The Pat Kenny Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I'd say Nick only made himself available at that time so he could run down the clock - Great job by Pat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

No Pat Kenny podcast today, wonder why 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,171 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Aaaand we're back to a pc love-in now, no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭QueensGael

The segments from yesterday's show are on Spotify

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Playing devils advocate here

If I lived in Romania, I would chance the back of a lorry for a better life - it doesn’t make them bad people, just desperate. Perhaps the EU should look at bringing the poor countries up to a better standard (through education, infrastructure, etc) rather than criminalising desperate people. I feel that when we give grants to foreign countries like countries in Africa, Asia etc, then it should come with conditions - like roads, sewers, housing, well for drought areas etc. Rather than create refugees, encourage them to stay in their own countries.

I know, its not utopia and its not our problem, but perhaps we can be part of the solution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Mav11

If you lived in Romania you wouldn’t have to chance the back of a lorry. Romania is part of the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Well there was a lorry full of Romanians killed recently so that is why I chose that country. It could be any country, the point i was trying to make was make our grant money work better to encourage people to stay at home.

I think that tragedy related to Vietnamese people in a lorry driven by a Romanian* But I take your point about getting grant money to work more effectively.

*edit Just looked it up an Irish / Romanian crime gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,371 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Romania has a foreign aid program helping poorer countries.

And hosts 86,000 Ukrainian refugees.

Lot of landlord sob stories...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,583 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Pat going in hard on the economic migrant refugee advocate again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,483 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

We have a sophisticated visa system says the do-gooder on a 6 figure salary with a straight face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭QueensGael

I feel bad for Pat doing this Jen & Mairead podcast promo...

Does anyone else think PK will retire this year? His 10th year on NT and his 75th birthday would be a good time to bow out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭maebee

I doubt it. I'd say he loves doing what he does. In fairness, he doesn't sound like a 75 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I didn't listen at the time but went to the podcast. That was Sen. Barry Ward (FG) - Pat did well again but I really think he was ill prepared this time. Pat should've had all the up to date figs to hand. He didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,483 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Pat and the HSE Eileen giving out that only 1 in 20 18-49 year olds have 2nd booster.

I recall that it was not available to 18-49 year olds until some day between Christmas Day and New Year's Eve when Donnelly announced its availability. At a time when half the country was either sick with flu, Covid or RSV. Another case of closing the stable door after the horse was bolted.

Edit: researcher must have had a word in Pats ear cos the penny dropped with him just after I posted and he had a go at NIAC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,569 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Pat complaining about the delays in large developments getting built. Pot calling the kettle black.

Pat Kenny trying hard and failing miserably to land a glove on Eoin O'Broin

Another Irish landlord pity party, where's my smallest violin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭boardise

This woman McNamee who comes in to 'talk about' sport has the most grating cacophonous voice I've heard on radio in quite a while ...unlistenable.

The whole sports inset is pointless anyway with sport covered wall to wall around the media anyway. Just another device to fill the time. Frankly the entire PK show is a mess which could do with a total revamp ...the chances of which are zero.

I wouldn't agree that the show is a mess, just that sports is done to death on NT and yet another sport shite talk slot eating up time for non-sport topics adds nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

You’d miss the days of Pat interacting with Des Cahill, though.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I'm not that much interested in sports myself but I know a lot of people who can't get enough of sports reporting and discussion.

Even sports they have never played or attended seem to hold a fascination for them.

There's like an entire show set up for them on NT, and a mini sport shite talk with every news slot.

Weekends on everything bar Lyric are end to end sport shite talk.

Lyric is a great port of refuge for us non sports people at the weekend.

Maybe the coursing lot can look after hare welfare without the chasing them with dogs bit?

No? Thought not...

How ever did hares manage before they invented coursing?

Jennifer Carroll McNeil : A female Colm Brophy

Talk loud, fast and deflect wherever possible and for as long as possible

Got rather prickly about the leafy suburbs phrase. Must be from a leafy suburb.