Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Are NightClubs Illegal In Ireland?

• 31-08-2013 11:16am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24

It's glaringly obvious to any night owl that has left the country in the last 20 years that there is a distinct difference between Irish nightlife and that from abroad. In fact Ireland has the earliest closing times in Europe. Some argue that this goes back to legislation drawn up by the British. Thus far, those draconian night-time entertainment laws have not been updated by our representatives. Here's the situation:

*To play music and sell alcohol after 1am, venue owners must apply for further licensing permits totaling tens of thousands of Euro per annum. These permits are called SEO's and there is a certain allocation of them. To obtain these SEO's, a venue owner must fill out applications relating to the specific night and file it with the district court on an individual case-by-case basis. There are several other hoops that have to be jumped through also. Can you think of anything more bureaucratic? What an unmitigated mess!

Chucking everyone out on the street at the same time (because of the current laws) is a recipe for disaster. Sure, we have a lot of pubs/bars and they play their role but we don't have any nightclubs. The current law describes them as "dancehalls with attached bar". I really believe we should grab this opportunity with both hands. Dublin could be a great weekend destination for club-goers similar to London, Berlin, Amsterdam, Ibiza and start to attract some of the biggest DJ names in the world.

It would really be a shot in the arm for tourism and safety too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Cos nightclubs are ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Getting shítfaced at a lock-in is far better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Because you touch yourself at nights.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 Kruse

Cos nightclubs are ****e.
    Duff wrote: »
    Getting shítfaced at a lock-in is far better.

Great arguments you have there. They're so good, they've managed to avoid the question altogether.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Kruse wrote: »
    Great arguments you have there. They're so good, they've managed to avoid the question altogether.

Didn't even read your post tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

It's glaringly obvious to any night owl that has left the country in the last 20 years that there is a distinct difference between Irish nightlife and that from abroad. In fact Ireland has the earliest closing times in Europe. Some argue that this goes back to legislation drawn up by the British. Thus far, those draconian night-time entertainment laws have not been updated by our representatives. Here's the situation:

*To play music and sell alcohol after 1am, venue owners must apply for further licensing permits totaling tens of thousands of Euro per annum. These permits are called SEO's and there is a certain allocation of them. To obtain these SEO's, a venue owner must fill out applications relating to the specific night and file it with the district court on an individual case-by-case basis. There are several other hoops that have to be jumped through also. Can you think of anything more bureaucratic? What an unmitigated mess!

Chucking everyone out on the street at the same time (because of the current laws) is a recipe for disaster. Sure, we have a lot of pubs/bars and they play their role but we don't have any nightclubs. The current law describes them as "dancehalls with attached bar". I really believe we should grab this opportunity with both hands. Dublin could be a great weekend destination for club-goers similar to London, Berlin, Amsterdam, Ibiza and start to attract some of the biggest DJ names in the world.

It would really be a shot in the arm for tourism and safety too.
    I agree with you. Sadly, we are ruled by a bunch of Teachers and solicitors from Mayo, who consider two pints and a walk home to be "a mad night out" and legislate accordingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Welcome to 'After Hours' pilgrim...this should be fun ;) :P

Went to a reunion in Tuam recently. At midnight a group of us decided to go into the town to a bar. Was there til 4am and place was still busy and drinks flowing.
    Who says everywhere closes at 1am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Are they? :0 they just close by 2 or 2.30am or so. Its illegal to be open longer than that unless they have a special licence. There are restrictions for last time they serve at the bar maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Because if you haven't shifted before 1am then there no hope for you.
    Have yis no homes to go to ladies and gents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

sugarman wrote: »
    Youre talking bollox. In more cases it more common most countries close earlier or at the same time of us baring a few such as some you mentioned.

The whole US/Canada generally close at 2am latest MAYBE a couple of 3am but thats pushing it.

In the Nordic countries, Sweden, Denmark, Norway.. they all close at 1/1,30am. And tough tits if you have a pint or 2 in hand. Youre turffed out when the clock hits 1/1.30 regardless. Or if youve had more than 4pints youre deemed drunk:eek:

Then you have Italy, Spain, France etc.. that are simliar again to ourselves.

But you do have a point, the option should be there and not just nightclubs. Bars too. The whole of temple bar open till 5am or so weekends would be great for business and tourism. A defined area of the city that can be managed and controlled easily by police too.

Well that's definately wrong. Try finding a bar that is busy before midnight in Spain, they don't exist. Opening times in Spain are usually until 6 or 7 am.

Otherwise I agree with you though.

Oh and Op if you think Ireland is ****e for nightclubs try Italy, the concept of bars/nightclubs basically doesn't exist for the most part.

Went to a reunion in Tuam recently. At midnight a group of us decided to go into the town to a bar. Was there til 4am and place was still busy and drinks flowing.
    Who says everywhere closes at 1am.

You're getting confused. You said "bar". Yes, but nightclubs are illegal.

THIS is a bar.

http://toocoolforjesus.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/people-at-Bar2.jpg

THIS is a nightclub. THIS is what is illegal in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Youre talking bollox. In more cases it more common most countries close earlier or at the same time of us baring a few such as some you mentioned.

The whole US/Canada generally close at 2am latest MAYBE a couple of 3am but thats pushing it.

In the Nordic countries, Sweden, Denmark, Norway.. they all close at 1/1,30am. And tough tits if you have a pint or 2 in hand. Youre turffed out when the clock hits 1/1.30 regardless. Or if youve had more than 4pints youre deemed drunk:eek:

But you do have a point, the option should be there and not just nightclubs. Bars too. The whole of temple bar open till 5am or so weekends would be great for business and tourism. A defined area of the city that can be managed and controlled easily by police too.

Exactly... I remember being in Luxembourg for the weekend a few years back and I was very surprised at how early the city closed down, even at the weekend. Turns out if you want a good night out you head over the border to a town in Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I
    Dublin could be a great weekend destination for club-goers similar to London, Berlin, Amsterdam, Ibiza and start to attract some of the biggest DJ names in the world.
    Well, when you put it like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

THIS is a bar.

]http://toocoolforjesus.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/people-at-Bar2.jpg[/url]

Too cool for jesus. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

In the Nordic countries, Sweden, Denmark, Norway.. they all close at 1/1,30am. And tough tits if you have a pint or 2 in hand. Youre turffed out when the clock hits 1/1.30 regardless.

I found that in Boston. We were served drinks then immediately told that they were closed and to get out. Had to knock back a long island iced tea and hit the road. No concept of drinking-up time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

I agree with you. Sadly, we are ruled by a bunch of Teachers and solicitors from Mayo, who consider two pints and a walk home to be "a mad night out" and legislate accordingly.

Two pints? You cannot compare the irresponsible drinking culture of the Irish to that of our central European cousins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Dublin could be a great weekend destination for club-goers similar to London, Berlin, Amsterdam, Ibiza and start to attract some of the biggest DJ names in the world.

London? Berlin? Ibiza? Dublin has no hope of ever competing with any of those clubbing destinations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

No happy hour in the states? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭recourse

Its bad enough if you live next to a Pub to hear the noise at closing time. And once or twice a month the emergency services called to deal with someone who has fallen on the street.

No way to a night club .. Not unless its somewhere so far away it does not bother the locals.

So No.. Not in my back yard,, not now or ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭FionnK86

My friend played an acoustic gig in London at 3a.m. last week! Never seen anything like that in Ireland, apparently there was 200 people in a packed out bar, all singing along and up for it at that hour! Would've love to have seen that...its a shame theres nothing like that I know of in Ireland :(

Used to be a cool unofficial jazz/bar in Montmatre, Paris in the 90's called 'Le Chat Noir'...all the jazz muso's used to flock to the place when they finished up the day gig to party & jam :cool:

Fell out of there many's a night at the crack of dawn, even started liking jazz :D

London? Berlin? Ibiza? Dublin has no hope of ever competing with any of those clubbing destinations.

But why not? We'll never have the chance if we don't deregulate the strict nightlife laws. Sure, Dublin is far smaller than Berlin and London but perhaps you might have a point. After all Tripod had to close it's doors because of Coppers and Krystals (two bars). So maybe the market just isn't there for it. Perhaps we Irish prefer getting dressed up and mingling in bars over pop music. Which is a shame because Tripod came the closest to being an actual "nightclub".

Carl Cox played at Tripod in 2009 which by todays standards is astonishing. Even though I don't like the guy, Paul van Dyke played there too in 08, as well as John Digweed, Booka Shade, Armin van Buuren, Loco Dice. We had Groove Armada in Dublin too. But those years are gone now. DJ's just don't see Dublin as a viable or credible night spot anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

But why not? We'll never have the chance if we don't deregulate the strict nightlife laws. Sure, Dublin is far smaller than Berlin and London but perhaps you might have a point. After all Tripod had to close it's doors because of Coppers and Krystals (two bars). So maybe the market just isn't there for it. Perhaps we Irish prefer getting dressed up and mingling in bars over pop music. Which is a shame because Tripod came the closest to being an actual "nightclub".

Carl Cox played at Tripod in 2009 which by todays standards is astonishing. Even though I don't like the guy, Paul van Dyke played there too in 08, as well as John Digweed, Booka Shade, Armin van Buuren, Loco Dice. We had Groove Armada in Dublin too. But those years are gone now. DJ's just don't see Dublin as a viable or credible night spot anymore.

We are a state governed by arseholes. Worse yet, we vote them in.

Grooverider & Goldie on the same night in The Kitchen back in the day...still get rushes goosebumps thinking about it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Probably because people would loose track of time/no leave and go home, etc.

In Berlin last year, went to some really cool massive nightclub with the lads,

Only reason we left was we were out of cash, went outside, sun was coming up.

Deadly craic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Twisted Pepper.

they've had some big names in the last couple of years, Jeff Mills, Ben Sims, some proper techno legends.

Residence nights, recently have had Dada Life, and more.

there's rumours of Carl Cox coming back at some stage in the future as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

ah shure don't ye have to get home in time to milk the cows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

To be fair if we were allowed to drink until 4 or 5am there would be mayhem on the streets. People would intially go out at the same times and hence be drinking 3 hours longer, it would take time for people to adjust. Basically a huge headache for the gardai if they altered opening times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

HoggyRS wrote: »
    To be fair if we were allowed to drink until 4 or 5am there would be mayhem on the streets. People would intially go out at the same times and hence be drinking 3 hours longer, it would take time for people to adjust. Basically a huge headache for the gardai if they altered opening times.

Sending 15000+ drunk people onto the streets at 2 am all looking for more drink and/or pussy leads to bigger trouble than if people sauntered away when they were done/ out of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Bit of a nonsense alright. It doesn't have to be a widespread all hours policy but there should at least be an option for nightclubs to avail of an all night licence.

Here in Prague there are a few late night clubs which kick off about 3 and run through to midday. I've rarely ever seen hassle in them apart from some clowns who got ridiculously drunk and had to be turfed out. Adults should have the option to party all night in a controlled licensed premises if they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

But in the kinds of clubs he's talking about, you could be there until 6/7am.. At least in NYC.
    Also, some of the Chicago blues bars are open til 4am weekdays, and 5am at the weekend.
    Lousiana and Nevada can be open 24hrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

THIS is a bar.

http://toocoolforjesus.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/people-at-Bar2.jpg

That looks like my idea of hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭irishdude11

Oh what a tragedy...what point is there in even heading out when we dont have one of these DJs to come along and press play on an mp3 player for us. Instead we have to put up with some local tossers pressing play on an mp3 player...maybe one day one of these big name international tosspots will fly in and we will get the opportunity to pay them 1000 times as much as the local tosspot to press play on an mp3 player...fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

i couldnt agree more OP. our nightlife is a laughing stock compared to real cities. i was in liverpool in february and their clubs dont close until around 6am..made me realise how pathetic nights out in town are

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭coniosumadre

What absolute rubbish??where exactly are you pulling your facts out of(besides the obivous?)Spain Italy and France have similar closing times to us??what absolute rubbish....the worst ive read for a long time.

But dont forget, the Dáil bar somehow manages to stay open til 5am ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Oh what a tragedy...what point is there in even heading out when we dont have one of these DJs to come along and press play on an mp3 player for us. Instead we have to put up with some local tossers pressing play on an mp3 player...maybe one day one of these big name international tosspots will fly in and we will get the opportunity to pay them 1000 times as much as the local tosspot to press play on an mp3 player...fingers crossed!

And that's why we can't have nice things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭coniosumadre

Most bars that close at 01:00 or earlier, will have a free entry policy. Most bars and clubs that remain open until 03:00 will charge an entrance fee. Some clubs in the larger cities remain open until 05:00. Their entrance fee will usually be around 200 SEK (~US$28.00.

From the Sweden wiki travel page...again more bollox you´re talking...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

MarkY91 wrote: »
    i couldnt agree more OP. our nightlife is a laughing stock compared to real cities. i was in liverpool in february and their clubs dont close until around 6am..made me realise how pathetic nights out in town are

Shanghai - 24-hour bars, nightclubs that open late and close the next morning, DJs from across the globe, but hardly any fighting in the streets come closing time, happy hour deals, 2 for 1s, massive variety. Ireland, and in a microcosm Dublin, is way behind. But that's not to say that it couldn't change to something better - it just takes time and steady transition.

HoggyRS wrote: »
    To be fair if we were allowed to drink until 4 or 5am there would be mayhem on the streets.

Flood the streets with high grade coke. Level off the aul alcohol buzz.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Aidric wrote: »
    Flood the streets with high grade coke. Level off the aul alcohol buzz.

Top it off with curry chips and a few dirty young wans and it'd be near-vana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

MonstaMash wrote: »
    Used to be a cool unofficial jazz/bar in Montmatre, Paris in the 90's called 'Le Chat Noir'...all the jazz muso's used to flock to the place when they finished up the day gig to party & jam :cool:

Fell out of there many's a night at the crack of dawn, even started liking jazz :D

Licking jazz?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I've a mate who flies in Berlin DJs for events. He's doing the E.Pic this weekend. His biggest issue is getting licences and venues, mainly licences.. there's punters aplenty, and I do get why. It's a missed opportunity, we have a party reputation, why not play to it? Why do we strive to be somthing we are patently not? The world wants to party, and here we are busting our chops trying to be all serious and hard working? Seriously? Fcuk that, i'd rather get rich partying than slogging to please some pharma gobdaw. Does this fact escape our masters? Ireland could be a wet Ibiza if they loosened up. The only thing promoting a "go-getter good-boy ireland" has done is make us a borefest for tourists and it will ultimatly kill our tourism industry. Tourism and farming were our strengths, we should play to our strengths and stop pandering to FMNC. Ireland was always for craic, we're killing the golden craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

We'd drink ourselves to death if we had the same closing times of other European countries.

Nah, people would adjust their drinking habits accordingly and if they don't then they're mongs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

David Guetta is not the only one of "these DJs". Don't be so close minded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

Youre talking bollox.

That's wrong,last time I was out in Norway in a nightclub,they stopped serving at 2:30,but you are allowed to finished your drinks until they close at 3am.
    And I had more than 4 pints,lol.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I do think that closing times here are much too early, and that nite clubs should be allowed go on til 4am at weekends, but anyone who wants a late drink will have no problem getting one once they no where to look.

I drink in a bar that doesn't open until 10, there's never more than a handful in it until after 12.

The door is locked at 1.30 and anyone who is in by that time can stay until around 5.

There's music one night a week that starts at around 1.

It's great while you're there, but forget about it if you've to work or do stuff the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,778 ✭✭✭worded

Do we have a minister for sound here?
    Do we need a clubbing portfolio ? Oh yeah !