Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIP Scooby!

• 21-07-2013 2:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭

Very sad today, He is shutting down his youtube and website due to 4chan finding out his address and people started threatening him and his family etc.

I remember watching his videos when I started to get in to lifting a few years back and it helped me a lot. All this guy did was provide awesome advice in all parts of bodybuilding and most importantly it was FREE. Sad degenerates these days smh.

His youtube http://www.youtube.com/user/scooby1961?feature=watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

It is a terrible shame that he and his family would be subject threats and violence. Watched some of his videos many years ago when I was getting started as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Sorry I have watched a few of his videos and cannot for the life of me figure out why people would have anything against him....whats the stroy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Sorry I have watched a few of his videos and cannot for the life of me figure out why people would have anything against him....whats the stroy?

Yeah. Did they find something dodgey or they just didn't like his vids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

He was doxxed by 4chan users. Apparently he had to relocate homes because of the abuse he and his family received. Sad to hear. Seemed like he genuinely enjoyed helping people get in better shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

whats 4chan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

whats doxxed? This is a shame.

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    whats 4chan?

Kind of like a forum except all user are anonymous. I like to think of it like after hours on steroids!
    Zombienosh wrote: »
    whats doxxed? This is a shame.

http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/doxing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Kind of like a forum except all user are anonymous. I like to think of it like after hours on steroids!

http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/doxing

So why did they do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

Yeah. Did they find something dodgey or they just didn't like his vids?

The only thig they found is his house is co-owned by another man, so they suspect he is gay. Not that that should makes the slightest difference in anything.

Zombienosh wrote: »
    whats doxxed?
    When peope find out his personal details and publish them online.
    His business, home address and who he lives with were found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭AH92

keith16 wrote: »
    So why did they do it?
    They thought it would be funny! Pathetic ain't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

More info here

Can't help but feel sorry for the guy. However, surely he knew what he was getting into when he developed a 4Chan persona? :confused: Only a matter of time before someone decided to doxx him for the lulz.

Here's hoping he doesn't remove his Youtube vids, just stops posting them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

AH92 wrote: »
    They thought it would be funny! Pathetic ain't it.
    r3nu4l wrote: »
    More info here

Can't help but feel sorry for the guy. However, surely he knew what he was getting into when he developed a 4Chan persona? :confused: Only a matter of time before someone decided to doxx him for the lulz.

Absolutely disgusting. They just did it for the craic? Someone should "dox" all those anon losers who have nothing better to do with their time.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    More info here

He's not removing them, but he's now has a fitness site revolving people aged 40+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Jesus, I thought the guy was dead reading the thread title!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Midlife Crashes

Here's the story. Scooby used to frequent the /fit/ section of 4Chan getting his own username. He used to offer advice and answer questions. One of the members of the site showed his cawk on one of Scoobys LiveCam shows so Scooby refused to answer questions from members of the site. People from the site decided to release all of his personal info. The crap they did started innocently enough, Sending pizzas to his house etc... But then people started sending death threats to his company/ harassing his wife and children. Scooby decided it would be best to deactivate all his social media and relocate from his house HE BUILT WITH HIS OWN TO HANDS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Midlife Crashes

It was spread around the internet that Jeff Seid was the one who released the info so 4Chan doxxed Jeff..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I loved his channel.

People are idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

They doxxed this guy during the week: http://www.reddit.com/r/4chan/comments/1iqu0e/4chan_is_trolling_war_machine_and_hes_mad/

Pretty well deserved imo. Shít buzz about scooby though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭colman1212

scooby + 4chan + doxxed = Complete confusion :confused: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭stuchyg

Is it wrong that I'm only 26 and have never heard of 4chan or getting doxxed or Scooby for that matter. I feel old now

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

This is why I don't like all that "Anon" crap floating around. Some terrible stuff to read.

Jesus lads. Learn how to internet ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Don't understand 4chan, never used or will use it. Don't know why he bothered using it tbh, when you always hear **** like happening on 4chan, he should have known better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Scooby has a wife and kids ? now I am shocked !
    I don't mean to be smart, but I need to re-calibrate my gaydar !

This is a sh*tty thing to happen to anyone. Getting abused and ran out of your home would be awful for any reason but never mind when its for something like trying to help folk get into shape for fook snake.

I just hope I don't get doxxed in the 4chan for this ?? ( how's my lingo ?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

He got run out of a house he built himself. And I don't mean he hired people. He built the thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Dubs = leave 4chan for ever :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

i remeber people slagginh him in you tube comments and he was threatning to shut it down,shame really i learnt alot from his videos!

From his FB page.
    Since the bulletin board on fit40andover is private I am reposting this answer to a question because its important. Here it is
    ==================================
    People misinterpreted what I meant by "shutting down my YouTube" channel. No surprise that I didn't make that quite clear because that video was made under extreme duress as you might imagine. I have NO intention of removing those existing Scooby1961 videos. They are an extremely important and integral part of scoobysworkshop.com. I am still passionate about helping people get in shape for free and scoobysworkshop.com is the vehicle by which I will accomplish that. By "Shutting down" I meant that I would not longer doing my weekly videos there and that I would no longer be answering everyone's questions there like I used to. Emotionally, that feels like shutting down which is why I used that term. Although my new focus is on fitness over 40, 80% of the stuff is the same and I have no desire to re-invent the wheel. I need the content and videos of scoobysworkshop as my "fitness core of knowledge" that I can link to from fit40andover. My members will be giving me ideas for new content and videos. The content that is only of interest to those over 40 will go on fit40andover. Content that is of interest to anyone regardless of age will go on scoobysworkshop. Does that make sense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

colman1212 wrote: »
    scooby + 4chan + doxxed = Complete confusion :confused: :eek:

The caretaker did it, and would have got away with it too if it wasn't for those pesky 4channers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭BadCharlie

My kids come to me wanting to watch scooby doo on youtube. I would go and type scooby for them and hit search and let them at it. Come back a half an hour later to find my 5 & 4 year old watching some body builder called scooby1961.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭BigStupidGuy

I'm on his Sweat for health site. It's the best forum for fitness I've found online.

Screw those guys on 4chan. If it was Jeff Sied then Scooby will have his revenge with a video next Thursday. This week though he's going back to Mike Chang lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

Scooby resurrected. Back online uploading new home workout videos : ) . I see he's building a light aircraft as well by hand. Sure, who doesn't do stuff like that on the side to pass the time of day.

I'd love to know the full story as to what went on. Specifically was it just a few disgruntled buff dudes who were disagreed with his advice ( like for example his view not to bulk/cut and be ripped all year round instead) or more sinister, a concerted attempt by the fitness industry to intimidate him ? Anyway , glad he's back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

colossus-x wrote: »
    Scooby resurrected. Back online uploading new home workout videos : ) . I see he's building a light aircraft as well by hand. Sure, who doesn't do stuff like that on the side to pass the time of day.

I'd love to know the full story as to what went on. Specifically was it just a few disgruntled buff dudes who were disagreed with his advice ( like for example his view not to bulk/cut and be ripped all year round instead) or more sinister, a concerted attempt by the fitness industry to intimidate him ? Anyway , glad he's back.

It was a few trolls on 4Chan who started harassing him with prank calls and threats made to his family, so I heard. Anyway, he's back now thankfully. One of the best fitness youtubers out there imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 silverpram

Think all that bulking is damaging your brains.

He's been building that plane for ages, I guess he put a small hanger in his new house?

I heard that Jeff Seid paid some hacker to do the whole thing after the "Le cookies" thing. Anyway, it's good to see exercise videos again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

I bet these anonymous, internet trolls would **** their pants if confronted in real life by those that they randomly harass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

He's been building that plane for ages, I guess he put a small hanger in his new house?

I heard that Jeff Seid paid some hacker to do the whole thing after the "Le cookies" thing. Anyway, it's good to see exercise videos again.

Doesn't ring true to me that story somehow but who knows. Speaking of Jeff those Scoobys digs at him were hilarious. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Lzeb9bl63g :D

Edit: Oh I hadn't seen the "le cookies" thing till now @BSG, cracked me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

I bet these anonymous, internet trolls would **** their pants if confronted in real life by those that they randomly harass.

Or kill themselves. As happened this week. I'd imagine they're pretty unhappy people and it wouldn't take much to tip them over the edge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

kevpants wrote: »
    Or kill themselves. As happened this week. I'd imagine they're pretty unhappy people and it wouldn't take much to tip them over the edge.

No harm.

There's a documentary about some extremely dangerous prison in the US where they follow a bunch of new inmates. Some are total psychos and then there are a few little nerds who got done for attacking someone in some sort of nerdish aspergers rage. One of the kids (of the latter) was a kid from 4chan who totally flipped at some teenage girl, then held a knife up to her and got like 3 years. You can see he has absolutely no idea how to handle himself around people and obviously no idea how to handle being bullied or taunted in a prison. Can't find the youtube link atm, but it's on Discovery quite often.

Oh I'd be interested in that, don't have discover though.

Yup, that's it. He's a proper Brony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 stevehawk1

That's really Sad
    I really love his energy