Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

August Foxing Competition

• 01-08-2013 2:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭

The competition is now underway.
    We have 21 people involved so it should be a good competition and if nothing else a good laugh and a chance to get out for a shot.

The rules that must be followed:
    1. All entries must have a date stamped picture or a piece of paper with the date on it clearly visible in the picture.
    2. All entries MUST have the Boards.ie username on it.
    3. Keep the posts to pictures of the foxes with all necessary details in the picture only. No unnecessary long story. You can start another thread for that. The mods will only view posts as pictures and counts. To make it easier on us.
    4. Partners are of course allowed, but all entries must be under the name of the entrant/boards user. The comp is based on honesty, but frankly it's a bit of fun so we're not going to go "Sherlock Holmes" on it to find out if you shot it or no. So whatever is posted under your name will be counted as yours. So keep it simple and just post your foxes.
    5. All photos must have a picture of the gun used to kill the fox. Any picture of the fox on it's own even with the date & username will not be accepted. As said in the other thread this is to protect us against the actions of a few ill-minded people.
    6. The table will be updated every Saturday as the beginning of the new week. Winner announced the Sunday after it closes.
    7. Lastly enjoy it lads. It's a bit of craic and something to fill August. There won't be a massive prize at the end, but there will be something.

The competition will close on the 31st at midnight.

Best of luck lads!

User | Week 1 | Week 2 | Week 3 |Week4| Total
    Dev110 | 0 | 1 |0|0| 1
    Cass | 0 | 0 | 0|0|0
    Invincible | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    Zlezlius | 2 | 0|0|1|3
    Deeksofdoom | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    Wildfowler94 | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    Woodcock89 | 0 | 0 |0|0|0
    Rugerman | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    4gun | 3 | 0|1|0|4
    LIFFY FISHING | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    TriggerPL | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    Customrifle | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    Marty555 | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    Stonehall9 | 0 | 0|2|0|2
    Cavan duck buster | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    Ferrete | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    22magtech | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    Patdahat | 1 | 1|0|0|2
    Emk2 | 0 | 1|5|5|11
    Natdog | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    Optimum | 0 | 0|0|0|0
    PippaSpaniel|0|2|0|0|2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 emk2

Do these count...?

emk2 wrote: »
    Do these count...?
    To be fair August started at 12 last nite and the two final instructions weren't up...!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭Invincible

To be fair August started at 12 last nite and the two final instructions weren't up...!!

IIRC the two rules were mentioned before the league table was posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

Do these count...?

You forgot to include the gun there lad. He has that stated in the rules too!!

Stonehall9 wrote: »
    You forgot to include the gun there lad. He has that stated in the rules too!!

Saw that rule this morning didn't read all of the last thread just the first part... What's the need for the gun anaway its obvious there shot the exit would is a bit of a giveaway....!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

Do these count...?

wrong date aswell :pac:

jap gt wrote: »
    wrong date aswell :pac:

Ha ha fu#k sake... That was smart... Ok they def don't count but two less to worry about... Lots of foxes out last nite we were very unlucky only to get two...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Unfortunately they don't count.

The idea for the gun is to try and keep things fair as its an individual competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭.243

Whats the prize ???

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

What's the need for the gun anaway its obvious there shot the exit would is a bit of a giveaway....!!
    Another reason for the gun is to cover ourselves.

While we don't bend to the whims of others we have had occasions were pictures from here were taken, photoshopped and tools/hammers/knives put in to make it look like the fox was butchered and killed inhumanely.

So as not to give the antis a chance to feck with the pictures it's harder to alter it if a gun is across the fox.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

.243 wrote: »
    Whats the prize ???

Knowlage and practice

I'll have a chat with Dev110 and organise something for a prize. Nothing fancy (and if i'm paying you can bank on that :D)

What it'll be won't be announced until we have a winner.

How's that?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

last night
    atjoelanes002_zps8ad2ddeb.jpg

What's your setup pat.

Remi 700 .204
    Bushnell Banner 6-18x50 dusk & dawn
    ASE Ultra moderator
    and feed her 40gr hornady's.

I have to say she looks well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭zlezlius

First one in August

r5hl.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

The last one is a very small possibly late or second litter cub still has his baby fluff on it

The very last fox shot was literally in my own back yard and had been one of the possible reasons that my dogs had been doing a lot of baking in recent nights, just as i fired on it it moved and got hit in the lower front leg, It fell over and on getting up started making it for the ditch but in a direct line straight away from us, my partner kept the lamp on her the whole time and quickly reloading i managed to put a second through the back of its head.
    we felt we deserved a cup of tea after that one so that was that

2013-08-07024516_zps19d497d1.jpg

2013-08-07003620_zps756f3d59.jpg

2013-08-06235334_zps145a9d84.jpg

Okay lads we are back up and running.

The rules have been updated, but not really changed so read post 1 and familiarise yourself with them.

Happy hunting.

Second one for me;)

ivkj.jpg

bitds003_zps40cfc14d.jpg

One for me have to look for another this evening maybe another pic to follow

One Dog Fox

DSC_0174_zps065a8405.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

dev110 wrote: »
    One Dog Fox

DSC_0174_zps065a8405.jpg

Nice shot placent

I always go for the boiler house when foxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭PippaSpaniel

2 dog foxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Got this lad in the early hours.

2013-08-21025025_zps25716658.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

4gun wrote: »
    my dogs had been doing a lot of baking in recent nights.

Wish I could train my dog that well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

Been out 3 times over the last two weeks, and despite there is a lot cut over my way only got a glimpse of a couple of foxes and gone.
    Is it the warm weather? the calm nights with no wind , or are the foxes just to well fed at the moment.
    I am very surprised at the numbers that are on the league table, whats it like in your areas lads?

3 last nite

Been out 3 times over the last two weeks, and despite there is a lot cut over my way only got a glimpse of a couple of foxes and gone.
    Is it the warm weather? the calm nights with no wind , or are the foxes just to well fed at the moment.
    I am very surprised at the numbers that are on the league table, whats it like in your areas lads?

I'm not to far from you I was gonna head out about 11 or so but I didn't bother because it was very bright out. What light are you using or have you a filter.

Was going to post that too but didn't incase people thought it was an excuse.

I've been out day and night for the last 3 weeks and not only did i NOT get a shot at a fox, but i haven't even seen one. We hit them hard over the last few years to keep the land owners and farmers happy and seems we done a good job.

I started the thread messing about coming last, but it seems the joke is on me. Unless i find a "nest" of them in the next week i'll finish on 0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Cass wrote: »
    Was going to post that too but didn't incase people thought it was an excuse.

I've been out day and night for the last 3 weeks and not only did i NOT get a shot at a fox, but i haven't even seen one. We hit them hard over the last few years to keep the land owners and farmers happy and seems we done a good job.

I started the thread messing about coming last, but it seems the joke is on me. Unless i find a "nest" of them in the next week i'll finish on 0.

Come down to land I hunt. Place is crawling with them.

I'm the same we must have seen 10 last nite should have got 4 missed a sitter after I dropped my lamp man off... Fecker sat at 70 yards but kept moving over and back and I had to keep moving with him... Not easy trying to lamp and shoot and move all at the one time...!! Note to oneself always have the scope mounted lamp in the jeep for occasions like that...!!!

Ah I don't feel too bad now, I'm meeting nothing on foot and the ones were meeting in the jeep are not stopping at all for us, I'm hopin tonite will get me off the mark, it's a bit wild and wet down here at the moment so it mite help a bit, It would be terrible bad to finish up with a zero beside my name on the table!!! The foxes aren't hungry enough at the moment, there is none comin in to calls either , only hope is a few cubs that are a bit green still!

The foxes i am. Seeing only a handful of cubs.
    Most of the ones I'm seeing are big adults and are very weary of the calls.
    Too many clowns around missing shots as scaring them off and making them shy.

2 from last nite.

Two from last nite to get me goin.

Bottom lad looks a decent size

Ya he is one of the biggest I got in a while. A real old boy, was doin a lot of damage around I'd say, he was missin teeth and his tail was manky, he was a good weight aswell, I missed a few aswell,doesnt happen too often but id say this competition is puttin me under pressure!!! :-)

Yeah he looks like an old lad. Really dark back on him.
    One less fcuker to worry about.

Another 4 hours tonight and nothing. Seen plenty of deer, but not a smell of a fox. Called, lamped, waited, etc, etc. Nothing.

Got this one last night on a freshly cut field

7xd7.jpg

5 last nite... Put a little extra effort in for my last nite out in the competition...
    No 1

5 last nite... Put a little extra effort in for my last nite out in the competition...
    No 1
    No 2

No 3

And 4 & 5

Sorry about all the posts loading the pics from my phone and not able to resize them... Internet is crap too which isn't helping... Last two were a pair of cubs we got on a golf course we have permission on. There was another cub and two more older and wiser ones too but we couldn't get them in... Nearly got round to one but the wind changed and gave us away...

Nearly forgot about this with all the talk about the season starting.

I want to congratulate Emk2 on winning the competition with 11 foxes.

I must say I didn't do as well as I wanted. Just couldn't get out most weekends. Bit late for excuses but sure what harm :D