Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cartridges

• 21-07-2013 2:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭

Just wondering does anyone know of a dealer in Ireland that stocks gamebore cartridges

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Jim McBride in Athlone does them. I got 100 of him (7.5 28gr) last time i was down with him to try out.

Gamebore-Velocity.jpg

Haven't seen them anywhere else, but not really on the look out. It was Jim suggested them to me to try instead of Eley. He has a few others in different loads, but again not sure which ones exactly. I bought a load of RC3's and he threw in the Velocity's for me to try.

Was out yesterday and dropped two birds with them, stone dead at 30 & 35 yards. Full choke in the gun. So i'll keep using them, and if they perform that way all the time i'll go back for more.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

Jack Kelly in wexford town,I'm using them myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭kenneths

i got some in the gun shop in wexford recently, got clay & game ones.
    plenty of stock & variety
    The Gunshop ,11 The Fayth, Wexford, Co Wexford 053 9122841

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭chrisdolan11

Cheers mate ill buzz him tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

what would they be per box lads ? and how good would they be sound better then the eley 28g 7.5s ?

IIRC they are around the €50 per slab mark so the same if not slightly dearer than Eley.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

that wouldnt be bad wouldnt mind spending the extra bit if they perform better then the eley .does any one do delivery do you know?

Couldn't tell ya. Never used a delivery service. Prefer to go to the shop. Couple of hours out of the house, and a chance for some sh*te talk. :D

would be too far for me to travel. i might see can my local lad get them in
    sound for the replys lad

shotie wrote: »
    ............ if they perform better then the eley ..........
    Not for clays but was out for about 6 hours yesterday and brought a couple of boxes of these to try out.

I loaded up one belt with them nd another with the RC3's. Soon enough i had my chance. Was in a hide and waited for the birds to come in. I was between a field a oilseedRape and Barley, but concentrating on the oilseed. Farmer is going mad because the pigeons are destroying it by bursting the pods when landing, and the crows are also helping themselves.

Anyway the birds came in and i let them in to about 20 yards before pulling. I clipped two birds with the first two shots. One landed about 45 yards away (after gliding for a little), and the other came down infront of me. I put a second into him, but used the .22 on the other lad as he had moved to about 60 yards away.

I thought the issue was me as it was the first two shots of the day so continued to use the Velocity. I had a 3/4 choke in the Beretta. Soon enough we have more coming in. I signal my mate to take the two on the right, and i'll take the one on the left. 3, 2, 1 and up we go. My mate has his dropped in 2 shots. i used all three and i could see strikes with each shot, but it took the three to drop the bird. It was at about 31 yards.

After a few more like this i was getting tired of having to waste cartridges shooting the same bird multiple times. I switched out to the RCs and the problem disappeared.

So the Velocitys seem to have a max effective range of about 22-25 yards on birds. As for clays i've no idea. However i have 75 left and will keep them, but not overly impressed as i've dropped birds at 25 yards, stone dead, with Eley 7.5s. Same choke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I'll take Gamebore's 32g 6 game load anyday over Eley, far superior cartridge in my opinion. As for the Velocity stuff I'm assuming they're a target load and as such don't contain the right type of pellet for game or pest shooting; it's like sticking high speed needles into a bird while the gameloads are like deep hitting hammer strikes.

I'll take Gamebore's 32g 6 game load anyday over Eley,
    Not talking about the 32gr 6's. I was referring to the 28gr 7.5s i was given to try out. Gamebore make no distinction that their Velocity are a clay shell where as the Eley Olympics are designated as a clay shell. From shooting both i'd give the edge to the Eley. On game.

I've never shot the 32gr 6s in Gamebore, but have in Eley. I shot the eley 32gr, 6's in Supergame. Was unimpressed with them.
    far superior cartridge in my opinion.
    Wouldn't mind trying some Gamebore, but i'm finding the RC3 good and it's hard to pass on the Express when i can get them.
    As for the Velocity stuff I'm assuming they're a target load and as such don't contain the right type of pellet for game or pest shooting; it's like sticking high speed needles into a bird while the gameloads are like deep hitting hammer strikes.
    Game load or clay load there is nothing in the difference.

The average 28gr load (for a 7.5 cartridge) has around 400 pellets in it. At 0.07gr per pellet and average size of 2.2-2.3mm there is not a lot of room for different sized pellets. So if they made it with 300 pellets (instead of 400) to make up the 28gr load the pellets would be 0.095gr or so per pellet. That 0.015 heavier meaning less than 0.25mm bigger per pellet. So a 2.5 instead of a 2.25 pellet hitting them.

Of course that is assuming they use that amount or they do infact vary the size of the pellet.

As said i don;t use Gamebore, and not in a game cartridge. I'd have no trouble trying them, but for the purpose of this thread and in relation to my post above where i was asked what i though of the Velocity 7.5s my opinion is as a game load they are adequate out to 25 yards. For a clay shell i'd say they would be grand. Possibly every bit as good as Eley but that's only speculation as i have not used them on clays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

Well lads, was at a gun club meeting last nite and one of the lads was on about RC "camouflage " cartridges, 36 g, they brought them down from the north, Cavan or Monaghan , anyone know of these available in the mid-west ?? Wouldn't mind trying them for the ducks.
    S9

I haven't seen any on the shelves vbut did read about them a couple of weeks ago. Available in 34, 37 and 42 gr if i'm not mistaken. Meant to be better in all weather conditions and better penetration.

I'm using their 36gr 5 (RC3) at the moment and they are a great round. Longest shot so far with 3/4 choke (28" barrel) was 55 yards. So shot pattern is good at that distance, as is effectiveness.

While we're on the subject anyone use the FOB, Chasse 34gr, 6's. Picked up a slab the other day to try out. My mate is using them to great effect so i bought one to try out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

Cass wrote: »
    I haven't seen any on the shelves vbut did read about them a couple of weeks ago. Available in 34, 37 and 42 gr if i'm not mistaken. Meant to be better in all weather conditions and better penetration.

I'm using their 36gr 5 (RC3) at the moment and they are a great round. Longest shot so far with 3/4 choke (28" barrel) was 55 yards. So shot pattern is good at that distance, as is effectiveness.

While we're on the subject anyone use the FOB, Chasse 34gr, 6's. Picked up a slab the other day to try out. My mate is using them to great effect so i bought one to try out.

That's good killing distance there cass, the boys reckoned these camo shells are goin to be rated the top duck cartridge this year, they would be big wildfowling men too and would be hard to convince moving from the eleys , so hopefully il get a few boxes before the month is out!!

Well the 36s are more than good enough so the 42s should be excellent.

If you get some of those camo ones let me know how you get on and where they can be gotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭J.R.

I've used the 37 g RC camouflage cartridges in NO. 4. They are very hard hitting a have a great pattern....I was using 3/4 choke and flattened a running fox dead out to 43 yards.

I bought them from

Jim Halpin Shooting & Fishing Supplies
    Church Street
    Listowel
    Co Kerry.

€11 a box when I bought them last November.

RCCAMOUFLAGE37_zps970289a6.jpg

A little pricey.

The RC3's are 8.50 per box. The only other cartridges i've seen at that price are Express, and Eley Maximum.

Still worth it if they do the job. Better than buying €7 boxes and having to use 2 - 3 cartridges to drop your quarry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

Anyone seen the eley pigeon cartridges around, what price are they for a slab?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

+1 for rc3,s brilliant cartridge love using them and rc5s,:D have used the camo ones found them to be good got them off the cousin up north will be asking him to get me a slab of em:D;)

i bought a box of them FOB in 36g 6s havnt really got to try thm out yet.
    i find the flocchie 36g 7s to be a good cartridge and arnt to dear at €7.50 a box.

The FOB drew me in with the price tag of €70 per slab. So even if not up to the standard of Eley or RC they will be up to 35% cheaper so not a total loss.

another good shell are remington but can be dear enough bought a box of 36g 8s last year for snipe they where a tenner a box but where well worth the price. i got remington 36g 4s for 11.50 a box cant thing what the 36g 6s where in around same price id say .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

Just got 250 of RC Sipe 32g No7 in the door today thanks to sports den a lot of fellas had good things to say about them so may as well try a few of them

Was out and about today, and just had to pick up some Eley.

I've used them since i started shooting and the gun safe just doesn't look the same without a box or two in it. Picked up a slab of Eley Alphamax+ 36gr 5's. Serious stopping power.

So i'm well and truly stocked up now. :D

wont feel it now and the 1st sep will be here .hope we get bit rain to fill up the drains and small ponds all near empty here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭Invincible

The FOB drew me in with the price tag of €70 per slab. So even if not up to the standard of Eley or RC they will be up to 35% cheaper so not a total loss.

I got a box of 32gr #6 FOB for €6, they're made by Nobel Sport, didn't rate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

]
    they are not worth a tenner a slab pure ****e

Are ya sure you're talking about the same cartridge. My mate is using them and is dropping all around him. Hence the reason i got them to try.

ya seriously fob noble sport . Unless they didn't suit my gun but lot of clipped birds and very few clean kills gave em away olympics or nike for me are the best cheap cartridge to shout game soft lead better kills within range olympics are dynamite but myself made decision last year out of respect for pigeons nothing less than a 30 gr 6 best results mostly good clean kills very few fly aways fir the sake of 10 or 20 quid id even by 7 boxes of sipe rather than a slab trap carts I'd still have better results they will all do ut within 30 yards but after that it sorts out the ****e from wats doin the biussness in my opinion and with the gun I use different for everyone I know

I love the 36gr 5's. Any brand in them will do. Especially with the semi auto. I don't have the option of choosing a different choke or barrel for a different round/shot.

So with 36gr 5's i know that whether it's pigeon, crow, bird, rabbit or even a fox at a reasonable distance it's dead. I'm going to chance heading out for an hour (getting seriously heavy thunderous downpours here) to try the FOB so will let you know what they're like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Why would ya buy game bore 32g 6 when u can use eley VIP 32g 6 ! Def the best cartridge I ever fired that was until I get a slap ordered specially in 32g 7 VIP

I'm going to chance heading out for an hour (getting seriously heavy thunderous downpours here) to try the FOB so will let you know what they're like.
    Correction.

Got geared up and it started raining. Hasn't stopped so feck that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Kells1

It is important to test your patterns on cardboard to make sure you are using the most suitable choke for the particular cartridge etc before ruling for or against them....might be nothing wrong with the cartridge ;)

Kells1 wrote: »
    It is important to test your patterns on cardboard to make sure you are using the most suitable choke for the particular cartridge etc before ruling for or against them....might be nothing wrong with the cartridge ;)
    Fixed choke but still suspect they are ****e but I agree could be my gun or choke as you stated they are not cheap for no reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

i got few boxes of em last year found dem good gave a box to a friend and he hit everythin he fired wit dem apart frm one widgeon...i tryin to get a slab jus shoppin for cheapest price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Jimy1971

I bought a few boxes of Gamebore Black Gold 30g 6's from Jim McBride the other night. Going to try them tonight.I gave €12 a box. Usually use RC2 5&6 but if these are good,I dont mind paying a bit extra. Anyone ever use Bornaghi cartridges? Heard they're good.Jim has them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Anyone ever use the Eley 36g VIP 6's? I normally use Alphamax 6's on the Pheasants but was thinking of a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭Invincible

deano2882 wrote: »
    i got few boxes of em last year found dem good gave a box to a friend and he hit everythin he fired wit dem apart frm one widgeon...i tryin to get a slab jus shoppin for cheapest price

Dealer in Drumshambo had them at €6 a box, will look up his number if you want.