Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coconut Oil

• 26-09-2013 6:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

Was looking for better value coconut oil, not too keen on paying €18-€22 in Holland & Barrett and/or other Health Food stores...

Was told they were selling it in Dunnes and Tesco at a cheaper price, went into my local Dunnes and Tesco and no sign of it whatsoever...Do Dunnes and Tesco normally carry coconut oil...

Then in my local ethic food store I was picking up some beans and came across coconut oil, the same size as the ones in the Holland & Barrett and Health food stores and it was only €3.5...The store in question is in Tait's Square near the train station in Limerick

Bargain if I may say so:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

I get mine by the litre in the local arabic shop. costs about 6quid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

I get mine by the litre in the local arabic shop. costs about 6quid.

Felt Ethic was a more PC term:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Dunnus do sell it. Think its only 7 or 8e per 500ml bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Cheers for that A Sober Paddy. Was always keen to try but never wanted to pay a stupid price for it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Over here in Vancouver the ethnic shops are great for stuff like that, massive quantity for very very little price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I get my coconut oil, cream, milk etc from asian shops. Far cheaper.
    Grab a bag of glutinous rice while you are there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Hatfry

Cocowell Organic Coconut Oil is for sale in Dunnes and Supervalu at e6 a tub.

Mellor wrote: »
    I get my coconut oil, cream, milk etc from asian shops. Far cheaper.
    Grab a bag of glutinous rice while you are there.

glutinous rice? Is this a special type of rice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Yeah. It's also known as sticky rice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Yup very good for the glutes...
    ...not really just delicious. I also think that a smaller amount goes further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Supervalu has 500ml for 5 euro I think it is.

Mellor wrote: »
    Yup very good for the glutes...

Look out for the brand No More Lunges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 mmanewbie

KTC coconut oil 500ml from Asian shop on Marys street for €3.60. Great job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Amazon.co.uk sell KTC oil for reasonable prices. free delivery over £25.

I made garlic crackers with coconut oil. These are the same idea as prawn crackers, they grow really big in size and are usually cooked in lots of oil in a deep fryer. Filling a frier with coconut oil would be expensive

Instead of doing that I crushed the uncooked crackers into small bits, I heated oil in a saucepan and tipped it to one side and put my cracker bits in. They still grow in size a lot and you are left with little snacks, sort of like skips, about half the size.

If you put full ones in they would puff up too much and not be fully cooked as they would lift themselves up out of the small amount of oil. With the small volume of oil I just shook them around and they all cooked nicely.

You get uncooked prawn crackers in the asian shops, supermarkets can be a lot dearer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭dor843088

Isnt cocnut oil hydrogenated and contain trans fats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Not if it's non-hydrogenated.

dor843088 wrote: »
    Isnt cocnut oil hydrogenated and contain trans fats?
    It is solid at room temp naturally. On all the sites selling only virgin coconut oil they keep going on about the dangers of non virgin oil, reading some of their marketing crap you would think non virgin stuff is loaded with transfats by law. But I have never seen hydrogenated coconut oil on sale here on any bottles I checked.

KTC is not virgin but not hydrogenated. In some hotter countries or for some recpies they might hydrogenate it to keep it solid when really hot. Mine only went liquid a few days this year when it was really hot.
    Regarding the KTC coconut oil –
    I just got the following email response from them:

"KTC Coconut Oil is 100% pure, refined coconut oil. The oil is not hydrogenated in any way and hexane is not used in the refining process."

Think I'll try it now.

this guy recommends the refined stuff, mainly due to price & versatility due to lower smell
    http://180degreehealth.com/2010/11/refined-coconut-oil

http://nutritionfacts.org/video/does-coconut-oil-clog-arteries/

Is coconut oil supposed to be healthy ?

Unless you're over-indulging,i can't imagine it's unhealthy.

I hear where your coming from but I could make that argument about anything. Im just wondering if people are buying this stuff under the impression that its really healthy ? Poster above is deep frying prawn crackers in it . If buying it for taste fine but for health purposes or an excuse to eat " healthy" fried foods ? Im not so sure.

dor843088 wrote: »
    I hear where your coming from but I could make that argument about anything. Im just wondering if people are buying this stuff under the impression that its really healthy ? Poster above is deep frying prawn crackers in it . If buying it for taste fine but for health purposes or an excuse to eat " healthy" fried foods ? Im not so sure.

It's all relative though. Is there any oil that's particularly healthy if you're using it for a lot of your food? I don't think most people would be under that impression. I'm not against a word of caution. Maybe I'm just giving too much credit to Ordinary Joe as regards oil. I probably am considering how little I knew about nutrition. Not that I know a huge amount now. But to cut a lot of guff short,it's a healthier option if you're using it just as a replacement for vegetable oil,for example. But if you're eating it Ralph Wiggum style,it's not brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭simonsays1

[QUOTE
    KTC coconut oil 500ml from Asian shop on Marys street for €3.60. Great job.[/QUOTE]

I don't buy this any more as it is 'refined' oil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 mmanewbie

simonsays1 wrote: »
    [QUOTE
    KTC coconut oil 500ml from Asian shop on Marys street for €3.60. Great job.

I don't buy this any more as it is 'refined' oil[/QUOTE]

Are you sure there's a difference?

mmanewbie wrote: »
    I don't buy this any more as it is 'refined' oil

Are you sure there's a difference?[/quote]

Big difference between raw virgin oil and refined.

Hatfry wrote: »
    Are you sure there's a difference?

Big difference between raw virgin oil and refined.[/QUOTE]

Whats the difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Drained_Empty

Lads, have you ever seen a sick monkey or a coconut crab? These animals are some of the fittest, sharpest, wisest animals in the jungle/seashore and eat a lot of coconuts. QED. This is a irish crab after a few weeks on the coconuts
    6a00d8341ed39853ef0120a57a22d7970c-800wihttp://asterling.typepad.com/.a/6a00d8341ed39853ef0120a57a22d7970c-800wi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭simonsays1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

IMG_0393.JPG

This is the one I usually get from the Asian (or Korean or... somethin' weird!) Shop... is this 'refined' and therefore not so healthy?

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    This is the one I usually get from the Asian (or Korean or... somethin' weird!) Shop... is this 'refined' and therefore not so healthy?

Have a goo here.

It's a pressing matter the world over!

IMG_0393.JPG

The pot on the right is the one I was talking about in my OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Phoenix wrote: »
    Whats the difference between the biona jars of c oil or the Essential Organic Raw Virgin Coconut Oil you get in a health shop and the coconut oil you get in dunnes/supervalu etc?
    The one in Dunnes and SV is Organic Raw pressed oil, the same as Biona or that other one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Doesn't properly grease the pan, it basically seeps into the food and makes everything taste like a feckin bounty bar.

Next fad please.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

kevpants wrote: »
    Doesn't properly grease the pan, it basically seeps into the food and makes everything taste like a feckin bounty bar.

Next fad please.

You mean of coconuts? You don't expect food to taste of what you cook it with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

Phoenix wrote: »
    Whats the brand name sold in Dunnes or SV?

Cocowel. Use it myself as it's the only one cheap enough that's easily available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Next fad please.

LOL...my thinking exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

So, you're saying there are literally NO drawbacks?!
    Nom Nom Nom :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

IMG_0393.JPG

Saw this in Tesco Rathfarnham today, €1.99 for 500ml

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Next fad please.

Yeah its horrible. Put me off coconut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭innad

I love coconut oil. Cook with it, spread it on toast, use it as a hair treatment, a moisturiser, it's magic :)

Didnt know trans fat made a good moisturiser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭innad

Never used any trans fats as a moisturiser so I wouldn't know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

It's a great moisturiser.

I find the KTC stuff to be really cheap in price and quality. No smell, no taste, it's a bit manky really.
    For the sake of €2/€3 a month I'll get the Cocowell stuff from Dunnes.

I love the taste, didn't really know it was a fad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

CianRyan wrote: »
    It's a great moisturiser.

I find the KTC stuff to be really cheap in price and quality. No smell, no taste, it's a bit manky really.
    For the sake of €2/€3 a month I'll get the Cocowell stuff from Dunnes.

I love the taste, didn't really know it was a fad.

I agree the cocowell stuff is nicer KTC is definitely more processed and even sometimes I got a kind of paraffin smell off it.

I have KTC & cocowell, I use them for different things, some things I would not want any coconut taste to.

Some of the asian supermarkets can have stuff in stock for ages, so good to see it in supermarkets where there should be a frequent turnover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

I'm not fussy on the type of oil, but I'm looking for a bargain as funds are tight! My local Supervalu used to sell the KTC stuff which was grand for my tastes but they don't anymore! It was a bargain and lasted ages. My Dunnes don't have one and my local health shop charges extortionate prices. Any good online, reputable deals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭lightspeed

I'm not fussy on the type of oil, but I'm looking for a bargain as funds are tight! My local Supervalu used to sell the KTC stuff which was grand for my tastes but they don't anymore! It was a bargain and lasted ages. My Dunnes don't have one and my local health shop charges extortionate prices. Any good online, reputable deals?

I got some virgin coconut oil in Super Valu Balbriggan and the same one was still on sale last Sunday. I forget the price but i think it was under €5.00. One im curious about is when i want to put into shakes, a friend of mine suggested that i put it in the mircowave to get it from the wax like state it is in the jar to an actual oil.

The part that is confusing then is weighing it correctly. For example if I throw 20 grams in the microwave, how much has evaporated during the process of microwaving it to an oil?

Should i subsequently weigh the oil in mls considering 1ml is roughly equal to 1 gram?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

lightspeed wrote: »
    The part that is confusing then is weighing it correctly. For example if I throw 20 grams in the microwave, how much has evaporated during the process of microwaving it to an oil?

Should i subsequently weigh the oil in mls considering 1ml is roughly equal to 1 gram?
    You're overthinking this a bit, man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

I originally used the KTC version and then splashed out and bought a fancy proper one which was about €15 or €20 or something. It made me so sick. I tried the bulletproof coffee thing, tried cooking with it, tried eating it raw, every way I tried it made my stomach ache. Ended up dropping the jar by accident, splattering the coconut oil all over the floor and I didn't care!