Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loungers Love Science. And cake. And stuff and things.

• 28-06-2013 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

P1000167.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

100_3203.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

SCIENCE! YAY! :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

STUFF AND THINGS! YAY!! :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

New thread smell. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I LIKE THINGS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

mad+science+wm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

I am loving all these science cakes :pac:

I just heard Henry McKeane on Newstalk doing some sort of birth simulation thing (so men know what it's like to give birth).

I think I need some sort of head doctor cos it was one of the funniest things I've ever heard, hearing him shouting in pain....:o

Links234 wrote: »
    mad+science+wm.jpg
    I had a chemistry prof that was the image of him!

I just heard Henry McKeane on Newstalk doing some sort of birth simulation thing (so men know what it's like to give birth).

I think I need some sort of head doctor cos it was one of the funniest things I've ever heard, hearing him shouting in pain....:o

It only simulates contractions. Not the wonderful joy of a massive baby being jetissoned out of your abdominal cavity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

Das Kitty wrote: »
    It only simulates contractions. Not the wonderful joy of a massive baby being jetissoned out of your abdominal cavity.

And on that note I'm off to go jump out a window....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Back from meeting a friend from lunch.

It's drizzeley so I'm gonna curl up in bed and watch new girl. Just started it last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

Why would anyone name their child Ophelia? Is that not just gonna drive her to tragedy?

How so Joe wrote: »
    Why would anyone name their child Ophelia? Is that not just gonna drive her to tragedy?

They just need to make sure she has a sassy gay friend and it will all turn out okay.

I had a foreign housemate called that. She was all arty farty and moped around the place ALOT. Never happy. So yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Ohai new thread!

*dusts cobwebs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

LOVE the new thread title, yiz are geniuses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I...I don't love science....

But I do like cake and stuff and things. So I guess it can stay.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭kate.m

biology_cell_cake_by_nicolewilliam-d32y0sa.jpg

Science cake!
    (Hopes the image works...)

It's an animal cell :)

Oh and Schrodinger's cat cake!
    dsc_0917.jpg

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    I...I don't love science....

But I do like cake and stuff and things. So I guess it can stay.

:P

Without science, there'd be no cake... ;)

Goshdarnit. Stupid science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

Science! Huzzah!

Thank god its Friday. *empties brain*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    Back from meeting a friend from lunch.

It's drizzeley so I'm gonna curl up in bed and watch new girl. Just started it last night!

How did your exams go btw?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

In work in half an hour. DO NOT WANT :(

Hello!

They're making a movie and it looks like that anime with the kids in it in the robots. Evangelion!
    I bet they stole it

Guillermo del Toro: ‘Pacific Rim’ Is NOT Japanese Monster Movie Homage

Yea, kinda is though dude, sorry

I approve of science cakes!
    I will eat cake for science!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Yay, new thread!!! :D

I have a week off and I'm thinking of bringing myself to the zoo on Wednesday or Thursday because I've been wanting to go since my birthday in August of last year.. :rolleyes:

Was also told to visit the Natural History Museum as well but I've no idea where it is.. :o

I have to work until 10 tonight. Boo :(

Stupid conference calls.
    Was also told to visit the Natural History Museum as well but I've no idea where it is.. :o

The one in Dublin? I think it is on Merrion Square.

In work in half an hour. DO NOT WANT :(

Ditto. Working on a Friday night should be outlawed.

LenaClaire wrote: »
    The one in Dublin? I think it is on Merrion Square.

Yeah.. how do I get to there from the Zoo? :o

I'm hopeless.. no sense of direction whatsoever. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

Love the new thread title. I think I'm having a sugar crash. Staff room has been full of cakes, sweets and biscuits the last few days. Don't usually eat much junk so I'm feeling none the better for it. Officially on Summer holidays now though. Hurrah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Yay, new thread!!! :D

I have a week off and I'm thinking of bringing myself to the zoo on Wednesday or Thursday because I've been wanting to go since my birthday in August of last year.. :rolleyes:

The dead zoo!

Would it be worth going to? :)

Or will I just go to the normal zoo? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

Yay new shiny thread!

Nearly all moved out. My apartment looks so empty!

Making a nice dinner tonight as a last meal here.

Kinda sad but too excited to go to England :)

Yeah.. how do I get to there from the Zoo? :o

I'm hopeless.. no sense of direction whatsoever. :o

I have no idea, I usually just buy a ticket for the hop on/off bus when I spend a day in Dublin and both are on the route :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Would it be worth going to? :)

Or will I just go to the normal zoo? :D

It's good, it's like the zoo except the animals are dead. Free in too.

You can buses from heuston to merion Sq really easily.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I had a chemistry prof that was the image of him!

All us chemistry people slowly turn into someone like that...

What's the point of working with acids and bases if you don't pick up a few burns and war wounds along the way to show off:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Woohoo new thread! And for once I realised and wasn't checking the old one for ages thinking it odd that people had stopped chatting!

Loads to do tonight but most important - watch Wimbledon!

It's good, it's like the zoo except the animals are dead. Free in too.

You can buses from heuston to merion Sq really easily.

Ooh cool. I think I'll make a day of it so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭iwantmydinner

Yeah... I need to cut down my workload. Still at it. Must work out how many hours I clocked up this week.

In other news, heading home to the mammy for the weekend for TLC, tea and home-cooked dinners!

Furious with my uncle. He told my brother to lose weight, that he was too heavy. Now he is a bit overweight but my uncle is morbidly obese... he's at least 25 stone. It's probably best I didn't hear him saying it. Am I overreacting? :mad:

My brother is upset even though he's trying not to let it show. :(

Furious with my uncle. He told my brother to lose weight

Is he by any chance the father of the cousin who was a gobshíte the other day? Ye need to start telling these people to mind their own damn business!

He's not, it'd be his uncle as well.. I'm blessed with the family I have.. :p

Yeah we really do need to tell them to feck off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

I remember staying in a hotel and a member of staff was named Ophelia. I remember I got a receipt when she was serving me in the bar and it said that her surname was Bottom.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Furious with my uncle. He told my brother to lose weight, that he was too heavy. Now he is a bit overweight but my uncle is morbidly obese... he's at least 25 stone. It's probably best I didn't hear him saying it. Am I overreacting? :mad:

My brother is upset even though he's trying not to let it show. :(

I know that he is probably being just a jerk but are you sure that he wasn't in his own way advising your brother not to follow the path your uncle took?

I know that I have a 2nd cousin who is morbidly obese and who's life is seriously restricted because of his weight. My frist cousin was quite overweight for a while and my 2nd cousin took him aside and explained how hard his daily life was because of his weight. That really changed my first cousin way of thinking about food, diet etc.

Miaireland wrote: »
    I know that he is probably being just a jerk but are you sure that he wasn't in his own way advising your brother not to follow the path your uncle took?

I know that I have a 2nd cousin who is morbidly obese and who's life is seriously restricted because of his weight. My frist cousin was quite overweight for a while and my 2nd cousin took him aside and explained how hard his daily life was because of his weight. That really changed my first cousin way of thinking about food, diet etc.

It was my uncle that said it and he was just being nasty. My dad gave out to him over something and he took it out on my brother. He's not the type to say it for my brother's good if you know what I mean. My brother's really down tonight and he won't talk to me. :(

I've been trying to encourage my brother by really trying to lose my weight and asking him to come walking with me, things like that. But his head isn't in the right space tbh. My brother's weight holds him back, just like it did with me but he's not in the frame of mind to try and do something about it. He's only 20 and it stops him doing things. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

Miaireland wrote: »
    I remember staying in a hotel and a member of staff was named Ophelia. I remember I got a receipt when she was serving me in the bar and it said that her surname was Bottom.:eek:

Ahahahahaha! What a name!

We might only be a few hours in but I'm having a great weekend. Just as well, had a sh*te week :p

I think I have that restless leg thing. Jaysus it's annoying.

I hate that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I hate that!

I hate it when other people have that. :pac: It's annoying to watch them and even more annoying when they're sitting in the same row of seats as you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

In Dublin for one more night. Brother has left me on my owen for the night.