Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

A million times yes. Where the hell did you get this idea? What about all your peers who are heading out regularly? You're probably the only 25-year-old ever in this day and age and society to think the way you do.

There are people 10-15 years older than you who go out regularly and don't put any thought into it the way you do. It's just a matter of going to places that are for your age group. But even that advice is more for people who are 30+. Plus not all places cater for a particular age group - their customers can be any age from 18 on.

Maybe the OP actually has his own individual feelings and opinions on things regardless of what "everyone else" his age is doing? Just a thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Lets remember what this thread is about: a person is bored of something. If this was about anything else other than social alcohol, everyone would be questioning even the point of the thread. Yet just because it's about drinking, a debate is required? That's beyond pathetic and a pretty depressing reflection on society.

He's bored of going out, so stop doing it. Yes even if it's going out to clubs. Shocking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

whirlpool wrote: »
    Maybe the OP actually has his own individual feelings and opinions on things regardless of what "everyone else" his age is doing? Just a thought.
    But he asked was he past it, and was it "silly" of him to feel that way - I just answered that question. I only mentioned his peers because I'm wondering why he feels old yet he sees all of them heading out and not putting that kind of thought into it.

Objectively, 25 is simply not too old to be going to bars and clubs - bars especially. I just reckon the feeling he's getting of being too old is due to this notion some people have that anything over 21 is old. I don't know where it comes from - maybe it's a throwback to our parents' generation when 25 was the age indeed that you had to be grown up and youth was over. But those days are long gone.

Fast-forward 10 years and he'll be wondering what the hell he was thinking.

If he genuinely didn't want to go out anymore (and nothing wrong with that) well then that would simply be personal preference, but he says he does want to continue going out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

But he asked was he past it, and was it "silly" of him to feel that way - I just answered that question. I only mentioned his peers because I'm wondering why he feels old yet he sees all of them heading out and not putting that kind of thought into it.

Objectively, 25 is simply not too old to be going to bars and clubs - bars especially. I just reckon the feeling he's getting of being too old is due to this notion some people have that anything over 21 is old. I don't know where it comes from - maybe it's a throwback to our parents' generation when 25 was the age indeed that you had to be grown up and youth was over. But those days are long gone.

Fast-forward 10 years and he'll be wondering what the hell he was thinking.

If he genuinely didn't want to go out anymore (and nothing wrong with that) well then that would simply be personal preference, but he says he does want to continue going out.

Exactly, he's asking us if we agree that he's too old at 25.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I'm early 30's. I dont mind going to pubs after ive had a few drinks at home. Generally pubs are thieving, robbing bastards so thats why I rarely go to them. Paying the guts of 5 euros for a pint of fizzy acloholic beverage is criminal. I quite simply cannot afford it.

curry chips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Lets remember what this thread is about: a person is bored of something. If this was about anything else other than social alcohol, everyone would be questioning even the point of the thread. Yet just because it's about drinking, a debate is required? That's beyond pathetic and a pretty depressing reflection on society.

He's bored of going out, so stop doing it. Yes even if it's going out to clubs. Shocking!

Ease up there a small bit. The OP is wondering are they past it at 25 and too old to be going to clubs. That's not the same as saying they're bored of it at all. They're relating their maturity to their age. My guess is the OP has probably done it since they were 18 and I often meet 22 and 23 year olds who are tired of the club scene having been going out since they were 15 and 16.

It's a question really of if you enjoy doing something, why stop? If you're not enjoying it any more, then go do something different. Get out with your "depressing reflection on society" nonsense.

I'm 36 and I'll still go out to a club and let off some steam, I can't dance for shìt, I don't like to get drunk (because it takes me three days to recover), I prefer to just get lost in the atmosphere, and sometimes I meet new and interesting people and I enjoy myself for that reason.

My wife then will go out with her friends for dinner and drinks and they might go to the club when she goes out and I stay with our child. My wife is 37 btw, still enjoys a drink and letting her hair down on the dancefloor!

Ohh, the humanity, such a depressing reflection on society, eh? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

When I say going to a club I meant just somewhere to go for a late one with the lads. Not out on a dancefloor with teenagers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

risteard7 wrote: »
    When I say going to a club I meant just somewhere to go for a late one with the lads. Not out on a dancefloor with teenagers.

And what would possibly make you think you, or I for that matter, are too old for that? Seriously it's nonsensical.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Ireland's nightlife is predominantly full of younger people so I suppose older people would feel a bit out of place.

I have to say I hate going out when I visit Ireland. Dublin can be good fun if you find the right place, but everything just closes too early and is too expensive. On top of that, even small pubs BLARE music. It's impossible to hear anyone.

I don't go nightclubbing as often as I used to. Occasionally I'll head out to one, or go to a drum and bass/dubstep party/concert if there's someone I like that's playing. Most of my weekend activities usually involve sitting in cafes/bars and talking late into the night, maybe a few drinks at home as well. I'm 23 but I've found my drinking has slowed down a lot. I'll still go out until six in the morning because I'm a night owl, but alcohol just isn't as important anymore. That being said, it's nice to get tanked once in a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

I'm not looking for personal advice. It was a general question of when did people get fed up going out? At 25 I still enjoy going out but since I turned 25 I get what I now think maybe silly thoughts in my head of getting old.

OneArt wrote: »
    Ireland's nightlife is predominantly full of younger people so I suppose older people would feel a bit out of place.
    I'm 35 and honestly never felt that way. It depends on where you go I suppose.
    Just using Dublin as a reference point: is it that some people immediately think Coppers and that place just south of O'Connell Bridge with all the glass, when they think of pubs and clubs? Because there's far more of a variety to nightlife than places where it's all banging chart music and people extremely tarted up.
    Even then, I don't think 25 is too old for those places. 30 maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

At around 24 I became weary of the mindless social scene. By 25 I had my first baby! Fast forward seven years and I still enjoy heading out every now and then but not in the same way as I used to. I like going to gigs where I'm specifically there for the music and having a boogie but I hate loud music in pubs now- I just want to talk. I want to go somewhere with nice wine and enough comfy seats for everyone. Went to a 80's themed house party the other weekend where everyone dressed up and danced like a maniac- it was great fun! ...but I got it out of my system and don't feel the need to do it again for a while. I don't think I could go back to the kind of ear splitting heart thumping techno blasting sweatboxes that I spent my late teens and early twenties in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I'm 40 and my Husband is 43, we haven't been in a bar since last November and haven't been in a nightclub since the mid 90's. Don't miss it one tiny bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

So when is too old to be out in pubs and clubs getting drunk?

NO definitive answer to that .

I'm 25 and feel past it but I dont want to feel it! Am I silly and getting old before my time? Maybe it's where you are socialising is causing this .

What age did you feel u had enough?

I'm 30 , don't feel "past it" but don't go to teeny places .

Going out to get locked isn't my number 1 priority either to be honest .

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭MissD93

i work in a pub and i see all ages and no one really bats an eyelid whether your 18 or 80, and usually every one blends nicely showing that theres no difference between young and old, so no one is really passed it. however i think its a totally different story when people are getting obscenely drunk, when their in their late teens or early twenties not many people say anything however if they are older a lot of people will pass judgement and say that their past that and should have more cope on.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

23 and couldn't be bothered going out drinking anymore.The odd occasion if I'm celebrating a friends birthday/event etc is grand though.To do the same mundane thing every weekend and it still excites you past a certain age worries me greatly.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,510 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I stopped drinking at the end of 2011, when I was 25. I will be 27 next month. I get told that this is very unusual for my age, but, as someone said earlier in the thread, you should try and get rid of the alcohol when you are reacting badly to it. As a result of this, I am rarely out on the town anymore, but I have other means by which I enjoy myself nowadays instead.

Something similar here, drinking too much made me agressive so knew it was time to stop.

Only go out maybe 5 or 6 times a year now and drink maybe 3 or 4 pints and never go to nightclubs.

Burky126 wrote: »
    23 and couldn't be bothered going out drinking anymore.The odd occasion if I'm celebrating a friends birthday/event etc is grand though.To do the same mundane thing every weekend and it still excites you past a certain age worries me greatly.
    Worries you greatly? Jeez, don't be that worried about other people at all! :pac:

It's just people socialising. It's not exciting but it's enjoyable. And it doesn't have to be about getting utterly wasted. One of the most enjoyable things in life for me is having a few drinks with close pals at a table and just chatting. Lost interest in the clubbing thing years ago. Although moreso because good clubs closed down. I'm still on for a good club night or a gig.

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

Nothing sadder than a 20 something talking about being past it. Get your ****ing act together.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭Duff

I'm also 25 but I'd still go out once a week with my mates. Usually on a Saturday or Sunday night. Don't feel past it at all. Thursday is the big teen night here so the weekends are mostly people around my own age.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 297 ✭✭Clemenza

Rock Bars are timeless and ageless

Fibbers/Bruxelles/Gypsy Rose- I salute thee

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Worries you greatly? Jeez, don't be that worried about other people at all! :pac:

Most of what you said,I agree with.Nothing wrong with going out when you can but the thing that worries me is someone being in their mid to late Twenties thinking they can spend/drink as much as they did when they were teenagers every week. At that point in your life you could be using that money or energy towards a past time or hobby that can benefit you in the long run. I just wonder whether they not get sick of going out every week is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I'm 35 and honestly never felt that way. It depends on where you go I suppose.
    Just using Dublin as a reference point: is it that some people immediately think Coppers and that place just south of O'Connell Bridge with all the glass, when they think of pubs and clubs? Because there's far more of a variety to nightlife than places where it's all banging chart music and people extremely tarted up.
    Even then, I don't think 25 is too old for those places. 30 maybe.

The glassy place (Q Bar) is now closed down!

The amount of people who have it in their heads that they're past it in their mid twenties is hilarious!! Get a serious grip of yourselves! Wasting your youth believing your old.

I will go out as for as long as I enjoy it. You can find places to go for all age groups. I don't drink like I used to (last night I was on the wine spritzers :-/) because I can't handle my drink anymore but I still enjoy socialising and dancing. I can't see myself ever getting sick of that. I'm 33 btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Laneyh

risteard7 wrote: »
    So when is too old to be out in pubs and clubs getting drunk?
    I'm 25 and feel past it but I dont want to feel it! Am I silly and getting old before my time?
    What age did you feel u had enough?

Well it all depends on how you feel but maybe you just need to change the places you're going to rather than stop going out altogether.

I'm in my late thirties and still go out to pubs, clubs not so much
    I go to house parties too but to be fair I don't do that every weekend
    I also don't really drink that much anymore

Going out with the sole objective of getting drunk gets old after a while

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Laneyh

The glassy place (Q Bar) is now closed down!

The amount of people who have it in their heads that they're past it in their mid twenties is hilarious!! Get a serious grip of yourselves! Wasting your youth believing your old.

Apparently a quarter life crisis is a real thing now. 'tis a bit mad alright.
    I'd say to the OP just change it up a little bit and you'll be fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Laneyh wrote: »
    Apparently a quarter life crisis is a real thing now. 'tis a bit mad alright.
    I'd say to the OP just change it up a little bit and you'll be fine

I had the most craic when I was 25. It's a great age. Genuinely makes me a little bit sad hearing people going on that way not realising just how young they are. Youth is precious and it should be enjoyed. They'll really regret it when they hit their 30s.

I understand the pub/club scene is not for everyone but believing you're past it...

I had the most craic when I was 25. It's a great age. Genuinely makes me a little bit sad hearing people going on that way not realising just how young they are. Youth is precious and it should be enjoyed. They'll really regret it when they hit their 30s.

I understand the pub/club scene is not for everyone but believing you're past it...

I know I'll be killed for yet another Father fcuking Ted quote, but I couldn't help thinking of this when I read the above -

I did plennnty of stupid shìt from my teens right up to my 30's, hell I'm still doing stupid shìt (although admittedly less of it, my body isn't able for much more! :D), but I do tend to find that nowadays more and more people are taking themselves far too seriously and growing old before their time, and it DOES make me wonder "Jesus, if that's what you think like at 25, YOU'RE the person that hasn't really done much with your life!".

It's like they've had it too easy, and have never known what it's really like to have to work for anything, or make things happen for themselves, they've become very self centred, as if the world should revolve around them, and they get very upset then when they realise it doesn't.

Fear of growing up is understandable though - and that tends to kick in in late teens/early 20s, which is strange because it's way too early for that to happen in this day and age.

I don't think it's a new thing though - I think there's always been people who think they feel old just because they're no longer teenagers.

Fear of growing up is understandable though - and that tends to kick in in late teens/early 20s, which is strange because it's way too early for that to happen in this day and age.

I don't think it's a new thing though - I think there's always been people who think they feel old just because they're no longer teenagers.

You always say things better than my ranty mc ranterson waffle... :D

I know what I WANT to say, but it always tends to come out arseways :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

Age 28, I wouldn't go to a nightclub if you paid me and I don't like going to a pub where I won't get a seat!! I hate the way pubs often have really loud music too these days. I like to socialise, but prefer to go to a nice wine bar or restaurant. That said, I don't think I ever really like clubs anyway, nothing to do with age