Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ladies Day at Galway Races

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 jwalsh1980

Most men will wear a suit on the Thursday or at least a shirt and tie. There is no rule saying you can't go casual. When I used to go on the Thur I would always wear a suit. It's the biggest day of the week and its nice to look the part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ms.Sunshine

jwalsh1980 wrote: »
    It's €20 extra for a reserved seat for the Thursday. You can buy them on galwayraces.com.

Oh ok, thank you for the reply! Would it be worth paying that bit extra for do you think?

Personally I think you have a better time by just wandering around the track. I would only buy a reserved seat for the day if the weather forecast is bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ms.Sunshine

I'd say you are right Jwalsh1980, it might be nicer to soak up the atmosphere. I wonder could anybody let me know if they know if there is a cloak room or anything at the races? There used to be years ago but I can't seem to find any information on it now !

Hi Ms.Sunshine

There is a cloakroom in the new Kilannin stand. It's just inside on the right. Hope you have an enjoyable day at the races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭starWave

Can someone explain what is this mass attraction to ladies day?

I've done the full 7 days in Galway once or twice, and usually at least 3 or 4 days over the week, and ladies day has always been the least enjoyable, due to the massive crowds.

Ok, its "ladies day", but there are ladies and nice fashion there on the Wednesday and Friday too, and probably all week. Why does everyone fall for the hype of the Thursday?

If you want a few drinks and put on a few bets, you spend the whole bloody day queuing. Then if you actually win any bets, you have to queue again to collect.

Seems a lot of the crowd there on the Thursday have zero interest in the actual races, and are only there for the craic, admiring other peoples clothes and to be part of the giant crowd. I don't know much about horses, but when you show up at a race track you could at least put a bet on and watch the odd race.

Then after the races you queue for the bus/taxi, head into town, and there's more queues for the bar and toilets.

Maybe it's more enjoyable if you get out there early, and leave early, but I've never managed this so far.

I also agree with the point that you need to setup a 'basecamp' to meet up with everyone as you inevitably get lost in all the queues.

Personally I think you have a better time by just wandering around the track. I would only buy a reserved seat for the day if the weather forecast is bad.

Depends if you're wearing stiletto heels, and how high they are. The ones without the reserved seats seem to be always in bad shape by the end of the day.

The attraction on Ladies day is simple. The winner of the best dressed lady walks away with a total prize of €20,000 made up of cash, shopping vouchers and a diamond ring. A lot of the ladies go for the social day out and not to back horses. I used to do all my bets in the bookies before I went out as its too difficult to get a bet on the track.

So some ladies dress up to win the prize, the other ladies dress up to go on the piss and look at the other ladies, and the lads dress up in suits to meet all the ladies and go on the piss. They should just give the horses the day off. They'd still get the crowd.

Anyone remember the races during the celtic tiger era? Ballybrit was like a scene out of 'Apocalypse Now' for the week.

In fairness, the buses were well organised last year, compared to the madness in the previous years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,583 ✭✭✭✭cson

starWave wrote: »
    Can someone explain what is this mass attraction to ladies day?

I've done the full 7 days in Galway once or twice, and usually at least 3 or 4 days over the week, and ladies day has always been the least enjoyable, due to the massive crowds.

Ok, its "ladies day", but there are ladies and nice fashion there on the Wednesday and Friday too, and probably all week. Why does everyone fall for the hype of the Thursday?

If you want a few drinks and put on a few bets, you spend the whole bloody day queuing. Then if you actually win any bets, you have to queue again to collect.

Seems a lot of the crowd there on the Thursday have zero interest in the actual races, and are only there for the craic, admiring other peoples clothes and to be part of the giant crowd. I don't know much about horses, but when you show up at a race track you could at least put a bet on and watch the odd race.

Then after the races you queue for the bus/taxi, head into town, and there's more queues for the bar and toilets.

Maybe it's more enjoyable if you get out there early, and leave early, but I've never managed this so far.

I also agree with the point that you need to setup a 'basecamp' to meet up with everyone as you inevitably get lost in all the queues.

It's not as bad as it used to be. The Helicopter index will tell you that. I remember going in 2008 which was probably peak boom time as things were only properly slowing down by the end of that summer. It was insane, crazy, as you describe - queues everywhere. The amount of money being gambled and spent was sick.

Went last year and its grand; just plan it right and you're laughing. Get out there early, chill out with a few pints, pick your meeting spots and do most of your bets in town if you don't like the hustle and bustle of the ring. I personally love the hustle and bustle of the ring, I'm a serious value hunter so once I know who I'm backing I've no problem bumping around the place to get the best price. Hang around at the end of the day; a lot leave before the last race and the bars stay serving an hour afterwards, so that's til 7.10pm. Catch a taxi into town then and you'll be straight in as the bulk of the crowd/traffic will be gone, go grab something to eat, freshen up wherever you're staying and back out for 9pm for the night.

Long story short, if you don't like events that draw huge crowds then this isn't for you. I've been to Cheltenham, Aintree, Punchestown, Fairyhouse, Killarney festivals and nothing matches Galway for the craic factor imo.

Great craic and an atmosphere like no other. Especially if you're winning. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I too used to love the hustle and bustle of the ring until I copped that even the best price I found in the ring was likely to be shorter than betfair, and the e/w terms were always crap. Overrounds are ridiculously higher than full market early prices too.

Anyone worrying about queues for the betting ring would be much better off going to the local bookies and putting their bets on prior. At best your likely to be on at a bigger price. At worst you'll get the board price if it ends up being bigger.

There's something so laughable about Irish betting rings at big meetings. Full of men being macho, the ones who wouldn't be seen dead at the tote, running around looking at boards like their pros and oblivious to the fact that the horse was probably 4 points bigger with a firm that morning. Granted some can't get on with firms due to closures or bet sizes, but its a tiny minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,583 ✭✭✭✭cson

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I too used to love the hustle and bustle of the ring until I copped that even the best price I found in the ring was likely to be shorter than betfair, and the e/w terms were always crap. Overrounds are ridiculously higher than full market early prices too.

Anyone worrying about queues for the betting ring would be much better off going to the local bookies and putting their bets on prior. At best your likely to be on at a bigger price. At worst you'll get the board price if it ends up being bigger.

There's something so laughable about Irish betting rings at big meetings. Full of men being macho, the ones who wouldn't be seen dead at the tote, running around looking at boards like their pros and oblivious to the fact that the horse was probably 4 points bigger with a firm that morning. Granted some can't get on with firms due to closures or bet sizes, but its a tiny minority

For me there's an atmosphere that goes with it that you can't replicate on The Machine.

Fair enough for those who're backing in Galway to make money but Ladies Day for me is always a day I bring a sum of money to bet with that won't trouble me if I lose it; I'm just there to enjoy myself really and that's what a day out at the races is for me. Obviously its nicer when you're winning. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Weather forecast not good for tomorrow. That makes it a lot worse. Bars packed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

Ladies day is a brillant day but only if you are single. I met my wife on Ladies Day 2003 so I should know. Its a great day for a gang to go together but not so much for couples unless with a group of couples. Friday evening is the most enjoyable day at the races. It is now the second busiest day (overtaking the Plate Day) but still not too crowded and has a lovely relaxed feel about it. I have been to about a dozen Galway ladies day and my advice is
    1/ Get there early as in at least 90 mins before the start.
    2/ Keep away from Champagne Tent!
    3/ Bars in Killanin stands the best or upstairs in the Millenium
    4/ Unless a serious punter (ie betting more than a pony a race) use the tote
    5/ Either leave straight after the Guiness Hurdle or better still wait until an hour after the last race. The crowd will be gone then and traffic will have eased. Better chance of 'pulling then too. (I should know)
    6/ Eat a good EARLY lunch...will line you stomach and stop you queueing for crap food at racecourse. My bet hate is a pretty and well dressed girl tearing into a massive beef roll!
    7/Ladies should bring a coat tomorrow. If it turns out fine you can leave it in cloakroom in Killanin stand..its open for an hour after racing
    8/ If you can afford it paying for the reserved seating is well worth it

I do remember with fondness the excesses of the mid noughties. The helicopters,the massive amount of champaign swilled at €85 a bottle,the silly amounts gambled by clueless punters (myself included) etc. Things have tamed a tad since and drunk teens are a nuisance.

Hulk Hands wrote: »

Half the fun of going is being in the betting ring watching the prices, see where the money is going and the mad rush to get a price before it changes etc.

I do an odd bet on paddy power on the phone at the track but most of my bets are done on the bookies. For most races the time between races is spent picking a horse for the next and I usually decide on my bet the last minute so the betting in the morning would completely change my usual day at the races. I also don't know who I'm going to back on even the first race yet. I'll decide back there.

You are losing out on an awful lot of the experience of being at the races if you do your bets before going imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Half the fun of going is being in the betting ring watching the prices, see where the money is going and the mad rush to get a price before it changes etc.

I do an odd bet on paddy power on the phone at the track but most of my bets are done on the bookies. For most races the time between races is spent picking a horse for the next and I usually decide on my bet the last minute so the betting in the morning would completely change my usual day at the races. I also don't know who I'm going to back on even the first race yet. I'll decide back there.

I can understand this completely, as ive said I used to be the same back in my teens. Now I back solely for profit as opposed to recreational. I can understand the appeal to some, but the buzz and novelty of price moves in the ring completely wears off if gambling is part of your daily life. I assumed since this is the racing forum, the majority of people would know who they're backing prior to racing as opposed to picking a horse off a racecard between races.

You are losing out on an awful lot of the experience of being at the races if you do your bets before going imo.

Similar to above, it's a novelty for newcomers. Having to back a 5/1 shot in the ring that was 8/1 that morning would seep into and depress a cynical fker like me worse than any torrential rain could!

Oldira wrote: »
    Ladies day is a brillant day but only if you are single. I met my wife on Ladies Day 2003 so I should know. Its a great day for a gang to go together but not so much for couples unless with a group of couples. Friday evening is the most enjoyable day at the races. It is now the second busiest day (overtaking the Plate Day) but still not too crowded and has a lovely relaxed feel about it. I have been to about a dozen Galway ladies day and my advice is
    1/ Get there early as in at least 90 mins before the start.
    2/ Keep away from Champagne Tent!
    3/ Bars in Killanin stands the best or upstairs in the Millenium
    4/ Unless a serious punter (ie betting more than a pony a race) use the tote
    5/ Either leave straight after the Guiness Hurdle or better still wait until an hour after the last race. The crowd will be gone then and traffic will have eased. Better chance of 'pulling then too. (I should know)
    6/ Eat a good EARLY lunch...will line you stomach and stop you queueing for crap food at racecourse. My bet hate is a pretty and well dressed girl tearing into a massive beef roll!
    7/Ladies should bring a coat tomorrow. If it turns out fine you can leave it in cloakroom in Killanin stand..its open for an hour after racing
    8/ If you can afford it paying for the reserved seating is well worth it

I do remember with fondness the excesses of the mid noughties. The helicopters,the massive amount of champaign swilled at €85 a bottle,the silly amounts gambled by clueless punters (myself included) etc. Things have tamed a tad since and drunk teens are a nuisance.

Sound advice there. It's all about avoiding the herd. Either doing stuff before the crowd or after the crowd. People seem to herd into the bars in the tents at the back, and forget about the bars in the stands.

What's wrong with the champagne tent? No pullin in there? whiff of the celtic tiger off it still?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

starWave wrote: »
    Sound advice there. It's all about avoiding the herd. Either doing stuff before the crowd or after the crowd. People seem to herd into the bars in the tents at the back, and forget about the bars in the stands.

What's wrong with the champagne tent? No pullin in there? whiff of the celtic tiger off it still?

Very hard to 'pull' in champagne tent but my main reason is that tomorrow its where the best dressed competitions are held and it will be thronged. Plus there is the chance that with drink consumed a lad is liable to 'act the big shot' and fork out for a couple of bottles that will seriously dent his wallet.