Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Replacing GB pipe.

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭esox28

gifted wrote: »
    still have my 18" and 9" one as well, over 22 years old, wouldn't use it on rad valves though, would have got the head shouted off me by the chaps I served my time with for marking the chrome on the valves
    only if your heavy handed, some lads will mark valves no matter what they use.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

gifted wrote: »
    still have my 18" and 9" one as well, over 22 years old, wouldn't use it on rad valves though, would have got the head shouted off me by the chaps I served my time with for marking the chrome on the valves

We were always taught never to use Grips (Footprints) on brass, soft metal and all that, Rads were always the good ol Bahco spanner, still have my original pair of those. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭gifted

We were always taught never to use Grips (Footprints) on brass, soft metal and all that, Rads were always the good ol Bahco spanner, still have my original pair of those. :eek:

Adjustable spanner for brass and chrome, wouldn't use 18" stillson on 1/2" or 3/4" GB either, quite easy to collapse the pipe wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,726 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

esox28 wrote: »

Ah that yoke. Used to have one. Actually hated it. Threw it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭sullzz

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    :eek::(:mad::rolleyes::confused::o

sullzz wrote: »
    :eek::(:mad::rolleyes::confused::o

I'd liken it to a vice grips..... Something I'd never have in my tool box!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭scudo2

Mine fell out of the bed one night !

I love it !

Never let me down no matter how badly I treat it. !

Some lads just can't get to grips with tool that require adjustment ;)

WTF. are you missing a few spanners or what ?

Only kidding of cource. I never started a row, u know that !!"

Feckin he'll lads its the ugliest most awkward tool I've ever used. What's wrong with using a spud wrench, grips or Stilson. That yoke looks like a child made it

That yoke looks like a child made it

Ak no!! a child could never use one ;):D

scudo2 wrote: »
    Mine fell out of the bed one night !

I love it !

Never let me down no matter how badly I treat it. !
    As I have said.

Ak no!! a child could never use one ;):D

Because even a child would buy a decent tool!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

I think there the best too ever. Much better than a grips for holding and not marking stuff

All joking aside, i have and use both footprints and stilsons, i prefer footprints because they grip rigidly where as i always feel the spring in stilsons, you can give footprints a better slap with a lump hammer and they're also so!! easy to use.

Because even a child would buy a decent tool!!

Out voted I think. Not trying to use somebody else's words but I quote:

" Your wrong " IMHO

Hmmmmm......

Footprints all day everyday.

I'll have to go n get one now...

Have a flat faced nipex grips I find that a great tool for tap and such where you need alot of force but can't mark, shifting spanner would just slip and ring the work piece.

€80 though.

esox28 wrote: »
    I'll have to go n get one now...

Have a flat faced nipex grips I find that a great tool for tap and such where you need alot of force but can't mark, shifting spanner would just slip and ring the work piece.

€80 though.

Great tool