Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

serving a pregnant woman

• 27-09-2013 6:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

half heard a story on the radio today bout a lady who was goin for a quick drink after work with friends, she was heavily pregnant at the time. the bartender refused to serve her. she got the hump and later complained i think. so he had to issue an apology,
    what wud you do if you wer a bartender and a pregnant woman came in looking for an alcoholic drink? i wouldnt serve her

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,422 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Henwin wrote: »
    i wouldnt serve her

Why? Can't she make her own decisions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

yes she can, but her baby cant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

There is no legal reason for her not to be served. Should the same woman be refused cigarettes in a shop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

A drink in moderation should be harmless enough. In fact I think some doctors have recommended one or two in moderation.

Besides..... Who made you the preggers police op?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

half heard a story on the radio today bout a lady who was goin for a quick drink after work with friends, she was heavily pregnant at the time. the bartender refused to serve her. she got the hump and later complained i think. so he had to issue an apology,
    what wud you do if you wer a bartender and a pregnant woman came in looking for an alcoholic drink? i wouldnt serve her

Maybe she was just fat. He should have asked her if maybe a coors light is more appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

I'd say he just thought she was fat! - Ye cant be going filling your bar with fat birds like!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Would you serve a pregnant woman cigarettes? A bottle of wine in a supermarket??

I often did, what they do with those products is their own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

There is no legal reason for her not to be served. Should the same woman be refused cigarettes in a shop?

These replies are amusing. This woman is the type that AH usually looks on with disdain.
    Wouldn't surprise me if some court found this to be gender discrimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

An occasional drink is not going to do either the woman or her baby any harm by the time she's visibly pregnant - the big danger is drinking excessive alcohol in the first couple of months of pregnancy. If a woman chooses to have a drink when pregnant, it's her own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

I'd serve her. It'd be my job. Her being pregnant has nothing got to do with me. I don't really know what harm alcohol does to the baby but it wouldn't really concern me either. I don't care about some stranger or her unborn child. Might sound harsh but I've enough to be worrying about without worrying about strangers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Rothmans wrote: »
    These replies are amusing. This woman is the type that AH usually looks on with disdain.
    Wouldn't surprise me if some court found this to be gender discrimination.

I have worked in bars and have served pregnant women because there is no legal reason not to. I can obviously look down on them(and have done) but I still wouldn't refuse to serve them a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I was of the belief that in the last few years the doctors have started saying that there is nothing wrong with a drink or two in moderation on occasion when pregnant.
    Its when binge drinking occurs during pregnancy that it can cause issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Should the same woman be refused cigarettes in a shop?

Yes.

It's her own business, not the morality police

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

she might have just been having a bit of dutch courage before heading down to the abortion complex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

why not? One drink does the baby no harm. Plenty of research on that

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,422 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

yes she can, but her baby cant.

So where does your moral responsibility end? Once she leaves the bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I dunno... would you play tennis with a pregnant woman? Do you play tennis even?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I'd serve her, it might just be the one.

Bad form though, getting pissed when your pregnant. Very bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

Oh, I didn't realise she was getting pissed. I thought she was just buying a drink. My mistake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Would you serve a pregnant woman cigarettes? A bottle of wine in a supermarket??

I often did, what they do with those products is their own business.
    *visualizes what else a pregnant woman might be doing with a wine bottle..*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭seosamh1980

Oh, I didn't realise she was getting pissed. I thought she was just buying a drink. My mistake

No she wasn't, she was just having one glass of wine, which she has once a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

ya ok. i suppose its none of my business and i shud just do what im paid to do, but it cant be tat hard can it, to give up drink and smoking for 9 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

ya ok. i suppose its none of my business and i shud just do what im paid to do, but it cant be tat hard can it, to give up drink and smoking for 9 months.

Have you ever done it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Would you refuse to serve her a coke or a coffee too, if she asked? Because you know women should avoid caffeine when pregnant, don't you?

Or would you let her use her own judgement in those cases?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

There's no evidence she was getting pissed though is there? That's a very different kettle of fish. A glass of wine in late pregnancy isn't going to do any harm.

When I was 9 days overdue on my last baby (and in extreme discomfort), I read an article that recommended gin might help 'move labor along', so I had 1 G&T to test the theory. I hadn't had an alcoholic drink throughout the whole pregnancy other than that. Maybe she was desperate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

it cant be tat hard can it, to give up drink and smoking for 9 months.

If it was easy then there'd be no addicts. Depends on the person obviously. Social smoker who goes out once a month. Easy. 20 a day, drinking 3 times a week. Probably a bit harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I bought beer during both of my pregnancies, I do the shopping so I bought them for my partner. When I was pregnant with my first I got him a six pack and got really funny looks, it was Valentines Day.

I went for a meal in a bar once too, I ordered a pint of milk, I got a pint of Millers! The girl misheard me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭Pete M.

And what if she lost her inhibitions so much with the drink,then went for the ride, would that be like child abuse or paedophilia by surrogacy?

She should sue the bollix out of the bar and put the award into a trust fund for the child.

Kid could say that he was so lucky and set for life cos his Ma drank while pregnant, well at least tried to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

One or two is no harm. But drinking / smoking excessively while pregnant is wrong IMO.

I know its none of my business and all that but look at how outraged people are getting about the baby whose parents fed him methadone.

Two very different things I grant you but still both maltreatment IMO.

Kids are utterly defenceless against the whims of their parents and nobody cares it seems. Look at the HSE taking a 1 day old child from the parents. Should they mind their own business.

Maybe we should try to be a little more like that barman. Granted, he was overreacting. But what about the barman that saw how the parents were treating the methadone baby - should he have done more upon witnessing such clear neglect?

Or should we save our moralising for internet forums when the horse has bolted and at the same time mind our own business as long as no one has died?

There's no evidence she was getting pissed though is there? That's a very different kettle of fish. A glass of wine in late pregnancy isn't going to do any harm.

When I was 9 days overdue on my last baby (and in extreme discomfort), I read an article that recommended gin might help 'move labor along', so I had 1 G&T to test the theory. I hadn't had an alcoholic drink throughout the whole pregnancy other than that. Maybe she was desperate!

Nope, no evidence at all. Was just making the point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

I know of a situation where a pregnant woman was to be induced the next day and the doctor said she should spend the evening having a nice meal and a glass of wine.

Tell me more about your orange teapot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Umekichi

Too right that lady got annoyed I would have too.
    I had that guff when I was pregnant too, myself and the OH would go out once a month(maybe 2 if we were flush / lucky) and I would have 1 - 2 beers, I even went out of my way to drink beers with low-ish alcohol contents and honestly went out moreso to have some sort of social life. It was fun but I had gotten some snarky comments, nasty looks and had been refused by a barman until I requested the manager!

God forbid that a pregnant woman should go out and have some fun! :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd serve her, then quietly judge her. It's easier to preach morality on a full wallet.

Umekichi wrote: »
    Too right that lady got annoyed I would have too.
    I had that guff when I was pregnant too, myself and the OH would go out once a month(maybe 2 if we were flush / lucky) and I would have 1 - 2 beers, I even went out of my way to drink beers with low-ish alcohol contents and honestly went out moreso to have some sort of social life. It was fun but I had gotten some snarky comments, nasty looks and had been refused by a barman until I requested the manager!

God forbid that a pregnant woman should go out and have some fun! :/

I don't think anybody is begrudging pregnant women any fun in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

My mother went into labour while sipping a gin and tonic in a pub. My father immediately panicked, but by all accounts Mam looked at her watch, counted, and said "we've time for another one."

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fetal_alcohol_syndrome

The above would be a good reason!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Orlaw3136

Itzy wrote: »

Are you for real ? There's no suggestion that she was drinking heavily. She was refused 'a drink'. You don't convey fetal alcohol syndrome to your unborn child by having 'a drink' of an alcoholic beverage. Cop on !

If she was clearly pissed up that would be another story. But then pubs arn't supposed to serve anyone who's intoxicated (a whole other story).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Did you actually read that link ?
    Stop being so judgemental I wonder how many of the posters here have actually been pregnant :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Orlaw3136 wrote: »
    Are you for real ? There's no suggestion that she was drinking heavily. She was refused 'a drink'. You don't convey fetal alcohol syndrome to your unborn child by having 'a drink' of an alcoholic beverage. Cop on !

If she was clearly pissed up that would be another story. But then pubs arn't supposed to serve anyone who's intoxicated (a whole other story).

Cop on! Seriously!
    Fetal alcohol exposure is the leading known cause of mental retardation in the Western world.[7][8] In the United States and Europe, the FAS prevalence rate is estimated to be between 0.2-2 in every 1000 live births.[9][10] FAS should not be confused with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD), a condition which describes a continuum of permanent birth defects caused by maternal consumption of alcohol during pregnancy, which includes FAS, as well as other disorders, and which affects about 1% of live births in the US (i.e., about 10 cases per 1000 live births).[11][12][13][14] The lifetime medical and social costs of FAS are estimated to be as high as US$800,000 per child born with the disorder.[15] Surveys found that in the United States, 10–15% of pregnant women report having recently drunk alcohol, and up to 30% drink alcohol at some point during pregnancy.[16][17] The current recommendation of the Surgeon General of the United States, the BritishDepartment of Health and the Australian Government National Health and Medical Research Council is to drink no alcohol at all during pregnancy.[18][19][20][21]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

keith16 wrote: »
    Tell me more about your orange teapot.

Its got a lovely floral tea cosy, but it's a bit too fat and it's spout is too short.

The question is would you refuse to let her execute her own judgement and order a drink, regardless of whether she has considered the consequences or not?

It is her decision, and hers alone, to make and I would feel no moral obligation to tell her otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Umekichi

This is exactly the attitude that I experienced and I would imagine a lot more pregnant women have had aswell when they go out for a drink.

1 - 2 drinks doesn't equate to FAS however binge drinking on a regular basis will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Cop on! Seriously!

I would hazard a guess that the reason these medical councils are recommending no alcohol at all during pregnancy is that they are erring on the side of caution because carrying out tests to determine how much alcohol a foetus can tolerate without developing FAS would be out of the question ethically.

Yes I would refuse her. I believe in a womans right to choose, but if she wants to continue her pregnancy, why should she be allowed to put a child at risk of exposure to Alcohol and Nicotine.

A womans right to choose whether she pumps other shít into her body is also her choice. Is it that of her child also?

http://www.sheknows.com/parenting/articles/989881/babies-born-addicted-neonatal-abstinence-syndrome

Muise... wrote: »
    I would hazard a guess that the reason these medical councils are recommending no alcohol at all during pregnancy is that they are erring on the side of caution because carrying out tests to determine how much alcohol a foetus can tolerate without developing FAS would be out of the question ethically.

Then why let pregnant women do so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Cop on! Seriously!

They'd also recommend a single gay man not to drink at all, what's your point?

Orlaw3136 wrote: »

I just think a few people are taking this one incident and having a more general conversation about drinking while pregnant. Obviously no-one doubts that drinking in moderation while pregnant is fine, and even a glass or two of wine is encouraged.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    They'd also recommend a single gay man not to drink at all, what's your point?

I fail to see your point and how it's actually relevant to the discussion. What I'm trying to state is, the consumption of drugs or alcohol during pregnancy could be harmful to the foetus, so why take any chance? After that, a woman who has given birth can go nuts without any repercussions for the child.