Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many people here were bullied at school?

• 01-08-2013 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I was a little at the beginning of primary school and a bit more in secondary school and how I ended it was my standing up to these people and fighting them back and I actually ending up being really good friends with them because I stood up for myself.
    A lot of other people got bullied too some quite badly than others. If I am being honest the guys who went of crying to the teachers got it worse than the guys who stood up for themselves. It was there word against the bullies and they had no proof so it was hard for the teachers to do anything about it.
    So what were you experiences of bulling in school?

Mod Note
    No real names please

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

So what were you experiences of bulling in school?

I was at a Catholic all boys school, so that kind of thing was frowned upon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Only cows in my school, no bulls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Wasn't bullied and not very many people were in my schools, which I'd weird as they'd be considered very rough schools! One guy was bullied in primary school because he thought he could talk to birds but that was it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Seen it happen to people way too many times but surprisingly it never happened to me.

I mean I'm not saying I've never come across the odd arrogant prick who shouts abuse me every time they see me but that's not bullying and I couldn't give a shit about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Nope, never been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

A little at primary school. Our first school disco, I was 11. My Dad brought me shopping for a dress. He was proud as punch. The girls told me they'd all be wearing dresses. Got there...all wearing Levi's (this was 95 or thereabouts) and I was the laughing stock. Had my first panic attack that night. Same girls carved my name into a desk to get me into trouble, but spelled my name wrong :p

In secondary, I largely escaped except for one or two jealous cúnts within the group who couldn't hack that I was prettier and smarter than them. One of them actually outed me to the entire class. Devastating. Anyway, a quick search on LinkedIn shows that they have largely become class A nothings. Sweet xx

My poor brother was actually bullied by a teacher. We moved to snobsville when we were kids. I was lucky in that I was 5 so I started at the same point as my classmates. My brother was older, had a rough accent and joined halfway through primary so he was a target. At one point the teacher in question declared to the whole class that he was "from dirty Tallaght". When I think about it now, him a 9 year old being bullied by a grown woman, it makes my fuucking blood boil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Few physical fights. Girls trying to intimidate me. Was pathetic really, never let it bother me so I'll say no!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I was bullied relentlessly as I moved home to Ireland with a decidedly cockney accent straight into Dublin's inner city schools...

My parents sent me to Judo & boxing when I was 7-8 years old...I became proficient in both quickly :D

Revenge is a dish best served cold :eek: ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I was, all through school.

I was a very shy child, almost painfully so. I was nerdy in a way, always carried at least one book around, but was utter rubbish at most school subjects.
    When I hit puberty, the way my father would treat me became increasingly unbearable to me, so I ended up depressed and overeating.

Looking back, I must have been a bully's wet dream, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

OldNotWIse wrote: »

My poor brother was actually bullied by a teacher. We moved to snobsville when we were kids. I was lucky in that I was 5 so I started at the same point as my classmates. My brother was older, had a rough accent and joined halfway through primary so he was a target. At one point the teacher in question declared to the whole class that he was "from dirty Tallght". When I think about it now, him a 9 year old being bullied by agrown woman, it makes my fuucking blood boil.

That says more about the teacher than about the child. Pathetic b'itch. I suffered similar myself at the hands of a primary school principal. It really is laughable how a grown adult will bully a child yet cower and cringe when confronted by the parent(s).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I think everyone has received some degree of bullying in school. I like you recieved it in both primary and secondary school. Even now in college I come across people who just generally don't like you and would rather see you fail and make your life a pain.

The way I see is if nobody hates you then nobody loves you. I prefer that happy medium where you have people who'd do anything for you and will stand by you no matter what while having a minority of people who wish misery on you compared to having no real friends and no real enemies. You basically don't know anyone in that situation.

As regards to putting a stop to it, it faded out when I was younger because the people who did it were idiotic people who had the combined amount of brain cells equivalent to a toaster. But if it ever or will get serious I've had or will have no problem dealing some physical retaliation to them. Some people need to learn the hard way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

I was bullied in school because I was different (turned out I had autism but wasn't diagnosed until I was 25)

My mother was no help, I came home one day and mentioned girls bullying me, she started to say that obnoxious 'sticks and stones' poem, she only got the 'sticks and stones' part out because I let a roar at her, the stupid cow

There was also a horrible teacher, <snip> ugly cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Primary school not at all but never clicked with my primary school friends when I went to secondary. Personalities came through and we had nothing in common. One little prick used to give me a hard time when in a group. Use to avoid walking home certain ways because I was afraid. He usually ran at me with a brick or stick with his mates (my old primary mates :() egging him on. Nothing ever happened thankfully but I hate that prick.

One guy use to spit at me, not on me, until I got him on his own and lost my cool. Apparently him and his mates came looking for me in work but I was finished and then nothing ever happened except that guy never did anything again and even avoided me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

tin79 wrote: »
    Only cows in my school, no bulls.

Thats neither dry nor funny.. Its nothing.

Seriously.... Get out you boring ##******

MonstaMash wrote: »
    I was bullied relentlessly as I moved home to Ireland with a decidedly cockney accent straight into Dublin's inner city schools...

My parents sent me to Judo & boxing when I was 7-8 years old...I became proficient in both quickly :D

Revenge is a dish best served cold :eek: ;)

My brother was bullied relentlessly in a CB school. He's quiet but has a fierce temper when he's pushed. Eventually he lost it with the bully when he was cornered in the bathroom, and broke his nose. Parents called up to the school etc...headmaster shook my Dad's hand and said staff had been dying to do that for a long time! :p

Aglomerado wrote: »
    That says more about the teacher than about the child. Pathetic b'itch. I suffered similar myself at the hands of a primary school principal. It really is laughable how a grown adult will bully a child yet cower and cringe when confronted by the parent(s).

She was a b1tch alright. Everything that happened in the classroom was blamed on him. Even when someone vandalised the toilet at the back of the classroom...while he was sitting at his desk. If I got my hands on her now I'd kill her. And my mother wonders why he has low self-esteem.... Did your self esteem take a knock? It's so horrendous to do that to a child when they are still vulnerable and forming their views about the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    She was a b1tch alright. Everything that happened in the classroom was blamed on him. Even when someone vandalised the toilet at the back of the classroom...while he was sitting at his desk. If I got my hands on her now I'd kill her. And my mother wonders why he has low self-esteem....Did your self esteem take a knock? It's so horrendous to do that to a child when they are still vulnerable and forming their views about the world!

It sure did fcek up my self esteem, and marked me out as a victim for skobe kids in secondary school. The fact that I'm a depressive has a lot to do with those years. As I've gotten older, I've become less tolerant and now don't take any kind of sh!t from anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Relentlessly all through primary school by one girl, if I ever got my chance now I take a running jump at her, I don't care what anyone says about her being a child, she systematically made my life hell for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

In primary school, it was more like regular slagging than bullying. I wasn't consistently targeted by any one person but as I was the smartest kid in the class and smug about it, as well as being a bit of a suck up, the rest of the class took pleasure in bringing me back down to earth.

In secondary school, I was picked on my one girl for a few months. It was never anything massive, just regular put downs and on one occasion, her telling me I couldn't sit and have lunch at her table. She used to take turns in picking on different people and moved on to someone else after a while, but it was hard to take while it was happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

I got bullied a bit and also bullied others myself. A rite little **** i was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Have spoken to friends about this down the years. I went to all-boys schools all the way up and to be fair didnt see a whole lot of bullying in them, it certainly never affected me, but I was tall and handy with a hurl (on the pitch) so just never arose.

I have however come to the conclusion from the evidence of female friends of different sizes and shapes and backgrounds, that girls between the ages of about 5 and 21 are utter and complete C U Next Tuesdays and capable of the most vicious, spiteful, pernicious and sustained mental and physical abuse of their peers. At least in a lads school you might get a bit of a hiding and move on, the stuff Ive heard about girls, even in the days ages before social media bullying would make your hair curl. Pure sociopaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭JonSnuuu

I was bullied pretty badly in Primary School in Dublin for being quite the nerd/teachers pet.

I just really enjoyed school, nothing wrong with learning :P, parents and teachers got involved but it continued to happen. Most parents refused to believe their "precious darlings" would ever do such a thing and they branded me as being "too sensitive". Enough was enough and my parents decided to finally move down the country like they had being planning on doing for a while.

Moved from a very large school (around 700 people) with uniforms and everything to a small country school of about 75 where you could wear your own clothes and had to wear slippers inside so you didn't drag the mud from the fields in with you. I loved it and the children there were so nice, still best friends with lots of them.

Finishing up in college now and there's still no better feeling than creeping on my old bullies on Facebook and seeing

"Employment: da dole lol

Education: da skul of life"

Who's the loser now? :cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I was now and again, was never anything too serious that I couldn't deal with myself or just ignored. On the plus side those that were involved are either dead or on social welfare never having a job and probably never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I was a bit of a bully as a kid. Not many people that know me now would believe it but it is what it is. It's weird, because I ****ing despised when other people did it to people and would stand up for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

No thank God. Went to a small rural primary school and got on well with most there.

Went to the convent in town for secondary. Yeah there were a few wagons that you get in every walk of life but can't say I was ever bullied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Normal enough kid in a private catholic all boys secondary school, so it was inevitable to some degree. Some were worse than others, but I never really bothered with it or got heated up......until one day in art class. My mother was severely ill with cancer at the time, and being the last in my family to find out, I was a boiling pot of emotions. One of the class jokers made his quick "your ma" comment, no sooner did the funny man get 2lbs of fresh clay to the face and a jab to his nasties. In hindsight it was an overreaction, but I can't say I completely regretted it!

JonSnuuu wrote: »
    I was bullied pretty badly in Primary School in Dublin for being quite the nerd/teachers pet.

I just really enjoyed school, nothing wrong with learning :P, parents and teachers got involved but it continued to happen. Most parents refused to believe their "precious darlings" would ever do such a thing and they branded me as being "too sensitive". Enough was enough and my parents decided to finally move down the country like they had being planning on doing for a while.

Moved from a very large school (around 700 people) with uniforms and everything to a small country school of about 75 where you could wear your own clothes and had to wear slippers inside so you didn't drag the mud from the fields in with you. I loved it and the children there were so nice, still best friends with lots of them.

Finishing up in college now and there's still no better feeling than creeping on my old bullies on Facebook and seeing

"Employment: da dole lol

Education: da skul of life"

Who's the loser now :cool::cool:

hahaha love it. One stuck up cow from my old school was whipped out at fourth year to go to the Institute (ours was fee paying but not quite enough for her snobby parents) - she was "destined" for medicine and The Institute gave her the "best opportunities"...looked her up there yday - she didnt do medicine, but does Essence makeup market research bullsh1t made up job title count?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

at high school, i would have quite happily shot them given half the chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭tinyk68

Was bullied in second and third year. I was shy, skinny, frizzy haired, wore glasses and liked learning. I was every bully's idea of a nerd and they homed in on me straight away. It was the most miserable two years of my life. I went to school in a constant state of fear. After third year three of the ringleaders didn't come back because they were pregnant! I made new friends and gradually grew into myself. Skinny became slim. I tamed the frizz into curls, got contact lenses and learned how to be happier in my own skin. I'm now 44 and sometimes see some of the bullies around town. They are all haggard and older looking than their years from smoking and hard living. I now look better than them and have a very happy life. What goes around comes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

I was bullied as i was a small wirey kid. It was terrible, I got my ass kicked more times than I can remember. Girls are worse than fellas though. When they see that you haven`t any popular males to defend their taunting, they lay it on in spades as it wont affect their popularity with any prospective future boyfriends.

Funnily enough, I grew up to be a big bloke (6`3", 17 stone) as I joined a basketball team with a gym and kept the habit to this day. As a result I'm now always looking out for the small guy. I cannot stand idly by and watch someone being terrorized or humiliated especially when that person isn`t physically able to defend themselves.

I've intervened a few times where I've seen someone being pushed around. It broke my heart one day to see a bunch of fellas around 16 picking on one of their "friends" who was pretending to not be bothered by being pushed around but was only trying to fit in.
    I asked the "leader" if he wanted to impress the girls that were watching him and if he thought he was tough, that he could pick on me. I called him a pussy and a coward. He turned and walked away.

I met a few lads that used to pick on me, they were my friends, in the last few years who didn't recognise me as I ended up twice the size of most of them. I say friends as when chatting one to one with most of them they were civil and decent, but together I was the target of horrible humiliation and endless put downs.

Bullying, especially among adults is the lowest of the low in my book, to get ahead by crushing vulnerable people is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

When I was about 9 there was a girl in my class who didn't like me. She was quite the Queen Bee in the class and decided that anybody who wanted to be friends with her wasn't allowed to talk to me.

So I spent that whole year by myself.

The teacher also took a dislike to me that year and I was regularly brought up to the top of the class to "explain my actions" (reading at lunchtime, not sharing my lunch, crying) and I was asked a few times "How do you not understand what I mean? Are you stupid?"

My brother had just died the year before and my mother was very worried about the way my other brother was coping so I didn't want to add to her burdens by telling her anything about what was happening.

It was a crap year. I don't blame Queen Bee so much. She was just being a silly little girl. I HATE that teacher and it kills me that she still works at the school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Yep. All the way through. I take solace in the fact that in school they were bitches, but now they're fat bitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The bullies in our school were the teachers, it created a sort of camaraderie among the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭gidget

I was in secondary. I went to a mixed school. I was the isolated one, no-one wanted to be seen with me or would include me in their groups. Girls were bitchy & would laugh about me, the guys seeing what the girls were up to would go out of their way to humiliate me. One guy in particular started on me from day one right up to the final day of sixth year. He wouldn't just do it in public, he'd be saying things to me on the quiet too. It was 5 of the most miserable years of my life & it also took me a long time to get over it, as I had lost all my self esteem as a result. I think they targeted me because I was just myself & wasn't trying to act or dress up the way they did in front of everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

i was bullied by other students, as well as more-so by bigoted teachers who couldnt handle that a child/teenager would stand up to them and answer back.

it's actually good for you though - a bit of bullying can be - makes you a stronger minded and well rounded adult.

I was bullied all the way from primary school til when I eventually finished up secondary school. Mentally and physically. It was horrific tbh.

It had a mostly positive affect on my adult self though as I ended up a fairly decent person and I put that down to (amongst other things that happened in my life) never wanting anyone to feel the way I did back then.

I wouldn't ever hold any of it against any of the people involved, we were all just kids after all. Life's too short for grudges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

i waited till 3rd year to deck the school bully. should have done it earlier. had a great time after that. addressed by my first name by everyone after that, part of the gang etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Was bullied in secondary school but it never really bothered me, I didn't avoid the bullies and just got on with things. They were all cowards, they tried to act hard but they were all bite and no bark. One of them tried to stop me going into the jacks for a smoke once, I pushed past him and told him to **** off, he went bright red in front of his friends who laughed at him and he never really bothered me after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

I was never bullied by pupils, but the teachers I had were bullies of the highest extreme, punching you, kicking you, taunting you, slagging you in front of the class etc...etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

There's a reunion for my secondary school coming up and I really hope my mother doesn't hear about it otherwise she'll be all with the 'go see your old friends... catch up... school days....blah, blah'. I've never been able to get it through her head that I hated all but 3 people in my year, and the only one person I want to keep in contact with I'm already in contact with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭iusedtoknow

I was mercilessly bullied in primary school, and first 2 years at secondary.

The guys that were up to it in primary are now either in prison or still living in my hometown looking a bit rough around the edges. The guys that did it in secondary are now actually nice enough, ended up being friends with a couple of them in college, one even became a guard.

I'd still like to punch a couple of them in the back of the head now though (the primary ones)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭MrShivers

I got racially harrassed more than anything when I was in primary school. It didn't help that they were jealous of my academic level aswell. So I was a stereotypical smart Chinese kid. It was just name calling and not much more than that so I just kinda ignored them. Surprisingly(or maybe not) it still happens now and again with the older lads being 18 and up.

• Site Banned Posts: 11 Cyber735

Wasn't bullied and not very many people were in my schools, which I'd weird as they'd be considered very rough schools! One guy was bullied in primary school because he thought he could talk to birds but that was it.

I COULD!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I got on with everybody in school,normal people,scumbags and geeks.I guess it was because im really good looking and really smart at the same time.So both cliques looked upto me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I was bullied in primary school and in the scouts. When I was in the cubs I can't remember being bullied. The scouts was torture. Never wanted to go. Parents thought I was lazy etc etc, didn't tell then anything, didn't know how, didn't know it was such a serious thing.

Secondary school was grand, I was bigger and the people in the class were not the same douche bags from primary school.

Most of these kids don't actually know what they are doing, they just join in with the others. I could have just as easily been the bully instead of the bullied.

The scouts was hell though, absolute nightmarish. I fcuking hated every bloody day of it. There were other guys that got bullied in the unit too, some worse than me. I don't know what any of the bullies are doing now, but I won't ever forget their faces. One guy in particular was exceptionally bad. Such a degenerate. Would really talk down to you, poke fun at everything. He was from a wealthy family, I was from a working class family. Even the socks I wore were subject to his criticism.

God help him if I ever meet him again. The fat fool was a caricature of himself. There were others that bullied, but were not so bad as this slimeball.

I fcuking despise bullies. If I witness bullying, wherever it may be, my business or not, i'll step in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I was bullied (just intimidated....never physical) in secondary school because I was intelligent, shy and had an unusual name.

I remember an air of menace in certain situations. Most of my own class were fine but others wanted to poke fun at me.

To be honest I don't hold too much of a grudge. One guy in particular who would have given me a hard time softened up towards the end, I remember talking to him one-on-one and he asking "how do you get such good results," etc and basically saying he doesn't do so well in exams (which wasn't news to me). I felt sorry for him more than anything else.

I can forgive and forget. But some people have it infinetly worse than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

One guy was bullied in primary school because he thought he could talk to birds but that was it.

Precocious little fella! I had no interest in chattin' up the ladies till I was in secondary school. Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭MrShivers

I can forgive and forget.

There's no reason for me to forgive them IMO and as much as I'd like to , I can't forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Went to boarding school.

I win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I was bullied severely, both physically and mentally for at least 5 years during secondary school.
    Stuff happened to me that you wouldnt imagine EVER happening to kids and teens.
    I was afraid to step foot outside my door. I wanted to kill myself every morning I woke up before secondary school. I wanted to do horrible things to countless people in my school and its a good thing I didnt have the guts to go through with it.

I've seen the same things happen to dozens of kids. The most horrible treatments imaginable that literally fúcked some teenagers up in the head and doomed them to a life of social ostracisation.

Luckily I made it through, and recovered quite well. some of the people who treated me like they did were some of the worst people on this earth, absolute scum beyond imagination.

Do I hold any grudges against them? Nah, I dont care anymore. Lifes too short for that. The people who treated me like that may as well not exist for all I care. If I saw them in the street, I'd probably ignore them or just greet them like any old stranger.

What didnt kill me made me stronger. I'm emotionally able to take crap from people now, its like I have a switch that I can turn on and just not care. Unfortunately, there were several others who didnt have a good outcome like me, as I've said above, some were just broken mentally, a small handful comitted suicide, others just became recluses.

tis a shame.

EDIT: As much as I hate to say it, but I eventually started to bully others too. I didnt do it as much, but it was definitely a vicious circle. I guess its true what they say.