Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer License 2013-2014

• 08-08-2013 10:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭

As above did many get them yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

Was think they should be in soon, but not got mine yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

I was gonna start a tread later myself about this. With last Thursday being the first and the long week end an all. I reckon the first of them went out yesterday/today so hopefully tomorrow more than likely Monday they will start arriving for people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

:):):) Deer License 2013-2014 >>>> Just arrived thought the front door :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭zeissman

Got mine today as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Me too:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I'll be on the look out this evening so. Thanks for the heads up lads.

Just got mine a few mins ago :-)

It's like santa just arrived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭xchrisshana

Just got mine happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

Got my first one this morning:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Mine just came now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Likewise in the mail this AM.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Looks like limerick is well represented I received mine today as well. Roll on the first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭zlezlius

In todays post

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Yup.

Father, mate and myself all got this morning.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Back today! Roll on the 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

happy days got mine big question ducks or deer the first morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

Silly question DEER OF COURSE :):):):):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭vincentf

arrived today :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

got mine today...lookin lik duck on first for me tho as cops havent processed licence for new toy yet :-(....gonna call in to station tomor and see wat stori is...

Deer in the morning duck in the evening.

Got my very first license in the post this evening when I came home. Absolutely delighted role on the first.

On my license it say.

This license shall remain in force for the period beginning on the date hereof and ending on the next 31st day of July and the authority conferred by the license shall be exercisable for such period as is specified in the said order (if any) made under section 25 of the acts.

I understand the dates and the season dates sure its on the back of the form. But what's the 31st of July crack.

Suppose for sec 42s and 'muntjac'

Your license will run from August 1st 2013 until July 31st 2014.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭customrifle

I take it your better off photocopying licence and keeping copy with you while your out hunting?

Cass wrote: »
    Your license will run from August 1st 2013 until July 31st 2014.

Ah ye I remmember now the license ends then but your still only able to hunt within the seasons. I think this was explained somewhere on here before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Proably neither.. The Moon is wrong for the first of Sept for deer.Thurs to Fri [5/6 Sept] are new Moon days&nites.Then I reckon you'll get some action.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

I take it your better off photocopying licence and keeping copy with you while your out hunting?

yep always do it

I keep a copy alright, but bring the original with me. Not in the field but in the car. I've only been "stopped" a couple of times over years and asked for the license. I produced it the first time, and the second time i didn't have it on me so he asked the colour of it, and when i told him he said fine.
    Ah ye I remmember now the license ends then but your still only able to hunt within the seasons.
    Correct.

Your license runs all year from renewal to renewal. You may hunt whatever deer is in season during the year, and as muntjac are year round (for all the good it does) it means you are licensed to shoot them. If the license only ran for the length of the season then section 42s would need licenses renewed each time, and if a muntjac is ever seen then you cannot shoot them.

confused this is first deer licence i have got..as regards section 42 owner of 1 of my permissions has a 42 so does this mean with his permission i can shoot deer out of main season for period 42 is granted??as my own licence is valid all year???

A section 42 is permission to shoot deer out of their normal season. You do not apply for it the land owner does. On his application he must show good cause for needing the section 42, and he must nominate a deer stalker to carry out the shooting.

Your license only allows you to shoot the appropriate deer in season. Out of it, and unless you are on the 42, you cannot just turn up and shoot.

As said above if the land owner has one he has already nominated someone to shoot them for him.

cheers cass explained that perfect thanks for clearing up my query prob sounded lik stupid question but this my first deer season thanks again....

deano2882 wrote: »
    .......... prob sounded lik stupid question .......
    Absolutely not.

We all have to ask questions otherwise how would we learn. I asked the same things years ago, but didn't have Boards so i was relying on 20 different opinions and versions from uncles, cousins, friends, etc. IOW guess work.

ya thats true gotta find out an learn sum place...gonna try go along just for the look with sum1 on a mornings stalking r 2..i no wat im at no the land i have like the back of my hand backstops ect but jus pick up tips and that is all off some1 thats stalkin with few years i went for a day last season with a friend only got one and he didn really show me much...

I cannot overstate the importance of learning from a good stalker. Between my Father, and Uncle i got plenty of experience. I spent years with them before i even applied for my own license.

If someone is using you as labour then try someone else. As a good stalker will teach you well a bad one will ruin it for you. You also need to ask questions. Ask them to do so of the work. Skinning, etc. Even if you do it'll take time before you get your own "method".

However with the license you are covered for any eventuality. Happy shooting.

I'm in the same boat Deano. A mate from here brought me out and will be out with me when he gets the chance.

A guy told me the other day the first time he gutted a deer all that was in his head was whatever was inside is coming out. Good theory.

I have it in my head to do the same thing a hoping I have the cop on to realise what I'm doing wrong and improve it.

No stupid question lad keep asking and take it all in. Only for asking questions here and then google I'd never know what I know now. Which is **** all but at least now I know where to start I suppose.

i have plenty skinning gutting and even fully processing game meat from field to freezer as i get a full deer every year off guy nearbuy for freezer and do a lamb r two that i rear myself on a pet goat so that side of things aint a problem its jus tips of how to track spot deer in the area and not a case of goin sittin dwn and waiting as i did on the day last year i have been walkin my permission wit my springer early in morn and there seems to b few spots they in alot but as pastures green nw this cud change through season...anyways goin off main thread so happy hunting to all and safe shooting for season ahead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭syconerd

got mine yesterday so happy days roll on season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭viper123

deano2882 wrote: »
    ya thats true gotta find out an learn sum place...gonna try go along just for the look with sum1 on a mornings stalking r 2..i no wat im at no the land i have like the back of my hand backstops ect but jus pick up tips and that is all off some1 thats stalkin with few years i went for a day last season with a friend only got one and he didn really show me much...

Send me a PM sometime during the season and I'll arrange a morning out for you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭marcp

Got mine today. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭jagged

Arrived today.. Happy days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

Mine arrived this morning. I was late getting my act together this year sent it in last week. How about that for a quick turn around. Also I was onto the dealers and my new rifle arrives in two weeks. Happy days.:cool::eek::D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Oh yes I can't wait for the first, My favorite time of the year.

juice1304 wrote: »
    Mine arrived this morning. I was late getting my act together this year sent it in last week. How about that for a quick turn around. Also I was onto the dealers and my new rifle arrives in two weeks. Happy days.:cool::eek::D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Oh yes I can't wait for the first, My favorite time of the year.

By jasus your cutting it tight aren't ye. Hopefully the rifle arrives on time. What's the crack with your license for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

No sign of mine yet,was sent in 3 weeks ago,has everyone got theirs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

By jasus your cutting it tight aren't ye. Hopefully the rifle arrives on time. What's the crack with your license for it.

I ordered it in January, I thought i'd have it all sorted by now but i don't so i am just going to sub my 30-30 for it it's a savage FLCP-K in .308 to save on time as i'm going to be moving to Germany in a few months. So i'll just stick the winchester in storage until then. Atleast i'm not stuck for the 1st. Still it was a long wait.:D:D
    Happy Hunting.;):)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 alex69

Got mine today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 philbk

Posted my renewal last Friday 16th got licence today 21st!!! Great Service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I sent in my first application on Sept 10th and received it in the post today. It is going to be an interesting weekend ahead :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

dev110 wrote: »
    I sent in my first application on Sept 10th and received it in the post today. It is going to be an interesting weekend ahead :)

Best of luck with it lad. Hopefully u bag ur first 1