Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Festival 2014 Advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Anyone usually go to the preview night in Cheltenham on the monday? Is it worth going to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

How far would you be talking taxi distance from Cheltenham? Looking at the Travel Lodge Cloucester, everything left in Cheltenham is extortionate prices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Gloucester to Cheltenham is around £25 in a taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Flah

Hi lads, been heading the last 7 years normally stay in Bristol , this year however it's just me and one buddy and we are going over Tuesday morning and returning Wednesday night ... By any chance if someone has a spare room going in Cheltenham for Tuesday night ( long shot I know) pm me as I'd be keen on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

There's a lassie, liz Coe , who does b&b, you'll find her on the net, pricey, but she'll find you a bed near track if your desperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Sheeps1978

First year heading over and cannot wait..been threatening it for years and this is the year..staying in Cardiff..only booked 2 weeks ago and only cost 272 euro per person all in(flights with aer lingus 73, hotel 55 for a double room for two nights, train 44 covering a return ticket for both days and tickets to racing for the Tuesday and Wednesday 100..Tatterstalls tickets)worked out far cheaper than i thought it would..flying in Tuesday morning at half 6 and flying out the Thursday morning at half 11..2 good days racing..train from Cardiff to Cheltenham only 1hr 15mins which is grand..last train back is half 10 so we will probably hang around for a bit after the racing before we get the trainðŸ˜႒

Where is good for a few pints and a bite to eat??

Where is good for breakfast the morning before the racing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Jayo11780

Heading over myself and the auld lad for the first time for the big one - Was there for the open festival in November 2012 but this will be something else...

Plan on bringing home a few bob with me but it never really works out like that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Mossey Joe

Sheeps1978 wrote: »
    First year heading over and cannot wait..been threatening it for years and this is the year..staying in Cardiff..only booked 2 weeks ago and only cost 272 euro per person all in(flights with aer lingus 73, hotel 55 for a double room for two nights, train 44 covering a return ticket for both days and tickets to racing for the Tuesday and Wednesday 100..Tatterstalls tickets)worked out far cheaper than i thought it would..flying in Tuesday morning at half 6 and flying out the Thursday morning at half 11..2 good days racing..train from Cardiff to Cheltenham only 1hr 15mins which is grand..last train back is half 10 so we will probably hang around for a bit after the racing before we get the trainðŸ˜႒

Where is good for a few pints and a bite to eat??

Where is good for breakfast the morning before the racing??

Cafe Rouge is a great spot for brekker, in the centre of the town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Hoppy90

Bump n Run wrote: »
    Cheers! Going Wednesday, Thursday and Friday! Will go to Tattersalls on Wednesday as tickets are only £25 for under 24 year olds! Will probably go the whole hog on the Friday alright..

Hi mate how do you know the tickets are only 25 for under 24? And is it only on the day of the race, where do you get them? thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

Moon Dice wrote: »
    hey boss im going up myself and none of my friends can make it so id be up for a few pints and racing chat[/QUOTE

Hey moon Dice..Drop me a PM if your still up for few pints so in Cheltenham..
    Anyone else heading over on their own let us know and sure we can meet for pints in track or after downtown..the more the merrier:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 aqwert

A lot of people in Cheltenham let rooms during the festival. I got a place on www.gumtree.co.uk 2 years ago and am staying there this year again. 40stg per night and very central. As someone mentioned, Liz Coe will get you a bed but it'll cost at least 60 per night. Would also recommend Cafe Rouge for brekkie, although I was there in January and they had stopped doing the fried potatoes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Edwardguire

Hoofer wrote: »
    Flying over monday morning so I will be in O'Neills most the day watching Stratford and whatever other racing is on that day!sure i'll catch up with you for few pints Monday night in O'Neills or Queens hotel if your around!

I'm staying in birmingham Monday night but hoping to be in cheltenham by 10.30-11.00 Tuesday morning, and travelling back to birmingham on the last train I think its around 11.00.. Same on Wednesday! I'm sorry now that I didn't just book accom in cheltenham..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BangBeater

Into Brimingham from Cork on Monday March 10th. Staying in Birmingham near New Street. Heading to Cheltenham for Champ Hurdle day.

Thinking of going to Stratford on the Monday prior to Chelts. Anyone planning on going? Is it easy to get to from Stratford train station, etc?

Starting to get excited now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Moon Dice

It might be a stupid question but can you access the best mate areas as well when you have a tattersalls ticket?

Don't think so (more importantly, why would you want to go to that enclosure? Its inferior to tatts imo & priced accordingly)

Edit - I guess you may have friends in the BM enclosure as well? I don't think you can hop between both - eg, BM enclosure has a capacity constraint but they may let you go in if you ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Volvic12

BangBeater wrote: »
    Into Brimingham from Cork on Monday March 10th. Staying in Birmingham near New Street. Heading to Cheltenham for Champ Hurdle day.

Thinking of going to Stratford on the Monday prior to Chelts. Anyone planning on going? Is it easy to get to from Stratford train station, etc?

Starting to get excited now!

Was thinking of going to Stratford alright but now I think I'll go straight to Cheltenham and chill out and watch the racing in a pub there

Thanks Bumper i was just wondering. One of the lads got tickets for there instead of Tatts like the rest of us. What a dope

Volvic12 wrote: »
    Was thinking of going to Stratford alright but now I think I'll go straight to Cheltenham and chill out and watch the racing in a pub there

You staying in Cheltenham? We will be in Birmingham on the Monday from early anyway so I would think best option for us is to head for Stratford for that day and get warmed up. (And if so, to hold the head and keep the Cheltenham bank intact for the following day!)

Hey lads sorry another question. Something more trivial this time. Whats the general dress code? Suit on lads day and just smart casual the rest of the time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Hey lads sorry another question. Something more trivial this time. Whats the general dress code? Suit on lads day and just smart casual the rest of the time?

Top hats or turbans only all week.

Smart casual? Its not Ascot you are off to.

Right oh ill pack my reebok shell suit so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Hoggy_vegas

What's the nap of the week gents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Tap Night in the Byrne Group plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 FranoTheMano

Lads, have accom booked in Bristol for Tuesday night and a train booked back for 11 o clock that night. However, Im half thinking about staying in Cheltenham that night without accommodation and getting the first train back in the morning at 5.53. Anybody know what time the pubs in Cheltenham close? Or would I be better off just getting the train on Tuesday night as originally planned?

What train you getting up from Bristol in the morning Fran?Wondering how early to go myself

Getting the half 10 train from Bristol. Gets into Cheltenham at 10 past 11 so quick pint in the town and then out to the course. Tbh, I would like to be there even earlier but am only travelling to Bristol that morning and need to drop the bags off etc....

What sort of time you thinking about?

Ill go a bit earlier than that. About the 9 o clock maybe or earlier. Im getting to Bristol monday evening so ill be all set. Gonna get the last train back from Cheltenham that evening myself. Dont wanna be too shook wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Lads, have accom booked in Bristol for Tuesday night and a train booked back for 11 o clock that night. However, Im half thinking about staying in Cheltenham that night without accommodation and getting the first train back in the morning at 5.53. Anybody know what time the pubs in Cheltenham close? Or would I be better off just getting the train on Tuesday night as originally planned?

The likes of the Queens Hotel or the Park will serve away into the morning. Tough going though if you are on the beer all day.

Get the train back Tuesday. Pulling an all nighter on Day 1 would ruin your week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Staying in Bristol myself for a few days. Few questions if anyone could help:

- Is it ok to buy the train tickets on the day, thinking about the 10.30 from Bristol and not sure coming back yet as CL games those nights
    - Should you book train now / do they get booked out?
    - Any good spots in Bristol for drinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Warper wrote: »

- Is it ok to buy the train tickets on the day, thinking about the 10.30 from Bristol and not sure coming back yet as CL games those nights

The way UK trains work, booking ASAP is usually cheapest. Train was fairly packed on the way there from what I remember in the mornings. There was a good Marina with a few bars across from where we stayed, but remember its Tues/Wed night in a city with nothing going on, so likely to be quiet.

BumperD wrote: »
    Get the train back Tuesday. Pulling an all nighter on Day 1 would ruin your week.

Only heading up for the Tuesday at the moment due to other commitments. Hoping to go Wednesday also, in which case I'll go back to Bristol Tuesday night. If not, I might stay in Cheltenham until the first train back!

I'm staying in birmingham and I've my tickets booked in advance 24£ sterling a day! I booked off peak trains that way I'm not tied to a time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 WICKED MAN

Well as cheap as you'll got

www.crosscountrytrains.co.uk

Good luck all have a blast-got a nice wedge on Briar Hill in PP the other day enhanced to 9/2,only fair to give it back I guess!

I'm staying in birmingham and I've my tickets booked in advance 24£ sterling a day! I booked off peak trains that way I'm not tied to a time!

Staying in Birmingham also and got the £36 any time return tickets just in case certain train times in morning going there are not off peak ones. Check that one out just in case.

Any folks on here heading to Stratford on the Monday?

Staying in Birmingham also and got the £36 any time return tickets just in case certain train times in morning going there are not off peak ones. Check that one out just in case.

I checked that out before I got them! Any train after 9am and any train after about 7pm.. So der fine!! Train tickets are crazy expensive over der...

Pricey enough from Birmingham to Cheltenham... But for some reason then going from Birmingham to Stratford, which is a similar distance is only approx £8 return!

Not sure why

Pricey enough from Birmingham to Cheltenham... But for some reason then going from Birmingham to Stratford, which is a similar distance is only approx £8 return!

Not sure why

Because they no they'll get it cheltenham week.. The same journey the week after cheltenham would be less than half that! For a 40min journey its scandless.. What nights are you staying in birmingham?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

So if i book a train for say 10.00 pm coming back from Cheltenham to Bristol i could get say the 9 or 11 if i wanted as they are off-peak?

Ya they'd be off peak! Morning time approx 6.30am- 9.00am is peak and 4.30pm- 7.00pm! There roughly the peak times with people travelling to and from work..

Because they no they'll get it cheltenham week.. The same journey the week after cheltenham would be less than half that! For a 40min journey its scandless.. What nights are you staying in birmingham?

We're there the Monday and Tuesday night. What about yourself?

If they tell you as off peak on website, then you'll be grand. But for the added security having the any time return is safer for the extra few quid I think...

We're there the Monday and Tuesday night. What about yourself?

I'm there Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday night, Staying in d ibis.. Where ye staying?

Holiday Inn there very near Birmingham New Street Train Station... All we'll need anyway is a bed and a roof so should be grand!

Oh that's all der won't b much time spent in d room neway.. Ill mail ya my number an we can meet up 1 of d days for few pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭boysinblack

Any looking for champion hurdle ticket day ? mate pulled out its a tasttersalls ticket.

How much ya looking for it boysinblack? My friend might be looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭boysinblack

40 euro , inculdes racing post and raceard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Oh that's all der won't b much time spent in d room neway.. Ill mail ya my number an we can meet up 1 of d days for few pints

Welcome to the forum. As per forum charter, can you please avoid using text speak as it's really difficult to read.
    40 euro , inculdes racing post and raceard.

Unfortunately we can't facilitate the buying/selling of tickets on this forum, but you can advertise them on adverts.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

So a group of 9 of us were meant to fly from dublin at 8.00 am on friday for the Goldcup. Ryanair have just informed that our flight has been delayed til 9:35 due to siptu strike. which means we will be in Bristol at 10:40. Its a disaster really as we have rented a house in Cheltenham for the night and we want to drop our bags off etc. We will be very lucky to get there for the first race I think.

Can anyone till me approx. how long it would take to get off the plane, through security and to get to Bristol Train station.