Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

advice needed

• 29-08-2013 9:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭

Hi Guys
    Need a bit of advice. I am in a coillte lease with 5 others.
    I found out this evening from one of the guys in the lease that some lad shot 14 deer in our lease last week.
    turns out the guy in the lease knows this lad and was telling us to prove his point that there was very little deer on it.
    What is the best course of action. We know the lads name address the whole lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

How does your man in the lease feel about it first off.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Just to be clear.

A lad, not a member off the 5 on the lease, shot 14 deer last week from the lease?
    • Did he pay into the lease (without you knowing)
    • Did he have a section 42 (not sure how or if this works on Coilte)
    • Have you got proof (carcasses, game dealer taking them in, video/pictures, etc)
    • Are you all prepared to make statements to the NPWS, and follow it to court (if it goes that far)
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭widespread

How does your man in the lease feel about it first off.
    He was just using it as a way to tell us there is a lot of deer up on the lease. It didn't bother him one bit until he saw our reaction. He started to try and back pedal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭widespread

Cass wrote: »
    Just to be clear.

A lad, not a member off the 5 on the lease, shot 14 deer last week from the lease?
    • Did he pay into the lease (without you knowing)
    • Did he have a section 42 (not sure how or if this works on Coilte)
    • Have you got proof (carcasses, game dealer taking them in, video/pictures, etc)
    • Are you all prepared to make statements to the NPWS, and follow it to court (if it goes that far)
    He is not paying into the syndicate. In fact none of the rest of use know him.

coillte as far as I know don't operate the section 42.

we don't have any proof other than what the guy in the lease has told us.
    The guy that has shot the 14 deer is not a member of the lease.
    Not sure about the NPWS. We all would have to discuss it.

It's a hard one.
    Do you confront him
    Do you report him anonymously

I have to say the tricky part is

Is that a guy on the lease is mates with him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

widespread wrote: »
    He is not paying into the syndicate. In fact none of the rest of us know him.
    Then he is trespassing.
    coillte as far as I know don't operate the section 42.
    I thought so, but as i've never used a Colite lease i only assumed they didn't. Given their strict guidelines on when you can shoot i couldn't see them issuing or allowing section 42s.
    we don't have any proof other than what the guy in the lease has told us.
    This is the key point. You need to make sure it's the truth, yuou need to able to verify his statements, and more importantly that he wasn't just blowing smoke up your ass.

You know how some lads come out with something to brag or show off, but realise very quickly that what they've said has or can lead to trouble so they try to avoid it like the plague.
    Not sure about the NPWS. We all would have to discuss it.
    As above. Making an accusation is a big step, making one without proof or some witnesses will be viewed as slander/time wasting.

I'm all for following up on poachers (technically that is what this lad is), but you need to be prepared not only for what is necessary to lodge a complaint, but also the fall-out from what it will begin. That is not telling you not to pursue it, but it is not such a simple task and there is no point in sugar coating it.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

if this is without a doubt true then the guy that knows this poacher is as bad as him, if i was you id be talking to the rest of the lads about kicking him out. as cass said its probably going to be hard to prove, as its hearsay without proof, but poaching is poaching and theres no two ways about it. if what he told you,s is bulls**t, then hes opened a can of worms and hes probably regretting it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Unfortunately its not what you know, its what you can prove. Its not a nice situation to be in, I do feel for ye. Best of luck sorting it out.

If your interested in doing something about it. As cass said all angles and things involved has to be considered. But if your seriously interested in doing something about it rather than just coursing him.

My first step would be to find out if he processes the carcasss himself. He more than Likely didn't sell them to a dealer anyway. If he processes him self they should be hanging there.

Did the guy on the lease warn him he let it slip.

But to be honest 7 deer seems a bit much to me 1 week before the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

If your interested in doing something about it. As cass said all angles and things involved has to be considered. But if your seriously interested in doing something about it rather than just coursing him.

My first step would be to find out if he processes the carcasss himself. He more than Likely didn't sell them to a dealer anyway. If he processes him self they should be hanging there.

Did the guy on the lease warn him he let it slip.

But to be honest 7 deer seems a bit much to me 1 week before the season.

It was 14 deer according to the OP! And thats a lot of deer to process yourself!! Would a game dealer take deer out of season without an accompanying sec 42 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

It was 14 deer according to the OP! And thats a lot of deer to process yourself!! Would a game dealer take deer out of season without an accompanying sec 42 ?

This close to the season, all they have to do is hang them off site till Sunday then they are legitimate.

Game Dealers and Integrity are not words you hear spoken in the same sentence for a reason ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Lastin

You need to meet with the members of your lease and decide on a course of action. If someone has shot 14 deer on your lease he will talk about it everywhere, very soon you have a free for all.

Game deer won't take them with out a section 42 anyway.

14 deer even. If its true I'd hit the roof. Something is telling me its **** doe unless he is an animal and will shoot anything that cross's his path.

You will know soon enough if your out and pending how your own season is going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭stoeger2000

Game deer won't take them with out a section 42 anyway.

14 deer even. If its true I'd hit the roof. Something is telling me its **** doe unless he is an animal and will shoot anything that cross's his path.

You will know soon enough if your out and pending how your own season is going.

Plenty of game dealers will look the other way if there's a few quid in it for them.

And it wouldn't be a great stretch to take 14 deer, if he was lamping it, he could have quite easily taken that many in the space of a few nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

A lot of people have put in a lot of time and money to get on a coillte lease ie, HCAP, insurance and in most cases a lot of money. Then you get some sneaky a**hole who could,nt be arsed to go trough the proper procedures to be legal, taking 14 deer on lands that someone else has struggled to get, not to mention out of season. Sorry lads it pisses me off. If it was a lad taking one for the pot it might not be so bad, [ but still wrong] but 14, he should be crucified. As you all know poaching is epidemic at the moment and you have to remember that deer stalking is a privlage and can be taking away just as quick, look what happened in kerry, its not impossable that it could happen with other spieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭johnny3

14 dr sounds like bullsh..e but if he has the market for them he's shooting for money and the prob men's lamping late at nite when he's not going to get caught
    It there any e advance left behind like marks of a jeep or where they wer gutted out emty shells if not he's prob one of dees gob****es make in up a story to piss ye off cuss ye got d tender and he didn't
    Shurly ye hav some idea of how many dr is in it and just watch it c what happens cuse if there's 14 missing ul no and if you done miss them there's a lot of dr in it and shur what about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

johnny3 wrote: »
    14 dr sounds like bullsh..e but if he has the market for them he's shooting for money and the prob men's lamping late at nite when he's not going to get caught
    It there any e advance left behind like marks of a jeep or where they wer gutted out emty shells if not he's prob one of dees gob****es make in up a story to piss ye off cuss ye got d tender and he didn't
    Shurly ye hav some idea of how many dr is in it and just watch it c what happens cuse if there's 14 missing ul no and if you done miss them there's a lot of dr in it and shur what about it

Agreed...

Without coming across as smart, the rest of that made my eyes hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

The whole thing sounds like bull ****. It sounds like the guy was telling the OP porkies in an effort to let them think there are lots of deer on the let. ie " my mate was up last week and shot 14 no bother" that just does not happen..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭tomtucker81

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    The whole thing sounds like bull ****. It sounds like the guy was telling the OP porkies in an effort to let them think there are lots of deer on the let. ie " my mate was up last week and shot 14 no bother" that just does not happen..

Agreed, why would a fella on the lease tell the others about a 'friend' that is shooting on their lease, out of season, and as mentioned in previous posts, more than likely by lamping? And blatantly trespassing.