Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice Please

• 18-08-2013 3:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭

Sorry mods hope you dont mind me asking this here.

OK so I was out with the Dogo and he was running around mental as per usual and when I got home I noticed spots of blood all over the floor. Examined the dog and the last nail thats not directly on the paw is hanging off. He's clearly not in any pain but any ideas on what I can do? Shall I cut it off? He nail wasnt in need of a cut or anything. Not a huge injury but dont want to leave it either.

Cheers lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

Do you mean the "dew" claw that's up on the inner side of his leg?
    If it's long, you might need to keep it trimmed, I had a pointer that had to be trimmed regularly.

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTX0V4uqDt4--5j5ucCt4IKXnk6OJo5yvalZ8hlACZwoIX9yUM7TQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

I'd prob put some salty water or tcp on it a couple of times a day and just leave it he will prin pull it off himself after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Thanks for the advice lads, nah its not a dew claw, dogos dont have them or else they are removed at birth. Yeah already but salty water on it. Should i put a little bandage around it or anything, could it get infected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

where did you get him.hard to find in this country.i think they are the best looking dog out their.pound for pound they have the most muscle on them compared to any other dog.best of luck with him.il def have one in years to come

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

My JR pulled two of his claws when he caught himself in some wire. He got caught in it and as i approached to free him he pulled himself out and gave a yelp. One was gone completely and the other hanging on by a little piece of quick/skin. I simply pulled it off (he gave a tug of the paw, but did not yelp) and washed the paw in a diluted Dettol mix. I placed a basic bandage around his paw which i changed daily for 4-5 days.

The paw healed well, and fast. Within a month he had the claws growing back and within 2 months i was back trimming them. No offence to the advice offered above, but avoid TCP. While good, it stings like feck and they will run for the hills when you apply it making repeated treatments hard. Dettol is as effective but not as sore.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

allan450 wrote: »
    where did you get him.hard to find in this country.i think they are the best looking dog out their.pound for pound they have the most muscle on them compared to any other dog.best of luck with him.il def have one in years to come

As far as I'm aware there are two registered breeders in the country that imported a couple of the best lines available but are very cautious about where they go so they never advertise but would be seen around some dog shows. Seen some on places like DD and the like but I wouldn't touch them with a barge pole. Yeah he's unreal, already caused a car crash!! :eek: Muscle on him is unbelievable and its very noticeable from very early. Extremely strong and if it came down to something serious id say would be very hard to hold him back. I've been around bull breeds for the best part of 20 years and can honestly say none have come close to the Dogo. Big cuddly beast with everyone he knows so gentle and protective of the house and everyone and everything in it but if you're a stranger walking into my house on your own or a yappy dog running up to him and he goes into Dogo mode then forget it!

Cant stress enough the time, patience and energy thats gone into him to having him the way he is though. If I got him and just left him out the back I'd say complete disaster would strike before he'd hit 1. Loads of people ask the breed and where can they get them if they seem decent I could talk Dogos for hours but if its teenagers looking for a mickey extension I say its a cross between a Jamaican Beer Dog and a Great Dane :pac:
    Cass wrote: »
    My JR pulled two of his claws when he caught himself in some wire. He got caught in it and as i approached to free him he pulled himself out and gave a yelp. One was gone completely and the other hanging on by a little piece of quick/skin. I simply pulled it off (he gave a tug of the paw, but did not yelp) and washed the paw in a diluted Dettol mix. I placed a basic bandage around his paw which i changed daily for 4-5 days.

The paw healed well, and fast. Within a month he had the claws growing back and within 2 months i was back trimming them. No offence to the advice offered above, but avoid TCP. While good, it stings like feck and they will run for the hills when you apply it making repeated treatments hard. Dettol is as effective but not as sore.

Ive been told the same TCP, ill do the disinfectant now.

I ain't risking that!!

Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

An it prob could get infected but I wouldn't worry about it just yet. Chances are if you put a bandage on it they will just pull that off aswell. It's hard to know really with out seeing it.

If the dog isn't limping or in pain then I'd just stop it from getting infected if its bairly hangin on then I'd consider taking it of the rest of the way but be sure its just not broke rather than pulled out if you get me.

im well used to the bull breeds myself.had a few staffies a blue one as well lovely dog.had a pitbull too bought it off this dickhead it was only a pup well 10 months.he died 3 months later of cancer he must of new and off loaded it to make a few pound before it died.which was very bad form not about the money but the dog id grow to love.dont worry them little scum bags wont be running around with them dogs they wont pay that cash for them[steal them though}so shows are the place to met the breeders best of luck with him anyway

Jayus that was a pretty horrible thing to do, sorry to hear that. Yeah I was pretty worried about someone trying to take him at the start so even now he's never stayed a night outside and to be honest someone would want to be pretty brain dead to try take him now unless they're armed with a shotgun! Serious guardian, Ive never seen nothing like it apart from a caucasian ovcharka (which is a truly crap yourself moment). Once dogo mode kicks in he wont even listen with a lump of meat in my hands. Cheers, thanks for the well wishes. He's hard work and serious responsibility but worth every second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

id be interested in seeing picture of the dogo

jap gt wrote: »
    id be interested in seeing picture of the dogo

no idea how to put them up, maybe i could mail some to a mod and they could put them up??

He's 15months now but in these he's only about 7 months. Neighbor has cats and one torments the life out of him, so thats the second photo and his reaction to the cat. Had 100s more on my ipod but the stupid thing smashed and broke. This is all I have on my laptop. Well couple more with me and him but you aint getting to see my handsome face as well. :P

[IMG][/img]chethedogo_zpsfe581bd9.jpeg

[IMG][/img]Idontlikecats_zps25c3f933.jpeg

thats one fine dog if he gets that cat its game over with one bit and shake.my gsp hate them.their kind of like a big powerful pitbull.you would want to be a brave man to try and steal him.anyway have many happy years with him

At that age they kinda do look like pitbulls but it grows out of them pretty quick. Thanks man best of luck to you and yours too. :)

Oh and thanks for the help again lads, its not thw whole nail but only a bit and its off now. So cleaned it down and small little bandage on it. Cheers folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Always liked the dogos.
    Would've loved one years ago but opted for the American Akita.
    Good few vids on YouTube of boar hunting with them in Argentina.
    Temperaments are supposed to be be excellent around kids and such.

Always liked the dogos.
    Would've loved one years ago but opted for the American Akita.
    Good few vids on YouTube of boar hunting with them in Argentina.
    Temperaments are supposed to be be excellent around kids and such.

Temperaments is really stable and predictable but as I said earlier if he goes into Dogo mode its very hard to stop him. Extremely stubborn!!

Ah the ones on YouTube are OK, private American, South American and Eastern European Dogo forums is where the good ones are. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Can I asked where you got him ?

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Can I asked where you got him ?

Couple of registered breeders in Ireland now, parents and grandparents directly from Argentina and Slovakia. Amazing pedigree for both show ( I hate show rings so id never do it) and working. There's 4 world champions in mine mixed with some of the best hunting dogos in the history of the breed.

We know what we want for the breed and exactly where we want to take it. We wont let it fall in the wrong hands but since importation laws changed its proving difficult. Many pits x Am Bulls also trying to be sold as Dogo's, focking idiots.

Ive no idea when a litter be due but if anyone PM'd me why and what they would do with a Dogo I'd have no problem passing on contact details. Giving a dogo free run is one of the most beautiful things you'll ever see.

Couple of registered breeders in Ireland now, parents and grandparents directly from Argentina and Slovakia. Amazing pedigree for both show ( I hate show rings so id never do it) and working. There's 4 world champions in mine mixed with some of the best hunting dogos in the history of the breed.

We know what we want for the breed and exactly where we want to take it. We wont let it fall in the wrong hands but since importation laws changed its proving difficult. Many pits x Am Bulls also trying to be sold as Dogo's, focking idiots.

Ive no idea when a litter be due but if anyone PM'd me why and what they would do with a Dogo I'd have no problem passing on contact details. Giving a dogo free run is one of the most beautiful things you'll ever see.

Lad I know 2 lads that have them crossed with gray hounds lad so to late if ya don't want them sold in the wrong hands !

Hence the reason for my question !

How are they working??

You 100% they are pure Dogo?

How are they working??

You 100% they are pure Dogo?

Sending u a pm lad

Trig lad you need to empty you inbox before i can mail you back.

Sorry lad all clear now