be doing something right will have a couple of rutting stags to add to that by monday, concentrate more on your hunting lads instead of others;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Concentrate more on your hunting lads instead of others;)

Well that would make things very boring now wouldn't it, how can one sit in an Ivory Tower and cast aspersions over ones peers....

Now let me see how I'm better than "Normal" folk. :pac:
    I will have a couple of rutting stags to add to that by monday.

I don't hunt Stags before the Rut, the more competition the better, in a Deer Farming environment it's preferred to have a ratio of 9 Does to 1 Stag, so it's Prickets only till after the deed is done.

See, still in my Ivory Tower casting aspersions...

post purely in jest, only the bloke on the trigger can call if a shot is safe, it's a bit harder over a Keyboard.

I wud prob stop a by lit, does that count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Briany82

The Doe with the smashed leg Must have been the result of being the backstop for one of the shots on your prickets. They give licences to anyone these days.

How many deer you shot so far briany82 another lad with a deer permit who sits at home dreaming about backstops **** all land to hunt and wont get a deer this season i have a freezer full if you want some i will give ya that doe with the smashed leg no problem

Well mine is bigger than yours... What age are ya, 8.

Ha Ha. Oh you are grand man. Thanks all the same. I have a pricket in the freezer and plenty of land to shoot and unlike you I am actually a cautious shooter that puts safety first. No backstop, No shot. U prob be off to the game dealer shortly so if your freezer is full.

You always have the same lads makeing coments about backdrops , killzones, lads who think they know everything about shooting. When i go out to shoot a deer thats what i do fired 4 bullets this years 4 dead deer i dont give a flying **** what anyones else thinks i know they are safe shots ,was there a backdrop its me who is doing the shooting i decide to take the shot or not .I will be out sat morning ,sat evening ,sun morning ,sun evening, will shoot a couple off deer come home and go on this site and see the same lads crying over backstops and killzones who have **** all experience and kill **** all deer

Ha. Oh I dont claim to know everything man, far from it, but all I do know is that safety comes first for me is all im saying and its not a competition to see how many deer I can shoot over the year. Unlike you, I will let the stags cover the hinds during the rut even before Id consider taking a good stag. Its called deer management. You probably wouldn't understand anything about deer management. Enjoy your shooting the weekend.

Anyway I have entertained this crap for too long already, going to bed to dream about backstops. Have a good weekend, don't KILL too many deer now or you will have to get a second freezer.

Deer management thats what irish deer stalker say after only shooting 1 deer all season ah sure im into deer management, how can there be deer management if boys are lamping the land at night last year i shot 3 deer so i spent the whole summer getting news permissions this weekend i will hit donard and hollywood for the first time for couple of hybrids, for the amount of land i have to shoot and the amount of deer i will shoot this season if will make **** all of a differnce to the population of deer onnce november comes its all pheasants and woodcock shooting for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

In fairness lad, and dont get me wrong, im not having a go at ye, but if your honest you really could,nt say for sure that someone, maybe a forest worker or a member of the public having a crap, is not just inside that forest weather its 300 acres or not.

Private owned no public walkways of workers in it, lads go on youtube and check out deer stalking in ireland and see how many lads are shooting deer with a forest as the backdrop it happens if a deer is at the edge of a forest its a good backstop