Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bradley Manning gets 35 years

• 21-08-2013 2:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭

....which apparently the US military are disappointed with. They asked for him to get 60.

He is dishonourably discharged from the army and gets no pay or benefits.

Under military law Manning will be eligible for parole after serving a third of his sentence, or around 11 years. He has served 3.5 years of that already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

The English fella who races pushbikes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Bur Barack Obama said he'd treat whistle blowers fairly.

He didn't lie did he?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/07/26/obama-whistleblower-website_n_3658815.html

wazky wrote: »

I thought it was Osama Bin Laden that lived in a cave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

wazky wrote: »

thats right, the yellow jersey guy who looks like Paul Weller.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

I thought it was Osama Bin Laden that lived in a cave

Nope he lives at the bottom of the sea now, just like Spongebob.

He didn't lie did he?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/07/26/obama-whistleblower-website_n_3658815.html

Manning is apparently a candidate for the Nobel Peace Prize, which Obama won a few years back.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Obama is worse than Bush every was. At least Bush was honest in his corruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

stay strong Bradley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

And I should care because....?

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Manning is apparently a candidate for the Nobel Peace Prize, which Obama won a few years back.....

Clearly a more deserving winner

You posted here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

he is famous and cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Under military law Manning will be eligible for parole after serving a third of his sentence, or around 11 years. He has served 3.5 years of that already.

That's somewhat heartening. I wouldn't have liked to have seen him banged away for decades.

He did some wrong and broke the law but I don't think there was any intent to jepordise the lives of his comrades or citizens.

I SUSPECT that Barack Obama may pardon him in the closing days of this presidency.....that's just a hunch.

Depends who's on that parole board. If there's anyone at all from the military, he could well be forced to serve out the full 35 years.

Clearly a more deserving winner

Anyone would have been more deserving than Obama at that stage. It was embarressing. I think Obamam is generally a good guy but I think even he was a little confused that they gave him that award within days of getting the presidency.

It smacked of, "Oh great, you're black, here have a nobel peace prize." Nonsense.

Yes the whole world really is like The Truman Show where everyone is just here to serve you......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

Anyone would have been more deserving than Obama at that stage. It was embarressing. I think Obamam is generally a good guy but I think even he was a little confused that they gave him that award within days of getting the presidency.

It smacked of, "Oh great, you're black, here have a nobel peace prize." Nonsense.

It is an impossible award to justify.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Feel kinda sorry for him.
    Not the sharpest tool in the box and used by Assange.

Nohe didnt, he did break the law. But he was morally justified in what he did. 35 years is good compared to what he could of gotten!

Opinions clearly differ on the rights and wrongs but he did break the law, as you say.

I'd have liked to see him walk free - but compared to what he could have got......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

With a username like that, don't disappoint us all!?

Nohe didnt, he did break the law. But he was morally justified in what he did. 35 years is good compared to what he could of gotten!

He gave a statement at the close of the trial where he more or less apologised and said that he did things the wrong way. While I've no doubt that that was self-serving and on the advice of his lawyers, I also formed the view that he himself believed he went about it the wrong way.

It is an impossible award to justify.

No it's not.

They didn't even try. Hopped on the Obama band-wagon.

I'd agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

A confused young eejit would be my take on him. Considering how rigorous some parts of the US military are supposed to be about getting the right people, ye'd wonder how the jaysus he ended up where he was. Mind you, there was talk of having trouble making up the numbers at the time.

....because you came into the thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

He didn't lie did he?

I wouldn't really classify Manning as a whistleblower. He released a shed load of information without fully knowing what it contained. Any whistles that were blown were purely coincidental.

All in all he just comes across as a guy who isn't the sharpest, and who is being used as a scapegoat by Assange and the US government.

humanji wrote: »
    I wouldn't really classify Manning as a whistleblower. He released a shed load of information without fully knowing what it contained. Any whistles that were blown were purely coincidental.

All in all he just comes across as a guy who isn't the sharpest, and who is being used as a scapegoat by Assange and the US government.

Sounds a bit like the girls in Peru.......but he knew what he was doing.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Nodin wrote: »
    A confused young eejit would be my take on him. Considering how rigorous some parts of the US military are supposed to be about getting the right people, ye'd wonder how the jaysus he ended up where he was. Mind you, there was talk of having trouble making up the numbers at the time.

I don't think the US military are picky about the grade of cannon fodder.

That's somewhat heartening. I wouldn't have liked to have seen him banged away for decades.

He did some wrong and broke the law but I don't think there was any intent to jepordise the lives of his comrades or citizens.

I SUSPECT that Barack Obama may pardon him in the closing days of this presidency.....that's just a hunch.

...having seen and read a few things on various parole boards in the US over the years, I'd say its not that heartening at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I don't think the US military are picky about the grade of cannon fodder.

Network and IT guys are canon fodder now?

In fairness while he knew what he was doing, he fully believed it was the right thing to do and that his actions would have a positive impact. Those girls in Peru, well the courts will decide in time, but you can be sure there was nothing altruistic behind what they did.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

humanji wrote: »

He clearly has issues. What kind of plan was that? "I'll just piss off the CIA/NSA/FBI/Obama all in one go, and sure it'll be grand, we'll play it by ear after that" ???
    EDIT: That's borderline Darwin Awards territory isn't it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

35 years has to be considered a good result for him. Hopefully there's a good chance of parole or even pardon before 2045 (sounds insane) though.

Oink wrote: »

He clearly has issues. What kind of plan was that? "I'll just piss off the CIA/NSA/FBI/Obama all in one go, and sure it'll be grand, we'll play it by ear after that" ???
    EDIT: That's borderline Darwin Awards territory isn't it?

...confiding in anonymous feckers over the internet didn't help him either.

I don't think anyone could justify the act of drug smuggling. Releasing information about war crimes on the other hand can definitely be commended.

Seems an unfair world when the second crime warrants a heavier prison sentence.

I don't think anyone could justify the act of drug smuggling. Releasing information about war crimes on the other hand can definitely be commended.

Seems an unfair world when the second crime warrants a heavier prison sentence.

Innocent until proven guilty and all that......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Zirconia
    Boycott Israeli Goods & Services

I wonder if the US would do a deal to free him if Assange offered to take his place? I'm sure Julian would be glad to volunteer /s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Before some smart arse says "Who?" -

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bradley_Manning

A link would've helped OP, would've saved me having to Google who or what you were talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

And not one Apache helicopter pilot/gunner were charged with murder that day

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Before some smart arse says "Who?" -

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bradley_Manning

A link would've helped OP, would've saved me having to Google who or what you were talking about.

Not trying to be smart, but I assumed that people would know who he is......its been a huge story in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

He should have just outed CIA agents or sold weapons to terrorists. You get a presidential pardon for that

Zirconia wrote: »
    I wonder if the US would do a deal to free him if Assange offered to take his place? I'm sure Julian would be glad to volunteer /s

Assange is a know-nothing, know-it-all....to quote Homer Simpson.

He's happy just kicking back, eating fajitas in the ecuadorian embassy.

Innocent until proven guilty and all that......

All I said was that drug smuggling is morally worse than exposing war crimes, you made your assumptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Well its the best possible result he could have gotten. He could be out in less than 10 years from now. The information that he released put people in danger and he should be punished for such actions regardless if people believe what he did was right or wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Not trying to be smart, but I assumed that people would know who he is......its been a huge story in recent years.

I know you're not trying to be smart OP, I was just suggesting, genuinely didn't cop who he was until I googled, and usually in these threads about people, some smart arse always says "Who?".

On topic: I AM actually surprised at the leniency of the sentence given his position and the fact that what he did amounted to treason, especially with the US Government so keen to drill it home to it's citizens about their "War on Terror". I'm surprised he wasn't made more of an example and given some silly sentence like 99 years or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

Jester252 wrote: »
    Well its the best possible result he could have gotten. He could be out in less than 10 years from now. The information that he released put people in danger and he should be punished for such actions regardless if people believe what he did was right or wrong.

The Taliban went on a spree after the leaks hunting the named informants and elders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Did he leak the vids of the US soldiers shooting all the civilians....if so what is happening to them?

Jonny7 wrote: »
    The Taliban went on a spree after the leaks hunting the named informants and elders

Manning didn't publish them. The Guardian, the New York Times, El Pais and Der Spiegel did. How come there's been no backlash against them?

Did he leak the vids of the US soldiers shooting all the civilians....if so what is happening to them?

Yes. It was decided that it wasn't appropriate to take any significant action against them.