Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer skull cleaning

• 01-10-2013 12:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭

Just looking for a quick bit of advice lads.
    I have a set of antlers still attached to the skull hanging on the wall here at home.
    But the skull and teeth are very discoloured. How would i go about whitening it up a bit?
    The only thing i can think of is household bleach but not sure if it would damage the bone density?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I haven't done it myself, but i think that a 5% bleach solution in water works well at whitening. As said i never done it, but remember it from my cousin that used to do it regular enough.

Open to correction on that.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Forty Watt

I use hydrogen peroxide. 4 euro for a bottle from any pharmacy. Soak it in solution of this and water. Take care not to dip the antlers in it or they will also bleach. Leave it a few days. Take out and dry. You can also darken up the antlers with potassium permangenate. Not easy to buy locally but available online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Buy some hydrogen peroxide from the chemist (or mousse from hair dresser).
    Brush the skull directly with the peroxide. Then soak cotton wool in the peroxide and lay it over the skull (avoid antlers) keep cotton wool damp and leave over night. Remove cotton wool and rinse with cold water and allow to dry naturally.
    If using the mousse there should be no need for cotton wool.

Forty Watt types faster than me.
    potassium permangenate is unlicensed in Ireland and requires prescription etc to buy in ROI. But as said you can buy over the net.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

djflawless wrote: »
    Just looking for a quick bit of advice lads.
    I have a set of antlers still attached to the skull hanging on the wall here at home.
    But the skull and teeth are very discoloured. How would i go about whitening it up a bit?
    The only thing i can think of is household bleach but not sure if it would damage the bone density?

djflawless,
    Have a look at my post, #16, in this link.

A few bits of advice. If you live near the coast, I have had success putting the head and antlers in to the seawater overnight. The crabs will literally pick it clean in a day or two.

Once it is cleaned, you will want to whiten it up. If the skull is yellow, use a blue liquid on it.

Toothpastes and mouthwash are often blue as blue + yellow are complimentary colors. Blue light + yellow light = white. Blue toothpastes/mouthwashes on yellow teeth make them look white.

Most toilets are white. In order to get the yellow stains to look good you use a blue liquid.

Also, when trying to get whites whiter in the wash, forget the bleach, and use fabric softener which is usually, you guessed it, blue!

Bleach basically tricks you in to thinking that the material is cleaner when in reality, it is not.

You may wish to ask this in the Physics-Chem forum under science. I bet the chem-e's would know exactly what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

FISMA wrote: »
    djflawless,
    Have a look at my post, #16, in this link.

A few bits of advice. If you live near the coast, I have had success putting the head and antlers in to the seawater overnight. The crabs will literally pick it clean in a day or two.

Once it is cleaned, you will want to whiten it up. If the skull is yellow, use a blue liquid on it.

Toothpastes and mouthwash are often blue as blue + yellow are complimentary colors. Blue light + yellow light = white. Blue toothpastes/mouthwashes on yellow teeth make them look white.

Most toilets are white. In order to get the yellow stains to look good you use a blue liquid.

Also, when trying to get whites whiter in the wash, forget the bleach, and use fabric softener which is usually, you guessed it, blue!

Bleach basically tricks you in to thinking that the material is cleaner when in reality, it is not.

You may wish to ask this in the Physics-Chem forum under science. I bet the chem-e's would know exactly what to do.

Jaysus a lot of thaught in that post :D

Well, texture wise, skull is clean.no flesh or anything on it.just very stained is all

will get a bottle of peroxide so and brush it on.

Would i be as well to treat it a few times over say, 2 weeks? Or will 1 treatment be best result?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Tie rope to its head and throw into a fast flowing river for 3-4 weeks saves the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

4200fps wrote: »
    Tie rope to its head and throw into a fast flowing river for 3-4 weeks saves the hassle.

Loval river is overfished here.i wouldnt imagine the feckin thing would last too long till some bollix decided it would look nicer on his wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

djflawless wrote: »
    Loval river is overfished here.i wouldnt imagine the feckin thing would last too long till some bollix decided it would look nicer on his wall
    It was an indea tho. A taxidermist told me its the lazy way of doing it and does a great job. Mind you'd wanna keep the antlers above the water or they go white if you ever did go about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Tiercel Dave

Have a look at this young lads Web pages, Dave

http://www.jakes-bones.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Feild sports Britain done episodes on it only two weeks ago , YouTube it mate .