Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Broken nose... what now?

Mine broke years ago and it re-set crooked. I really regret not getting it looked at straight away after it happened.

Same, i went to A&E too late and they said it was too risky to re-break and resit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

2,487 posts and still doesn't understand how smug and annoying that bloody smiley is.

that's part of the the point.

There's not really anything you can do with a broken nose, is there? I mean, you can hardly stick plaster of paris on it.

• Administrators Posts: 55,317 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Davyhal wrote: »
    Some friends are also advising that I will probably need an x-ray to make sure.

If you flick your nose, does it hurt a lot? :)

• Administrators Posts: 55,317 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

There's not really anything you can do with a broken nose, is there? I mean, you can hardly stick plaster of paris on it.
    Yes there is. It can be re-aligned and will probably have a bandage stuck over it to tryhold it in place.

Sod it! I've broken my nose four times and it now has dent in one side of it.

If I break it again, could they straighten it completely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

My broken schnoz was manually re-aligned by the consultant, by applying pressure on each side with his fingers 'til it audibly clicked into place.

I think it's important to be seen sooner rather than later OP, so as to ascertain whether you've damaged any of the supporting structures / facial bones etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

All head, neck and injuries to the respiratory system should be taken seriously OP.

We'd get similar in training often enough and (mostly) leave them go without treatment but you're not a fighter so I'd advise going to see your GP.

So you can vouch for him being a lover then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Cram your nose full of sponge-pudding and then shove in two lolly-pop sticks up the middle of the sponge to provide support. Cut off the excess lolly-pop sticks with a jig-saw and apply some duct tape to the outside of your nose to keep it all in place. Never fails. ;) It's called the sponge-stick-tape method and originated in Sweden. The Swedes are very advanced medically. Or was it Khazakstan? I always mix those two up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Go to your GP. I'm sure most would be willing to accept payment at a later date, I'd imagine it's a regular request.

You'll probably get told to get an X-Ray and in my experience that'll take less than 30 minutes in Ennis (had a couple of X-Rays done there).

They can probably set it there and then for you too but Christ knows how long that'll take (I've found anything other than X-Rays tend to leave you in the waiting room for a bit).

Also, out of curiosity, which pub was this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Get your flatmate to punch you in the face twice daily until payday to prevent the nasal bone resetting arseways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Hey all,

I know by posting in AH I am asking for some sort of slagging, but I don't know which forum this should be in and mods feel free to move to correct place...

Anyways, my story is I was out on Saturday night and me and my friend were attacked by 4 unsavoury characters. I came out of the incident with two cut eyebrows, a bust lip, a black eye and a swollen nose. I went home, washed myself up and went away to bed cursing the people that did this.

Anyways, today the swelling on my nose has started to go down and it is now looking like my nose is broken, and two former nurses I work with agree. What would be the correct procedure now? It is not an emergency, so I don't think I should go straight to A&E and pay a minimum of €100.00. Should I just try and get an appointment with my GP and get him to have a look at it, and possibly get him to refer me if I do need to go to hospital? Or should I just go straight to A&E and queue up for god-only-knows how many hours to get seen?

Some friends are also advising that I will probably need an x-ray to make sure. Does anyone know if there are extra costs for this, and if so, how much am I looking at? I have health insurance so I should be able to claim back some of the payment.

Another issue is the fact that I am completely broke until payday on Friday. Can I go to the hospital to get checked out and then pay at a later date, or possibly even in installments? I do not have a medical card due to my current working situation, but I don't exactly have much cash floating around at the moment either.

Thanks in advance for any advice folks!

Next time you're out wear favesaver headgear.

http://whiterabbitexpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/winning.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Why were you administered the punch on the nose? Were you talking when you should have been listening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I smashed my nose kayaking a while ago, I straightened it up on the riverbank by kind of holding it between two fingers and squeezing it straight a few times (hurt like a mother****er) It reset and it looks grand now, like I never broke it. Never went to hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

Well I went to the GP in Shannondoc after I finished work, after being lent 50 quid by a mate... He has referred me for an X-Ray at 8am to determine whether its dislocated and needs to be snapped back, or if broken and needs to be reset... signed a letter for me which means x-ray is free... happy days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

An emergency lobotomy and a circumcision id say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Sgt. Al Powell

You just deviated my septum!

Know what I'm sayin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

How hard is it to reset after realignment? As in, would it probably require surgery?

Just back from the hospital after the x-ray... Break is worse than they had anticipated and I also have a cracked cheekbone... Surgery in Limerick next week, which will thankfully be covered by my health insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭xgwishyx

Ouch, good thing that you went so, that could have ended up worse without getting treatment. Fair play, hope it all goes well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

F&$K man, Sorry to hear that. could you identify the guy on CCTV?

WIZE wrote: »
    F&$K man, Sorry to hear that. could you identify the guy on CCTV?

Not going to go into details, but we know exactly who it is, but the guards have informed us that there is nothing that can be done as every time he is brought to court, the judge lets him off as he has two young kids with nobody to look after them. He is well known to the guards. In a small town like I live in, pressing charges would just be drawing attention from the wrong crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,340 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I never liked Ennis.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,859 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Emulate the great Tycho Brahe and use a prosthetic nose, just watch out for the green colouring

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tycho_Brahe#Tycho.27s_nose
    For the rest of his life, he was said to have worn a replacement made of silver and gold,[13] using a paste or glue to keep it attached.[14] Some people, such as Fredric Ihren and Cecil Adams, have suggested that the false nose also had copper. Ihren wrote that when Tycho's tomb was opened on June 24, 1901, green marks were found on his skull, suggesting copper.[14] Cecil Adams also mentions a green coloring and that medical experts examined the remains.[16] Some historians have speculated that he wore different prosthetics for different occasions, noting that a copper nose would have been more comfortable and less heavy than a precious metal one.[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Cut the beak off

...... He who shall not be named

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Just back from the hospital after the x-ray... Break is worse than they had anticipated and I also have a cracked cheekbone... Surgery in Limerick next week, which will thankfully be covered by my health insurance.

Your fairly hardy

Like I mean you thought it was swollen and it turned out that 30% of your face was broken

Have you never got a slap in the face/nose before to not know what was bad pain and what was 'be alright in the morning' pain?

ghogie91 wrote: »
    Your fairly hardy

Like I mean you thought it was swollen and it turned out that 30% of your face was broken

Have you never got a slap in the face/nose before to not know what was bad pain and what was 'be alright in the morning' pain?

I wouldn't call myself hardy, just an old fashioned country boy who grew up in a house of all GAA mad boys, so I wouldnt be a stranger to the A&E now... but mostly, I think it was the fact that it all happened so fast and out of nowhere meant that the shock numbed most of the pain. There wasn't even a nose bleed though, just a few cuts and bumps around my eyes, a black eye and a swollen nose and lip, or so I thought.