Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VIDEO: ‘Brazen’ woman steals flowers from city centre display

• 22-08-2013 11:30am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

From the Journal.ie

http://www.thejournal.ie/woman-robs-flowers-dublin-city-1047707-Aug2013/?utm_source=facebook_short

A FORMAL COMPLAINT is to be lodged with gardaí after an amateur cameraman captured footage of a woman stealing flowers from a public display in Dublin’s city centre yesterday.
    The woman was seen vandalising the planter on Liffey Street for about an hour from around 4.30pm by passers-by and local staff members. According to one witness, a security guard and two women approached her and asked what she was doing but were told to ‘mind their own business’.

I'd love to see her telling a judge to mind their own business.

A holiday in the Dochas Centre or a fine is no good to this one.

She should be given community service planting shrubs and flowers around the city for the next year with a sign next to her at all times explaining why she is doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Why is this news? Do we need a blow-by blow of every minor criminal offence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

'Mind their own business'

:) love it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

If more and more people like this were publicly shamed, there would be less and less minor criminal offences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

She's pretty much asking for a kick up the hole standing like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

You're not allowed to discuss that here;) shhsssh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Maybe she''s broke, and is stealing the flowers to sell to get herself some bigger clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

She doesn't look Brazilian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Lidl bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

She should go to a graveyard next time, less people around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Amateur cameraman = Man with phone

She doesn't look Brazilian.
    M'first thought too, very disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Thought I saw an article earlier of someone littering their cigarette butt on the street, how horrid!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

In fairness. It looked a right mess anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

From the article linked in the OP -
    Dublin City BID spends about €35,000 per year placing and maintaining about 40 such planters around the city city. They are changed twice a year to represent the seasons.

The cost of the damage from this week’s incident could run into hundreds of euro but the major problem is that the company in charge will have to grow the flowers again.

What I'd like to know is where the fcuk are they being charged that much for flowers?

A hanging basket offence.
    Badum... tish

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Hmm... Wearing leggings and carrying a lidl bag. That should narrow things down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Anybody see 'the other video' on the youtube channel which posted the vid?

Jesus. It's seriously disturbing, and depicts the open drug use that goes on around O'Connell St and on major city center streets, including intravenous drug use into rather desturbing places.
    FYI It really underlines what a hell we have allowed inner city dublin to become, though I warn those of a squemish disposition not to watch.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=L17cF4HLIZk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭MusicalMelody

This story reminds me of this video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Disgraceful online bullying campaign...she was drunk...we've all made mistakes...think of her family...etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

"Brazen"

“absolutely shocked”

"immediate response crew"

did the aul one murder someone or take a few cuttings from a hanging basket?

and before i am jumped on i pay business rates in this city and 35,000 for 40 planters is bloody disgraceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

"Brazen"

“absolutely shocked”

"immediate response crew"

did the aul one murder someone or take a few cuttings from a hanging basket?

and before i am jumped on i pay business rates in this city and 35,000 for 40 planters is a bloody disgraceful

Ah that's how it starts you see, a few flowers here and a few flowers there. Next thing you know BAM!!!! you get a trowel through the back of your head from her and she has ya stuffed into a big bag of compost before you can say Rhododendron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭kilclon

I was briefly listening to late night talk on 98fm last night and they were discussing this incident and how Dublin city center has gone to cock in general. There was a lady on from a kind of take-back-the-city web site. Anyone know what it is? Cant find it on 98fm's website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

I think they call that grazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭gjc

The real crime are those jeggings she's wearing ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Death by lethal injection.

Nip it in the bud now, before you know it we'll have immi-gants coming over here eating all our jobs and applying for our swans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

conorhal wrote: »

Jesus. It's seriously disturbing, and depicts the open drug use that goes on around O'Connell St and on major city center streets, including intravenous drug use into rather desturbing places.
    FYI It really underlines what a hell we have allowed inner city dublin to become, though I warn those of a squemish disposition not to watch.

Love the junkie injecting his penis, and the text telling us that he injected his girlfriend's vagina next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭gjc

Love to know the intended purpose of the flowers I'm no dermot Gavin but if she sticks them in a pot and expects them to grow .....Christ .....pot heads robbing pot plants .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

marketty wrote: »
    Disgraceful online bullying campaign...she was drunk...we've all made mistakes...think of her family...etc etc

The person who recorded that video and put it online is the real scumbag...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

Yes - I stole your flowers in that brief instant when you had your back turned.

And I shall do it again.

Good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

You cant go around recording a woman picking flowers :mad:
    I'd like to see him or her record a real hard nut someday he'd knock the
    head off the freak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

The story about the flower stealer is just stupid, if a public warden or gard passed they would prob tell her to stop and send her on her way.

However this links with the open heroin injecting in the city centre is absolutely disgusting. They obviously know they are going to get away with it as if they feared being arrested they would go out of sight down an alley or to some squat. I am shocked by how brazen they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

thejournal.ie what do you expect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

love the way she keeps the fag going....unique irish skill that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

How the hell can it cost almost a grand to plant each of those each year? I have two in my garden which I change for spring, summer, autumn. costs less than 50 quid each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Somebody should have just pointed out they weren't edible, I recon she would have stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Love the junkie injecting his penis, and the text telling us that he injected his girlfriend's vagina next.

They should show that one in schools, it would be the most effective 'just say no' campaign ever!
    Yep kids, you too could end up with your cacks around you ankles on Abbey St shooting junk into your junk becase those are the only veins you have left in your body....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

tin79 wrote: »
    How the hell can it cost almost a grand to plant each of those each year? I have two in my garden which I change for spring, summer, autumn. costs less than 50 quid each year.

The price is to maintain them, not plant them. How long would it take you to clean 40 of those boxes, weed, water, plant etc. Remember now, they are in the city centre, so **** knows whats buried in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

This is why we can't have nice things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Yes, I mean I hope she's reprimanded, but in another way, who the fúck cares? :)

Lapin wrote: »
    If more and more people like this were publicly shamed, there would be less and less minor criminal offences.

Hardly.

Anyone wrote: »
    The price is to maintain them, not plant them. How long would it take you to clean 40 of those boxes, weed, water, plant etc. Remember now, they are in the city centre, so **** knows whats buried in them.

It wouldn't take me 35 grand worth of time per year. That's a full time salary. To weed and clean them out, water them 10 mins each twice a week.

That's 40 x 10 x 52 x 2 = 41,600 minutes per year. lets say each on is planted 3 times a year at 60 minutes per planting. 40 x 3 x 60 = 7200 minutes. So in total around 800 hours work per year. That's nearly €45 cost per hours work. Seems steep to me.

Also in the article it says there was hundreds of euro worth of damage. Cant see how replacing a few hanging plants could cost that. Tesco sell them for €5 for a tray of ten. Even mature ones don't cost much.

The local garden centre does large mature hanging baskets for €50 with as many plants as that whole display.

I have no doubt they do spend that much but I cant see how it should cost that must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Dear God. Our standards have really slipped if we bestow grand epithets like "brazen" to eejits like these.

Plazaman wrote: »
    Ah that's how it starts you see, a few flowers here and a few flowers there. Next thing you know BAM!!!! you get a trowel through the back of your head from her and she has ya stuffed into a big bag of compost before you can say Rhododendron.

Yep, soon she'll be stealing stadiums and and and... quarrys!

kilclon wrote: »
    I was briefly listening to late night talk on 98fm last night and they were discussing this incident and how Dublin city center has gone to cock in general.

TBH, I find Cork city centre way worse.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Death by lethal injection.

Nip it in the bud now, before you know it we'll have immi-gants coming over here eating all our jobs and applying for our swans.

Damn you! Was taking a drink as I read this!!! :D

Dear God. Our standards have really slipped if we bestow grand epithets like "brazen" to eejits like these.

The journal wouldn`t be able to use words like Kµnt though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

It's their culture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Holy shite, that's a fecking eye opener!

I'm such an innocent