Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scope selection

• 11-07-2013 6:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35

Im currently considering a new scope for my 22lr. I was thinking on something with a magnification 3-12 or 4-16 or 4-20 (something a bit more than 9x that i currently have) preferably with a 50mm objective as i want one fairly good in low light conditions and for lamping. I would be shooting mostly rabbits, magpies grey crows and an odd fox and occasionally targets. I was considering a scope with target turrets to eliminate hold over.

Id be shooting at distances from 50 to 150 yards depends on what im shooting at.

I was wondering would any of you recommend a good scope at a reasonable (Cheap) price doesnt have to be a upper market brand :P

Also would you lads recommend getting a scope with target turrets or milldots or both? any advice from experience be greatly appreciated :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

if your only shooting at that distance you wont need target turrets.what is your max you can spend.i had a hawke endurence 30 2.5-10x56.great scope for the price would be well good enough for what you want it for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭alalkovitch

Just put a Fomei on a friends .22 for him, brought it back from Slovakia...4-16x56 illuminated, €280.00... Un-believable quality for stupidly small money...rated up to 300 win mag and I have one on that calibre over there...Check out their site, guarantee you won't get better scope for same money...glass not brilliant after 400 yards but for a .22 or similar you just can't go wrong...I tried the tracking on it and it tracked perfectly, elevation and windage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Konus scopes , Lakeland shooting Center I've one on my magnum great for the cash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Bushnell Banner 6-18x50. I have two of these scopes on my .22's and love them. They are used for hunting, benchrest and gallery rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

dev110 wrote: »
    Bushnell Banner 6-18x50. I have two of these scopes on my .22's and love them. They are used for hunting, benchrest and gallery rifle.

Same here great scope for the $$$$$$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 22magtech

The bushnell banner sounds like a possible option as well as considering the other scopes yous have mentioned at this stage lads. was thinking on spending on around the 200 mark for a scope just dont want to be spending that money then realising in a few months i should have bought a different one.

In the scopes would yous recommend a scope with a illuminated reticle or not and advantages or disadvantages of both??

also wheres the best place to buy a scope?? online or in shops or any places you no of lads??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Going to throw the Hawke Varmint SF into the ring.

Good selection of mag from 2.5-10 up to 6-24, side focus, perfect for a .22, and no matter where you buy them they are under €200 new. Prices range from €169 to €190 from what i've seen.

Every bit as good as the Banner, but slightly cheaper.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Was getting ammo a few notes ago and while in the shop I seen the hawke varmint sf 6-24x44 for E190. Looks like a fairly good scope but then again I'm not very experienced and wouldn't really no lol

I was just wondering if any one else has any input and wheater this is a good scope or any reviews on it or recommendations ?

I am currently using a 50mm objective and this scope would be a 44mm so would I notice much difference in visibility in low light or while lamping?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭alalkovitch

2 friends of mine had Hawke scopes, both had same issues in that cross hairs broke...one chap had it replaced only to have a repeat performance on a .223...you'd be better off buying a good second hand scope for smaller money than paying the same money for a new scope... To be honest in Ireland with the tax and duty we are paying you are really buying a low end scope even if you pay €4-500 over here. The cheap scope may well work at limited distance on a low recoil rifle especially if your not dialling in, that is zero it and leave it alone.If you do the box test on any of the low end scopes you will see they do not track properly and returning to zero may not mean much...my advice for what's its worth is save a few pound and buy a good second hand scope off a reliable source...you'll get a lot more bang for your buck...

Al.

2 friends of mine had Hawke scopes, both had same issues in that cross hairs broke...
    Thats a bad run of luck. Have three of them and never a bother from the .22 up to the .308. have recommended them to a few people that have bought them, and they couldn't be happier with 2 years or more of trouble free shooting under their belts.
    22magtech wrote: »
    I was just wondering if any one else has any input and wheater this is a good scope or any reviews on it or recommendations ?
    I'm fecking kicking myself. I'm just in the door after being out all evening/afternoon and saw this post. I had a picture of a bird i dropped at 117 yards with the Anschutz .22lr and Hawke Varmint SF 6-24x44 on top. Went to upload the picture from the phone (which the young lad broke the other day) and now i cannot find it. It's either deleted or just not there.

Anyway. The scope is a perfect little scope for the money. I have mine about 18 months or so and love it. The mag is great, from 6 to 24 power, and the side parallax adjustment, adjustable eye focus and 1/4" clicks make it the perfect little scope for a rimfire.

The 44mm objective lens can give a milky image when on high power and looking at long distance targets. I was watching 4 fallow today at about 900 yards on 24 power. I could see them and even make out the sex, but the image was "milky" or "foggy" and any movement of my eye and i lost the deer.

After saying that the scope is not designed for such long ranges, and out to 200 years it's perfectly clear, and more than enough scope for any rimfire.
    I am currently using a 50mm objective and this scope would be a 44mm so would I notice much difference in visibility in low light or while lamping?
    Depends on the tube size too. The Varmint has a 25mm tube so coupled with the smaller objective lens, and lower quality glass there will be a difference compared to say a 50mm objective lens scope with 30mm tube.

I cannot give you a report on how it performs in low light as i don't use the .22lr (the rifle the scope is on) for foxing. 99% is day shooting. However given how it performs out to and past 200 yards during the day i cannot see lamping within the same distance being a problem.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Got my self a hawks varmint sf 6 - 24 x 44 tonite. Looks like a good job so far just need to get it zeroed in tomorrow and test it out lads. Thanks for the input and advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

22magtech,
    Unfortunately, when it comes to scopes, the words "low light" and cheap are mutually exclusive.

Normally, I suggest Swaro or Night Force, it you can afford it, however, there are plenty of good scopes, that are inexpensive, with nothing cheap about them.

Check out Burris Fullfield II's and Nikon Prostaff. They'll be about the best you can do on a budget. The Bushnell's are great too, in addition to Redfields.

Best of Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

FISMA wrote: »
    22magtech,
    Unfortunately, when it comes to scopes, the words "low light" and cheap are mutually exclusive.

Normally, I suggest Swaro or Night Force, it you can afford it, however, there are plenty of good scopes, that are inexpensive, with nothing cheap about them.

Check out Burris Fullfield II's and Nikon Prostaff. They'll be about the best you can do on a budget. The Bushnell's are great too, in addition to Redfields.

Best of Luck.

That vortex scope in for sale section seems gud value

FISMA wrote: »
    Normally i'd agree but considering the use for it;
    Im currently considering a new scope for my 22lr.
    I could honestly not justify recommending a nightforce or Swar. for a .22lr. Each scope starts at €1,550 and go all the way up to and exceeding €3,300. That can be from 4 to 9 times the price of the rifle, and considering the max range is 100 yards it seems pointless.
    Two things here;
    1. Agree there are other brands but considering the price can be between €500 to €1,100 for bushnell to Burris they are not exactly cheap. Grand if you can afford them but again overkill for a rifle with a very limited range. When you look at the lower end of the price spectrum with the same brands, such as Bushnell, they will not even measure up to their more expensive brands in the same make. So the dusk & dawn would not be close to a 6500 Elite.
    2. The Burris Fullfield II. I had one 2-3 years ago. Brand new and it was faulty. 6 months of being f**ked around and the word i got from Burris USA was "We are no longer producing the Fullfield II, and there are no other models in that price category (€700)". They issued me with a refund (again after a long fight.

Now please do not take what i said above as trying to knock what you suggested. As i said i would on any other day or for any other caliber most likely recommend the exact same. Just it's a .22lr, and with such limited range i could not justify telling someone to stick an expensive scope on it.

In low light and for t distance my Varmint SF does perfectly. Had i a spare €700+ i'd have gone for something else, but i don't and now don't need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Ra1mondo

Got my self a hawks varmint sf 6 - 24 x 44 tonite. Looks like a good job so far just need to get it zeroed in tomorrow and test it out lads. Thanks for the input and advice

hi 22magtech,do you mind me asking where you got the scope.My man says he cant get them??. Was going to order off Deben,but would like to see one in my hand.Hope you didnt buy the last one in the country,good luck with it anyway.Cheers.

Sean Harding in Thurles carries a line of Hawke scope. If he doesn't have the one you want in stock he will order it and have it within 3 days.

Give him a shout on 087 4131799

Thanks Cass,will do

No bother

Ra1mondo wrote: »
    hi 22magtech,do you mind me asking where you got the scope.My man says he cant get them??. Was going to order off Deben,but would like to see one in my hand.Hope you didnt buy the last one in the country,good luck with it anyway.Cheers.

Well I'm in Donegal here, what part of the country are you in?

Im not too far from you so,will ring around. thanks.