Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.22 rifle application ?

• 30-07-2013 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭

Hello all, i had firearms a few years ago, a .22, .223 and a semi-auto shotgun. I gave them all up and sold them to a firearms dealer. Now, am thinking of getting back into shooting again, but just want a .22lr, nothing else. I still have my firearms certs, from when i had guns before it all changed to the system that is in place now. I have had a look at the new firearms application form and on it it says, i need firearms scurity and also i have to take a test to proove i can use the firearms correctly. Would me have a firearms cert before help with this, would their be any need for me to take a test? And would i need to get a gun safe? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Keelan wrote: »
    Hello all, i had firearms a few years ago, a .22, .223 and a semi-auto shotgun. I gave them all up and sold them to a firearms dealer. Now, am thinking of getting back into shooting again, but just want a .22lr, nothing else. I still have my firearms certs, from when i had guns before it all changed to the system that is in place now. I have had a look at the new firearms application form and on it it says, i need firearms scurity and also i have to take a test to proove i can use the firearms correctly. Would me have a firearms cert before help with this, would their be any need for me to take a test? And would i need to get a gun safe? Thanks.

You'll need a gunsafe for any rifle, even a .177 air rifle.
    A shotgun on its own can be broken up and stored with just a trigger lock but the super can demand higher security.

If you have the old cert numbers you could put these down on the form as proof of competence. The competence courses are an absolute joke and waste of money. You have used guns before, therefore you will learn absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

You should be on the system even with the old cert.
    Was submitting renewals a while back and forgot to put down one of the referees DOB, when I handed them in the Garda spotted it and just asked me was the referee a firesarms holder. I told him that he was years previously but not now. The Garda was still able to bring him up on th system even though the license was lapsed and he was from another county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Where it asks about Proof of compitance. Section 2.5 I think just write in holder of previous firearm certificates for x amount of years and stick in there numbers.

That's what I done and worked well for me.

Best of luck with the app lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭wilddarts

Have a quick question about a .22 application so I thought I'd hi-jack this thread rather than post a new one.

Would a Permanent Defence Forces Service no. do as Proof of Competence on an application for .22, or maybe even an .177 air rifle (just want something for target practice). I've been told by a keen shooter and fellow ex PDF member that I should have no problem, but given the time I've heard it takes for an application to be processed I'd rather get it right first time.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

All the crap about the courses aside the proof of competence can be shown in a few ways.
    • Previous experience with firearms in whatever shape that takes (previously held a gun, DF, Garda, etc).
    • Letters of support/confirmation from experienced/licensed shooters to vouch for your competence from having accompanied them.
    • The course itself.
    • From having shot on a training license before getting a full one.

The course has become a standard that everyone turns to automatically. Cannot blame them as it is the easiest and quickest method. However all they are looking for is some sort of affirmation that you can safely and competently handle a firearm.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭wilddarts

Thanks for that, I didn't think it could hinder my chances by putting it on the application but I've heard different theories from different license holders. Maybe I should have just went to the Guards and asked them what they wanted from the beginning.

wilddarts wrote: »
    Maybe I should have just went to the Guards and asked them what they wanted from the beginning.
    With such disparity between districts that is always the best bet.

We can advise and help as much as we can and even if a lad in the same district answers he can only give his experience which may still differ greatly from yours.

Still i'd say you are okay, but no harm to ask.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

wilddarts wrote: »
    Thanks for that, I didn't think it could hinder my chances by putting it on the application but I've heard different theories from different license holders. Maybe I should have just went to the Guards and asked them what they wanted from the beginning.

Do it in the round about way tho , submit ur application and let them tell you what they want !

Don't go in and ask cause ya could get one that wants alarms and all stuff that by law you don't require let them come back to u and say u need this or that

In section 2.5 previous experience.

Write see attached letter.

In your letter write how long your Serving. That you do armed escort/ duties every month. The DF makes you pass toets on every coarse you do your tested on a range for accuracy and safty every year on all that your trained on and so on. Then if you really wanted catch an officer I. The corridor and ask him for a written caractor reference in relation to you firearms handling ( not weapons handling ). Chances are you are properly more trained than the guard reading it and the guy localy that runs the coarses.

You should be ok then. Just keep the letter short and to the point joke been very clear.

Op how's things for you now are you feeling better about your app or do you need any more info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Keelan

Thanks for the replies. So i need to get a gun safe, again, as i sold my other one..more holes in walls ect..lol and my old certs should do to cover the safety course.. thanks.
    p.s, a good friend of mine, does not have a safe and he applied for his 1st rifle last year, a .243 and got it in 2 weeks..i am confused..lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Keelan wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies. So i need to get a gun safe, again, as i sold my other one..more holes in walls ect..lol and my old certs should do to cover the safety course.. thanks.
    p.s, a good friend of mine, does not have a safe and he applied for his 1st rifle last year, a .243 and got it in 2 weeks..i am confused..lol

What you have been given here is the guidelines by law lad .

U could applie with no safe and get ur licence , but in the unlikely chance that you get inspected and have no gun safe and have a rifle , then you could loose ur licence .

Now most cops would just say get a safe but there alway that one educated anti gun cop that will go to town on ya

To add my 2 cents.

On the new FCA1 application form there is a box you tick to say you comply with the legal minimum security requirements, which in the case of a rifle is a safe.

By ticking the box you agree that you comply. Sometimes the Gardaí or more precisely the crime prevention officer will call out to to confirm you are actually complying with the requirements. They can do this before you get your license or at any point after. They can also check at any time and as often as they like.

Now if you mate ticked this box, and has not been inspected then he has made a fraudulent application which is an offence. Other than the fine or possible jail he can also loose his guns. At the moment the Gardaí are stretched and home visits are not always done before a license is issued.

So basically your mate could potentially be in a lot of trouble if he gets a visit. The Gardaí cannot turn a blind eye to it as it's law, and not a guideline. Now if he did not tick the box, and was issued the license then it's the Gardaí fault. They should not issue a license until the person complies with the law, however as a firearm owner the responsibility is yours to make sure to ar compliant. So no matter who is at fault it's your mate that will be in trouble.

If you tick the box saying you complied with the safety standards set out. If you do t or haven't your technically misleading and at worse get your license revoked and not get another license again.

Or on inspection a guard could just say make sure and get a safe.

But if any one was to break in and take your guns or god forbid an accident then you could be in trouble. Especially if you said you complied with the regulations and didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Keelan

Fair play, thanks all.