If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

SoccerManager.com (#2) The Boards.ie World

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Being honest, I don't see how the two are connected at all; you think such deals couldn't have been happening with it turned on?

Plenty of people seem to be implying they will refuse to do business with people who preform, or even condone, these sorts of deals for some reason. Acting as if people are doing something morally wrong. Its not cheating, and it's barely shady imo. I get why some people dont do it, but comments implying they now know who people really are seems worrying and OTT considering whats involved :/

Ah most of that was made in jest. If I was calling people scum, etc over this I'd pack it in, it is, as was said, only a game!

As for the transfers, sure people are free to do business with who they want and for whatever reason they do or don't want to, sure it's all part of the game :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Meanwhile, over on SM......
    The offer for Vladimir GABULOV of Dynamo Moskva from Estudiantes has been accepted. The transfer will be completed within the next 24 hours.

That's the third attempt at signing him. It seems as if external clubs don't even want to sell to me!!! Although, in the end, I'm glad they rejected the first two because it meant I could put in my preferred offer of two players and no cash! Should save myself about 20k in wages I hope! :D

Wilberto wrote: »

That's the third attempt at signing him. It seems as if external clubs don't even want to sell to me!!! Although, in the end, I'm glad they rejected the first two because it meant I could put in my preferred offer of two players and no cash! Should save myself about 20k in wages I hope! :D

Something fishy going on here... GET EM LADS!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

better be a clean deal ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

The offer for Vladimir GABULOV of Dynamo Moskva from Estudiantes has been accepted. The transfer will be completed within the next 24 hours.

this is gunna happen

32150828.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    What's your view on it PBJ?

On cross-GW transfers/deals?

I don't like them, straight up. It never entered my mind as an option because it seemed like cheating. Yes, it's a tool for negotiating but at the end of the day, it's one that isn't exactly available to everyone. Now I know, everyone is allowed to manage 2 clubs for free, but a third and up is only available to gold managers. That means that the likes of TeamShadowClan can be in this league, Copa Del Boards, and The GOOD League at once. That isn't available to me and the 73 other normal managers in this league. If it was, I'd still have some animosity towards it, but definitely less as it would be a fully equal opportunity.

Let me give an example of what CAN be done. I was at Arsenal in Copa Del Boards but I realised at the time that I was unable to fully commit as I was trying to rebuild The Galaxy at the time so I left to let somebody else go at it. But I could have stayed and sold all their best players and have done a lot of favours to people in this league. But if I came out saying "Hey, I sold you Vermaelen at face value in Copa, I want Honda at face value." in the main thread, people would be pretty pissed off about it if there's a genuine opportunity to buy a highly rated player, but I had extra cards in my hand due to something that happened outside of their control.

Now, that said, I won't refuse to deal with people who have used this negotiating tool or those who condone it, I'm not keeping note. I only used TeamShadowClan as an example as he has been open about supporting this idea. I myself won't partake in such deals as I don't feel it's a right way to go about my business, but I don't control what others do.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Hmm clicked on last unread message and it put me 10 pages back...well back I go :pac:

PerrinV2 wrote: »
    Hmm clicked on last unread message and it put me 10 pages back...well back I go :pac:

turns out Hayley is a man......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭The Governor

*peaks in door*

Is it safe to come back in? I hate it when the family fights :(

a page or 2 ago I was considering dropping FCP and Atletico from my repertoir of teams ...

the negative sentiment the last 24hrs surounding this GW being the main reason.

I think instead I'll play on and take transfer rejections on the chin ... (sure morals didnt get in the way of offers being made as the net closed around players at unmanaged so if the player being sold really wanted by a manager ... they might just deal (considering how tough it is to do deals before all this so eg. If I had Aguerro and was willing to sell him for 50m cash or 20m and a few players ... would everyone that decided not to deal with crossGWders ignore that Aguerro was up for grabs? I dont think so)

swoody wrote: »

The fake FB profile of Roy selling his/her coat the next day was hilarious! :D

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    a page or 2 ago I was considering dropping FCP and Atletico from my repertoir of teams ...

I think instead I'll play on and take transfer rejections on the chin ... (sure morals didnt get in the way of offers being made as the net closed around players at unmanaged so if the player being sold really wanted by a manager ... they might just deal (considering how tough it is to do deals before all this so eg. If I had Aguerro and was willing to sell him for 50m cash or 20m and a few players ... would everyone that decided not to deal with crossGWders ignore that Aguerro was up for grabs? I dont think so)

Would be fair boring if you dropped Porto, the only reason I play is for the craic on here

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

swoody wrote: »
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS7sPEuqVa1NfujmNsPlpTLzlEBr6lIw1vSymzc_Y8kPmSfzzG-

32152716.jpg

and i blame you. :rolleyes:

says the man who wouldnt sell me vidal ...

Vidal Sassoon doesnt work at Juve. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Just caught up on the last ten pages or so.

Jesus lads. Really?

I don't get involved in these conversations much but cross-GW transfers are a fairly pathetic thing to do. Any online game is open to exploitation but there has to be an element of good faith involved that says that people won't look to exploit it. It ruins the game for everyone otherwise.

I got paid today. Cross-GW bids are no better or worse than me being able to offer someone €20 cash to sell me their best player at face value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Beefy78 wrote: »
    Just caught up on the last ten pages or so.

Jesus lads. Really?

I don't get involved in these conversations much but cross-GW transfers are a fairly pathetic thing to do. Any online game is open to exploitation but there has to be an element of good faith involved that says that people won't look to exploit it. It ruins the game for everyone otherwise.

I got paid today. Cross-GW bids are no better or worse than me being able to offer someone €20 cash to sell me their best player at face value.

We talking about Rues or Gotze?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

That means that the likes of TeamShadowClan can be in this league, Copa Del Boards, and The GOOD League at once. That isn't available to me and the 73 other normal managers in this league. If it was, I'd still have some animosity towards it, but definitely less as it would be a fully equal opportunity.

Just picking up on this point....why isn't it available to everyone? I didn't realize I had some special privilege that allowed some of us the ability to have multiple teams while everyone else was 100% limited.

Anyone can sign up for multiple gameworlds. As Tupac said last night, anyone can take the time to join multiple worlds and build relationships with people. There is absolutely nothing stopping anyone from having that opportunity, other than an unwillingness to pay the few quid to go beyond 2 worlds.

Don't get me wrong, I get other arguments even if I disagree with them. But I completely don't get this idea that some people don't have access to multiple worlds when that is an option available to everyone. If you don't want to take it, fair enough, but there's no point getting annoyed that others have.

That was something I actually mentioned back when some people were very eager to turn off the monitoring. Half-jokingly, I suggested that when it was turned off, I'd offer cash to people for players if they wanted to sell. You're right, they are no better or worse, and it's within the remits of the game now that I could get a player at face value in exchange for pay-pal-ing someone a fiver.

You say people shouldn't exploit things, but that already happens with negotiations; some clubs have a wealth of talent to trade, some have 100s of millions of cash to play with. Some have cross world deals that could be brokered, and some might start using real cash. Different people are going to play the game in different ways, but to start calling it "pathetic" because you draw the line in a different place to others feels very harsh imo.

Look,

I've already admitted that the Iturbe ( being added to the Lennon package on boards.ie) deal was as part of a deal for Isco(10m+Vucinic) in another GW.

I have 1 other deal that involved a request from a manager asking for a transfer in a different GW ... this manager hasnt been mentioned here yet and I'm not going to name him as I'd hate to see him black listed by some on here too.

2 deals I've done have involved a side part in this GW ... 2 deals out of probably more than 100deals in the last 2 seasons ... and it wasnt like I got Aguerro for 15m ... a pit of prospecive lads, no one died - yet.

^ my second proverbial line - I'm done being the vilain on the X-GW topic - I wont make any further comment below this ine on the topic of X-GW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭RickyOFlaherty

that KdB deal ...

I made him cash offers on Courtois, all rejected, p/xs on coutrois, all rejected, so swithced my attention to lukaku and kdb, think I offered modric for both of them(can be 100 sure on that ... made cash offers on lukaku, made p/x offers on lukaku, I PM'd him or chat msgd him every few days ... in the end he countered with an offer close to the deal we agreed

I think I got a pretty good deal. De Bruyne was on concern level two - I have Hazard and Mata in his main position. Ginter might be playing for Bayern or Dortmund in a year or two - and maybe even the national team. Could hit 92/93 if he fulfils his potential. Needed a young goalkeeper prospect with Cech getting on .. Butland has started last few games for Stoke.

I don't do cross gw deals .. just seems pointless managing a team in that manner .. weakening one team in one gameworld to strengthen another team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

You say people shouldn't exploit things, but that already happens with negotiations; some clubs have a wealth of talent to trade, some have 100s of millions of cash to play with. Some have cross world deals that could be brokered, and some might start using real cash.

Clubs have a wealth of talent in this game world. They have 100s of millions of cash to play with in this game world. Obviously Man United and Barcelona have more bargaining power than Shakhtar and Rangers. But we all bought into that when we joined.

It's called a game world because it is supposed to be completely in isolation of anything else. As soon as you bring any outside factor into play you break the game for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Do we need all this Shiite talk about a game lads. Ffs play the game, buy and sell players and alter tactics. Like a bunch of oul ones at times

It's called a game world because it is supposed to be completely in isolation of anything else. As soon as you bring any outside factor into play you break the game for everyone.

Which is grand, provided we ignore that the value of most players is based not on how they preform in the so-called isolated game world but how they preform outside of it.

The entire game is dominated by external forces; it's why two rated 89 players won't be valued the same way, and why a player who joins Man United in the real world will see his value shoot up dramatically. When a transfer happens in real life, it causes an influx of bids in the gameworld. And I've seen managers admit on here they'll make transfer decisions based on who they have in other gameworlds (as an example).

On top of that, how much time and effort you put into the game is determined by outside factors too; plenty of people have quit cause they can't manage the time necessary to go scouting or make constant deals. While some people have time to scour every external team or check out every new youth, some rely on scouting websites to do the work, and some don't bother with scouting at all.

Of course there's external influences on this game world. Again, it's just about where people draw the line. And again I say, different people are going to have and need different tools to play the game how they want. This talk of "breaking the gameworld" cause people use a tool others don't want to use is really over the top and hysterical.

back to footballing matters:

Those within this GW that who've not black listed me ...

Im looking for a defender, any one of DC, DR or DL, 90 or 91 and will p/x Alex Sandro(22yr - 89) as part of any deal.

if the deal is for a 90, I'm looking for a 20-24yr,
    if the deal is for a 91 I'll consider players up to 27

PM me here or on SM if a deal would interest you.

PS: Sandro is NOT for sale, will only use him in a P/X failing that he is staying put

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Burlap_Sack

It's just a game after all so I don't really give that much of a sh1t but it's definitely exploitation of the rules and for me it certainly lessens the value of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭TheGunns

The main issue I have/would have is that someone like me, who has gold membership and extra club spaces, can go and add 8-16 clubs just to purely work deals in the boards gameworld. Not sure if it's wrong but it never even crossed my mind that you could/would do something like this.

Guess it's down to the person, I think Mac said earlier that he wouldn't actively do it but if it came up you'd always be tempted and I feel pretty much the same way after sleeping on it.

I don't like this its just a game phrase, I'm setting out to be better than all of you :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭eireannBEAR

Bejaysus this is still going on,lads i wasnt entirely serious last night it is a dodgy policy but its to be expected,although i did get tied up in teamshawdos arrogance about the whole thing. Once GT and tupacca sell me players {which they dont} im happy... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭TheGunns

Bejaysus this is still going on,lads i wasnt entirely serious last night it is a dodgy policy but its to be expected,although i did get tied up in teamshawdos arrogance about the whole thing. Once GT and tupacca sell me players {which they dont} im happy... :confused:

I just want to know what gameworlds are most desirable :D

Certainly never mean to be arrogant.