Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 months waiting for 22 rifle

• 05-07-2013 4:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭

As title says it's a mate of mine who has a shotgun for few years, never in trouble good background. His local cop is a proper @hole who himself shoots.

I recently applied for new 22 and my local garda had it back for me in 2 weeks.

Is there anything this lad can do apart from badger him every week, which he is doing. He isn't the only lad. Another 3 of my friends are waiting 8 months and longer. Is there any way of making a complaint against this @hole without effecting his application.

Thanks rugerman

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Not really.

After 3 months, and with no word, the application is deemed refused. However you have to be notified of this.

They have 3 months to process it, but throughout the country different districts have different times on how long it takes depending on manpower.

Complaining it's not being done quick enough may provoke a reaction from your FO or it may not. However i doubt it will hurry the process.

Not the answer you want, but it's the way it is.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

When you say "local cop" do you mean the local super or just the lad behind the desk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

My first licence was 9 months, second 6 weeks, third 6 months, and the last one was 8 months. It dosen't mean he has been refused only that they can't be bothered to process the application. I would ring the supers secretary and ask her at what point is the application they are usually very helpful and can speed things along. My supers one is a star anyway. Failing that I would ring the Firearms policy unit and see if they can help. The fact of the matter is that they will do it when they want to and not before. I wouldn't get annoyed about it though there is not alot you can do and getting annoyed will only lead to a no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Try calling I to the FO some he can put a face and voice to the photo.

Some lads forget to ask nicely and say how much they would appriate if it could be looked into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

Sparks wrote: »
    When you say "local cop" do you mean the local super or just the lad behind the desk?
    The local lad behind the counter. he's not nice at all the lads are being very patient to say the least but don't think anything can be done about it. one of the lads he said there were no permissions handed in for deer Licence when that was handed in a second time he said he lost the firearms details I'm just wondering is there anyone they can ring to give them an update. Same lad is thinking of forgetting about it altoghter and be honest I wouldn't blame him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Go over his head and talk to the local super. That's the advice we were directly given by the Gardai themselves about this kind of thing a few years ago. (Don't be a git about it, mind - you're never going to get the local lad told off, and if you did, it'd be like the dog who finally did catch the car it was chasing - you'd wind up with more than you'd bargained for! Just go in, ask what the story is, don't even mention the local lad at all, let the super ask about him and if he doesn't, then pretend there is no local lad. Focus on the result - getting the licence!).