Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Broken nose... what now?

• 23-09-2013 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭

Hey all,

I know by posting in AH I am asking for some sort of slagging, but I don't know which forum this should be in and mods feel free to move to correct place...

Anyways, my story is I was out on Saturday night and me and my friend were attacked by 4 unsavoury characters. I came out of the incident with two cut eyebrows, a bust lip, a black eye and a swollen nose. I went home, washed myself up and went away to bed cursing the people that did this.

Anyways, today the swelling on my nose has started to go down and it is now looking like my nose is broken, and two former nurses I work with agree. What would be the correct procedure now? It is not an emergency, so I don't think I should go straight to A&E and pay a minimum of €100.00. Should I just try and get an appointment with my GP and get him to have a look at it, and possibly get him to refer me if I do need to go to hospital? Or should I just go straight to A&E and queue up for god-only-knows how many hours to get seen?

Some friends are also advising that I will probably need an x-ray to make sure. Does anyone know if there are extra costs for this, and if so, how much am I looking at? I have health insurance so I should be able to claim back some of the payment.

Another issue is the fact that I am completely broke until payday on Friday. Can I go to the hospital to get checked out and then pay at a later date, or possibly even in installments? I do not have a medical card due to my current working situation, but I don't exactly have much cash floating around at the moment either.

Thanks in advance for any advice folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

Amputation is the only course of action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I know by posting in AH I am asking for some sort of slagging, but I don't know which forum this should be in and mods feel free to move to correct place...
    412 posts and you can't find somewhere better to post this?? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Davyhal wrote: »
    Hey all,

Anyways, my story is I was out on Saturday night and me and my friend were attacked by 4 unsavoury characters. I came out of the incident with two cut eyebrows, a bust lip, a black eye and a swollen nose. I went home, washed myself up and went away to bed cursing the people that did this.

Anyways, today the swelling on my nose has started to go down and it is now looking like my nose is broken, and two former nurses I work with agree. What would be the correct procedure now? It is not an emergency, so I don't think I should go straight to A&E and pay a minimum of €100.00. Should I just try and get an appointment with my GP and get him to have a look at it, and possibly get him to refer me if I do need to go to hospital? Or should I just go straight to A&E and queue up for god-only-knows how many hours to get seen?

Some friends are also advising that I will probably need an x-ray to make sure. Does anyone know if there are extra costs for this, and if so, how much am I looking at? I have health insurance so I should be able to claim back some of the payment.

Another issue is the fact that I am completely broke until payday on Friday. Can I go to the hospital to get checked out and then pay at a later date, or possibly even in installments? I do not have a medical card due to my current working situation, but I don't exactly have much cash floating around at the moment either.

Youd rather sit at home with a broken nose than pay to fix it in hospital?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

And now all I am thinking of is the Futurama episode with "human horn" being an aphrodisiac...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It's all included in the €100, which you will get a invoice for at a later date. Don't be a idiot, just go to A&E! Another day or so and your broken nose will begin to set, necessitating an operation to fix it.

Youd rather sit at home with a broken nose than pay to fix it in hospital?

I dont mind paying for it, when I have the money, which is Friday. I was just wondering what is the procedure with the hospital.

Guill wrote: »

2,487 posts and still doesn't understand how smug and annoying that bloody smiley is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Due to the fact you broke it a few days ago I think they will re - break it to fix it

I would go to the doctor and get refereed to an Ear - Nose and Throat doctor. This will probably take a few weeks anyways so should be fine for wages.

Well I dont normally have many health related issues to query! I knew that posting in here was not the right place, so i told in OP for mods to move if they wished.

Serious answer:

Get seen to - that's a definite.

As you said, it's not an emergency, so don't clog up A&E! Go to your GP - it will be cheaper anyway. Get him to refer you for an xray and go from there.

Billing after the fact depends on your GP really - my GP would let me pay him another time if I didn't have it. Not all will do the same. Hospital fees can be billed afterward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

Where did the assault happen? Random and unprovoked I presume?

notnumber wrote: »
    Where did the assault happen? Random and unprovoked I presume?

Happened in the jacks at a pub when I knocked on a cubicle door to see was there anyone in there. Apparently the occupant took this as meaning that I wanted a punch to the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Ring your GP, explain what happened and ask for a letter for A&E. This will void the €100 charge. This will also cover X-Rays

If you have VHI heath insurance contact them and see if they have a Swiftcare clinic nearby for their members.

Do get it checked out as you can run into breathing problems etc long term with a broken nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I'll see your :rolleyes: and raise you this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Mine broke years ago and it re-set crooked. I really regret not getting it looked at straight away after it happened.

Miaireland wrote: »
    Ring your GP, explain what happened and ask for a letter for A&E. This will void the €100 charge. This will also cover X-Rays

If you have VHI heath insurance contact them and see if they have a Swiftcare clinic nearby for their members.

Do get it checked out as you can run into breathing problems etc long term with a broken nose.

Not with VHI, with Laya, Company scheme, which is bare minimum cover really. I will see if I can arrange something with the GP then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Not with VHI, with Laya, Company scheme, which is bare minimum cover really. I will see if I can arrange something with the GP then.

Anyone can use the swiftcare clinic, members just get a discount. If you have the cash it's extremely handy. I was in and out with a broken toe in under an hour including x-rays.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

Does your nose make a faint whistling noise every time you breathe through it? That's a really annoying sound.

hardCopy wrote: »
    Anyone can use the swiftcare clinic, members just get a discount. If you have the cash it's extremely handy. I was in and out with a broken toe in under an hour including x-rays.

Unfortunately these clinics are only in Cork and Dublin by the looks of it, and I am in Clare. I will be in Dublin Friday, but I think I should get it checked out before then

Does your nose make a faint whistling noise every time you breathe through it? That's a really annoying sound.

Fortunately it does not, but I do have a head cold, and I still have not been able to stop the habit of pinching my nose every time I sneeze, and that is not fun either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

All head, neck and injuries to the respiratory system should be taken seriously OP.

We'd get similar in training often enough and (mostly) leave them go without treatment but you're not a fighter so I'd advise going to see your GP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

I dont mind paying for it, when I have the money, which is Friday. I was just wondering what is the procedure with the hospital.

Won't they just fix you up and bill you if you show proof of medical insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

Had a big reply written until I remembered that nothing even vaguely resembling medical advice is allowed.

Best thing to do is contact your GP who can advise you to go straight to the emergency dept or to come in and see them first.

For your information: X rays are not done for a suspected broken nose following a blunt trauma (punch), it's a clinical diagnosis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Could someone you know not lend you the money?

I see you are in Ennis so the hospital is only up the road.

Had my own nose broken due to a headbutt years ago and it aint nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I think the best course of action is to start training. Try and find a secluded area to train. Preferably a worn down gym or a cabin in a snowy biome. A trainer is always a plus. Try and find someone who is a loner. Maybe a washed up fighter. Someone who you did not like at the beginning. The more Asian he is, the better the result will be I find.

I suggest "You're the best" as the song for your training montage.

Good luck friend, and remember, sweep the leg.

Keno wrote: »
    I think the best course of action is to start training. Try and find a secluded area to train. Preferably a worn down gym or a cabin in a snowy biome. A trainer is always a plus. Try and find someone who is a loner. Maybe a washed up fighter. Someone who you did not like at the beginning. The more Asian he is, the better the result will be I find.

I suggest "You're the best" as the song for your training montage.

Good luck friend, and remember, sweep the leg.

I already contacted Chesney Hawkes this morning to start writing me a montage song

Could someone you know not lend you the money?

I see you are in Ennis so the hospital is only up the road.

Had my own nose broken due to a headbutt years ago and it aint nice.

No A&E in Ennis anymore, and God only knows what kind of back log there is in Limerick at the moment with the fire that was in the Regional last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No A&E in Ennis anymore, and God only knows what kind of back log there is in Limerick at the moment with the fire that was in the Regional last night

No point suggesting Galway anyway because after fighting your way through the city traffic you will be there for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭xgwishyx

Since you're in Clare - http://www.shannondoc.ie/

Should be approx €50 I think, borrow from friend or family? You really should be seen asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭missierex

It's all included in the €100, which you will get a invoice for at a later date. Don't be a idiot, just go to A&E! Another day or so and your broken nose will begin to set, necessitating an operation to fix it.

I'm not so sure that it is all included...I broke my big toe a few months ago. €100 A&E fee, a further €150 I think for a totally pointless X-ray!

Mine broke years ago and it re-set crooked. I really regret not getting it looked at straight away after it happened.

Same, i went to A&E too late and they said it was too risky to re-break and resit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

2,487 posts and still doesn't understand how smug and annoying that bloody smiley is.

that's part of the the point.

There's not really anything you can do with a broken nose, is there? I mean, you can hardly stick plaster of paris on it.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Some friends are also advising that I will probably need an x-ray to make sure.

If you flick your nose, does it hurt a lot? :)

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

There's not really anything you can do with a broken nose, is there? I mean, you can hardly stick plaster of paris on it.
    Yes there is. It can be re-aligned and will probably have a bandage stuck over it to tryhold it in place.

Sod it! I've broken my nose four times and it now has dent in one side of it.

If I break it again, could they straighten it completely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

My broken schnoz was manually re-aligned by the consultant, by applying pressure on each side with his fingers 'til it audibly clicked into place.

I think it's important to be seen sooner rather than later OP, so as to ascertain whether you've damaged any of the supporting structures / facial bones etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

All head, neck and injuries to the respiratory system should be taken seriously OP.

We'd get similar in training often enough and (mostly) leave them go without treatment but you're not a fighter so I'd advise going to see your GP.

So you can vouch for him being a lover then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Cram your nose full of sponge-pudding and then shove in two lolly-pop sticks up the middle of the sponge to provide support. Cut off the excess lolly-pop sticks with a jig-saw and apply some duct tape to the outside of your nose to keep it all in place. Never fails. ;) It's called the sponge-stick-tape method and originated in Sweden. The Swedes are very advanced medically. Or was it Khazakstan? I always mix those two up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Go to your GP. I'm sure most would be willing to accept payment at a later date, I'd imagine it's a regular request.

You'll probably get told to get an X-Ray and in my experience that'll take less than 30 minutes in Ennis (had a couple of X-Rays done there).

They can probably set it there and then for you too but Christ knows how long that'll take (I've found anything other than X-Rays tend to leave you in the waiting room for a bit).

Also, out of curiosity, which pub was this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Get your flatmate to punch you in the face twice daily until payday to prevent the nasal bone resetting arseways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Hey all,

Next time you're out wear favesaver headgear.

http://whiterabbitexpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/winning.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Why were you administered the punch on the nose? Were you talking when you should have been listening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I smashed my nose kayaking a while ago, I straightened it up on the riverbank by kind of holding it between two fingers and squeezing it straight a few times (hurt like a mother****er) It reset and it looks grand now, like I never broke it. Never went to hospital.

Well I went to the GP in Shannondoc after I finished work, after being lent 50 quid by a mate... He has referred me for an X-Ray at 8am to determine whether its dislocated and needs to be snapped back, or if broken and needs to be reset... signed a letter for me which means x-ray is free... happy days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

An emergency lobotomy and a circumcision id say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Sgt. Al Powell

You just deviated my septum!

Know what I'm sayin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

How hard is it to reset after realignment? As in, would it probably require surgery?

Just back from the hospital after the x-ray... Break is worse than they had anticipated and I also have a cracked cheekbone... Surgery in Limerick next week, which will thankfully be covered by my health insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭xgwishyx

Ouch, good thing that you went so, that could have ended up worse without getting treatment. Fair play, hope it all goes well.