Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Festival 2014 Advice

• 13-09-2013 10:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭

Hi All,

I'm aware that it is very early and there is a hell of alot of racing to be done before March arrives but I'm looking to book accomodation in advance.

To give some background, I've been over 5 or 6 times at this stage between November, Christmas and the Festival itself in March. Always seem to end up staying in same places as close to the middle town as possible. Although great craic, just wondering if there are any other areas of town to consider?

Any good areas up by the Racecourse or villages in the surrounding areas. Where do the majority of racing folk go? Just looking for something different. Any nice pubs outside the main city centre itself (besides the Queens, O'Neills etc.) that are good craic after a days racing.
    What are areas like Bishops Cleeve, Prestbury etc. like to stay at?

Plan on going this year on Monday and flying home Wednesday evening as I usually just go the Wedensday, Thursday, Friday so want to experience something different.

Appreciate any responses.

Thanks,
    Volvic12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

I stay in Prestbury. I found a B&B 6 or 7 years ago, kept their number & stay in the same place each year. There are 3 pubs nearby; The Kings Arms, The Royal Oak & The Plough - all within stumbling distance. They are not as busy as some of the other spots . The track is a 15 min walk or you can get the local "N" bus for 80p with the pensioners, which drops you outside the track near the Community College. There are another good few pubs a cab ride away (another Plough pub near NTD yard, couple of pubs in Winchcome) - in fact, there are loads of other villages you could stay but they are a clip away from the track.

Prestbury is quieter than town but you can always catch a cab into the Queens hotel if you want a livelier spot.

It never ceases to amaze me how many people head there year after year yet post on here looking for accommodation - if you find a good guesthouse, build a rapour with the owners, keep their number & they'll be happy to have you back for all meetings, and a lot cheaper than those who advertise in the papers.

I tend to avoid the main festival as the prices have gone up year on year at the very same time as people have less money. The entry for club is something like £85 a day now which is nothing short of scandalous in this day & age.

Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Volvic12

Thanks for the advice.
    I'm just looking to mix it up this year. Prestbury sounds pretty good so that's looking most likely at the moment. The other places I'm looking at are Bishops Cleeve & Winchcombe. Anyone been to these? Much of the racing crowd stay out here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Edwardguire

I'm flying over on the Monday and coming back on Thursday.. I've flights and accom already booked! Staying in birmingham and going to get the train to cheltenham both days! I'm going alone its far less hassle that way.. Accomadation is crazy expensive near the course! It wouldn't be to bad if there was a group going and sharing the cost of accom, I got 3nights for 100€ 10min walk from new street station in birmingham.. Train tickets are expensive bout 25£ return a day plus 5.90£ shuttle from cheltenham spa to racecourse! Regarding tickets I think I'm going to get club for the first day and tatts the next, and take the chance to sneak in to club on day 2!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

I'm flying over on the Monday and coming back on Thursday.. I've flights and accom already booked! Staying in birmingham and going to get the train to cheltenham both days! I'm going alone its far less hassle that way.. Accomadation is crazy expensive near the course! It wouldn't be to bad if there was a group going and sharing the cost of accom, I got 3nights for 100€ 10min walk from new street station in birmingham.. Train tickets are expensive bout 25£ return a day plus 5.90£ shuttle from cheltenham spa to racecourse! Regarding tickets I think I'm going to get club for the first day and tatts the next, and take the chance to sneak in to club on day 2!

Have you sussed train times before and after the racing? I'd be very tempted to go over for a day or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Im from liverpool and next year will be my first festival trip. We have booked a hotel in worcester for a few nights which is only 20mins on the train. Only paid like 30 quid a night which i thought was good as its not far away so you could maybe look at that town? Cant wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

I got 3nights for 100€ 10min walk from new street station in birmingham..

Travelodge in Birmingham can be had for £24 a night for a room - I found the one on Broad Street a bit ropey

You could stay at the Wetherspoons less than 5 mins walk from New Street - circa £49 a night

Train tickets are expensive bout 25£ return a day

Return is currently £23 but judging how train fares are going up it will be £25 by the festival

Have you sussed train times before and after the racing?

I live in stoke at get the 0944 which gets into New Street 1031

Leaves New street at 1042 and gets into Cheltenham at 1124 - There looks to be 3 trains an hour

Coming back there looks to be 3 an hour (11,40,58) until 2258 last train (based on current timetable)

Hope this helps

abarkie wrote: »
    Travelodge in Birmingham can be had for £24 a night for a room - I found the one on Broad Street a bit ropey

You could stay at the Wetherspoons less than 5 mins walk from New Street - circa £49 a night

Return is currently £23 but judging how train fares are going up it will be £25 by the festival

I live in stoke at get the 0944 which gets into New Street 1031

Leaves New street at 1042 and gets into Cheltenham at 1124 - There looks to be 3 trains an hour

Coming back there looks to be 3 an hour (11,40,58) until 2258 last train (based on current timetable)

Hope this helps

I booked the ibis in birmingham, think it was 96€ for the 3 nights and that's a double room! I emailed cross country trains and was told they won't have pricing/times up till bout 8weeks before the festival! Flights from Dublin to birmingham were 95€ when I booked! There is packages available going Wednesday morning on the boat and back Saturday for 449€ per person but if your travelling alone there's a 150€ supplement.. I personally would rather go the Tuesday and Wednesday! Flights, trains and entry tickets will all come to about 400€! If there's any1 staying in the ibis and travelling to cheltenham by train let me no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

Have you sussed train times before and after the racing? I'd be very tempted to go over for a day or two.
    I booked the ibis in birmingham, think it was 96€ for the 3 nights and that's a double room! I emailed cross country trains and was told they won't have pricing/times up till bout 8weeks before the festival! Flights from Dublin to birmingham were 95€ when I booked! There is packages available going Wednesday morning on the boat and back Saturday for 449€ per person but if your travelling alone there's a 150€ supplement.. I personally would rather go the Tuesday and Wednesday! Flights, trains and entry tickets will all come to about 400€! If there's any1 staying in the ibis and travelling to cheltenham by train let me no!

My prices are double room here:

http://www.travelodge.co.uk/hotels/331/Birmingham-Central-Broadway-Plaza-hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 faulty

Hey,
    Is there any suggestions for accommodation within Cheltenham town or very close by?
    Last year was my first time at the festival, we stayed in Bristol and travelled by train to and from the racing, which was ok, but it would be great to stay in the town.
    Any suggestions would be great? Is it possible to get reasonable priced accommodation?
    I plan to travel on the Monday and stay for Tuesday and Wednesday racing which we did last year.

Cheers

faulty wrote: »
    Hey,
    Is there any suggestions for accommodation within Cheltenham town or very close by?
    Last year was my first time at the festival, we stayed in Bristol and travelled by train to and from the racing, which was ok, but it would be great to stay in the town.
    Any suggestions would be great? Is it possible to get reasonable priced accommodation?
    I plan to travel on the Monday and stay for Tuesday and Wednesday racing which we did last year.

Cheers

This year will be my first year going.. I've already got Accomadation booked in birmingham and I'm going to travel each day on the train (Tuesday and Wednesday) regarding accom in chel, its crazy expensive, as I'm travelling alone it def wasn't an option for me, but if there is a few going in a group it would b worth staying in cheltenham! 40mins of a commute isn't really a lot tho! I've everything already booked flight accom an racecourse tickets! Train tickets aren't on sale yet, prob be the end of December before train tickets are on sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Mossey Joe

We stayed in Gloucester one year and that was grand, hotels weren't as expensive as Cheltenham and there was buses running in for the races and its not far in a taxi back then for the evening

Mossey Joe wrote: »
    We stayed in Gloucester one year and that was grand, hotels weren't as expensive as Cheltenham and there was buses running in for the races and its not far in a taxi back then for the evening

Flights into Bristol from Dublin are steep enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

We stayed in Bristol and the nightlife was so poor we went out in Cheltenham and got the first train back to Bristol in the morning.

Quite a while ago (pre internet) we used to stay in a smashing b&b, 25 Cromwell Street in Gloucster but think they went out of business as we could not get in touch to book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

I've gone the last 6/7 years and stayed at Carlton kings, which is on the outskirts of cheltenham, about 40 min walk to course.. it costs 500 sterling for the full week, for a 2 bedroom house.. Couldn't be happier with it.. vastly cheaper than staying in town and probably nicer than most places..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 faulty

aidankkk wrote: »
    I've gone the last 6/7 years and stayed at Carlton kings, which is on the outskirts of cheltenham, about 40 min walk to course.. it costs 500 sterling for the full week, for a 2 bedroom house.. Couldn't be happier with it.. vastly cheaper than staying in town and probably nicer than most places..

Thanks for the location above, it appears to be sold out on the Monday and Tuesday night already, would be ideal something around that price range and location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

We stayed in a house in Charlton Kings before. It was fine. There were a few grand local pubs around the area to wind down and eat a bit after racing. Taxi to town later worked out fine. The Cheltenham Park Hotel is there too and that bar goes on nearly all night. We stayed there too once.
    http://www.pumahotels.co.uk/hotels/park-hotel-cheltenham/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Lojak

My first time travelling over but after a good bit of searching I found a place on this site https://www.airbnb.ie/ in the town centre for €170 for two of us for 3 nights. Thats €85 each. Only downside is that the two of us are sharing a bed but that wont bother us, its just somewhere to sleep for a few hours every night. There are plenty of other places on that site for anybody looking for a cheap deal!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Lojak wrote: »
    My first time travelling over but after a good bit of searching I found a place on this site https://www.airbnb.ie/ in the town centre for €170 for two of us for 3 nights. Thats €85 each. Only downside is that the two of us are sharing a bed but that wont bother us, its just somewhere to sleep for a few hours every night. There are plenty of other places on that site for anybody looking for a cheap deal!!

I bet it won't! There's a movie in this - Brokeback Racecourse, Cleeve Mountain etc.

Lojak wrote: »

Just be careful with airbnb, as the owner can cancel without penalty if they get a better offer. That website really protects the house owner. If they haven't the price tripled from normal for the festival they are liable to do it anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Lojak

finbarrk wrote: »
    Just be careful with airbnb, as the owner can cancel without penalty if they get a better offer. That website really protects the house owner. If they haven't the price tripled from normal for the festival they are liable to do it anytime.

I was chatting to the lady that owns the property and she seems genuine enough so hopefully all's ok!

I booked flights dublin-birmingham €104 going Monday and back Thursday! Tickets for cheltenham came this morning, 1 club and 1 tatts plus race card both days was €129! Expensive enough.. I thought train prices were bad here, 23 sterling from birmingham to cheltenham PLUS 5.90 sterling return for the shuttle bus, no free shuttle bus there!! Same journey here would be half that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

I booked flights dublin-birmingham €104 going Monday and back Thursday! Tickets for cheltenham came this morning, 1 club and 1 tatts plus race card both days was €129! Expensive enough.. I thought train prices were bad here, 23 sterling from birmingham to cheltenham PLUS 5.90 sterling return for the shuttle bus, no free shuttle bus there!! Same journey here would be half that!!

Shuttle bus isn't needed its only 15mins from town to racecourse. sometimes it quicker to walk...

aidankkk wrote: »
    Shuttle bus isn't needed its only 15mins from town to racecourse. sometimes it quicker to walk...

Walking from the train station to the racecourse do ya have to walk right through cheltenham town?

Do you have accommodation sorted? I'm looking at maybe just going over on the Thursday/Friday at the crack of dawn and flight home Saturday/Sunday.

Ya I've all booked! Train tickets aren't on sale yet so that's all I've left to buy.. Just checked flights again I got mine for 104€ now there 134€!!

Know of any cheap hotels/B&B's near Birmingham train station?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Know of any cheap hotels/B&B's near Birmingham train station?

The likes of the Ibis are usually cheap, c£40 for a twin & a stones throw to New Street

I'm guessing the prices go up festival week due to its proximity to Cheltenham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭anuprising

ive booked flights a couple of weeks ago ,fly into east midlands Monday morning €15 - pick up a ford focus €79 from hertz drive to stratford (60 miles) for irish day ,its half way to Cheltenham ,on to Cheltenham (40 miles)after racing .beer time

Tuesday and wedneday at Cheltenham ,fly out of Bristol Thursday morning €30 ,leave the car in bristol.

have to book accomadation but get the homestay for 50 -60 sterling per night

3 of us going

missed a few years so good to be getting back

edit - reason I get car is I use max 60 pound on petrol and between 3 or 4 works out cheaper and handier that trains or taxis no hanging around ,and we usually spin up to jackdaws castle one evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭anuprising

plus a little known fact about club tickets , you can head up to the course at 7 or 8 am and go to the schooling grounds in the center of the track , chuck wagon there for breakfast ,lots of journalists and most of the irish horses out stretching thier legs great morning out .

The likes of the Ibis are usually cheap, c£40 for a twin & a stones throw to New Street

I'm guessing the prices go up festival week due to its proximity to Cheltenham

I booked the ibis budget in birmingham, the 1 on great colmore street, about 2weeks ago for the Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday night and it was only 62.50 for a double room for three nights! And it's only 10-15min walk from new street station or 5£ in a taxi.. Book directly from there website as its 20€ cheaper than Accomadation sites!!

62.50 sterling that is!

The more and more I see how cheap this is the more tempting it is, probably only be for Gold Cup day mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

I'd encourage you to go Gav, I've been a few times and have no desire to go back, I would much rather the Open in November. But am glad I've been there all the same, every racing fan should do it once. Gold Cup day is hectic.

The more and more I see how cheap this is the more tempting it is, probably only be for Gold Cup day mind you.

I myself wouldn't go on gold cup day, it's far 2 packed! When the first race on the first day starts the roar from the crowd would give ya goose bumps lol.. I got club for the Tuesday an tatts for the Wednesday! Tickets arrived within 5days of buying them! If your going yad want to make up your mind as flights will keep going up, I booked mine at 104€ the same flight is 134€ now.. Plus tickets for the racecourse go up in price from 14th December

Gold Cup day is the Friday, which suits with work. I won't be booking till January, already have a trip to England to be sorted for the start of next year. Large portion of my days off in 2014 will be spent travelling around Ireland again ( :( ) with Shels!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Large portion of my days off in 2014 will be spent travelling around Ireland again ( :( ) with Shels!

Ah **** man, I was depressed today and this hasnt helped. I really feel for you!!

If you go to a Rovers game see if you cant give SRFC a slap, he will be the one in the trilby looking like the bastard child of Superintendent Jim Murphy and Willie Mullins :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Divil666

Mam brought me tickets for my birthday was so happy as it would have been the first time every going until it saw the price of the hotels in Cheltenham now I'll have to sell them now!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭CueCard7

I went over to Cheltenham with 5,000 decided to lump 4,000 on the fly so I could play with the bookies money.

Did nt go to plan, found a bookie to lay me 1000 double on big bucks and que ega .

Sat it out then till big bucks race, made a good few quid on the Friday

CueCard7 wrote: »
    I went over to Cheltenham with 5,000 decided to lump 4,000 on the fly so I could play with the bookies money.

Did nt go to plan, found a bookie to lay me 1000 double on big bucks and que ega .

Sat it out then till big bucks race, made a good few quid on the Friday

Hello - welcome to the forum. You probably want to avoid a guy called SRFC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭handsfree

Get a pork roll in the van behind the club enclosure. I was on 2 a day for a week. Yum Yum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭tonic wine

handsfree wrote: »
    Get a pork roll in the van behind the club enclosure. I was on 2 a day for a week. Yum Yum

The hog roast is beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Divil666 wrote: »
    Mam brought me tickets for my birthday was so happy as it would have been the first time every going until it saw the price of the hotels in Cheltenham now I'll have to sell them now!!

Cheltenhamracingaccommodation home stay. 60gbp
    Per night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭El Ninotorres

Hey all, was wondering for some advise on the below. I'm planning a day trip over for the gold cup and looking at flights at the minute. What I want to know is would it be possible for me to make the 18.50 flight back to Dublin from Bristol? Obviously it would mean leaving before or just after fox hunters? Is anyone else doing this or have they done it before? Any info would be appreciated. It says train takes 1hr 15 from Cheltenham, is this feasible?

I know there is later flight back from Birmingham but price is outrageous.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭tonic wine

Hey all, was wondering for some advise on the below. I'm planning a day trip over for the gold cup and looking at flights at the minute. What I want to know is would it be possible for me to make the 18.50 flight back to Dublin from Bristol? Obviously it would mean leaving before or just after fox hunters? Is anyone else doing this or have they done it before? Any info would be appreciated. It says train takes 1hr 15 from Cheltenham, is this feasible?

I know there is later flight back from Birmingham but price is outrageous.

Cheers

Not worth it. I had to leave early last year after the champion chase to catch my flight as cars were there until 8:30pm on the Tuesday evening trying to get out. It was just mental. Will be different for you as your not driving, but your still going to walk to the bus, wait for it to depart, get to the train station and try catch a flight. To much rushing IMO, enjoy the full day, go on the lash/stay over night, soak up the atmosphere and catch flight home the next day.

tonic wine wrote: »
    Not worth it. I had to leave early last year after the champion chase to catch my flight as cars were there until 8:30pm on the Tuesday evening trying to get out. It was just mental. Will be different for you as your not driving, but your still going to walk to the bus, wait for it to depart, get to the train station and try catch a flight. To much rushing IMO, enjoy the full day, go on the lash/stay over night, soak up the atmosphere and catch flight home the next day.

Cheers mate.. Yeah seemed like a rush. Might just stay over now and come back on the sat, at end of the day want to enjoy it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Cheers mate.. Yeah seemed like a rush. Might just stay over now and come back on the sat, at end of the day want to enjoy it..

Not sure if it suits re work for you etc but Gold Cup Day would be the last day i would go if doing just one day tbh, its mental there no comfort can't get a drink a bet or food or basically anything without queing for an age and been crushed. Tuesday is far and away the best day - and the racecard is more balanced aswell IMO - Supreme Novice, Arkle, Champion Hurdle, Quevega race - what more could you want!

Yeah, agree with that. Tuesday is definitely the best day to go. Great buzz, great anticipation and great racing! As premierstone says, Gold Cup day is chock-a-block with non-racing people on a jolly (no harm in that, obviously), with lower quality races (GC excepted) and a certain element of battle-fatigue among the punting fraternity, after 3 days of hand to hand combat with the old enemy.

byronbay2 wrote: »
    Yeah, agree with that. Tuesday is definitely the best day to go. Great buzz, great anticipation and great racing! As premierstone says, Gold Cup day is chock-a-block with non-racing people on a jolly (no harm in that, obviously), with lower quality races (GC excepted) and a certain element of battle-fatigue among the punting fraternity, after 3 days of hand to hand combat with the old enemy.

Unfortunately with work it's only Thursday or Friday I can go.. Is it worth going the Thursday instead?

Think I struck it lucky with agoda.com. They say they have an apartment for me on Evesham Rd. for around $700 for 3 nights. Mon to Thurs. Its gone to almost that per night since I booked it 2 days ago.

Unfortunately with work it's only Thursday or Friday I can go.. Is it worth going the Thursday instead?

Hobson's choice really! I personally would prefer the Thursday, for the reasons already given. The racing on Thursday is the worst of the 4 days (imo) but I just would not be interested in going on the Friday. I know it's no good to you but Tuesday and Wednesday are the days to go racing at the Cheltenham Festival.